Orchard Hotel

coco_mybibi

thanks mehmeh

lissa

Hi cocomybibi,

My co-ord is Siew Li. I usually call 67396635 to get in touch with her. Nor so sure if it's her DID but i know for sure it's the catering department. So maybe you wanna try getting her at that number.

Lissa

bride_sept05

Hi ffbear,

the weekend package usually will be a bit expensive, I took the weekday package is about S$658plus per table (my wedding in Sept 05), but we managed to cover everything with the ang paos that we had collected. But I seen in the newspaper that OH's chinese restuarant Hua Ting had awarded the best chinese food in asian,so it could be that reason, the price went up. My guests commented that the food really nice and the ballroom very big and spacious.

Hi Jac,
Congratulation, time flies fast, we just discussed about your wedding last few months only. Glad that you had a wonderful night for your wedding.

So lucky for you to have the presidential suite, but then the bridal suite that I had is spacious also,living and dinning room, but our bathroom doesnt seem that big that you had mentioned.

I had a fruit cake in my bridal suite, did you try that? really very nice, my friends even order from the hotel the next day.

The IC Christopher's service really very very very good, even my friend had her wedding at Shangrilah also commented that Christopher is good, so different from hers.

All OH brides to be,
make sure you all try the free fruit cake in your bridal suite, really very very nice......yummy!

cajoof

Oh yes! the fruit cake was good. I had heard that wedding cake is usually very sweet and can sometimes be TOO sweet. But in this case, it's just nice! Even my parents commented it wasn't too sweet.

So OH brides-to-be, you and your hubby have to taste it! Or you can put it in the fridge and freeze it and enjoy it slowly after your wedding!

ffbear

Hi, Janice,
actuali, we booked with OH cos we oso heard tat the food there reali very nice + award winning chef etc. we hv faith tat guests ll reali enjoy the food.. but then, some guests dont reali bother.. they may rate a hotel price based on location etc.. then the AP may suffer... we r not trying to make a profit out of the whole thg. In fact we r prepared for loss, juz tat wan to minimise the loss.. again, fingers crossed..

btw, heard tat the hotel undergg uplifting.. is tat true?

hi Jacquelyn & Janice..

Hmm, i dun rem eating the fruit cake.. Hahah, guess i never fancied cakes & most of all cakes with the marzipan layer. But i think my ILs & parents liked it alot..

hihi ffbear,

The cake can be kept for a very long time.. According to traditions, the wedding cake is to be kept for a year & eaten on the 1st anniversary. Dunno if cakes this days can last tt long, hahah, but this can def last a little longer than most others when refrigerated

I can feel ur pain abt booking OH for the food & awards, yet those who aren't really aware give APs based on location or perception. Nvm, i'm sure u wld get APs tt wld surprise u pleasantly!

silverpen

I'm new here and am keen to hold my wedding at OH. Just wondering if anyone taken their wedding lunch package before??

sootycat

hi mehmeh,

Im currently sourcing out for potential venue for AD on 2nd half of yr 2007 keke bit KS hor.. could you share the price list with me too if u have it? thanks in advance :p

my email- [email protected]

hi SilverPen,

i have at hand the lunch package.. Wld u like the info? If so, please leave ur email add here..

Hi Justine & Guinebelle,

U've got mail

silverpen

Hi mehmeh,

I have the lunch package details, just wondering if anyone has tried it before? The menu for lunch like doesn't seem very fantastic?

silverpen

Dunno why the person in charge hasn't replied my email yet. They have requested for my fiance's surname and I have given them already but so many days still no reply.

Anyone know if my fiance's surname is Ng, which coordinate will be come under?? Is he/she good?

hi Silverpen,

Hmm, if u like the dishes but not the way the food is done, u can always request for another way for the dish to be done. For instance, instead of a steam fish, u can have it braised

Hmm, i think the person asked for ur HB's surname so as to verify which couple, rather than allocating to a certain coordinator by the couple's surname. Who is the person u've spoken to?

silverpen

Hi meh meh,

Paiseh, I got the confused. It's actually Carlton hotel that allocates coordinators based on HB's name, haha.

Anyway the coordinate from OH that liaise with me is Cathy. Anyone had her before? How is she??

summer_angel

anybody cares to share with me your OH wedding dinner package for 2006? What additional perks can we 'bargain' with them? e.g. beer and 2 night stay?

hi Silverpen,

heheh, it's okie.. I was browsing at Carlton's thread & i saw a similar msg fr u there.

Hmm, my coordinator was Siew Li.. Can't help here

Hi Summer Angel,

U care to leave ur email add here? Shall send u the package..

guinebelle

Hi mehmeh,

it is definitely of use to us

eh...ask u ah....if we wan to book for early 2007 hor....does the package tat u send me still apply??

paiseh ah...i veli mafan

hi SummerAngel,

I shall fwd u later today k? Might be abit bz...

Hi Guinebelle,

I think it's def negotiable with OH to take up the 2006 package for ur early 2007 wedding. I signed mine in 2004 for my 2005 wedding too..

No worries, u aren't ma fan.. But i dun guarantee what i said really is practiced yah?

hi SummerAngel,

U've got mail

Usually, if couples sign up during the wedding fair (going to be one in March), the perks are more attractive. At tt pt, usually free flow of beer & 2-nights stay would be offered. This was so when i signed up, hope it applies to the upcoming show too..

hi Guinebelle,

Calculate dates ah? U mean via the almanac? Maybe u can propose some dates to the person to contact & then hear whether the package can be applied to u.. Usually i think they will be quite eager to confirm ur deal & allow u to sign up for the 2006 package. I'm thinking prices wld increase for 2007, it's the normal practice for all hotels actually..

guinebelle

Hi mehmeh,

ya...me gng to cal auspicious date lor...then see wat are the dates tat i can look at.

btw....u are saying there will be a wedding fair whereby we can sign up for banquet at OH in March?? any idea when tat will be and where??

p.s.looks like i need to change my nick to "mafan gui" le..

hi Guinebelle,

I haven't got a clue when the show wld happen, but it wld be the Millenium Hotels (King's, Orchid, Grand Copthorne, M & Orch) combining at one venue to showcase all 5. It's in March, but no idea the exact date.. I can help u check it out

heheh, no need to change u nick.. We will all pick up the experience along the way
Quickly select ur date, if not whichever venue u finally decide on may have already been snapped up! All the best!

guinebelle

Hi mehmeh...

ya lor....gng to select the dates this week.

Keep me posted if u noe when the exact date of the show k?? Thank you ah!!

bride_sept05

Hi karin,

they do decor the place for my solemnization. But if you have lots of guests come in early, it will be a bit noisy, but then its very casual type, not like those in the room very formal.....

ffbear

Hi, all ex-OH brides,
got a few qns to ask for my AD in Nov.. cos thinking of getting my montage started next mth..
1) did they provide projector for ur? price? FOC?
2) how many montages did ur play during the AD? morning highlights? childhood to courtship pics? when did ur play them?
3) reception area.. is it exlusive to 1 ballroom?

think I oso very maifan.. hahaha.. hope u gals can help...

hi HamHam,

I recall seeing a thread which shares on where to find out the gd dates.. U do a search yah? At top/bottom of this page. Alternatively, hahah, google?

Hi ffbear,

1) Projector brought in ourselves

2) 2 montages
- 1st march-in PS pix
- 2nd march-in highlights
others have had
- 1st march-in childhood to courtship

3) If ur wedding is the only wedding tt evening, then yes. If someone is also having, then u def gotta share

bride_sept05

Hi ffbear,

1) we rented the projector from them.think is around $400 plus.

2) before the first march in, we played the childhood to courtship and wedding album photos.
then before the second march in, we played the morning highlights.

3) we used the whole ballroom so we occupied the whole reception area, we even had our solemnization at the reception area with the guests standing around......

lissa

Hi ffbear,

My wedding is in 2 weeks time. The quote i got from them for the projector is $250+++. Still trying to borrow a projector so i dun have to rent though...

I'm only having one video shown before our 2nd walk-in. It's of our childhood to courtship photos and a little story telling of our pak tor days. No video for 1st walk-in but will be showing powerpoint slideshow of PS pics before the start of dinner.

Lissa

Here's the red theme i had for my AD. It's not exactly oriental. I just wanted it red, so i did abit of mixing & matching..

350980.jpg
350981.jpg

350982.jpg

hi hamham,

Glad u like the deco.. If u scroll further up the page, u wld see Jacquelyn having another sort of canopy for the stage. Hers is more towards the back of the stage, but still makes the whole space more filled up. Hers can also acommodate more ppl on the stage..

Think there are new themes on the way & the lighting has been changed to sthg more modern, (check the last 2 archives), & u've the choice to select tt sort of lighting or the chandelier sort.

Oh if u dun oredi know, Orch Hotel together with her sister hotels are going to have a weddign fair on 12 Mar. Prob more perks when u sign up then & if u sign with UOB card, u get a discount worth abt 1 table.

ffbear

Hi, Mehmeh, Janice, Lissa,
million thanx for answering my queries on the projector & video thgy...
I should b doing somethg alike Janice, i.e. 2 video montages.. tat was olreadi my initial plan, but scared too much for guests to take.. kekeke
wow! $250+.. stil too epensive leh.. esp. for a less than 1/2hr thgy.. hmm... got to source ard for good lobang...
btw, u gals took the bigger ballrooms? how many tables did ur hv? In my quotation, for Ballroom 1 & 2, minimum is 55tables for weekends.. so I took the smaller one.. now hor.. like too small leh..

Hi, mehmeh,
thanks alot for the pics.. I believed tats the bigger ballroom? liked the western/ivory theme.. like princess, fairy tale.. hahahah.. day dreaming liao..

hi ffbear,

U're most welcome! Hmm, yupz, took BR 1 & 2. But rem, i signed up in 2004, so my terms & conditions prob differed fr urs? I had a total of 35 +2 tt day & a dance floor, so i was quite glad i had BR 1 & 2, otherwise it wld have been so cramp.

How many tables are u going to have? Prob can't use the 6 feet tables, can only use the 5 feet ones i guess.