Orchard Hotel

For food tasting, you need to select your preferred dish first. They will only serve the dish which you have selected.

YY: cards to be collected at T dragon first. then send to your preferred printer for printing

Thanks Avatar82

You had your wedding already?
How the feedback? Kinda share with us

Yup, my wedding was over on 23 Oct 2010. held my wedding at ballroom 3 with L shape march in. Though small, but it's quite cosy. Staff were helpful. There will be someone attached to you to assist you in changing, holding your gown etc. Food wise and service was excellent. I managed to complete my banquet in just 2 hours, yet able to change 5 gowns + 4 hairstyles change while not delaying my banquet. Everything run v smoothly. Held my tea ceremony in thier function room. Tea was prepared and served to everyone quite fast. super hassle free.

Video on orchard hotel reception area

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=464320051133

Video on Orchard hotel ballroom march in
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=464776666133

mine is $170++.. based on sat and sunday. I got the membership card. hence this is the member's rate.

Oic. How to get the membership card?? I need to book abt 2-3 rooms for my PIL, one of my bro n my videographer. So u didn't book through ur hotel coordinator??

Btw Is there any recommendation for the prawn n fish dish?? Had went for my food tasting already n had chosen prawns with honey peas n steam fish in hong kong style. But the prawn dish turn out so so only n the vege looks more than the prawn making whole dish look as though the vege is the main and not the prawn. As for the dish, there was abit of fish smell. So we change the steam fish to fried one. Anyone tasted the fried one before? What's the review like???

No leh.. i'm not refering to this membership. Mine is under this http://www.alacarte.com.sg. Annual membership fee for me + hubby sub card is $368. A booklet of vouchers will include 1 complimentary nite stay at any hotel under millenium group + alot of complimentary dining vouchers. The whole booklet actually cost much more than $368. on top of that, you enjoy discounted rates at the hotels for accomodation and dining. If you interested, you can look for my coordinator Jenny at 6337 6671.. probably she can give you discounted membership rate as well. just say Catherine Thia recommend can already.

for me, i choose live prawns.. My guests commented it's big and fresh. only troublesome part is peeling. As for fish, I initially chose steam fish. But during food tasting, got v strong fishy smell and quite stale. Decided to change to deep fried. Response for deep fried fish was v good. Worth considering.

I have a total of 25 tables + 2 reserve tables in the ballroom. If you look at my video, there are some areas filming the interior. Would say if you have 30 tables, abit cramp lah.

hi girls! do you girls know if there are 2 weddings on at BR1/2 and BR3 at the same timing, would the guests get confused which ballroom to go or which angbao box to drop in their angbaos? since the reception area is a common area?

qesther, sure there will be 2 weddings at the same day at times...

the hotel coord mentioned they would have ushers ard to help to lead guests to correct wedding and my side, I will ask my XD to be ushers too! =)

No doubt dono y some guests do go to the wrong wedding, but i think with the help of ushers, should be no prob.

Hi babes, i will be going for food tasting on 25-01-11.

These are the dishes selected:
Appetizer: Five Happiness Combination
Shark’s Fin: Braised Shark’s Fin with crabmeat
Seafood Recommendation: Sauteed shrimp with celery in spicy sauce
Fish: Steamed garoupa in hong kong style
Poultry & meat: stewed duck in black pepper sauce
Abalone: braised slice abalone with whole conpoy & spinach
Rice & noodle: stewed double happiness e-fu noodle
Yummy desserts: sweetened red bean paste with lotus seed & dried lily bud

will update u guys on the quality & quantity!

Hi rina, hope you will have fun at food tasting =) I choosen stewed duck in black pepper sauce too and my grandma love it as it is very tender =)My grandma love the slice abalone with whole conpoy & spinach too =)

Hi Rina

Looking forward for your feedback.
Especially the fish.. as not just 1 feedback I got from others that the steam fish have a fishy smell/ taste >.<

Hi avatar82,
Ive look at the website mentioned by you...
however the room rate for orchard hotel is 190++
Am i correct you were given further discount by your co-ordinator?

Orchard hotel actually screw up my actual day table arrangements which turn so ugly. Very disappointing and upset as expectations and impression dropped. Friends who have booked orchard hotel, please do check properly with them, and your coordinator is very important..

Xingli: My coordinator nv give any discount leh.. I was just being charged $170++. Probably you might wish to call and check. cos mine was last yr's rate. not sure whether they increase the price this yr or not.

Lady Q: what happen to your actual day table arrangement? hmm.. i thought the actual table arrangement is done up by the couple.. and monitoring is done by your jiemei at the reception?

I gave them my well-planned floorplan many days in advance, yet they messed up and some of my guests who were affected complained. Very disappointing, with their profession, such things should not happened.. I would seriously not recommend OH (Orchard Hotel) to friends anymore.

In what way did they messed up? probably you might wish to elaborate more? hmm... for my case, floor plan was provided by the hotel. Based on table no listed in floorplan, I do my table arrangement and pass it to my recep. Nothing went wrong as it solely relies on the recep to give the table no to the guests.

The only thing for the hotel to take note is which table is vegetarian/halal and which table needs baby chair. But my recep will keep an eye on it to make sure they did their job correctly.

They placed the wrong table numbers differently and not according to what I planned, and the tables got messed up.. When was your wedding? Over? If not yet over, hope u can take note.. Since nothing went wrong, it's a bonus, I'm happy for you. Anyway OH left me memories and of cos the bad impression of the mess and the coordinator.

oic.. u changed their table no? Probably they were too used to their own tables nos layout in the floor plan and changes were not communicated across. hmm.. were there any special reason why u changed the table no in the floor plan? since already over, dun think too much over it. Focus on happy memories/happy moments of the wedding?

My wedding was on 23 Oct 2010.. 3 mths ago. Everything was fine and I had a great time. Probably becos my wedding was a small scale one and i kept everything simple, easier to manage.

The food is ok, have you arranged for food tasting? You can highlight to OH after food tasting if the particular dish is not up to your expected.. who is your coordinator?

My coordinator is Lindasay, same coordinator as yours? No have not done the food tasting.. was planning after my trip in April then arrange as my AD on Oct..

Amy, yours also Lindsay Sue ah?? Same same. My wedding is in Oct too. When do we need to take a look at the cards and start preparing for printing ah?

Lene : I already received email from Lindsay about finding time to drop by T-Dragon to choose the cards and arrange from printing..

Do you plan to meet her again?
cos previously mine was Hazel.. never seen Lindsay before.. >.<

Mine is Xuan ling too! So far the bad reviews I heard r more on food. I think the tables arrangement u changed alot? Asinine not the normal arrangement normally couple do?
Well, sometimes luck plays a part too.

Amy: Yupz.. she sent me an email to go T Dragon to take a look at the cards too. So far, I have not even seen her yet. My previous co-ordinator was Artono.. Been liasing with Lindsay via email so far. Have not met her yet. Looks like the turnover rate for the co-ordinators are quite high.

Hi everyone I booked OH ballrm3 (the small one) for nov this year... thanks for all the comments on the food!
As for the sharing of reception, the coordinator explained to me that if there is someone taking the ballrm2 i prob have to share recep, but apparently ballrm 3 is the first ballrm the guests will come across if they come up by the lift, so not so big an issue for us...

hi, i just went for food tasting ytd.

These are the dishes selected:
Appetizer: Five Happiness Combination - the stir-fried shark's fin sucked. it was just egg. we changed it to jellyfish. The pipa beancurd was so-so only but my hubby loved it, so stuck with it. The duck was yummy. The fried prawn &amp; prawn salad was nice.

Shark’s Fin: Braised Shark’s Fin with crabmeat - yummy with lots of fin.

Seafood Recommendation: Sauteed shrimp with celery in spicy sauce - yummy but my hubby dun like to eat celery so change to honey peas on AD.

Fish: Steamed garoupa in hong kong style - the fish was big but the meat was tough. Fedback to the chef that the meat was tough. No fishy smell though. didnt change this dish cos MIL wanted steam fish.

Poultry &amp; meat: stewed duck in black pepper sauce - superb &amp; yummy!

Abalone: braised slice abalone with whole conpoy &amp; spinach - superb &amp; yummy! The conpoy was flavourful, went well with the spinach.

Rice &amp; noodle: stewed double happiness e-fu noodle - nice too. the noodle was QQ.

Yummy desserts: sweetened red bean paste with lotus seed &amp; dried lily bud - the red bean was too sweet, the lotus seeds were bitter. changed to the Mango dessert.

Hey.. apologies for late reply. My coordinator was a HIM. Was really quite unhappy with them (OH), they didnt do the job professionally, I shouldnt have made full payment then. Once full payment made, hard to negotiate further.

zzzlp, OHgal> Yes, I did change my table settings, and the OH in-charge acknowledged, yet screw up, with whatever crab excuses and reasons.. don't make sense at all. Anyway, the good image is no longer there for me..

sunshineloves> I guess the lady coordinators are ok, experienced and careful enough. The ones to recommend no longer do weddding events..

Hi anyone know where to get cheap bed sets?
My AC is 1st mar but I've not started sourcing for a bed!

The cheaper the better cos we're getting the bed for the purpose of AC.

Thks!

Helllo...

Juz an update,

Xuan Ling called me yesterday. Saying that it's time I roughly confirm my no of guests and i'm able to collect cards from T-Dragon already. I shall go down to collect next 2 weekend ba..

Gonna finalise guestlist at this moment first.. Btw, she mentioned we're able to choose 2 diff designs. But best is the same shapy (both landscape or both portrait) if not T-dragon will charge diff price.. However, I'm printing in JB, so I don't mind.. =) Excited to see those pretty cards... <3

Happy Vday everyone!!!

So excited for you Michelle... can get to choice your cards liao...
btw when is your AD?
Is the price different alot between JB and Singapore?
Thinking ways to save cost haha
Keep us updated regarding the printing k
thanks!!!