Novotel Clarke Quay

lsbb13

Hi Whitepearl,

Yah...must pray hard...
But the food is so so lor....certain dishes may be very bad, and certain dishes may be good...
So it's hard to say....

The contract thing would only state no. of table and date of wedding. With perks that is out of the 'standard perks'. (you can ask them to include)

The wedding checklist is summary of all the perks, incase you have more tables and would like to negotiate for more perks, can be included in the wedding checklist. (Which i meant about a mth b4 ur wedding day, where you more or less have the cfm no. of table)

They will tell u....abt the checklist, or if you wan ...you may ask them....

lush_queen

the stuff that roxy mentioned is quite worrying...sound system and lighting very important leh as the focus is on the couple. it is very embarassing for the couple if anything goes wrong. think every couple must do sound checks by playing the whole montage a few hours before the wedding. saw a thread posted earlier on good comments of the banquet manager(the one who runs the show on the night itself).

whitepearl

Hi Tale,

Thanks for the clarifications

I will certainly take note of the details.

I agree with lushqueen that we have to do sound and lightning checks before the banquet starts...glad we have to highlight to them again and again.

hankypanky

hi whitepearl,
Mi agreed with U recently I hd a relative who attended the dinner at NCQ and the feedback was good w the food,service was ok even the sound system is great and lighting was fantastic with their intelligent create the romantic feel

jona

Hi lim choo choo,

when did yr relative attended the dinner at NCQ?
I think we shdn't worried so much. So far there isn't any bad comments on their sound system. I think in the early part of this forum there is one said that NCQ system is good as their ciling is high enough.

whitepearl

Hi lim choo choo,

Thanks for the assurances from ur relative. Hopefully, more positive comments will be flowing in more frequently...

btw, u have any intention to sign up with NCQ?

hankypanky

Hi June and Whitepearl,

Probably can be consider?.. because of their high ceiling, good service, food, great system and romantic lighting. let me make arrangement with them when is their next WD. So I can go down look look

lsbb13

Hi Whitepearl..and Lim...

I wouldn't say their sound system is fantastic..but ok lor...lighting also ok lor..
My comment is average only...on service (Depends on their banquet staff), food (depends on the chef that day) and setup (nothing spectacular)..... However, luckily, there is 2 good banquet personnel - Bibin and Say peng,

High ceiling is the best...out of all....

Anyway....it would be a memorable night...
Nothing so bad abt NCQ...

Enjoy all NCQ to be brides...

lsbb13

Hi whitepearl,....

Tats a tough qs...maybe not...

or if maybe..will emphasis to them a lot of issues beforehand....to those pts that i wasn't pleased about....

To be frank...on the day..you as the bride will not notice abt the environment, atmosphere...and you will find the time flies....So...only aft that from feedback then you know abt the 'unpleasant' things happening...HOWEVER, it's just tooooo late to rectify...so there left regrets lor........(Also, though they have good banquet team..but they have a tendency to not telling the couple things that may crop up..though they knew it...) Not so nice to post here....

Anyhow...if you have chosen NCQ....don't think so much..just enjoy ur BIG day.....i believed they will improve down the road....

whitepearl

Hi Tale,

I have not placed any deposit at the moment thus thinking of getting more feedbacks frm ex-brides

Btw, what are the issues we can hightlight to them beforehand?

Hopefully, it will only gets better as the days passes...my sis friend's wedding dinner will be held there coming March. Hope she can give us more positive comments

lsbb13

Hi Whitepearl,

From my experience, things that can highlight:

~Food must not be serve cold.. (they must align with ur march in...so that food would not be cold meaning..food not warm lor..not nice liao)

~Red wine instruction, if u request them 3/4 full...ask them to follow ..if one guest says he want full glass..just follow that one guest..and not pour full glass for all your guests..it's very wasting....and ur red wine will go super fast.

~Ask them to tell u what they knew that they are not able to follow.. and not last minute then let urself find out. (It happen to mine..which i find that item quite impt to me..)

~Their service staff ratio, must be enough...cos..sometimes..guests needs refill of drinks..they are short of staff...

Overall, above are the more critical..cos..ur guests must enjoy...not to let them have any negative comments...not so nice mah...

Anyhow, NCQ is quote a nice location, not so jam on the road..convenient...ballrm pillarless..not so ex per table..it's a nice choice...but just need to highlight the aboves...should be fine lor..
Hoped it helps...Cheers....

whitepearl

Hi Tale,

Thanks for highlightning.

I'm sure it will definitely help a lot of BTBs frm NCQ and I will certainly take note.

However, I will think through again with my FH before we comes to a final decision....

yurieve

can i noe wat is the price range for NCQ's wedding dinner pkg on wkends? n wat is their min no. of tables required??

appreciate if anyone can enlighten me...

daemonkoh

NCQ is not a good choice. I just attended my brother's wedding at there and the whole of relatives, families had numberous complaints of their service, food, etc... Heard from my brother that he is really pissed off due to the co-ordinators nvr bother to follow up stuff..

charmingpiglet

Dear all brides to be of NCQ,

I am getting a little worried on some of the negative feedback.. It seems like more and more are surfacing these days on NCQ..

Does anyone want to team up so that we can send a joint email to NCQ Wedding team on the comments and feedback so far. This is to alert them so that they can further improve if indeed the comments are valid and true....How? Anyone interested? It can also be an opportunity to hear from them...Not fair to just listen to one side of the story..

Anyone interested? we can explore further. email me at [email protected]

yahoo

hankypanky

Hi Bluemoon,

Your sound make me worri, are you refering to the HNO or NCQ, thought of signing up with them. I had just went down on last weekend to view @ their ballroom, and there's a wedding dinner going on. It seem to me everything was ok with their services. they've a veri nice big pillarless ballroom, romantic lighting, private cocktail reception area.

daemonkoh

Hi lim,

Ya i agree, nice ballroom, lightings and private cocktail reception area. just take note of the food and their services..make sure they follow up things and they are not ' fu yan' you...

Good luck!!!

tarea

Bluemoon,

when was your brother's wedding?
before they change mangement or after?

or if you don't get what i meant;
When your bro had the wedding, the name of the hotel is <font color="blue">Hotel New Otani</font> or <font color="blue">Novotel Clarke Quay</font>?

Thankie!

darkangle

Im oso looking at NCQ for my wedding, coz previously heard that they are good n having good food... Have their standard dropped?

daemonkoh

Hi Tarea,

The wedding is just recently... IT's Novotel Clarke Quay.. Not hotel new otani.. Last time i attented Hotel new otani's wedding of a ex-colleague. It has better services and food..

roxyz

hi all ladies
I just went to NCQ yesterday. Must admit we are very happy coz they have refurbished their bridal suites and lobby. The lobby dun look so dark and dinghy anymore but instead looks bright orangey, cheery and modern. The suites, too look very good to us, it was a pleasant surprise as the last time we saw the suite was a yr ago when we signed up. Met up with Mr bibin too. A very handsome chap but he seems kinda shy.

Have conveyed all the feedback face to face and via email to Jamie many times regarding the wine pouring, the lightings, the sound system and the food etc. They seem like a very capable team to me so Im hoping everything will go well for me.

My AD is just a week away, will let you all know how everything goes

lsbb13

Hi Bluemoon....

Can you disclose the 2 person....
maybe just the initial of their name will do..
Anyhow......it's a pre-caution to the BTB of NCQ..

lsbb13

Hi Bluemoon...

Thanks...i think i know who for the guy..
but the woman..i cant think of......
maybe she's new.... Anyway..tks for ur info..

Note to all BTB of NCQ...

jona

Hi Roxy,

Wow NCQ have upgrade so many things. That's good for all of us. I think there is more coming along

tarea

J = male or female?

my coordinator is J (female), she's pretty good le. friendly and easy going and flexible..

I hope it's not her!

lush_queen

hi roxy,

good to hear that they have refurbished the bridal suite and lobby. Please update the anxious NCQ brides-to-be again after your AD. Enjoy yourself on your wedding day!

roxyz

hi..our wedding is finally over!!

must really thank jamie and mr bibin who really tried their best to help...they have been a most fantastic help!! no problems with lighting and sound system

tarea

hi roxyz,

Congrats and glad to hear that!
and feedbacks on the food?
U managed to break-even? kekeke

Oh and how many nites u got for your bridal suite?

dadamada

hi, i just signed up with NCQ recently and they have a clause on cancellation that u have to bear 50% of the F&amp;B costs? Wonder if it is the same from those who signed up before.

tarea

mmm.. i think roxy went for her honeymoon? no reply from her since..

Whitepearl, when's your AD? U considering other hotels other than NCQ?

whitepearl

Hi TaRea,

yeh, I think so too...

My AD is on July 2007. Mi currently still shortlisting another hotel and Novotel.

r u Novotel btb??

tarea

hi Whitepearl,

My AD in sept 2007. Have not place deposit with Novotel yet, should be soon ba.

Which other hotel u shortlisted?
U placing deposit soon?

happytea

hihi, anyone of you deal w that J (male) that bluemoon is talking abt?
cos we might be meeting "him" for our wedding, opps!

hi Roxyz, please tell us more of your wedding nite! thanks!

lsbb13

Hi HappyTea...

Please read the archive thread for Nov 04, 2005, and you will have the answers to your qs...

happytea

Tale, thks for your info. hmn.... but since their sales director came in to comment, Mr J would have improved? any one got experience w him recently? i talked to him twice on the phone, he sounds polite and not bad leh, but i kinda taken aback from all the past bad comments abt him.
or which coordinator will u all recommend?

tarea

Got this from Today's paper.

extracted from todayonline
"Ascott sells Liang Court Shopping Centre"

Ascott Group, Asia's largest operator of serviced apartments, has sold Liang Court Shopping Centre to an entity called ARMF II (Liang Court) for $175 million.

The divestment, which is in line with Ascott's strategy of selling non-core assets and reinvesting the funds in higher growth markets, will result in a net divestment gain of about $36 million, its chief executive Cameron Ong, said in a statement yesterday.

Ascott spokeswoman Celina Low said ARMF II is a fund managed by Pramerica Real Estate Investors of the United States.

The six-storey Liang Court Shopping Centre, which is located at River Valley Road between the central business district and the Orchard Road shopping area, has a gross floor area of about 46,000 sq m.

It is part of the Liang Court complex which also houses the 21-storey Somerset Liang Court serviced residence and the 20-storey Novotel Clark Quay Hotel.

Liang Court Shopping Centre is Ascott's last non-core asset in Singapore, said Mr Ong. — Dow Jones"
---
<font color="blue">Mmm.... would it affect the hotel ah?
Kind of worried as we would be signing with them soon.</font>

tarea

Hi HappyTea,

Check ur inbox, or junk mail in case it went there!
What I have is the 2006's package, have to add $30 for 2007.

My AD in sept 2007, coordinator is Jamie. Nice lady! =)

When's yours?

happytea

Tarea, i got your email, thks! it did not went into the junk mail lah, haha

wow u booked so early for your AD in 2007?
we are meeting Jamie too, but my hubby not free this 2 wk, but we had made a tentative booking w her for our date (Dec06) in case someone got in front of us hee

any additional perks u think we can ask from Jamie? :p