Orchard Hotel

ya, very quiet...hehe..

michelle: yup, I've actually confirmed my AD PG/VG. Very early hor.. haha.. But MUA not yet... what about u?

pink, keke... im still searching for all... but shortlisted 1 PG/VG le.. wanna get 2-3 more b4 i confirm...MUA also shortlist 1 only.. lol

mic: haha.. I also went through quite a lot of choices of PG/VG before confirming.. what are e ones u are considering? which bridal studio are u with?

i see.. so will ur MUA from ur Fables then? are u gg to confirm ur mua soon? My BS told me it's too early for me to decide now ... haha.. im with moo media for my pg/vg =)

hmm... i did consider to get from fables. But wanna give myself more choices first... so look ard c still got which other nice n gd de... hehe... wads ur budget for pg/vg n mua?

oh,missed out the part on mua. It's part of my package for mua unless I wanna change my mua to someone my BS doesn't work with.. ur mua's not included in e package ?

are u having her as ur pre wedding MUA? if yes maybe u can see how u like ur pre wedding make up, if u really like her den can pay her to come out bah =)

may i check your view if we get for tables for more than $100 per pax, will we result in big loss. Not aiming at profiting but not willing to undertake such big loss.

Just wish to understand whats yr thots.

Actually Orchard Hotel hv quite a gd offer in BOWS with free flow wine and beer with high ceiling...but not sure if we are getting too high a price for a table.

Any thot?

If you know of venue which have unique kind of wedding with marqee set up, do let me know...thanks!

blurcrab: nowadays angbao rate for weddg is 80-100 per pax depends hw close r u w the guest..loss is inevitable if u get the 999 package fr OH but since bundle w perks shld minimize the loss.
Marquee setup weddg will be fort canning the legends

Hi, for BTB who has signed up with OH for wedding dinner.. are you all pleased/satisfied with the package? I am torn between OH & Amara..

rinacheong:I went to amara for their wedding show last year. not fantastic and it isnt worth the money that i paid to see the wedding set-up. Amara is more of a business hotel and their suite is catered to businessmen. So, I signed up with Orchard Hotel for my wedding this Dec. So far, the service is good =)

hi rina, im very happy with e service rendered by OH so far.. not sure about amara though but my fren who went for a site visit apparently wasn't very happy with their service.. what's ur consideration for these 2 hotels?

Hi happybride! How's ur preparations so far?

Hi. I was also pondering about OH and Amara but my HTB chose OH coz of the perks and the beautiful pillarless and high celling ballroom. Till now i havent regretted yet..my wedding still far away..only received a package on preparation..Anyway good luck to you.

DeaR all,

Tried calling OH to ask whether they willing to release date for me but they can't, i m sad cause during the BOWs they say can,and we ask them the following day for the cash rebate whether its feasible, they are suppose to call me back to let me know whether its able to, in the end i follow up with them today they say i never give them an answer, but the problem is i waited for their call, they din return mine.... I m a bit sad.

Mrs Ng>> It's not as if you havent met any sales person before.. My coordinator though told me straight which days are available and which days werent..and they would hold for a week or so for those who are not confirm...which they did for me..

The point being is you cant really blame...they dun call then u call them la...but u have to give them a confirmed date to hold the bookings.

Mrs Ng: It's probably a miscommunication? So is the date that u want still available? If u are flexible with other dates,maybe u would like to ask if they can help u tentatively book that date? Don't feel sad ok, there's bound to be some hip kups here and there =)

Haiz i was on my way to HK and was expecting their call cause i call twice to them before, and din receive the answer, so hmmm so sad.

Den is like i understand its that the BOWs they say its ok to release the date for me so i waited for an answer hopefully they can reply me with good news.

patches>> i ahve already given them a confirm date and the date is available and they did ask the management whether they can release for me.

But in the end its like bu liao liao zhi. hmm we were actually a bit upset as we already wanted this hotel in the first place.

N i mean i approach them today they mention their sista hotel has already open the dates till december next yr, if i want can go to them......

I diao loh.. i mean i was only asking but they dun seem like wanted to help at all until i say if really cannot or u all dun wan to do my business then tell me honestly , i can source for other location its not like halfway here or there.

oooo any other solutions now, that they can help u? may i know your coordinator is?

i think u may want to have in mind some other hotels first prepared. in case if really unable to get what u want.

w3n>> its hmmm A**** but hor hmmm previously they say i m suppose to be with a banquet manager X** L*** but in the end today i call her and ask about status she say its H***. I oso confuse cos too many ppl...

I really dun understand y they wan me to go M hotel i dun lik M hotel...... haiz. in the end i have to tell them directly i only wanted their ballroom... Hmmm haiz... anyway backup i oso dunno maybe go see other hotel for the time being.... but seems that OH's ballrom is quite nice compare to the others...

Anyway thanks good idea, my HB oso ask me to have backup in case later hmmm more mis comm thne i unhappy or what... so hmmm ya for the time being just hmmm go n see see look look first.

Ya I add u in msn le. I still waiting for my date to be confirm. Meanwhile I look around n compare the packages offered by various n see see the locations...

U need pic of ballroom 3? My pg took some pics during my wedding, but it's not the full layout.. If u sign with them, they will give u the layout of the ballroom.

Ballroom 3 is the small ballroom, nearest to the escalator. Longish shaped ballroom

Mrs Ng, maybe it's because you were at BOWS. Too many pple there they might be too busy. I went to source the hotels one by one, making appointments to meet every one of the hotel coordinators. I supposed now you are on the stage of hotel finding..good luck..I did mine in three weeks before finally settling on OH.

Been to M hotel too, like their banquet ballroom only but was too ex. Even higher than OH though at Tanjong Pagar.

If you are looking at OH prices, you might want to consider Furama Riverfront. That's one of my choice back then. Just isnt sure abt the food as my OH coordinator guarantee in OH. Like i said..Sales pple can only listen half half. TT's y i was trying to ask in this forum how's the food comments...but no one seems to ans...haha.

So..I just pray that my AD dun mess up.

patches>> hmmm actually is the ballroom that attracts me... since the start i plan my wedding its like i went to a few hotels to see before, but still prefer OH's ballroom. Hmm food wise so so cos my friend hold wedding there before n i went to an ADD over there oso....

But twice i was there there was wine spillage.... so hmmmm haha but its ok as long as they dun do it so often i hope n oso becos really like their ballroom.

Now i think i can only wait for them to inform me the time they can release the date for me.

They say will keep me inform. But hmmm i m doing a theme wedding so hmmm need to make sure venue settle first....

suzanna, u dont mind to share some pics of the ballroom 3?

for 20 tables is it too spacious? i dunno if i can hit 25 tables haha

wen, im taking ballroom 3 too! long n nice, slightly L shaped march in. =)

their min is 25 for this ballroom, however, i told them 23 tables but + 2 reserved tables, but the 23 is not confirmed, should be more... =)

i'm taking ballroom 3 too...but my problem is i might hit the max of 32 tables and scared too squeezy...Now trying to cut off pple from my list...only those closer closer one...

wanted ballroom 1&2 but the date was alr taken up..sianz... but better this way i guess, i dun have too big of a headache on that day.

thanks to you all BTB who gave raving comments abt OH..
comments abt Amara in the Amara thread not very good..

my AD is in March 2011.. izzit too early to confirm a photographer or videographer? any recommendations? thks in advance!

welcome rina =) I think u can start sourcing for ur PG and VG already.. It's not too early if u are getting popular PG or VG =) My AD's in June and I've already confirmed my PG n VG.. What's e budget u are looking at for both so that I can give some recommendations?

hehe.. im not quite sure what's e norm budget or if there's one...cos everyone has a different comfortable budget to work with. =) It can range from $1k+ all the way to $5K etc etc..hehe.. hmm, I think it's ok to get separate PG & VG so long both of them are comfortable working with each other because they need to understand how each other work on the AD to produce the best works ;)

Hi pinkglove,

Can I check with you what does your PG package cover? I want to keep it within $1.5K but seemed quite unlikely, esp if I want the express highlights.

Is VG really necessary? I was thinking of just asking my friends to help me take th videos... Save money. Heh

Hi yy: u a OH btb as well?
My PG & VG comes with full day photography n videography with express highlights. btw, I think u can check out forest productions, I think they have quite competitive pricing for PG & VG if im not wrong =)

Another bride in e 2011 thread asked e same question some time back so i just copied what i typed out last time...hehe..I tink VG is a gd to have thing if the couple can budget for it but if without, it's also alright.. There's a few considerations for me & my fiance when we decided to have a good VG..

1) If we didn't have VG, I wouldn't be able to see what went on during the gatecrashing and I wouldn't wanna miss that! It's gg to be a very busy day n I don't tink i'll be able to see the little details of e overall pic of my day without VG.. hehe..
2) My friends & family who weren't able to be around to witness e events can have an idea of what went on in the day and this acts like a form of entertainment for guests during e banquet..
3) For me, engaging a VG is also mainly for e brillant express highlight they can make.. I love e way how some express highlights are done to it into a short movie highlight, telling a story rather than just showing the rough footage of what went on cos i prob won't watch e long video..
4) I have always wondered how much moving pictures memories do we have of our loved ones as it's often photographs that we have and so on a big day, it's a good opportunity for us to record down how our loved ones participate in it as well as their voices.. =)