Novotel Clarke Quay

hahah.. seem a good deal. I think i will explore the idea of using bottle than barrel. So much cheaper. Who else gng to use bottle than barrel?

I think i am going to use bottle idea... haha thanks to PP for suggesting it ... then as usual i will take the 1 free wine per confirmed table...

cheekychick, mine is at phoenix

ting, this is a gd idea, done a rough calaulation, really worth it, and those unopen bottle will not be wasted, still can bring home or gave to sis/ bro as a kind gesture also can. open 2nd barrel what if only consumed abit then the rest wasted. hehe

thks PP (junkie_2005) for sharing with us her experience.

HI Crystal,

i just booked my food tasting too, also in late april. Mine is on 30 April, when is yours? hmmm i'm not so sure about paying extra for the a-la-carte menu. I only know we can swap dishes from the a-la-carte menu of the same value. If the value is higher we would need to top up the difference.

You are thinkg of trying out some addtional dishes from the menu is it? perhaps you would like to check it out with huiling?

Hi lingandyang, mine is on the 22 April evening. Yes I would like to try out some additional dishes, beside poached live pawns, I would like to see/ taste hows prawns with celery & cashew nuts like. Likely would change noodle to rice too.. hehe. I will ask Huiling whether there is additional charges if i taste extra food.. haha.. cant wait to taste and update you gals on the food.

I just emailed her with regard to what brand of beer NCQ is using but she is out of office today.

thanks for PP for bringing up the bottles of beers.. thanks michelle for doing the calculations for us.. think right now using bottles of beer is cheaper.. i will let my HB know.. roughly how much bottles of beer will be sufficient?? hmm.. must start sourcing for beer now..

ahBlur, its ok...u did mention that u find Parkroyal's package more comprehensive?? I hope u can book ur venue soon...

Mashi, i believe ahblur is looking at 26 Dec Phoenix...

hi Cheeky..

ic. tink tat day also hot date as juz after xmas.
haha..

hmm. i still headache over the venue...
jia lat. but nw is waitin to view the next hotel.
hope that can make a decision soon.
nw headache over the hotels..

oh ya. wan to ask u all. wat factor make u select the banquet venue?

hi mashi..

1st factor is money factor, it's always better to choose a venue within yr budget..

which venues had u look at? n which date r u looking at?

think 26/12 is an auspicious date... cos we ROM on 23/12.. jus find it easier to remember, plus i am turning 26 next yr.. so 26/12... n it's a Sat..

cheeky_chick..

Yeah!!

hi ahBlur,

quite true,i looking at 16 oct 2009.
so far lookin at NCQ n regent.
Next Mon will b viewing merchant court.
then c whether wan to consider merchant court..
haha...

i juz receive reply fr Huiling tat now change liao. no more free flow beer liao. most add 1 more barrel of beer. haiz.

no gd. so fast change liao.... xian.

Hi mashi mashi... i think if haven signed the contract then will be affected by the change... besides.. i think its cheaper to ownself bring in beer rather than wine....

for me when choosing hotel.. the first factor i consider is price and whether i can fulfil the min required tables and of cos the date.. followed by the appearance...and the reputation...

but then hor, bring in own beer is cheaper. quite true.

if the beer u bring in is nt enough then hw? wat is the max cap that u will bring to the hotel?

quite true that the price is the main factor in choosing.. tats wat i looking at. but all in all NCQ price is counted reasonable. thus also cannot bargain for more liao.
haha

mashi mashi

i will be bringing in ard 25-28 btls.. max i will bring is 30... lets say if my guests finish all b4 the end of the banquet.. i will tell them no more liao lor.. haha... cos i feel 30 btls should be able to last till end of the banquet la... max cap for hotel.. i dunno le.. need to ask huiling or jamie ba..

ya in NCQ i find its quite reasonable now... next yr onwards.. i feel its abit ex ... as the packages price i think increased by ard $90 per package right?

so u choosing NCQ or somewhere else?

hi michelle,

actually i also dun knw hw much NCQ increase as wat i hv is the price for 2009. thus cannot compare. unless ask other BTB tat is holding this yr..

30bottles is equal to another barrel. for me is tink nt enough de lor. but bring in too much also difficult. troublesome. haha..

me ar. haven decide yet. still tinking. altough overall the price n location of NCQ is attractive. but still got other tings to consider like service and wat other tings we have to top up other than the perks.

so headache lor...

Hi mashi mashi (mashi_mashi)

The price for 2008 is
1) 718 - Desire
2) 748 – pleasure
3) 788 – Destiny
4) 848 – Eternity

Btw, NCQ is using tiger beer

thanks Crystal..

wow.. their price increase 80dollars.
thats quite a huge jump.
tink if get married later, dun knw hw much the price will b... haha...

anyway, i tink most/all hotels or restaurants use draft beer (tiger)..
tink tat is quite standard..

mashi mashi,

hehe ya thats y i say for now, the price is still reasonable... heng i am holding my wedding this yr otherwise.. i think i dunno must find where liao....

hi michelle..

can say tat lor.but next yr price although increase but still nt tat high after comparing wif other hotels.

but of coz if compare the perks, NCQ is at the losing end ba. since they are quite strict n limit their perks.

but they change the terms of the contract so fast.beginnin yr ask is got free flow, juz abt 3mths later, they change. no more free flow, juz add 1 more barrel only. xianz..

Mashi mashi, ya loh...when i first received the 2009 package price, such a high difference in prices between 2008 & 2009. Hesitated abit but i still cheong lar. I very sian to re-consider venue already...esp since NCQ is the only place dat both my hb & me like. My requirements not high but its my hb...wan good wan cheap, where got such lobang...zzzz....Oh ya, for me, its also the price, lol! Its juz a one-nite affair & its not like we print $ notes, so watever less perks or wat, i'll make do...Not like we r paying 1K per table lor...

hi chicky,

quite true. if pay more then of coz the perks will be better lor. it depends on wat is ur expectation.

my FH so far seen Regent n NCQ, he like both places. but prefer regent service. haha.

but as regent also nt tat cheap, thus we still considering. will view 1 or 2 more hotels then decide wat to do. haha...

the amount u pay will hv tat amount of service n perks lor. cannot expect too much de... its all like tat...

Ya!! i agree..

guys r d same.. they r not into these kind of stuff.. they rather spend d money on their car or other things... n they will b thinking why we so bothered over this.. only gals will take into consideration of nitty gritty stuff.. which they had not notice..

frm young, we already had our own version of our wedding when we grow up.. althou it's not d same... but we still want it to b d best..

haha.. ahBlur.

quite true. tats is y gals are more concern on the place n atmosphere of the place more than the guys... but of coz we will wan to get gd n reasonable price for the place we want 2... keke..

hahaha...

Hi Mashi, yeah dats how i tink. Service & perks sure differ cos the price differs. We cant expect a 6* hotel perks & service when we arent paying 6* prices. As long as overall the package is reasonable & the dinner itself goes smoothly, im ok. When i went for a fren's wedding at The Oriental, its superb! Food, service & ambience, everything is there! But can i afford 1K per table? No lor...so juz make do. Btw, i went Regent before but both me & my hb didnt like it...BUT its becos we cannt fulfill the min tables for the grand ballroom & their smaller rooms really cannot make it. If u can fulfill their min tables, it would great. Cos i love Regent's theme
Got a black & red one, i totally love it :P Their service is indeed not bad. Dat time when i went there to take a look, they still entertain me & sat down to discuss wat i wan thou their 2009 booking is not opened yet.

Juz take note of the contract thou. Read somewhere dat they made a couple pay up 10K or wat cos there were damages to the carpet. Not reali sure abt the whole story. But overall, my impression of Regent is good...

hi chicky,

yup. their themes are really very nice. i also luv their themes. we can mit their min req. tat is for sure. haha...

but need to calculate the cost for there first before decide..

their service is really gd... the lady is patient wif all our questions and tell us alot of tings tat we can do n cannot do in ballroom.

yup. i read abt the thread on the damage carpet. but wat i can say is tat its one case and all of us does not knw the whole story. so cannot comment much.

but their are also gd comments on regent n so far we like u also hv gd impression of regent up til nw...

I am new here. I am also NCQ bride holding my wedding on 14 June.
I am wondering would anyone be kind enuff to gimme NCQ hotel name and address in chinese as i am not printing my cards with T-dragon.
Many thanks

hi amy, you can juz request for huiling to email a copy to you, including the location map. she will send a sample to you. you need it for the translation of the ballroom in chinese. however, be warned that the location map's resolution is pretty bad...

Hi hi amy *wave* welcome, your AD is about one week before mine.. must be busy preparing. yes you could request from huiling the location map and chinese wordings.. i got it from her. u arrange for food tasting already?

btw anyone knows if dragon pheonix restaurant is in NCQ itself? sorry i really din know where is it, cos when i arrange for foodtasting, huiling told me that the restaurant is under reno now, so i will have my food tasting in NCQ function room instead

if the restaurant is not under reno, the food tasting is in the restaurant itself? too bad i cant get to see the place.

CrYstaL >> the pheonix rest is inside NCQ. if i rem correctly its one level higher then the recep area.

the rest not very nice. just traditional looking rest. so u didn't miss out anything. after reno i bet it would look nicer thou.

hi divasan and thks so much for the info.. i hope everything will go well for food tasting next tuesday. i havent select my menu yet. got to decide soon.. cant make up my mind for fried prawn or poached.

Hi PP and Crystal,

ya thanx i got the info from Huiling today. Din get the map from her though.

Crystal, I haven arrange for food tasting yet haha..still waiting for my in-laws to confirm date with me. I have been to dragon phoenix restaurant for dinner before. Yummy... but dunno if the standard will remain during the wedding dinner..

hi amy, you prob have to request for the location map if you need it. otherwise, leme have your email and i can send it to u. coz anyway the copy they gave me was super jialat. had2 look for a better copy from the internet. and my printer helped do some touch up.

my dinner on the 23mar was not too bad, i think. took the pleasure menu. felt itz the most value for money. swopped the poached prawns for sze chuan prawns as FIL felt guests wont bother "peeling" the shell and thus, there would be "potential wastage". aso swopped 2 side-dishes for the cold dish platter. fish was fresh... on the whole, feedback was positive.

frankly, that'z the only reason why i chose NCQ.. coz the food was provided by dragon phoenix restnt. *o*

hi crystal..

when did huiling told u that the grand pheonix restaurant is ungoing reno?? i just booked by food tasting for next mth, and she told me to go to the restaurant straight.. so weird..

Hi PP, you are right, i didnt use their map as well, i look for map from internet and editted it too..
gd to hear that your dinner was not too bad. same tot as u, i have change the prawn to non-peeling type.. haha

Amy, if you need the map i can send u too. after my food taste next week, i update u k :P

hi R&J, i only know it on this week tuesday, abit unhappy cos she didn’t inform me. The day when she was on leave, I happen to call up and her colleague (Mico) picked up, it is then I know. Mico told me the rest will finish reno by end this mth (not sure hw true it is). So yeah, u will get to see the newly reno rest I guess.

Initially I wanted to change the tasting date to after reno, but to save the trouble I still stick to next week.

before i forget, juz wanted to remind all to CHKECk your bills before leaving the hotel. apparently for ours, they forgot to deduct the 3k deposit when we checked out at the reception... luckily my hubby checked thru the bill [only last week!] and we called huiling to verify. so they'll be sending a cheque to us.

perhaps an oversight on the cashier... but juz be mindful. however mico is pretty pro with his service and very courteous. will brief you at the door juz before you make your entrance, reminding you what to do or look out for.

PP, thanks for reminding.

btw, mico is coordinator (banquet manager) for AD dinner or sales person like huiling?

since Zul had left, i was wondering who will be gd as coordinator, gals any recommendation?

Hi PP
I didn't know prawn got sze chuan style.
I tot they only have 3 types (poached, gong bao or celery) in their menu.
Btw, May I know how you pay the bill? By credit card?
Is it upon checking out or straight away after the dinner?