Orchard Hotel

Hi mehmeh,

The presentation was quite good, the food looked a lot and the colours were quite well done. There were 1 or 2 comments for some dishes. Can't remember exactly leow, but generally we requested that the standard to be at least the same, esp the size of the fish.

Hi Lissa,
During my food tasting, the waitress mentioned that there is "or nee" as an option for dessert. So you can check with ur coordinator and see if you can have that? I managed to bargain 5% of the parking coupons in exchange of the cards. :D

Hi mehmeh & Jacq,

Went to T-dragon yesterday liao. Saw your card mehmeh.
It's quite cute... but me and FH thinks it's a little small. Didn't manage to find anything else there that we like so we've decided not to use T-dragon liao. Good thing is Siew Li agreed to exchange the comp cards for more comp parking. But she still has to get back to me about how much more she can give.

Will be going down to focal-ad tomorrow morning. They have quite a lot of nice looking cards from their website. So i'm really hoping to find something I like there. Wanna quickly try and 'gao tim' the wedding cards.

Btw mehmeh, what colour table cloths did you use for your guest tables? I didn't really like any of the colours Siew Li showed me leh. So might just leave it all white. Just worried it'll look boring. Siew Li said she recently did a corporate event with white underlay and black overlay table cloths that looked very elegant. Thought it sounds very unique and nice leh. Just wonder whether it'll make the ballroom a little dark or not. She's supposed to try and dig out photos to show me.

Lissa

hi Jacquelyn,

Samesame.. I didn't have too many comments when the chef came at the end. It was my mum who praised the chef & 'hoped' tt the standard be maintained.
I guess praise does work!

I met my relatives yest & i just asked a little how they felt of the food & service. Phews! Positive comments for both quality of food (& quantity) & service..

Hi Lissa,

Wow, the card too small ah? heheh.. Anyway gd tt u cld bargain for more complimentary parking. U cld push for a certain quantity i guess?

I dun quite rem the colour of the underlay & overlay, think was white & pink? But i LOVE what u said Siew Li did with the white & black! But u gotta check or be sure tt the elders wun have complains yah?

The colour shdn't turn out too dark, u can always request for the lighting to be turned up & not be so dim. This can be worked ard

Ooh, if u really do decide on this, take a pix if u cld & show k? Sounds so classic!

Hi mehmeh,

I've confirmed my invitation cards liao!
Decided to go with Focal-ad. Something simple and elegant looking.
I think it's considered quite ex... but it was within the earlier budget we set so my FH say just confirm lah. Then can 'gao tim' one more item.

As for the table cloths... dunno if Siew Li will be able to dig out photo samples or not. Is the food tasting in the restaurant or do they give you a private function room? Cos i'm thinking of asking her to set up the food tasting table with the black and white colours for us to see.

Lissa

hi Lissa,

Cool! So happy u got one more wedding prep item down! At least u like it alot & still paying within ur budget.. Tt's a blessing

Food tasting is done in the private function room on the same level as the BRs. U cld request i guess? I dun quite rem my table linen though.. No harm

Hi Lissa,

During my food tasting, the table was set up with normal white table cloth with the red "xi" plates. It's not exactly the same as what it would be like on the VIP table but there's a feel of it. Like you said, can ask her if can set it up for you. It'll be so cool! must take pix and show us!!! :D

Hi Mehmeh,
Yah, I hope that praise will work too! I have a lot of tables that night so I hope that food and service will be good! Have just selected my deco. I prefer the old design coz the stage doesn't look so empty. Luckily they were able to still use the other supplier. Next item to do: distribution of invitation cards!

4 more weeks to the AD and counting....

hi jacquelyn

Slipped my mind, how many tables are u having? I also hope tt the std wld remain the same, esp when it comes to 'mass-production'

What's the old design u're referring to? Is it the one with the canopy rather than the lighting on drapes?

Hi mehmeh,

The ironical thing is in the end i still chose a squarish card from focal-ad. But a little bigger than yours, at least it seemed a little bigger. But after going home and deciding on the wordings to use, i'm a little worried there wun be enuff space still. Cos i'm starting my invitation card off with a 4-line poem. Anyway, asked them to do up the art-work for us to view liao. Hopefully they'll be able to squeeze everything in and still look ok. *fingers crossed*.

Ok, i'll request for Siew Li to do up the table cloths in black & white and take some pics for your gals.

Lissa

Hi Mehmeh,

Having 60 tables, so we're quite concerned about the service.

For the deco, it's something like the canopy but there are more cloth pattern on the board at the background instead. Eh, dunno if I'm making this clear enough. It's the same supplier as the canopy one according to OH. You probably would have seen it before. I thot the new design with the drapes just hanging down looked quite empty.

Did you have topiaries along the aisle for your walk-in? I chose pink and ivory roses to be used. Wanted to keep it in line with my invitation which has ivory, pink and dark brown colour.

Did you meet up with the florist to talk about the flowers or it was done through your coordinator? you think it'd be possible to talk to the florist directly and discuss?

hi Lissa,

My invites for church also started with a 4-lined poem.. But i think we kept it simple for the banquet ones. I think the artwork wld give u a gd gauge on the space constraints..

heheh, dun worry, the printer ought to know how to adjust the sizing accordingly for the words not to appear too cramp

Looking fwd to the pix

Hi Jacquelyn,

I vaguely rem u're one of the OH brides who are getting this many tables. Just remind ur coordinator via sms, or sthg on the service..

I did the canopy too! There was also fabric draped on the wall too.. Agree, tt their newer stage design does look bear, but they say tt the lightings on the stage is pretty.. hahah

My aisle deco wasn't exactly a topiary.. It was on a metal stand, with a wreathe of red roses & white orchids, laid flat. In the middle, there are huge gold candles.

What sort of pink u getting? Coz there are many shades of pink roses, dun want to get sthg too uncomplimentary to ur ivory too.

I left it to my coordinator to inform the florist, i was running out of time coz i had church to take care of... I suppose u cld ask ur coordinator if u cld get in touch with the florist?

Hi Mehmeh,

I really do hope that the cards will look ok with my wordings! Cos i like the words so much i dun wanna change it.

Hi Jacq,

You must be so excited! 4 weeks will fly by in no time at all. Mine's 3 months away and already i think that will fly by...

I can't really picture what you're trying to explain about the stage decor. To be honest, i haven't really decided on mine. The wedding decor that i saw that day was rather plain. Had a pink wedding cake in the centre of the stage and some decor on the back wall with leaves and greens. But apart from that nothing else i remember.

Lissa

Hi Lissa & other OH brides

Here's the URL to view the Western Ivory theme in OH.
http://mehmeh03sept05.fotopic.net/c635362.html

Lissa: I think both Jac & myself find the main stage's deco abit too simple & bare. I'm not sure if the deco Jac's referring to is the same i used during mine, but u cld check in the Archives, shd be the 3rd last set date 14 Aug - 26 Sept, i posted a pix of how it is

Hi Mehmeh,

My decor a bit like yours, but instead of the white roses and the table cloths, we chosen red colour because of the elderly...
so a bit "cheena", but for the stage is the same, i like the drop down leaf. But after all, red look nice also. Some of my guests even took the roses back after the dinner.

hi janice

ooh, the pix u saw via the URL aren't for my wedding. I was checking out this theme before my wedding, didn't quite like it.. heheh

The roses in the pix are actually champagne & prob didn't turn out too well becoz of the lighting or my flash.

Red looks gd in the OH BR coz of the existing wall & chandelier settings. hahah, same, my flowers also taken by my guests.. so funnie!

Hi mehmeh & Janice,

Can't really see the actual colours of the ivory theme in your pics cos a bit dark leh. Can you remember if the table cloths are just white against white or white against ivory. Is their ivory more leaning towards off white or more leaning towards light goldish? My EG is gold lah so i can't risk blending into the table cloth.
So VIP table i'll also be choosing red as well Janice. Do you think the ivory theme will go with the red VIP tables instead of the Gold?

Sigh... later must remember to call Siew Li. She supposed to fax me the menu selection since 2 weeks back and i'm still waiting. Reminded her 2 times liao... today call will be 3rd reminder. My food tasting is next Thurs, must give her the menu selection 1 week in advance right?

Lissa

hi lissa,

if i dun recall wrongly, the tables on the leftside of the aisle are white & white, while the tables on the right are peach & peach.

Can't quite comment on ur colour combi, u wld be a better gauge coz u know ur gold EG's shade of gold. In addition, Siew Li is supposed to show u the range of table linen colours & let u select, so better to decide when u see the physical stuff

Oh u dun have the menu ah? I thot when we signed the contract u wld have the list? hmmm..
But in any case, today's just abt 1 week away fr the food tasting & OH orders food on Thur, so better make sure u get hold of her asap.

Jia you!
332601.gif

Hi mehmeh,

I do have the menu on the back side of the contract. But the package i signed is for a 9-course dinner including one abalone dish. The menu at the back of their contract was missing that so she was supposed to get back to me with the updated one. I called her earlier and she said she just sent it... apparently the chef was on leave and she just managed to get the latest update of the menu. Wonder if that means there'll be new dishes leh?

As for the colour combi... Siew Li did show us some table linen samples that evening when i met up with her. But as far as i recall there was only 2 shades of pink and 1 shade of blue. I dun remember an ivory colour leh? Anyway i asked if she could set up the food tasting table with the black & white theme and she said cannot leh!
But she claims she managed to get some pics to show me... but need her IT to resize it before sending.

Lissa

Lissa

Hi Lissa,

my vip table is red colour and as for my guest tables are white, i can send you the pics for you to have a look, just let me have your email address and will send to you.

You can ask Siew Li for more comments what colour to use for your cloth colour.

But i like their jazz theme for the ballroom decorations. You can ask them to show you the Jazz theme decoration.

hi Lissa,

oic.. hmm, i can't say anything too much if the chef has created new dishes anot. heheh, ur wedding more current than mine mah. But i wld say, wait in positive anticipation! heheh

Abt the table linen, i suppose ivory wld also refer to peach? Close match i hope.. Dun get too anxious yah? Just call & email her, i'm sure u're still ahead of time on this
I only decided on my favours, deco, linen & the nitty gritty 2 weeks prior to the big day

hi Janice,

Wow, there's a Jazz theme? So interesting! i didn't know tt, wun have minded if i cld get to consider another option.. hahah, but i guess my theme was more of a passionate-romance sort. hiaks

Hi Janice,

Great... I'd love to see your colour theme.
So are you having the jazz theme as well? Will keep in mind to ask Siew Li to show me the decors for that theme.
Oh, my e-mail is [email protected] so you can send the pics! Thanks!

Hi mehmeh,

Hmmm... you selected all those only 2 weeks prior to your wedding?? Haha... guess i'm WAY ahead of time.
Maybe that's why Siew Li seems kinda laid back to me. Cos to her there's no urgency whatsoever. In the end she did send an e-mail to me yesterday... but forgot the attachment of the menu selection list! SIGH... so i'm still waiting!

To the rest of the ladies, OH does have 'or nee' as an option for dessert. But you have to top up another $10+++ per table just for that.

Lissa

hi Lissa,

heheh, was very tied down with work in Sch, coz Term 3 is always a very busy period of the year. So i cld not offload my work totally, at least my conscience didn't allow me to, till when the term was closing & nearer to the wedding

Rule of the thumb, u can get anxious but it wld lead u to nowhere yah? So act on what u can & if u realise u're ahead of time, i guess u know u cld still work on other things which require more urgent attention. But i did have my foodtasting 3 mths in advance, coz I specifically told my coordinator tt i wldn't be free after the June sch holidays

Hi Janice,

oic
thanks for the clarification!

Siew Li has sent me a photo of the black & white setting. Dunno how to attach it here for you gals to see leh... if you wanna see i can send via e-mail to you. Just gimme your addys.

Anyway i dun like the setting. VERY funeralish! And i'm already not usually the pantang kind... But somehow when i looked at the table i immediately thought of a very formal funeral. So i think i definitely wun be going with that setting!

My food tasting is coming up... next tuesday to be exact. Hope it wun be awkward cos it's the 1st time my family is meeting up with FH's family!

Lissa

Hi Lissa,

since your parents dun mind the white things, why dun you go for the white and ivory, it will be very romantic, with white roses. Get flowers from JiMei, their roses very very nice.

Hi Janice,

Yah, i'm thinking of an all white theme now lor. I haven't seen their ivory colour so can't really picture it. Am pretty sure it wasn't part of the table cloth colour samples that Siew Li showed me the last time we met.

I dun really want roses... think i'll likely go for lilies. I saw another wedding decor at OH with lilies the last time i went down. Quite nice.

Lissa

I just had my food tasting earlier this week. Wanna ask for some advice on the dessert selection.

I chose the red bean paste with dumpling. It was quite yummy albeit a bit too sweet, but somehow I find it to be a bit cheap leh. Anyone tried any of the other options and can recommend to me?

Lissa

Hi lissa

We have met again.
I've chosen mango pudding cos is my favourite.
It is in heart-shaped form, very pretty. And i find that been the last dish, it is not so jialat.

hi Lissa,

U can upload as attachment.. But must be less than 600 x 600 as ur resolution. So if it's bigger, u just resize to smaller 1st than upload as jpeg file

I had my red bean paste with dumpling.. i like! if too sweet, just highlight to the chef. Cheapo ah? Dunno, but i guess it's more of Chinese thingy for the old folks, coz red bean & dumpling prob have some significance

Cld consider what Jocestor has mentioned, mango pudding & so cute, heart-shaped!

Hi mehmeh,

I dun really know how to resize the pic so i can't seem to upload it.

Anyway as for the dessert, I actually liked the red bean thingy. It was nice... but just wondering what other options there would be. I'm not too keen on mango pudding leh...

Lissa

Hi ladies, I am considering Orchard Hotel for my wedding.

Can you all give me some feedback on the service quality of their wedding co-ordinators and banquet staffs?

Does anyone know a wedding co-ordinator call Yoke Mei? How is her service?

Thank you so much!!!

hi Lissa,

Oic, no worries.. Wld still love to have a peep at the black-white set-up yah? Can u email to [email protected]

Hmm, i liked the red bean thingy & the gd thing tt it came with tang yuan.. hahah! Anyway so have u decided what dessert u want oredi?

Hi Wei Xing,

I think Janice & myself have posted the quality of service & food as well as coordinators in this thread. Janice's post is somewhere on this page, while mine has been archived (thru 26 Sept 05)

Think u might be able to gather info fr reading a couple of archives.. Coz it wld be rather recent to paint u a more accurate picture

I just went down to Orchard Hotel today to see the hotel and talk to the coordinator, Siew Li.

See her name being mentioned here rather often. How is she? Service wise? What about the food there? Since it's set menu and can't really choose food, need to ensure that everything tastes nice.

BF and I kinda like their elegant ballroom. Pillarless and high ceilings!

btw, what are the things to negotiate with them before we sign the contract? once we signed, it's fixed already right?

Hi Lissa,
Could i take a look at the photos too? [email protected] thanks!

Hi Lissa,

Received the pix of the B&W set-up, was thinking it might look quite nice with black & gold instead? Grand Hyatt has the black & gold & it looks so gorgeous..

hi Muffin,

I has Siew Li as my coordinator during the final week before my AD. She's really gd with following up on my requests which i had informed my previous coordinator about.

U might want to read on the archive thru 26 Sept 05. I had given my 1st hand experience abt my wedding dinner & the whole experience with OH.

My package also didn't allow me to choose the kind of food, but i was def able to decide how each dish was done. For eg, instead of steamed fish i requested for deep-fried & then coated with sweet Thai chilli sauce.. No worries abt the quality of food, i think tt's what draws ppl there.

Yupz, please do negotiate before signing on the dotted lines. Can look to increase % of cards, % of complimentary parking, 2 nites stay in suite, waiver of corkage for a certain no. of bottles of wine (this is different fr waiver of corkage for hard liquor)

Generally the more no. of tables u're going to have for the banquet, the greater ur bargaining power.. Do let us know how ur progress with OH gets on yah?

Hi, all ex-brides of OH,
juz read a thread on ang paos for wedding banquest @ the various hotels.. seems tat alot of ppl tink tat OH banquet is not tat expensive.. but hey, we got to pay $840+ for a table for our Nov 06 wedding (weekend)... it's so frustrating to see tis.. am quite worried tat we ll make a terrible loss, which we hv no budget for...
those who hv their weddings @ OH liao, can share if your advices.. if possible, can share if ur make a loss?

hi ffbear,

dun worry too much, those who are ur close frens, & immediate relatives will def give u bigger APs with some surplus.

however, those guests of ur parents & ILs might not give as big an AP, esp if they are elderly who seldom attend wedding banquets at hotels, or still think wedding dinners are same cost as per years ago..

Personally i had made a "loss" had not my dad, my maternal 2nd aunt & 3rd uncle give 4-digit APs. My MIL guests really undergave quite abit..

Anyway, it def wun be nice to go 'announce' to ur guests abt the price per head. If u want to host a banquet, i guess u must be prepared for losses.. If u've got guests who have asked u how much it costs per table & u're unafraid to be frank, then u can inform them abt the cost. They might help u spread the news to ur common frens abt the cost..

Hi, mehmeh,
thanks for the info.. we r olreadi prepared to incurr loss, but we hv held it to b somethg like S$5k.. anythg more than tat, we would b in deep shit.. pray for the best lah..

Hi ladies!

Just had my wedding banquet at OH on 2nd Jan! The general feedback from my guests was that the service and food were good. A little sad that it's over but happy at the same time that my guests enjoyed themselves. Would like to share some of my experience with you all. Can't write everything here but if you wanna ask about anything specific, just let me know and I'll be glad to share. :D I'll start with the suite first…

I won a prize from OH at their annual bridal show last year so I managed to upgrade my bridal suite to the presidential suite. The presidential suite is big! The living room and dining room alone is spacious. Even the bathroom is spacious. I had about 15 people arriving earlier to help out. The suite was big enough to accomodate all of them. I didn't even need to arrange another day room for the helpers. Besides, having more people in the suite helped to create the celebratory & festive mood.

By the time I was ready and changed, it was about 730pm. According to my husband, the reception area was already full of people by then! So they had to open up the ballroom for the guests to be seated. Considering I had 600 over guests, we felt honoured and lucky that most of my guests didn't arrive too late and we were able to start the banquet abt 830pm. The dishes were quite spaced out so my guests didn't feel that they were rushed to finish the food, even after the 2nd walk-in. The banquet ended about 11pm and my guests managed to enjoy the dessert before leaving. So the timing was good, didn't start too late or end too late. We realised that it was our friends and colleagues who tend to arrive later. Relatives are usually the earliest to arrive. So if you have invited many of your friends and colleagues, do let them know to arrive early.

I must say the operations IC, Christopher was a great help! He and his team offered considerate suggestions to ensure that the guests were taken care of. He constantly updated us on the banquet progress and even arranged to have the sharks fin brought up to my suite so that I can have more time to change into my 2nd outfit. The only sad part was that I couldn't enjoy the rest of the dishes until the dessert. Luckily I had my share during the food tasting!

On the whole, I liked the way the ballroom was set up, it wasn't overwhelming and the lightings & candles helped to create a romantic mood. I chose the western theme. Here's a pix taken by my friend.
342478.jpg

I had 65 tables (including the reserved) and a dance floor in the middle of the ballroom. And yet the ballroom didn't look cramped. In fact, it looked pretty spacious. As I was going round to take photos, there was enough room to move around too. The high ceiling and pillarless setting definitely helped. But because of the dance floor, I couldn't have the red carpet aisle. My OH coordinator arranged to have rose petals to mark the aisle instead. I was a little disappointed and contemplated putting the dance floor near the stage. But I'm glad I stuck to having the dance floor in the centre. My friends performed a dance routine and more guests were able to enjoy the performance. At about the 5-6th dish, the dance floor was opened and my friends took to the dance floor. While they were dancing, OH staff served the food and left it on the table till they're back to enjoy the food. My friends were impressed with the service as they had previously experienced (at another venue) their food being taken away even though the food was practically untouched!

Well, I'm very happy on how my wedding turned out. The OH staff was helpful & my guests enjoyed themselves. Something I learned was to communicate as much as possible to your coordinator on your requests/ ideas. They'll try their best to accommodate but sometimes, we can't get what we want. However, there are ways to make the wedding as special and unique. Because they are experienced, they can provide suggestions on what can be done and even warn you on what could happen if you insist on doing it a particular way.

Of course, there were some glitches here and there (esp with the table seating) but it was kept under control. I didn't know about it until after the dinner so I was able to relax and enjoy myself. So do as much as you can before the wedding and on the day itself, relax and be a pretty bride! :D

hi ffbear,

*cross my fingers & toes* for u
I think u ought not to encounter such a huge loss, anyway enjoy ur preps & the big day. Dun fret too much now..

hi Jac!

Wow, time really flies by & ur AD is also over oredi.. I'm sure u miss the whole day & all the preps tt had gone into it too rite?

Seems like Christopher is a really gd banquet coordinator hor? He was also mine back in Sept & he also made sure tt the sharksfin was delivered to the suite so tt we cld cushion our stomachs with sthg for the very long nite.

U have requested for the dance floor in the centre of the BR ah? Interesting!! Tt means u're also closer to ur guests rite? Me looking fwd to viewing ur pix of ur AD

Think the service tt u & ur had guests had experience wld put more brides considering OH at ease. heehee
Gone for ur honeymoon?

Hi cocomybibi

*waves* nice to see u here too! I had Siew Li as my coordinator, but i dun think i've got her contact anymore. Maybe some of the ladies here wld be of help

Hi, mehmeh,
thanks for the well wishes..

Hi, Jac,
thanks for sharing the beautiful experience... hope mine would b as beautiful as urs @ the end of tis year...

Hi, cocomybibi,
my coordinator is Serene.. so far so good.. but she is now on maternity leave, I think..

Hi, gals,
btw, I heard somewhere tat OH is having a facelift now.. is tat true?