Orchard Hotel

mcfluffy

hi ffbear,

nope, we have not signed yet coz we're still waiting for coordinator to inform us about wine corkage charges.

by the way, how did they charge u all for the wine corkages?

faithgurl

Did anyone signed up during the 2005 UOB promotion? For the free tables, anyone of u have given up in exchange for other perks?

ffbear

Hi, muffin,
as in other hotels, they made the wine corkages so high such tat it is much more cheaper to buy their wine.. eg. corkage charge $25 per bottle, whereas direct wine purchase from them is abt $28 per bottle..
hi, faithgurl,
I've signed during the 2005 UOB promo.. I din exchange the free table for some other perks cos tot tat is the more expensive one liao.. wat perks u thinking of exchanging? me kpo.. kekeke

faithgurl

Hi ffbear,

Actually, I don't need that extra table and tt's why I wish to change for another extra barrel of beer or extra bottles of wine if possible. Do u think it's possible? Or have u heard of anyone doing that?

hi muffin,

of coz i do, but for public sharing here i have edited them.. If u're keen, leave ur email add here

OH will give u the script which comes along with the package details and menu. Of coz u can get a more professional script, but honestly just modify the one they give & inject some humour or personlising it further will do

Frens wld be a better choice if u want it a more intimate affair, professionals can make it entertaining if tt's ur intention

Otherwise under the thread "Advice from the experts", u can request under Wedding Acts for a copy of the script which they have

hi ffbear,

Are u getting the wine fr them? I got the cheapest of the housewine & thot it was quite okie. If i'm not mistaken, the housewines cost $22 and above

mcfluffy

Hi ffbear, so they did not waive the corkage charges? What my coordinator said was that maybe we could get a flat rate or something. she has not gotten back to us.

Hi mehmeh,
Of course i'd love to see ur photos! pls email them to [email protected] tks!

i was thinking of saving money and getting a friend to be the mc instead, cannot think of one suitable fren though! hehe..

ffbear

Hi, faithgurl,
nope.. I hv not heard of changing the free table to other perks.. ask the other brides here?
Hi, mehmeh, can I view ur other AD pcis? email addy is [email protected]
yup, we r getting the wine from them, tot the price quite reasonable..

hi muffin & ffbear,

Dropped u invites to view my banquet pix in OH

ffbear: I suggest u try 1-2 bottles of the housewines & decide which u want to order fr them. Some may not be as palatable, while others too easy to drink (ie consume too much too fast = incurr too much costs)
Added advantage getting fr OH is tt u need not arrange to have consignments nor trpt to make sure ur bottles are there. But do make sure u've got a wine coordinator to take note on the consumption on the no. of bottles, otherwise how wld u know how many have been opened & the right cost is issued to u

muffin: getting a fren def saves money & makes the wedding more personable, rather than having an entertainer up there
Just hang in there, prob someone wld pop into ur mind
Best fren's are gd choices

Corkage for wine def cannot be waived, same across all other hotels. Flat rate sounds like a gd deal!

bride_sept05

Hi faithgurl,

I took the UOB package, actually is one table one free wine, but then my hubby managed to get in good and cheaper wine outside ($18 per bottle), so we didnt take their wine and manage to neg to have few corkage free.

faithgurl

Hi Janice,

U mean u gave up the free wine per table and neg for wine corkage waiver instead? Isn't that more cost to u? I tot free wine better mah..

bride_sept05

cause their wine is normal wine, my hubby got better wine and cheaper also.

Cause we calculated that one table min will consume 3 bottle,so one bottle each table not enough for our guests, so we decided to bring in our own wines.
At first they want to charge us for the corkage, but then we neg with them and they manage to waive it all for us.

In return we book few rooms for our overseas guests from them, also we rent their projector, that we did not neg with them.

Hi muffin,

you may leave your email address here and send the wine details to you. One bottle for the wine that can be found in 7-11 and Giant is selling at S$25, but i got it wholesale price at $18 per bottle. Name of the wine is Red Deer Station Cab Sau.

mcfluffy

Hi Janice,
I see i see, in order to get the waiver, you had to book rooms with them first... no wonder they allowed. it had to be a win situation for them!

Please send me your wine details @ [email protected] Thanks a lot!

Hi mehmeh,
I wasn't able to view your photos leh. No such album. But I did see your other photos... hmmm... dunno what happened?

hi muffin,

hmm, if i had sent u to view tt album u shd be able to view it but not the others which i restrict to private mode

U must strictly follow tt link to view the OH pix.. If u do sign up in Multiply, but i haven't added u as a contact, u may only view albums which are in public mode

try again?

guinebelle

Hi muffin,

sorry for my late reply...din check this thread for a while

What did u ask abt the corkage?
There isnt any wedding held on the day that i went to sign my contract..so din get to see any deco. U so lucky!! But i heard they will have a minor reno to change wall papers or so...

Hi mehmeh,
can i peek at ur pix too?? hehe...

mcfluffy

Hi mehmeh,
I will try again later.

Hi guinebelle,
We asked if it could be waived off totally, coordinator said no. But she'll get back to us to see if we could get the charges reduced. or get a flat rate instead. but till now, no news yet i think...

bride_sept05

Hi Guinebelle,

before they waive off the corkage, we do suggested a flat rate to them, for e.g 100bottles chage us only S$700 in stead of per bottle S$20 or 25.
well well, Serene said need to check with the management and is approved.
But at the end we still neg for free corkage.

springtulip8

Hi Janice,
Wah..100bottles for $700 so cheap? excellent deal! my coordinator not so flexible, everything also tell me cannot..

Hi Mehmeh,
thank you so much for sharing ur pictures with me! hey, you have very nice gowns!!! esp the evening gown, you look so gorgeous in the red gown. which is your bridal studio?

hi spring tulip,

Most welcome
Thanks for the compliments.. The red EG is an OTR gown which i had gotten fr Yvonne Creative, my BS

Have u already selected one?

Hi White Twinkle,

Dropped u the invite to view.. Shall also send u the wedding package

celbie80

Hi, am a OH bride too.
Curious bout projector. How many screens are there in OH? Any projector rental recommendation?

hi jingzjingz,

Just dropped u the invite to view..
Portion of food at OH is huge.. At least tt's the comments my guests had.
I dunno if Serene's gd, but she did assist us on one occasion. Maybe the other ladies here can help u on tt

Hi Elsie,

They only provide 1 screen when i used BR 1 & 2..

jingzjingz

hey mehmeh i saw ur invite already. thank u so much ... oh and i wanna ask u something too ... which church did u get married in? it's so beautiful =) let me know again! thanks!!

hi jingzjingz,

my church is Paya Lebar Methodist @ Boundary Rd

U're most welcome! Hope tt helps in ur decision making
If u look at the most recent archive, u prob can see another setting tt OH has, and another OH bride also posted hers

lollypop

hi mehmeh and all other OH brides,

Hope you still remembered me? An ex-OH bride who used to bug u for information? :p

My wedding was over on 24 Mar 06 and it was well..TERRIFIC!I had the most memorable night of my life.

I must give great compliments to Serene who had helped us in every ways in making our event run smooth...even though she was back fr her maternity leave not too long ago. Christopher, our operation mgnr for taking charge for the actual day's logistic. without the both of them we wont be able to enjoy the nite with ease.

I'm most impressed with the stage decor that nite. Reason being it's a totally new decor fr a new florist. It was really the key attraction of the nite (asides from me of cos..hahaha).

For all OH brides to be, rest assured that OH will try their utmost best to deliver your dream wedding event. You wont be disappointed. At least not me...

springtulip8

hi Mehmeh,
Yes, i have signed package with french bridal. hopefully i get gowns i like too...
then can be mei mei.. haha

hi Jocester, congrats! gd that u are a happy bride that night. If you have pictures of ur banquet, care to share with us?

just wondering when should we start choosing the theme and colour of our banquet setting with OH coordinator?

hi jocester

359562.gif
!! U're an official Mrs now! heheh, can give lotsa gd advice to our fellow OH brides

U def make it sound like the wedding is so beautiful! Super eager to view ur pix, esp the deco tt u're raving abt!

hi SpringTulip,

I saw a couple of pretty elaborate gowns in the recent bridal magz fr French bridal, so i think u need not worry too much! heheh..

Theme for the banquet can be done during the food tasting, or abt 1 mth to the AD

lollypop

Allo allo

Thanks for all your blessings. Yup Yup new title "Mrs" lor. Some addresses me "Mdm" too..oooh sure make me sounds so much older. I've not gotten my AD pics yet. Hope to share with you all soon. Of cos, if i can be of help to any of OH's bride, i'll most delighted.

I chose my color theme and wedding flavours 2 weeks before the event. btw i had salt & pepper & photo frame as flavours.

Hi Meh meh
Can i share your AD pics too pls? Thanks. my email address is [email protected]

ffbear

Hi, mehmeh,
finali got the time to see ur invite.. but hor... errr.. I saw ur other pics like christmas presents, cakes etc., not the AD pics leh.. **scratch head**
Hi, jocester,
thanks for giving us, OH BTBs the confidence "jab".. we sure can sleep well liao.. keke... remember to show us AD pics when ready ahh..

hi ffbear,

did u see the pix tt came along with the invite? i think for non-Multiply users, tt's prob the only way u can view.. Otherwise when u log onto my site, u can only view the public albums ie, not the AD pix

U check ur email again k?
*sorry* just want to protect the integrity of stuff on the site

faithgurl

Hi mehmeh,

I have not rec'd yr invites..could u send it to me again? Thks

Hi Jocester,

Very glad to hear that u are very satisfied with OH services...Can I have the privilege to view yr pics once it's ready? Thks

lollypop

hi mehmeh

The only link i've got from you was your pre-wedding photoshoot. can pls send me again? thanks

will try to send you my AD pics once they are ready.