Novotel Clarke Quay

Hello all!

Winter: enjoy your big day! :D

Hannah: Good luck to you! wow your hubby is quite good wor! plan everything in advance!

By the way, lilps, shir, cheer and for all those who has already gone through their AD, how is the response rate usually like for the banquet? are there alot of guests who did not attend (inform last min on that day / did not inform)?

Reason being i attended a few weddings recently and it seems like there are quite a number of "no-show" guests on that very day itself, and some are really last min; like on that day itself..

sunshine: wah u mia very long liao hor? been busy?

I think last min 'pilots' bound to have for every wedding, hard to avoid. Just pray hard ur guests wun be like them lor.

thomas:..hehe..thanks..hav been tracking daily in HBD website to see is the unit i wan being taken..haha..wah..ur food tasting on mon har..there is fast..muz b looking forward hor?

winter:..wah..there is fast..3 more days to go.muz b very excited..muz rest well wor..all the best..

sunshine:..wah..like wat thmoas say..u really MIA very long liao..busy?..hmm..ya lor..my HTB is a very organised person..he always plan tihngs in adv..dun like last in things..diff fr me..i always last min lor..haha..but thank god for him lor..hehe..*smiling..*

hey hey.. didnt really MIA.. was still trying to access the forums whenever i can, just that lately very tied up with work, working late into nights and all, so didnt really have a chance to respond

winterpolaris: CONGRATS in advance! enjou ur BIG DAY!!! do try to catch some nap tis 2 days if u can... n b a pretty bride on tt day

thomas: mine can earn pts lei... tink most card can bah unless they change their rule.. but understand tt those card tt giv rebate will not giv pts so s either choice... but chk wif e bank when u call to extend e limit..

sunshinegirl: 4 my case, we book close friends mths b4 weddin n other guest via email/sms abt 1+ mth... invitation card send to those who can make it n a day b4 we send out sms to all guests to remind them... our parents oso confirm attendance wif relatives using excuses like need to arrange seats in case not enuff seat 4 them... so our turn out rate s 99%.. some of them told us they cant make it aft we send out sms so still got time 4 us to re-arrange e seatin arrangement n save 1 table cost... actual day tink only 3 guest didn turn out wif 1 of them callin to tell us tt she jus touch down spore... has help out during friends weddin n saw tt e no turn up guest r usually friends tt u rarely keep in touch n x-colleagues... so we onli invited close friends n current colleagues as we dun wan e same thing to happen to us..

cheer: thanks for the info...I will call them up and ask better. u so lucky, got 99% attendance...hope mine will be like urs too when my time comes. trying to cut my losses so that I got $$$ to go for HM

Cheer: smsing them one day before sounds like a good idea. Thanks for your advise!

I do intend to invite a few friends whom I have not been keeping in touch with (but used to hang out alot very often). 1 banquet is not only alot of $, but alot of efforts too!

Thomas: Yeah me too! Hopefully my HM budget won't be reduced to "Only enough for Batam or Bintan" after my wedding! keke...

hi im bk fm my HK honeymoon... no matter where u all go.. so long as both of u are hapi..watever place also nice 1..

nw we gona rest alittle then plan for our AD liao..

Hi All!

Sorry to disturb,

Have some wines leftover from my wedding luncheon ended early January. They are Pierre Jean Merlot (France) - 2008. Have about 33 bottles left. and some Pierre Jean White Wine left too.

Not too sure but heard this is the wine that Goodwood Park serves during wedding banquets. If you BTBs and GTBs are interested can let me know yah?

I am selling at $16 a bottle, but if you are getting them in bulk can negotiate slightly. Self collection.

Please email me at carolinn80@gmail as I do not check forum that often. Cheers!

Hi hi.. yes.. we enjoyed our HK trip alot.. guess wat.. yest we walked ard suntec and signed a pre-wedding photoshots in Taiwan..hehe.. so excited..

we gng to Taiwan for pre-wedding photoshooting in Oct.. hehe.. :p

Thomas: ok we will await your reviews tonight!

CH: Nice~! How long will you be staying in Taiwan for your photoshoot? I heard it's much cheaper to puchase additional shots in Taiwan as compared to SG. :D

yah.. Taiwan hv mre nicer scenic compare to spore..and my hubby wana mre special thingy.. tats why we settle for it lor..

the photoshot thingy requires 3 days.. 1st day is selection of gowns and locations, 2nd day is photo shooting.. 3rd day is selection of photos.. then 2 ~ 3 wks later they send the layout to us for viewing via emai.. then after we are please with the layouts, then 2~3wks time, they will send to us the album and those additional perks lor..

we will b extending our stay for sure lah..hehe.. pre-honeymoon AGAIN... haha.. coz we been to HK juz last wk and consider tat as our honeymoon liao mah..haha.. :p

Just back from food tasting, here's my FR:

1. Phoenix Platter
a. spring roll - nice and crispy
b. drunken chicken - ok
c. prawn salad - ok
d. gold coin meat - warm and nice
e. jellyfish - find it a bit spicy

2. Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark's Fin with Fresh Crab Meat and Bamboo Pith - quite ok, except I find it a bit watery. The rest said ok though.

3. Roast Crispy Chicken Flavoured with Deep-Fried Garlic - all of us love this dish! Garlic very nice, goes very well with the chicken indeed!

4. Steamed Seabass "Hongkong Style" - find the meat at certain areas of the fish a bit tough.

5. Poached Live Prawns - very, very fresh but guests may not like to peel cos dun wanna dirty their fingers. May change to another dish instead.

6. Deep-Fried Crispy Yam Ring with Vegetable Stuffings - no wonder they call this their specialty dish, yam was deep fried to perfection! Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, the vegetables also very nice!

7. Wok-Fried Ee-Fu Noodles with Yellow Chives and Straw Mushrooms - find the noodles a bit soggy, overall ok.

8. Cocktail Mango Pudding - not nice, canned pineapples too sour. Will change to another dessert.

morning all~!

Thomas: thanks for the review! overall FR sounds good. How is e food portion? Just nice for 10 pax? too much or too little? Hope that they will maintain more or less e same standard on the actual day.

sunshine: hihi
food portion is just nice for a table of 10, dun worry. We cldn't finish some of the dishes too haha...maybe we aren't big eaters?

yeah, we feedbacked to the restaurant manager last night, he said he will take note of all our comments and tweak accordingly

wow thomas, u r real efficient in ur food tasting review..

CH: u had ur ROM? wow... so nice to hav sooo many trips

sunshine gal: ya, s a lot of effort in plannin e weddin... n a headache to decide on e guest list... but enjoy it..

lilm: yalor haha

cheer: haha excited to share with u all mah...

this sat we are meeting ms no no to finalise our wedding details le =)

sunshine: no no, its not abt the food that we wanna discuss with her, its others like testing of projector, colour of vip table/normal tablecloths, choosing of wedding favours and other special arrangements etc etc.

hi all, i just had my dinner last night and was not happy with the service from the banquet exec. my coordinator was huiling but she couldnt be there, so kevin stood in. he was not a very PR person and not the kind to go the extra mile for u.

my bad experience:
1) volume of music was not controlled well. they do a full blast and then fluctuate the volume.

2) parking coupons came late, half of my guest did not receive before gg in to the hall. it was a mess ensuring guests have them later.

3) no cake-cutting! kevin forgot abt it!

4) kevin did not assist when we had trouble with the champange popping. it was horrible. he just stood there.

5) no music played during my march-out after my ceremony.

novotel does have attractive packages, but they are not open to flexibility/ negotations. ie. i could not stay for 2 consecutive nites at the suite given to me, they refuse to allow us to return 1 year or even 3 months later.

novotel does not go the extra mile to put in the effort to retain customers. poor service.

tan: sorry to hear that, who was ur banquet manager? to my knowledge, he's overall in charge of u on that day, not ur coordinator (in ur case its huiling).

as for the consecutive nites, what was the agreement when u signed that time? they gave u one nite or two nites free? if two nites, I dun see why they cannot allow u to stay at the same suite for another nite. Did u clarify with huiling after that?

hope u get some recourse from there

Morning All....

Tan - so sorry to hear bout wat happen... I tink you should feedback to huiling bout your encounter. C what she can do about it.

thomas - i tink wat tan meant was tat they couldn't stay 2 nites in a row & wanted to use the other nite for another day bt NCQ wouldn't allow.

lilm: I think that's not what Tan meant right? Cos I dun see the logic why he can't stay in the same suite for 2 consecutive nights.

Cos I was deliberating over whether to extend another night in the bridal suite that time but HL never mentioned anything like I can't stay in the same suite for 2 consecutive nights. If I have to move out from one suite to another for the 2nd night, I sure will make noise at them, trust me.

yeah maybe wait for tan to clarify...

this sat meeting ms no no to confirm table cloth colours, wedding favours and other stuff. table arrangement not done yet, invites haven't even write yet and my GDL is on this coming sun

i was given 2 nites but i cant stay 2 nites in a row. we spoke to HL, in the end we are given one table at phoenix restaurant. they are very rigid n like i mentioned very disappointed w kevin. being a banquet mgr, i dun think any bride will like his svc. HL is ok. think other hotel can give better service.

anyway its ok, off to honeymoon =)

Tan - icicic... well.. i do agree tat NCQ is rather rigid in their perks etc... As for kevin, not sure if he's d same banquet manager of mine... really unfortunate tat u had such a bad experience...

But well, the weddin is over... Go enjoy ur honeymoon.... =)
haf fun ya~~~

hmm... Kevin or Kelvin? Kevin is not a banquet mgr wor.. he's only a wedding coordinator lei.. not that i want to defend him, don think he's as per what u describe lei.. my encounter with him is quite good. he's very prompt to our request de.

unless if you say it's Kelvin, who is a banquet cooridnator, then that one i cant comment cos i only see him once during my wedding.. but he seems ok too. he briefed us before both of our march in on what we need to do. So if you say it's Kevin, then it could be he's not familar with the procedure? Like what Thomas say, there should be a banquet coordinator with u, instead of Kevin being there to guide.. maybe they didnt cooridnate well that day..

ya and anyway it's over and you should enjoy ur honeymoon!! on behalf of all brides to be for NCQ, thanks for the feedback!! it definitely helps for them..

lilm: yup started yest, maybe later tonite after work I swing over and take a look at the progress. Will share once its done dont worry

tan: hmm that's weird indeed, any reason why u can't stay 2 consecutive nites? cos it doesn't make sense to me. even if they are fully occupied, but priority still has to be given to the bridal couple right? anyway dun think so much, enjoy ur HM! where u flying off to?

ever: I think there are more than one Kevin in NCQ, coordinator got one (who served u), banquet manager got one also (scroll back previous threads, someone mentioned he was their banquet manager on their AD), the Dragon Phoenix rest manager is also Kevin when I went for my food tasting LOL.

btw, u haven't given us a proper FR ever since after ur wedding hor lol.

winter must be enjoying herself now in tokyo hahaha...wait for her FR when she comes back ba

tan: enjoy ur honeymoon! wat happen cant b undone... as long as both of u happily marry, tt's e most impt!

ur review serve as a guide to future brides n grooms to get ur coordinator/helper to chk tt e cake, champange fountain s there when they mit e banquet manager for briefing b4 e banquet... n oso to chk e menu on e table...

mmm... dunno if it s e same kevin cos durin my time, he was veri helpful n guide my hubby on e champange pourin...

thomas: mayb tan got something to settle e 2nd nite or flyin off 4 honeymoon thus couldn stay 2 consective nites...

hi everyone...sorry was busy...cos went to choose MY FUTURE HOUSE yest lor..hehe..ya..then today went to cut n dye my hair for CNY...thank god..hehe..my get the unit we wanted lor..n of cos a gd level too...we gt 24th level..highest is 27th..ya..hehe..at 259,100.00..ya...hehe..n know wat..we actually apply for 2 BTO project..the first one is the one we gt...the 2nd one..today the ballot result also out..n know wat..we also gt a gd queue number..but we decide to let it go..n go wit the sengkang one..hehe..

sunshine:..ya thanks..we gt the unit we wanted..haha..

thomas:..thanks for ur FR..look like u're really busy lor..hehe..JIA YOU...once in a lifetime..n njoy the process..ok?

tan:..hmm..u muz really diappointed wit NCQ..but dun ponder ab it lor..let it pass..cos wateva has happen has already happen..so lets forward to the future..njoy ur HM wit ur hubby k?..hehe..n thanks for ur sharing too..

hmm..looks like there is alot of "kelvin" n "kevin" in NCQ..n my so "jiao"..my HTB also gt a similae name.."kelvin"..so will b quite funny lor..cos my coordinator is kelvin lor..haha..LOL..

hey hannah, congrats! must be v happy to get the unit u want

wah u really lucky with balloting, me no such luck though

erm, ur coordinator shld be 'kevin' leh, not kelvin. the other two in NCQ all also kevin hhahaaha