Novotel Clarke Quay

josie: hihi welcome! Mine's at Cinnamon too hehe

huishan: wow sounds like u had a great food tasting session! hope mine will be ok when my time comes

sunshine: u can try, no harm but since u got most of the perks, that's abt the max they can go liao. NCQ is quite rigid with their perks fyi, most of us here dun even have what u have now haha

ixoral: your mum is right, get from hotel wun incur corkage charges but getting it outside will have, so best to get it from NCQ directly. Anyway they hv special price for us if we get from them, did ur coordinator tell u? I think Mico ever mentioned to me sth like $23 per bottle, can't rem. U buy from outside also can, NTUC/Cold Storage do sell cheap and value for $ wine

breezy: LOL...what a way to put it hahahahaha...if too packed maybe u can consider selling ur package to others, then sign a new one with NCQ? provided ur date is still available of cos.

lilmspep..cos we initially wanted to get Phoenix ballrooom but the dates we wanted (4-5 of them) all booked..and really very lazy to recee around..so settle for Cinnamon and now after listing out everyone the guest number seems to have balloned..bride side taking 11 + 1 VIP, groom side taking 5 + 1 bridal..so we left with 6-8 tables for friends/co.

Suddenly like so tight like that..haiz..but bo bian..I think we are the 'laziest couple' liao..hotel also just check out 2 place, bridal also booked the 2nd one we visited :x

Thomas, cannot sell lei..u see the NCQ booking schedule all the weekends booked up wor..anyway only those frds/co. in very close contact then we invite...cos sometimes when those frds that we lose contact for so long suddenly drop us a bomb we also quite puzzled..so now we also dun want our guest to have this feeling lo..bo bian..

BTW I heard from my friend (held her wedding at NCQ) the waiters will "dance" out wearing chef uniform for the first course..anyone heard of this too or seen this? Should be quite a sight..lol

OT abit, you guys and gals settle on Honeymoon location? Anyone booked during Natas?

breezy - o... wow.. dan meaning u will haf to limit on ur frens list.. bt well like wat u say.. jus close frens will do ^^v

i haven been to NCQ for dinner b4.. so i wont knw bout d 1st dish presentation.. bt i'm havin my food tasting soon.. probably can check wif huiling =)

i din get to go to Natas, bt 1 of my colics, sign a honeymoon package to mauritius for 3k (price is for 1 couple) n stay in a 5* hotel...

welcome all new NCQ btb/htb!

shirley: plan to go 4 food tastin in end sep but not confirm yet cos got to c my dad schedule.. plannin to hav wat lervia hav too.. same cold dish selection as lervia, if any of e items not nice, we will change to e 'golden coins'.. change vege to yam ring wif vege stuffin (need to top up 4 tis) n oso payin extra to try 2 dessert (yam paste n mango sogo e c which s nicer)... will update aft my food tastin...

lervia: thanks 4 e update on ur food tastin!

breezy: i hav e same prob as u.. really got to cut down on e guest list.. in e end, we oso hav a banquet in malaysia so tt we can invite malaysia relatives to e malaysia banquet... hee.. e BS tt we sign up s e onli 1 tt we went in.. n we didn do any research on tt, its by chance tt we tok to e sales person..

we oso b buyin e red wine fro e hotel direct as we dun tink we can find any red wine below $8 per bottle, so gettin fro e hotel directly s much cheaper... n dun hav to est how many bottles to buy...

I checked with Kevin before on the first dish presentation... Yup, the waiters and waitresses will be doing a mini step-dance, but we can also choose to do without it.

For mauritius is there about that price..just that for 5* then might be a good deal..I went before a few years back per pax about 1.5k per pax (not 5*, I think its 4*)for 6D5N..its a nice and relaxing place..to suntan (get baked really fast) and chill out..can join the day tour (about $150 per pax) to see the scenary and town area..I went during V-day period and experience a cyclone..so it rained for a day but the rest are nice and sunny..for beach & sun lovers can consider going there

For our hunnymoon we are looking at the 14D Europe tour..but will probably not go immediately after the wedding. Planning mid next year when its not winter and have more savings first (after wedding pocket all dry up le)..so will prolly go for a short short spa trip nearby first..like post-dinner, pre-hunnymoon thingy..lol

cheer - I'm only having one dinner le..so more headache...hub's dad (passed on) relative all in Indo and will not be inviting them over..so hopefully hub's mom side guest list will not balloon too *fingercrossed

breezy: haha dun say that lah, maybe u all are the decisive type leh? see liao like, so signed up immediately lor. It's good to be decisive also, sometimes view too many only makes u more confused lol.

I heard of the dance during the first course, some say quite cute, some dun like so I think it's quite subjective? if dun like can always request them not to do that, but I think I can accept it hee

Planning to go Japan for HM but dunno whether can or not, will have to depend on how big a loss we make on our banquet
Didn't go Natas cos dun wanna end up like sardines LOL

cheer: $8 per bottle for wine? got so cheap meh? I rem Mico told us it's abt $23 leh...

wah u got 2nd round in msia ah lol

hello everyone..
i have seen novotel's ballroom but abit worried about the location.. =( im kind of done with siting hotel..the more i see the more confuse i get, i narrowed down to Orchard hotel and novotel.. very tempted with Orchard hotel's viwedding show promotion leh, the ballroom is actually much nicer but novotel is cheaper.. anyone can share more with me?

miss little: I like ur nick haha =)

location wise I think not to worry, it's near Clarke Quay MRT so within walking distance if ur guests are not driving. For those driving, u can tell them to park at Liang Court which is next to NCQ.

Try not to go view too many hotels otherwise it will make u more confused...when I did my recce-ing, I only went to abt 4, of cos NCQ was one of them.

OH is nice but the bridal suite I heard its quite old...also the lift to the carpark is very, very slow and there's only one lift there. Foodwise shld be ok, no complaints heard so far.

U decide ba

wow NCQ list is getting longer...great...

ya agreed with Thomas dun see too many..cos really will be very confusing..4 me i only see NCQ, holiday Inn( the banquet manager too yaya), Grand Shanghai(not worth the $$ and ppl will think it is only a rest) and Orchard Parade Hotel(ceiling too low)..so final decision is NCQ..HAHAHA

Hello Miss Little! For my HTB and myself, Novotel and Orchard Hotel are two of our 3 shortlisted hotels when we were banquet hunting. Mainly because we wanted ballrooms with high ceilings and pillarless ballrooms.

I love OH because of it's huge huge suite.. however, after much discussion with the coordinators, we feel more comfortable with Novotel, and the feeling is just 'right'.

thomas: wat i mean s $8 wine fro outside cos e corkage already $10+ (cant remember exact amt).. so definately cant find any wine tt s $8, so still cheaper to get it fro novotel direct... ya, but e malaysia wil b a simple one, 1 wk b4 our actual day...

breezy: hope u will b able to sort out ur guest list soon.. actually can send e-invites to chk wif those tt u really wan to invite n if some of them cant attend, then u can invite e next in line...

huishan: m i inside ur facebook? [email protected] if not, can add me?

lilmspep, wow u so fast.. me plannin to hav it on 22 sep, nearer to shirley date.. ;) we can share e food tastin review aft our turn..

morning all...

lilm: wah that's fast...that's another 2 wks!

shir: HAHAHA...me went OPH, HIPV, NCQ and another one which I forgot liao...NCQ still the most value for money in the end...

cheer: oic...tot u cld find $8 or cheaper wines lol...u msian? or hubby is?

wah u gals' food tasting all so near each other...can have 3 FRs at the same time haha

morning all...

ya.. veri fast haha.. faster arrange n can dan get both parents to discuss all d whatnots..
so i can focus on my other wedding stuff after tat ^^V

yalor that's true also...u, shir and cheer's AD getting nearer liao, must be excited right? mine still got so long to go zzzzzz

Morning all,

I'm having the food tasting this dec though my AD is in June 2010. Cos I'm living in oversea, only be back for holiday this dec. Do you guys know when I need to let the coordinator know?
Besides that, I need to arrange to get the wedding cards as well. Do I have to wait weeks later to collect the cards after selecting? Hope you guys can help me with that... Thanks in advance.

Cheer!!! ; D

ya lor.. veri fast.. 2mth plus more to go.....

i emailed huiling ystd.. i wanna change d yam ring to live prawns.. d price diff in d menu is $10 bt she told me there's additional charge of $25 per table.. =(

i dun understand leh

hi morning all

ya lor thomas: AD coming but seem like there alot of stuff to do...omg

OkOk will take pic during food tasting and post here...HAHA

hi Josie..think u hv to inform ur coordinator abt 2wk in advance...and card aft confirm shld be 7-10days...

josie: hihi..perhaps u can drop ur coordinator an email and ask him/her directly? think that wld be better

lilm: why change? yam ring is nice and it's their specialty leh...

I tot got one dish is prawns already??? I dun understand the part on the $25 also...maybe can ask her to explain to u?

shir: u haven't done wat yet? haha

so good...me still have to wait lor

thomas - i'm choosing the destiny package.. so theres no prawn dish.. wanna change d yam ring to prawn cos dessert is yam already...

lilmspep: hmm.. im also taking destiny package but i have the same prawn dish as the pleasure package.. probably they made some changes to the 2010 menu?

sunshine gal: when sep 10 s near, u wil hope tt it wil b later cos realise lots of stuff to do... hee...

thomas: i m born in malaysia so got relatives at here n in malaysia...

lilmspep: urs s lunch package? cos mine oso got prawns lei...

joshi: it wil take 3 days if u jus wan to collect card without printin.. wif printin, tink abt 2 wks... u wil need a letter fro ur coordinator b4 u goes down to select e card.. can let ur coordinator know n he will follow up 4 u... for food tastin, need to arrange 1-2 wks in advance..

lilm: oic...didn't know that, mine got prawns iirc, so having the yam ring

sunshine: hahahahhha...mine's next March and me cannot wait already lol

cheer: oic...no wonder lah. so now u PR or sporean? urs lunch also? mine's lunch

huishan: ok approved u too! will go see ur pics hehe

YR2009 got 4 menus (Desire, Pleasure, Destiny and Eternity) while YR2010 got 3 menus (Pleasure, Destiny and Eternity) and the dishes are slightly difference. tat explain lilmspep no prawn case ^_^

yenyun: oic...maybe that's why lah

actually is prawns a must? some wedding dinners I've been to also dun have...but fish must have lah of cos

thomas: s'porean... mine dinner, thot of havin lunch but later realise timin a bit rush 4 us so hav dinner instead as our ROM oso e same day...

btw, any bride here using e outdoor venue 4 ur ROM?

huishan: thanks! will confirm u later...

lilimspep: ur weddin s tis yr?

we did our food tasting early this week!! here are some of the comments from a group of 9 adults and 2 toddlers!
btw, ours is a wedding lunch, thus some of the dishes might be different to yours.

1. Phoenix Platter : Gold coin meat, Pork Terrine, Chinese Ham, Drunken Chicken, mini octopus

we decide to try the above combination cos we seldom get to eat all these at banquets, wanted to see how it looks and taste like.. hmm.. but the pork terrine, chinese ham taste weird.. and kids love the gold coin meat!
so we decide to take Spring Roll, Prawn Salad, mini octopus, gold coin meat and drunken chicken.

2. Braised Moon-cut Shark's Fin with crab meat and bamboo pith

some says the shark fin looks like the bamboo pith, actually i also cannot see the difference, but overall this dish is acceptable.

3. Roast Crispy Chicken flavoured with deep-fried garlic

everyone loves this! but i feel the chicken is abit small, cos maybe only 3rd dish, and ppl are still super hungry lo.. thus to some ppl, the chicken may not looked enough, but at least each person can eat a min 2 pcs of the chicken. i had 4 pcs actually! haha. have to snatch lo!

4. Soon Hock in Hong-kong Style

our parents love this fish and its well cooked!! i should have taken the before and after pics lo.. the after picture looks pathetic with only the back bone left!! we scraped all the meat from the fish!! the fish is well cooked and looks big enough! hopefully the standard remains the same on our AD!!

5. Wok-Fried Prawns with fresh lily buds and Sweet Peas

hmm.. this dish is abit disappointing, its like normal stir-fried prawns with green peas, lily buds.. looked too normal. some says the prawns looked too small, but i feel the prawn is ok, medium size, each person can eat at least 2 prawns, however not worth to top-up for this dish. we might change back to the orginal menu which is poached live prawns.

6. Deep Fried Yam Ring with Prawns stuffing and cashew Nuts

We all loved this dish!! first time i see that everyone finished off the Yam ring! usually ppl ate the fillings and not the yam ring right.. the yam ring is cooked just nice, soft and like the Dim sum!! a MUST order dish!!

7. Wok-Fried Ee-fu Noodles with Yellow Chives

the noodle's portion is alot!! after distributing to all of us, there are still about 3 portions left! the noodle is nice and good! maybe we all loved noodle! we are thinking maybe to change the food sequence, to let the Ee-fu noodle come after the phoenix platter.

8. Cream of Mango with Pamelo

i feel the pamelo is not alot but overall still acceptable, quite a refreshing dessert!

hope our food comments will help u all to decide ur food better!

no prob
was wondering what is pork terrine also. dun looked appetizing lo.. hahaa, and i also dun like cold food. shall upload the pics of the dishes!
does anyone have a picture of the poached live prawns?? can share with me??

Yea! Thanks ViVi for the feedback! from now on, i shall start collating all the feedback and food reviews received for my reference one year later! :D

cheer: that's true! but now it just seems tooo far away!

limspep: maybe for cold dish, you can choose one prawn salad or something? anyway, yam ring inside got prawns right? so it should be good enough to signify the necessary?

limspep: oh dear.. i thought there is, coz vivi's review was "6. Deep Fried Yam Ring with Prawns stuffing and cashew Nuts "

I think just try your best to check if there are any prawns in other dishes.. if not, don't think too much about it.. afterall, prawns or no prawns, it's your big day! :D