Novotel Clarke Quay

hannah: Wow it's very good news!! Some people have been bidding for several times and always got very big numbers, you tried for both and got both! So lucky!!

hihi all

wow so many post..till i can't catch up

sunshine..u ask abt whether will some dun turn up last min..4 my case only 1 friend..so i will not attend her 2...i remember my mua say if u saw all table being fill up during the banquet mean the couple hv gd (ren yuan) cos she ever saw some couple nearly ard 8 table all the bride colleagues nvn turn up...they plan to play her out...omg

tan:sorry to hear tht..which kevin u ref to kevin is my sale..so far very confortable with him.prompt to reply e mail ans all my quries..if kelvin fr banquet..he my banquet in charge on ad..he very gd all schedule is follow..all thing went smoothly

thomas:..thanks..haha..hmm..ya lor..gt both..hmm..for me..i think is not "luck"..i pray hard..cos i christian...n god ans our prayer.hehe..sorry har..hope wun offend anyone..hehe!..oh their name is kevin har..oops!..hehe..then it will b ok la..haha..but still sound similar lor..hehe..

lilm:..thanks!

sunshine:ya lor..some pple juz dun gt it..hehe..so nw the "house" things can out aside liao..nw juz hav to wait for housing loan..n start to prepare my photo montage..hehe..

hannah: Congrats for gettin e unit u wan! u r really lucky in ur ballot
doin ur own montage?

thomas: u started ur montage oledi?

hi hannah: tht gd new..when the house be ready?

Hi thomas: think the mango pudding is nice..maybe not to ur liking..so any idea to chg to wht? How ur house reno? Wht design u gg 4

hi lilm: haha busy nowaday so long nvn come in..how life aft becoming mrs ...me so bored cos he always nag @ me haha...super tired with household chores..till now still hv not unpack all things.cny is approaching omg

morning all...

welcome back shir.. =)

Hmm life have been d same so far cos i've been stayin wif him for awhile.. bt expectations is higher though... wan me to cook more often lol

cheer: montage my wife is in charge, she finished liao le, did 4 somemore

shir: wah u hardly come in here liao, busy making bb? hahaha. the mango pudding we all dun find it nice leh...thinking of changing to either the red bean paste with gingko nuts or yam paste, but scared if yam paste will be too filling cos I oredi got yam ring liao. House reno started on tues, so dun think did a lot by now. hope to finish before cny, some stuff my ID told me have to install after cny liao cos his suppliers too full of orders, refused to take anymore
design will be modern...

ur hubby nags at u cos he loves u mah...if not he wun even bother hahahaa...u getting used to staying with another person alone? me dunno whether will get used to or not, household chores also another thing to consider...

lilm: wah he wants u to cook more for him? good mah, lidat can fill his stomach with love kekekee. also can improve ur cooking skills as u go along...ur cooking must be good?

thomas - wow... ur wife did 4 montages... keke so lihai...

cook is ok la.. i onli knw abit... bt cook after i get home from work is veri tiring esp wen haf to clean up wash up etc..... bt i do cook once in awhile

yalor haha...she's good at these stuff lah

agree, cleaning up is the worst...I dun mind cooking lah. Must learn to cook for wifey too

thomas - ya lor.. hate cleaning up the most... bt i alwis cook & wash/clean at d same time...

so sweet of u ah.. wanna cook for ur wifey...

morning tick....

yalor, she's so excited to share with our guests that she did 4...LOL. showing all of cos, otherwise it will be wasting her efforts

wow did she do all 4 according to specific themes? like baby photos, dating photos etc? i wanna start doing the montage but dont know where to start..haha.. 4 montages should be the most i have ever seen.. cool.

tick: honestly I have no idea lol...she haven't showed me yet also
baby photos cfmed dun have cos we dun have many to make the montage...

I think she spent a lot of time on our montages cos every night she slept very late, told me not easy to do cos gotta trim, then add the appropriate music to go along with the pics. If I'm not wrong she used Microsoft Movie Maker to do, u wanna try?

shir:..hmm..thanks..my house still long..earliest is 3rd quarter of 2013..yeap..hehe..

cheer:..ya lor..doing my own montage..hehe..but HTB is doing...using the microsoft movie maker to do..hehe..cos i do b4..he say very easy one..so juz leave it to him to do lor..haha..cos i ask the video pple to do..very $$$ lor..$300 leh..might as well do ourselves..can save $$ go HM..haha..then dun need to limit to hw many pics n hw long the timing lor..haha..

thomas:..wah..ur wife superb lor..4 montage..gds2..muz b very happy to hav a gd wife hor..hehe...wah..u very "teng" her lor..wan to cook for her..hmm..hw is wish my HTB also will cook for me lor..but at least he promise that next time if i cook..he will wash for me lor..hehe..*smiling..*

wah 2013 ah...then after ur AD u stay where temp hannah?

haha my wife also used MMM to do our montages...hehe. ya she's very gd at all these stuff, I suck so I can't do
of cos must 'teng' her, wife only got one, dun 'teng' her 'teng' who? haha

actually cooking is easy, but cleaning up is the sian part hahaha...

hehe..ya agree wit u thomas..cleaning up is the sian part..haha..oh..i will stay at my in-law house first lor..hehe..cos my AD end of yr ma..cos i stay ab 2 yrs wit them lor..hehe..can learn some cooking lor..hehe..so nt tat bad..me also i nt a IT person..but i'm a art n craft persom..so my HTB also look after IT side..haha..the deco..he all left to me lor..heh..wah..gd2..ur wife so xin fu har..gt u to "teng" her..but after marriage..still muz "teng" her even she didn't meet ur expectation k?..ya..cos i went to a premarital counselling course..sometimes mariage during the HM period..always gt lots of quarreling..as we reality dun match wit wat we expect marriqge to b lor..so muz b prepare for this lor..hehe..

wah good leh...then can slowly wait for ur lovenest to be ready. i'm sure u will love it when u collect ur keys to ur new hse next time!

yeah sure i will, we already promised to give n take ler...

haha...ya lor thomas..hmm..nw alreay looking forward lor..yeap..was thinkg hw to design the rm lor..cos we wan a rm for music lor..so wan to put sound proof wall..so at we can play drum..keyboard..bass guitar..elec guitar..acoustic guitar lor..hehe..hmm..*smiling..*..dun say liao..cos still long..then the land is still a jungle with trees n grass lor..haha..

wah music...u wanna put live band inside ah? haha

its good to plan first so that u know what u want later and work towards it

haah..ya lor..wanted to put live band...but uz see hw exp is tat le..see gt $$ first..hehe..cos in church we inband ma..so alway need to find wit othere pple in church for place to prac for our service lor..so if our house is available..then we can "jam" in the rm..haha..

Shir: Thanks for your advise! noted.. i think i will also only invite those whom are relatively close to me and will not fly my aeroplane the last min.

Thomas: Wow you wife is very lihai! Usually weddings only about 2 montages right? I thought having 4 montages is a good idea to "entertain" guests but it is definitely super tedious!

lilmsp: yeah agreed! household chores is a chore... springcleaning is worst! haha.. but on top of that, i have to learn how to cook too! Although my hubby is a pretty good chef, but i suppose he expects his wife to learn to whip up some dishes too bah! hehe.

sunshine: hahaha yes she is...she loves showing others our PS photos I guess

all: met up with ms no no le yest and finalised all our details liao, now looking forward to AD

Peeps i am back :D

Japan was awesome. But first let me share what happen at the dinner

Food was generally not bad. i got a few negative feedbacks but i told myself heck care. i can't control. Let me and my hubby enjoy the day.

The only hiccups were my guest list as usual. my poor recep do until head big big. As I only have 21 tables, my dinner started at 8.15pm ended 10.30pm. It was a comfortable timing. We didnt have time to eat dinner because my hubby and us wanted to spend time mingle with our guests. We really enjoyed. We can spend at least 5 to 8 mins per table for catch up. Services were good. We consumed all 21 wine bottles and only opened additional 3 more bottles.

I was prepared to make a lost (due to the auspicious rates) but our frds and relatives were very generous thus breaking even. We are thankful for that. Many of our friends bless us alot.

Of course my jiemeis and his brothers gathered and gatecrash our night. haha played games and we really enjoyed alot.

Huiling and Kevin went to greet us. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our banquet manager was Kosh, He was also very good. Very patient and attended to us all the way. The chef came out and greet us after the dinner ended. another lovely surprise.

the suite was lovely. I really wish i can spent more time inside. hahaha. I told Huiling i will be back next year for 1st year wedding anniversary.
hahhaa

once again... i repeat.... Novotel thanks :D

glad to hear your wedding went smoothly winter...good that u managed to break even too. Hope I can too when my turn comes

all: oh ya btw forgot to mention, NCQ changed their ballroom carpets le, its blue with patterns. No new favours as of now, no new themes too. For info only.

All: sorry for the delay in my feedback from NCQ. Have been busy with work after my wedding..

The feedback that I have gotten from NCQ is great!! Majority of the comments I got from my guest is the food… majority of my guests LOVED the food! Probably cos it’s prepared by restaurant… as it is a peak season for wedding, a lot of ppl compared the food from various hotels. M hotel’s food cannot be compared to NCQ…

My experience with NCQ is great as their service is really good. There were no glitches to the AV system, we were also briefed before the 2 march in on what we are suppose to do.

Our table planning is such that we have 41 tables of confirmed guest, but we cater for 40+2 tables. So we closed 1 table on actual day, amounting to 40 tables that day. So the table that we close is our reserved table (no need to pay extra). You may want to take note when planning your tables.

We were quite fortunate that majority of our guest turned up… those last min who never turned up, majority gave ang bao too… and they were all early (cos there were no other wedding/function that day), so I guess parking wasn’t a problem.

We started at 8.15pm and ended at 10.30pm sharp.. a lot of guest stayed throughout (though next day got work) cos every dish came very promptly and dinner ended earlier than usual.
Only thing is that, we didn’t get to eat anything, cos dinner was not sent up to our room.
The room service did call our room, but no one picked up. So they didn’t send the food up. We have feedback this to Kevin anyway.

With regards to ang bao, actually, during the final week when you send reminder, ppl will start saying they cant make it etc… there’s nothing much you can do. It’s hard to rearrange the tables cos of the odd numbers and you can’t possibly invite ppl in the very last min. tables have been confirmed so you cant just reduce the tables… (that’s why the above paragraph on the table planning is impt!) there will be so many other things on your mind that… you will be less concern about making a loss cos the impt thing is to have everything worked out smoothly.

We gave 7 tables to my mom, so losses is inevitable… esp when there are some ppl still living in the olden times, giving very very low ang bao… but losses is minimal for us, most impt thing is we enjoyed ourselves the very day… wedding is not about earning money or reducing expenses… it’s a celebration of 2 person getting together and spending the rest of their lives together! Even if you are able to cover your dinner expenses, there will be so much more money spent elsewhere that is not recoverable… We can always earn the money back... That is what I learnt after my wedding.. We spent almost 30k in all (after deducting the ang bao)...
and still have more to come cos of the developing of photos for relatives, etc…

winter & evergreen: glad tt u all hav a nice celebration @ novotel too

winter: u got 1st yr anni dinner from them? we hav so gg back durin anni too ;)

evergreen: agree wif wat u mention on e cost ;) as long as both happy n its within ur own budget..

thomas: wow... tt's a lot of montage ;)

hannah: my hubby oso did e montage cos he oso tink tt e cost of engagin some1 s x n we can put in as many photo as we want...

hello cheer no lar... my hubby said we didnt really enjoy the suite facilities, so he promised to bring me back to novotel.

i then said... oh maybe another japan trip... that guy pretend to sleep after that ... hahahah

welcome back back winter and ever...wow both of u..ur dinner start so early...my start abt 8.45pm..by the time dinner end is abt 11pm

wow time really fly...cos many had their ad liao...next in the list is it thomas???

nice to hear good good comments again...
congrats to evergreen and winterpolaris!

hope everyone's wedding this yr will be as smooth sailing and wonderful as the ones before. =)

evergreen and winter:..thanks for ur review...so happy for both of u...all went well..hmm..my still long..NOV lor..haha..hmm..agree wit ever..$ nt most imp..cos is the celebration of both..yeap..hehe..

winter:..have u added me in facebook?..can add me if u didn't..my email is [email protected]!

morn everyone!

Thomas: tired but excited at e same time right?

hannah: Haha! I'm in e same boat as u... Still have to wait till end of the year :p even so, I'm already feeling quite stressed mentally coz it seems like thr r a lot of things to do, yet I can't put my finger to it like exactly what to do.. Hehe..

Winter n cheer: Congrats once more! Glad to hear another 2 happy Novoteller couples tie e knot!

sunshine: more tired than excited...still got things not done yet sigh. managed to send out 90% of my invites liao, doing rsvp now.

haha shld be winter and evergreen, cheer's AD over last yr liao

ahahaha cheer u so on.... u still hang around at this thread... i find it so hard to catch up at jan2010 thread cos i unable to go out with the gals. What more this thread?!

+ I tot of coming in to let you folks how it went on my AD.

ya i know the suite not cheap but is cheaper than japan LOL :P think my hubby dun mind splurge LOL :P hehehehe but maybe hor i shd go langkawi instead... haha barely married for 1 month i am thinking of my 1 year wedding anniversary LOL.

cheer: but got disc for couples who had their AD in NCQ right?

winter: u can also continue hanging out here even after ur AD is over lor...unless u dun wan us anymore