Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

eileen10

Hi Swansh,

If i remember correctly, it costs arun $50 per table for a change of dessert. We wanted a change initially but after we did our sums we realised its not that worth it after all (our thoughts). You may wish to check with Eric again on the additional costs.

BTW, we orginally thought we will need 30 tables, but after our RSVP, we managed to cut down to 26 tables. So u may want to take this into the consideration. In my opinion, CC is one of the best locations by Tung Lok. I highly recommend it to u if u hv budget constraints and still want a gd location/svc.

swansh

Hi eileen10, thks for the advice...i will limit the tables to 28+2 spare tables if i m going to sign up for CC package. Wow, it sure costs a bomb just to change 1 dish. I always thought it will cost less if we just swap the dessert portion since dessert shouldn't have cost that much. Hmm....

yeah, i agree the accessibility is quite good. And it has got a pretty good reputation on food and services. Well, that's very important to us. ;)

Did you just held your wedding at CC? You seem quite experienced.

eileen10

hi swansh,

Yes, I had my wedding dinner at OPH-CC in June this yr.

I wanted to change the dessert to mango pudding cos I love manago. But too bad, with the add'l charges, we had to forgo it. Anyway, we didnt eat most of the dishes too!

swansh

Hi eileen10, ohh..same here too..i luv mango pudding especially...but i guess most guests would luv to have mango pudding too. Hmm, tough choice. True, bride and bridegroom won't get to taste most of the dish on the actual day cos they will be busy entertaining the guests or having the photo-taking session. And how was the sound system? Any of your guests commented on the food that night?

Hi sakurasan, you mean 28 tables also consider very cramped already. Oh, gosh...then i must really go down and take another look on the ballroom again. I am actually worried that if the tables were too close, it would be difficult for people to move around. Hmm...what do you recommend? Is 26+2 spare would consider a better one?

eileen10

Hi Swansh - I am hungry now...hahaha.

I had 26+2 tables, so 28 tables were laid, i thought it was alright. You may ask Eric to show you the set up for some other couples' wedding. It will be good to see rather than to imagine. The sound system is alright. Once u booked with them i can tell u some other minor things I thought can be improved. As for food, i received many gd comments abt the food, so I think you dun hv to worry on that part. But i suppose i very kiasu, kept on reiterating on "quality food n svc" to Eric

blueberry

Can anyone who went for the bridal show, share about the package?
I am looking into function rooms that allow less than 15 tables.
Thanks a lot

swansh

Ha...I will let you know if I decided to take up the package and change the dessert to Mango pudding(favourites..yummy!!!)
So, 26+2 spare should be all right after all. Glad to know the sound system is ok and the guests' comments on the good food. Thanks for the reassurance! Yeah, would most probably ask if there's any couples holding their wedding banquet (around 28 tables) at CC these few days so that I can probably take a peep on the overall setup. I must pester my hubby tonight. He's been busy these few days and had hardly time to entertain me. Luckily I still gotta all of you here for advice. Really appreciate. ;)

Wow, you still got some good pointers for me. Must be after I sign up then you let me know? ;p
Ok,will let you know once we decide to confirm within this week or so.

Btw, how do you find Eric? IS he easy to work with? Flexible? Must find out how's his style like before meeting up with him in person.

Hi KK, I didn't go for the bridal show. But like what eileen10/sakurasan mention, the ballroom can only best accomodate up to 28 tables. So, guess should be pretty all right for you too. The ambience is like what eileen10 commented is pretty cozy though ceiling is not that high. I have yet to go for my second round of viewing at CC...

sakurasan

Hi Swansh

I think the ideal size wld be 26 tables. You can ask Eric for date where a wedding dinner is held with 30 tables - you can go ard 6 pm and check the layout.

swansh

hi sakurasan, I did go down to have a quick view last weekend. Should have stay longer to take a thorough look. That's why I thought 28 should be just fine. Now I am interested to see how it's like when there are 26-28 tables. Just to make sure that there will be ample space for the guests to move around. Worried the chairs may be a hindrance for guests to move in/out if the tables were close to each other.

But hey, no problem. Will heed all your advice and give Eric a buzz to check out the layout again. Thanks!

yougurt

I am new here but i have sign the package with CC two weeks ago. For your info, the bridal show is canceled and i got the refund from CC.

I think changing of dishes seems lke not advisable because i request to change fish, and it cost 30-50 additional cost.

But thier dishes for the superior package is lesser, one dish lesser.... seems like the other higher package is better. Any advice on the serving of the food? seven dishes plus dessert is that enough portion for male guess?

sakurasan

Hi Swansh

I think if you do 28, it's still quite alrite. I had no choice but to hv 30 - was so worried that the guests wld be sitting back to back.

But it's a very nice and cosy place - I liked it alot. My guests also complimented that the food was very good. But many of them thot it was Orchard Hotel and went there instead!

eileen10

hi swansh, Eric is ok, nice man and quite chin chye. I wouldnt think u have problem in communicating to him. Kelvin the banquet manager is nice too!!

hi yougurt - sorry i cant comment on the superior pkg dishes as mine was the old pkg.

blueberry

Hi Yougurt, Swansh

Thanks for the infor.
Went that Sunday, tot could take a peak. but din see any bridal show. So I see. It's been cancel.
The food is good. Been to a colleague wedding, good impression on the food. yum yum.
I will check them out.

swansh

Called Eric and learned that there will be wedding banquets this sat and sun.
Sat - 30 tables
Sun - 26 tables

If any of you interested, can drop by and take a look. Will most likely pop by on Sat late evening. Thought we can take a peep on the food as well. Cos my hubby commented the dish name on the superior menu doesn't sound attractive to him. ;)

Another good comment on the food from KK. Great!!!

yougurt

Eileen10,

How is the bridal suite? Convenient for gown changing and is the place safe for Ang Bao keeping etc. The ballroom foyer have 3 exits.... have to be careful.

Actually, i found that CC restaurant have a good and cosy environment, prefered the restaurant rather than the ballroom. But the capacity in the restaurant is even smaller than the ballroom.

eileen10

Hi Yougurt - I think the room is acceptable - as you hv to settle yr bills on the same night, so we settle everything by cash. Our families had taken gd care of our things so no major issues on the 3 exits.

swansh

I had signed up for the package in CC. Had met up with both the operations manager, Kelvin and sales manager Eric previously. Both were quite nice and flexible. Guess all those of us who signed up for CC are in good hands. And was pretty delighted and impressed on what CC can offer. However, have not decide on which menu to choose. We may upgrade to the Delux menu. Anyway, still early for us to confirm on the menu. ;)

Thanks to eileen10 and sakurasan for their kind advice.

sakurasan

Hi Swansh

You're welcome!

Good to hear that you've finally decided on CC! I have been dying to go back to CC for a proper meal. I didn't get to eat during the dinner and for the food-tasting, I also didn't eat much coz I was on diet then. Hopefully, someone will invite me to a wedding dinner at CC soon.

I quite like the bridal suite that they gave us - it was quite spacious! Lots of room for makeup, change of clothes and for frens to hang ard. The room is not separate from the living area - so it's one huge room plus a balcony. We booked the same room one day in advance of the wedding (altho we didn't get to stay overnite) to park our liquor, wedding albums, gowns, etc...so that there's nothing much to carry on the actual day itself. Plus we chilled out there after doing all the mani/padi.

eileen10

Hi Swansh - you are welcome

Sakurasan - u smartie. clever to book the room in advance for a chilled out session. My hubby and i didnt really get to relax in the hotel, we were like rushing here and there..haha

mizzie

hi girls, i confirm my banquet w CC as well...Right on the spot actually
was wondering if i am too 'easy' but glad to hear all the good reviews! not sure if wish to upgrade to deluxe menu...anyone got any comments between 'superior' and 'deluxe' menu? thanks in advance

sakurasan

hi eileen10

Initially, we didn't think of chiling out....we juz wanted to hv a place to park all our barang-barang so that our frens dun hv to carry so much stuff ard for us on the actual day. Just dumped all the flowers (for the parents), angbao box, clothes, etc there!

Hi mizzie

You stil hv time to think abt it! Actually the superior seems good enough - but it dun hv prawns, scallops or abalone. So we paid a bit more per table and had a scallop dish. If your parents or in-laws mind not serving these delicacies, then you may want to consider changing one or two dishes to have scallops or prawns.

swansh

Yeh, thanks to both of you that I had came to a conclusion finally instead of still scouting high and low for good venue and food.

yeah, agreed with eileen10 it was a smart move to book the room in advance! Thanks for the tips. I am taking notes now. Any more other tips? eileen10, sakurasan? *Me Kiasu* ;p

Hi mizzie, no worry..guess we are all in good hands judging from all the favourable feedback and good comment given to CC over here. Reason why I may wish to upgrade to Delux menu partly is due to in-law's preference and also the food descriptions seem more attractive and yummy. Well, I think i will only confirm whether to upgrade or stay as it is or follow sakurasan to change 1 dish when near to the food tasting session.

Actually, superior should be good enough since it's the most popular choice among all. Right, all ex-CC brides? ;)

mizzie

Hi girls...thx 4 the advice...tink its a good idea just to chg one of the dish...looks like a lot depends on the food tasting and parents preference...
of cos i think it will be good to hear from those who have tasted or the ex-CC brides :D

so sakurasan u actually book one night before ur actual wedding day har? that means total 2 nights izit?

sakurasan

Hi mizzie

Yup, we booked one nite before - but didn't stay in the room coz must stay in mom's place...what a shame hor?

mizzie

Hi Chillipadi

U can visit Tunglok's website www.tunglok.com.sg

and u can get all the details on this site...

Hi Sakurasan...

no lah...better than rush here rush there...did the hotel give u any discount for booking 1 nite w them?

cutiegirl

I have just signed up with CC. Eric is quite nice and he asks me what I want and try to accomodate. Quite cool the way he handles the whole thing. Any more advice on guarding the valuables in the bridal suite? Are we free to choose the suite we want? Thanks!

yougurt

cutiegirl,

I dont think you allowed to choose the suite room. the suit room all at low floor and the lights in the room is not enough for make-up.

I think Eric is a nice guy....

yougurt

Garfield33,
not sure is there a safe box. but normally all hotel do have one for each room. I not really like the suite room in orchard parade hotel because i found that it is too small, dark and no partition between living area and bedroom. Invonveniet for brides to change the gown. The best bridal suite is Orchard Hotel. Big, bright, spacious, big mirror..... but think this is not that critical.

cutiegirl

Hi yougurt, low floor is quite dangerous esp when we have valuables. I will check with Eric whether the room can be upgraded. If its dark, very inconvenient for makeup too. Btw, did you have your wedding in CC? If yes, how do you solve the issue of no lights for make up? Thanks!

yougurt

cutiegirl,

my AD is in sep. my make-up artise said, either do the make-up in the toilet or do it earlier. Or shit some of the light etc, she ask me not to worry, she will solve it. In fact she is the one highlight to me that the room is not bright enough.

No way to upgrade unless you change to normal room. all the suite room is at the lower floor.

When is yours AD?

cutiegirl

Hu yougurt, mine is in Sept. After what you say, I spoke to Eric yesterday, he says there are 3 levels available. Highest is 5h floor. W can also upgrade to the Executive suite at additional cost of $80. Maybe we should consider

cutiegirl

Hi yougurt, realised that I type wrongly. Mine should be in Oct. Paiseh. Btw, which bridal studio you go to? They went to visit the hotel with you? That is very good service.

yougurt

cutiegirl,

Upgrade to excutive suite is at which floor? if the room good, i dont mind to upgrade. You have view the room liao? Spacious?

My make-up artise is very experience lady, i engage her seperately from my bridal package and she properly will be my dinner make-up artise only. for the full day service, i think is expensive.

yougurt

daddy,

How is the food, service, environment? How many table you have, how is the bridal suite?

You set up any projector? how is it?

Bare with me for many question, would you mind just share your experience with us.

married02

Food excellent! comment from the guest may not always be right as different people got diff. taste you couldn't satify all, overall feedback from most of my guest is good.

I got 25+2 table in the resturant as the ballroom was taken up. yours is in the ballroom or resturant?
The Htl Bridal suite is OK ,not very impressive just normal room with a sofa.

Projector?......I dont hv a presentation on that day but i seem other couple setup in the ballroom.

Overall i think the restuarant is ok if you are $$$ tide,only thing i like there is the food....damn nice...becos its tunglok

preci0usm0ments

hiya daddy,

u mean to say that we can actually opt for ballroom and food with be served by CC?
sorry ah.. cause me totally no idea and dunno where to start

how's the deco and the resturant itself? err.. do you have any pics on the deco to share?
Are there any pillars blocking? march-in long anot?

i_panda77

Hello ex-CC brides,

my AD is on 30/10/04 at OPH Antica ballroom with Club chinos.......Need advise here....Eric said that the ballroom does not have room for the bride to change, hv to go up to suite to change, find it troublesome leh...any feedback/comments?
Anybody got pic of the stage to share? Do they provide deco on the stage?

blur:
yes u can use the ballroom with food fr CC...but u need to check with Eric (CC banquet sales mgr 6836-0984) on the ballroom availability. As for the deco, if u hv the last few issues of the wedding mag (can't remember which one), u can actually find a pic of the ballroom deco...yes there are pillars (think got 2 or 3) blocking...the march-in not very long cos the ballrm not very big...

garfield33

Hi.

I had my wedding at CC in May. Just to let you gals know my opinion of it.

The food is yummy! But the room, initially i find the aircon doesn't seem to work. It's not cold enough and i have to call 2x to complain. After my dinner, when we go up again, then it is cooler. But before that, when you are so busy changing and all the hype, you like the room to be nice and cool too.

I personally prefer the AD manager Kelvin to Eric. We met Kelvin the week before our AD and he's alot more friendly and attentive. Also, he's kind enough to allow us to pay the next day rather than the wedding night (when we are all tired and need time to count our angpaos peacefully 1st).

Other then that, the AD ballroom decos are all v. nice!

i_panda77

garfield33,

thanks for the feedback. Is it troublesome to rush up to your room to change & rush down again? I only met Eric, don't know who is Kelvin...hope he's the AD mgr also.

Err....do u use their invitation cards? cos i am using my own cards, then tt day i called Eric asking if there's a refund since i don use their cards, he said no refund, he asked me what i wanted & see whether he can give or not...i haven't reply him yet.

Do u know if they have any projector to rent? Sorry for asking so many qn...

fanyong

Hi garfield33,

Do we decide on the deco and colour of the tablecoth etc only one week before the AD? My wedding coming this Oct and I have not really meet up Eric to discuss all these details. Do we discuss these with Eric or the AD manager Kelvin? I also have not met him yet.

BTW, I understand that Eric doesnt provide projector,.... did u use a projector? where did u rent it from?

caitlin

I am new to this thread.
Have just obtained details of the package from CC but have never visited the ballroom myself.

Is the decoration provided by the Hotel sufficient or do couples usually have to top up?
I'm glad to read the both Eric and Kelvin are nice. Are they flexible with perks too?

Really hope to hear from you. Been looking around for a while but have yet to find a suitable ballroom.