Novotel Clarke Quay

emm.. mico should be captain, i think. definitely not a sales person.

yes jiahui, you're right! itz gong bao. hahaha.. we paid by credit card, upon check out. juz remember to call your credit card company to increase your limit.

Thanx PP and Crystal,

Is ok i dun the map, dun intend to put in the insert. Anyway i did my printing in JB

Crystal, ya do let me know the feedback after your food tasting ya.

i just printed my invitation cards from T-dragon.. their services quite good.. probably i went about 1pm, no people, so they more helpful.. but they told us alot of chinese traditional wordings things, makes us so confused and blur.. then the best part is that i just realised that i didn't give them both fathers' english name.. and they didn't realised too.. hahaha.. will be calling them later..

200 cards only, although i got about 45 tables.. hahaha.. mainly for parents' friends n relatives only.. for friends, i will be designing and printing myself..

i'm also curious abt NCQ guestbook design?? but anyway i will sure take theirs as i don't plan to get one myself.. want to save money..

the cards are free. i'm printing the inserts only.. rem NCQ contract stated how many percent of cards given complimentary, so we only pay for printing (either on the card itself or on inserts)..

but one bad thing is that i need to paste the insert onto the cards myself... printing of inserts, u need to DIY the inserts onto ur cards..

hi, any brides here know what is the 1st dish presentation songs? if really Not nice i wanna change. i went to my frd wedding before and the hotel play techno song "final count down".. its a little weird, just my personal preference.

oh ya hor.. haha paisei i completely forgot abt that part... thats y i was thinking omg.. got to spend so much on cards...
hmmm seems abit troublesome le... but hor better than print on cards later write name wrongly then the card is wasted...

Hi, im sharon. Im also NCQ bride and will like to know more abt food tasting. Those who have done their wedding or food tasting, How do ur find their seafood, especially their Live Prawns and Wok Fried Prawns?

Cos i have upgraded to Wok fried prawns due to guests find it trouble some to peel the shells of e prawns.

Hi ladies I went for food tasting lo!! The whole experience was good, the manager of the restaurant was friendly and explained the dishes to us in details.

As promised, these are my comments on the food:

1) Phoenix platter:
a) Prawn – Ok
b) Jelly fish – crunchy and the spice just nice. Yummy.
c) Gold coin meat – nice!
d) Drunken chicken – tender but alcohol taste not much. Had feedback to put more alcohol.
e) Mini octopus – not bad, but think not much people will eat, so I change to spring roll.
By changing to spring roll, will have 2 warm and 3 cold starter. I think is better. If I stick to mini octopus, would be 4 cold starters.

2) Braised Premier moon-cut shark’s fin with fresh crab meat and Roe – taste not bad but the fins and crab meat not much. I guess maybe becos we are not paying much as compare to other hotel? So they are more reserve in the fins.. HAha

3) Roast Crispy Chicken flavored with deep-fried Garlic – yummy. The garlic very nice.

4) Steamed rock garoupa in traditional classic style – the taste of the classic style not bad. But the fish cannot make it that day. the meat is hard and a little chewy not smooth at all. I believe they steam too long cos other brides from previous post says not bad.. so I very sway to taste that kind of fish. Not only me who think so, the whole table feels the same way.. HAha..

5) Wok fried Prawns with Dried Chilli and Cashew nuts – very nice, infact it’s not really that spicy, just nice, and the prawn very fresh and “bouncy†kind.

6) signature dish – best! Very nice too. the yam very crispy and the vegetable fresh, colourful and crunchy. Vege come in at the right time after a few meat dish.

7) Steamed fragrance rice – nice smell and tasty too.

8) mango with pomelo – its more of sweet then sour. the manager told me they didn’t add any sweetener, the sweetness comes from the natural sweetness of the mango. I was amaze..

Overall , I am satisfied with all the dishes except for the fish only.

R&J, guess u are going for your food tasting soon, do update me on the fish.. ok.. thanks

Hi Crystal,

I have almost all the same dishes as you except the chicken and prawn. I change the prawn to wok fired prawn to brocoli. I have specially requested as it was not in the menu. I agree with you there are not much fin. Aiyo, you should tell them not much fin. Actually, you look at the menu of other more expensive hotel, there are abalone. But novotel dun have. I feedback to them really no shark fin, must improve.
I agree the signature dish crispy yam ring is the best.

hi ting! saw that your wedding is in abt one mth time.. must be nervous.. hehe..

wok fried prawn good, thou is fried, but the prawn still very Q. so gd choice, no worries. As for the fins, i didnt feedback verbally but i write down in the feedback form, not sure if he will read, a bit regreted didnt tell them verbally.

how about your fish? nice? mine not..

My fish was fantastic. Very fresh that day. ya ya. 1 more mth to my AD counting down now. Actually, i dun feel nervous. i didnt tried out the prawn, i chose the clam abalone with vege during the food tasting. It was a wrong choice, my father in law simply rated it as the worst dish. Then the captain suggested the wok fried prawn with broccoli.

ting, anyway gd that your fish was fresh and gd that u have change to wok fried prawn too..
i hope my fish will be fresh on AD itself.

anyway ting, do u know if NCQ allow us to go for rehearsal a few days before AD or can only rehearse on the day. thanks

hi crystal: u are making me hungry... ya, my food tasting is next week.. no problem, will update u on the fish..

hi ting: got wok fried prawns with broccoli meh?? why i didn't see it on the ala-carte menu?? hmm.. will check with them on my food tasting day..

Hi yvonne,

i will be dropping by on your wedding too.. hope you dun mind. I had an appointment with Hui ling on this coming saturday nite to discuss my theme and .... =) Take care.

Hi R&J,

My mother in law specially request one. Cos we dun like the other prawns, either too ex or sound too spicy. Dun need to top up

hi yvonne!! all the best.. i hope everything goes well for you..
share with us your experience.. congrats!

hi ting and R&J, u two will be dropping by? i hope i can go down too if i dont have apptment..

hi girls, you all coming down ah? of course i won't mind. haha. come and take a look! i pray that everything will go through smoothly. need a lot of prayers support. ha.

hi lingandyang, how was ur food tasting? my wedding is before urs but we have not even set the date for food tasting

hi yvonne: thanks.. i will be there at 5pm for a while to see the ballroom, as i'm thinking of doing up the ballroom for my wedding in jul.. so need to have an idea on the ballroom layout... good luck for ur wedding!! relax n be a pretty bride!! we will pray for u!!

hi crystal: yes, i'm going down at 5pm..

hi ting: huiling told me just to go ahead to view the ballroom as she's engaged in an appointment, so her appointment is you.. so hope to see u there lar..

don't think it will be nice to make it a grp viewing leh.. too many people not so nice, especially when they are setting up the ballroom for Yvonne's big day.. i will only be there for like 15mins and I will be going off.. not so nice to stay there for long..

hi cube_cube: NCQ is very hot one.. got a date, must quickly book one.. think alot of us got this experience too..

No ler. My appointment is at 845pm at the hotel lobby not really the ball room. After Yvonne has march in. hahaha
It wont be group viewing leh. i think Novotel do consider that, no matter what it is still a private event.

hi yvonne, will pray for u..

R&J, i cant make it to go down today, got apptment, hubby not free too.. next time if there is upcoming wedding then i go.. heehee. enjoy the viewing!! and hope it will b a frutiful trip for u.

Hi Lara,
my food tasting was quite ok. But we made 2 changes to dishes, due to the presentation wasn't that nice. 1 is the prawn and the other the dessert. Personally i would still prefer the dishes that we tried, but my in laws were concern about the appearance of the dishes.
I think maybe now is about time you can go for food tasting? Perhaps you can try arrange with huiling. :D

Hi Yvonne, how's everything?
Do share with us!

went to see the ballroom last sat.. which is yvonne's wedding day.. i must say the ballroom is really very nice.. think the theme yvonne had is crystal theme.. so nice.. think i not need to do up the ballroom anymore.. it's really what i expected.. i've checked with the banquet mgr, his name is Ramesh (if I didn't see wrongly), they got other theme too.. but he can't really remember the others liao.. so I got to check with huiling again.. but really like the ballroom alot.. now waiting anxiously for my wedding in jul.. will update u girls on my food tasting this thur..

Hi R&J
Mi and hubby went there too. Wat time did u go there?
We reached around 8.45pm, dinner started.
We never went in, but peaked thru the door.
I agree that the ballroom is really nice.
Their decoration is good enough.

R &amp; J < Gasp... got other themes?? when i sign the contract last year, Hui Ling told me only 2..floral and crystal... but she did mention that they are also exploring other themes... u mean its out already???

Hi R &amp; J,

Did you see the magazine thing that yvonne had for her guest?

The themes available are 1) Garden, 2) crystal 3) Garden + crystal. But I quite happy with the range of of wedding favours offer by novotel.

hello everyone!

wedding was great and fun! many good comments on novotel's service! and double thumbs up for the banquet manager, ramesh. he was really thoughtful and helped us a lot.

i liked the ballroom decor! it was above my expectation! the stage was very nicely decorated!

my guests commented that the 1st dish presentation was good! the waiter and waitresses danced in, swayed left and right. very entertaining! the food portion quite big also.

oh ya, Ting, you are right. i have my own customised wedding magazine as table gifts for my guests!

i was back to work today and kept thinking of the wedding memories. haha.

Hi Yvonne, welcome back!! glad to hear that ur wedding went well. May i know what time did NCQ release the ballroom for you to go for rehearsal on AD?

Hi Yvonne . Welcome back.
Glad to hear that you have great fun.

Btw, tell u something that really coincident.
I did went to Novotel to take look, saw your unique wedding magazine and took one home.
The next day, sunday, my eldest sister and brother in law came to my house, and saw your magazine.
They asked how I managed to get it.
I told them that you are my online friend.
They told me that they had attended your wedding dinner. Because your hubby,is actually his distance relative.
(Think Shane's grandfather should be also my brother in law's granduncle) A bit 'chim' to me.
Anyay, The world is really small. Very qiao rite?
Haha...

Congrats for the smooth completion of your WeddinGzz..
Also, glad to know that you had great fun~

But how come U are back to work so fast?
Should have rest for another 1 or 2 days mahz =)

hi yvonne: welcome back!! gald to hear that ur wedding went smoothly.. and u had great fun!! i was there at 5pm.. only saw ur hubby n ur helpers there.. didn't managed to see the magazine u done for ur guests.. think it must be very interesting.. remember to update us on ur photos.. oh ya, Ramesh told me you had about 48 tables.. me too.. i'm going to have about 48 tables too.. at first thought it will be very cramped, but after seeing ur layout, looks fine.. think i can safely go for 47-48 tables..

hi all: I went earlier so i can really get to see the ballroom.. i was told by Ramesh that there are other themes, I've e-mailed huiling asking her, but she haven't reply me yet.. Ramesh also told me they are coming out with other themes, probably haven't implemented yet.. Also Ramesh told me that they will be changing a new cake end of this mth.. so my wedding will be a new cake design.. i love the cosy effect of the ballroom.. will update u all on any updates from huiling..

hi girls! yalor, back to work yesterday. will be away to banyan tree bintan for the next few days, need a short break. haha!

oh yes! i see some of you talking about the wedding magazine i have for my wedding! Me and a friend actually own this business of making personalised wedding magazines for couples!
you may go to this website to take a look at the samples of the magazine i had for my wedding.

schwee.wordpress.com

once our website is up, will let you all know again! if anyone is interested in making magazines for your wedding as wedding favours for the guests, you can let me know! my email address is [email protected]

have fun in wedding prep girls!

God bless!