Novotel Clarke Quay

eemoo

Hey Vanilla,
Glad that everything went smoothly for ya. can tell that you really enjoyed yourself...
and your detailed info helps alot for us!!!

Ann - no one will forget you want..haahaa...but by the time we all finished our wedding and share with you our stories, then i think you will be like pro liao...cos there are so many of us to share our experience with ya.

cheekybee

Hi Vanilla,

Its great to hear from you again! So happy to hear everything went smoothly and was so fun...hope to see your photos very soon! =)

vividz

Hi Vanilla, glad that u have a wonderful wedding day. thanks for ur detailed info too. look forward to ur online wedding photo.

Hi Ann, I had not find my BS yet. Currently looking around at those bridal magazine for their gowns. my husband not really free yet, so maybe nov then got time to look around.

crayongal

keke..vanilla.. !!!
we were all waiting and anticipating for your return to the forum..as a "MRS"!! hhehe..
congrats once again..and may you have a blissful marriage ahead..!! =)

anyhows,thanks alot for all that feedback. keke.. made many..actually, ALL of us smile i'm sure. and we're all looking fwd. hee... waiting to see your pics.... and glad dat you enjoyed yr day..
i tink i did hear abt Zul - the captain(?) being v.helpful and professional during wedding banquets. hee.. hopefully we also have him during our dinner... (eh..can request or not ah?) hehe...
importantly is.. i tink the hotel and banquet staff did a great job. and you enjoyed yr wedding..!

samanlyt

Hey gals!

Hope my 'grandmother story' served its purpose! Feel free to ask me any questions ok? I'm glad to be at ur service! Hehe. Oh i forgot to tell u gals something abt Zul the banquet manager, and I was so touched by his kind actions:

He was so thoughtful for our guests, our older relatives especially...He actually noticed that they r unable to chew the food and afraid tat they may not be able to enjoy most of the food. Thus he offered to ask the kitchen to serve some porridge for our older relatives at no cost. I'm really very touched by his very kind gesture...

As for the chef, Chris, he came out of the kitchen as soon as dinner ends and chat & get some feedback on the food with me & my family members. He wanted to speak to hubby too but he was too preoccupied with his khakis and the 'wine drowning session' & hubby din notice that Chris was standing behind him for the past 10 mins, waiting for him to be done. LOL. A chef with such sincerity and patience! Good!

Hi Caitou,

I din get my wine frm NCQ. I got them from a wine supplier. They allow us to return 50% of the unopened wines, and charge us for the opened ones. This is called 'consignment'. Jamie usually will be around for the 1st march in to make sure everything is ok, b4 she calls it a day.

Hi Ann

Hehe...I believe NCQ is improving on their service standards liao, so getting maybe even better than 5 star hotels in future! =) Errr..i took some food pics la, but not the 8 course dinner, i took the welcome snacks from NCQ in bridal suite. LOL

Hi stef,

I'm not sure abt having Zul abt ur banquet manager, mayb can ask. Or mayb oso have to c if he's on duty on that day. He was really great! I think i would write in a compliment email to NCQ for all of them!

Am a very satisfied bride. Hehe

belleteo

Hey Vanilla,

Nice lei this wedding favor. Think i will be getting this. Only want design ah?

Think the chief and Zul is really good lor. Is like 5 to 6 stars wedding lor. Some 5stars hotel not even can give such a standard lei....so happy and load off to hear so many good feedback.

Hi Mdm Vanilla,

Congrats... & Welcome back!!!

Glad tat u were also a happy bride of NCQ like me...

Zul was also my BM, "guardian angel" of the newly wed... always there to wave his wand.. heheeheh

So did u manage to nego with Jamie to get extra favours?

belleteo

Hey ladies,

Any idea around how many weeks before my wedding i have to start sending invitation cards?

Oh ya, regarding the ang bao, normally have to bao jie mei how much huh? Not the clash gate ang bao but from me. Who else do i have to bao ang bao?

Hey Vanilla, did you treat little dreams dinner before the banquet starts?

eemoo

Hi Vanilla,
thanks fot the pic. this was also the coaster given out during the wedding show...

so many happy & satisfied NCQ brides...guess we all can have a peace of mind liao.. ^_^

pannie

Hi eemoo.
I agreed with what you say.. when I become a pro.. I must charged for every consultation. Haha!!! Grab at every chance to earn money so that I can do the "raining cash" idea for PS. Haha!!

Hi Iris.
Take your time to choose for the BS. No need to hurry.

Hi Vanilla.
You very bad lei.. But luckily you never take the 8 course meal... but so happy to hear your satisfied comments. Boast my confidence alot.

The coaster is the one we received at Novotel wedding show. Hehe!!

queenly

hi Vanilla,

Thanks for ur detailed description. Now i hope NCQ will faster open the 2009 bookings.....i wan to book!!! hahah

Then i can officially come in to chat with everyone.

samanlyt

Hi Belle

Ya this is the only coaster design they hv. Regarding the sending of invites, i sent mine one mth b4 my AD, but b4 tat i aldy inform my frds by mouth and 'chop' them 3 mths b4. Heeehe. Yup have to order room service for A Little Dream b4 the start of the performance, so they hv strength to sing.

As my AD falls on a weekday, & my auspicious time is like before the sun rises, therefore jie meis hv to rch my hse at 5am. The ang bao i gave them was $58 each to cover their cabfare & the sabo items they bought etc...Other ang bao may include ur VG, PG, banquet manager, make-up artist, the auntie who pour tea for ur tea ceremony, the Mercs driver and maybe children like niece or nephews or cousins.

Wau Bruce Almighty Bride

Suddenly become so old...call me MDM lor. LOL
I agree! Zul was totali awesome, a guardian angel indeed! Hehe, i super kiasu, i got 2 of my jiemeis to collect back all the wedding favours as soon as guests starts to leave, & they colected ard 20 over pcs back for mi. :p so did not ask Jamie for more.

Hi Ann,
No worries la, i show u other food i took k? By the way, I have uploaded the pics into my web album. Can show u the bridal suite set up, though u may hv aldy seen b4 liao, not many la, cos tat time aldy become 'kan jiong' bride liao. Forget to take many pics. :p

Hi Queen

Glad my description helps! Can come in and find out more details wif us even b4 ur AD in 2009! By then u will be fully prepared liao.

belleteo

Hi Vanilla, what u mean by order room service huh? You mean you got book a room for them ah?
Or you just order dinner for them or they order themselves and u pay?

As for ang bao, must give around how much for MUA PG VG?

rene2803

oh yea, gentle reminder to the BTBs who've yet to go thru yr bqt, got this little piece of advise from my staff - chefs at my working place (I'm working in a club that holds wedding bqts too) that for the dessert, do try to avoid anything that has coconut milk in it, eg: mango with pomelo.. reason being that even if stored in the fridge, coconut milk can still sour. Just a little bad & it can cause stomach upset amongst your guests so best to avoid.

The chefs were also saying try to avoid any hot food in your cold dish. Reason being that cold dish is actually prepared quite early so if you choose an item that won't taste good cold, depending on how punctual you're able to start yr bqt, by the time the dish is served, that item may taste quite nasty. So avoid spring rolls which will turn soft/soggy when cold - not nice liao.

samanlyt

Hi belle

No la, i mean i ordered dinner for the both of them at 6.30pm, then get the staff to send it to the ballroom to them. The dinner is charged to our room. So when we check out, we settled the bill lor. Not ex la, mayb $40+ for 2 pax.

For ang baos, i gave the following:

VG, PG, make-up artist, chauffeur & banquet manager: $28 each.
Two flower gals: $116 for my niece & $68 for my god sis's little gal.
My little nephew: $58
For singers: $18 each.
For auntie who pour tea during tea ceremony:
$58 (cos she's my godmum).
For children, I prepared around 15 ang paos, each $6.
Parents/Parents-in-laws all $58 each.
For our sis-in-laws & bro-in-laws all $28 each (was told by the GDL shop auntie tat we mus give all our 'siblings-in-law' ang bao as 'jian mian li' so next time wun hv any conflicts).
I gave ang baos to my BS co-ordinator & Jamie as well (optional)$28 each, to thank them for the great help. Total $$ spent on ang baos: S$2260

Just a reference for u gals.

neocaitou

Hi Vanilla,

Thanks for explaining what it means by wine on consignment. Tot you should have one bottle of free wine per table confirmed? Or did you choose to have free flow beer instead?

Wow..... juz angbaos alone can amount up to $2k plus ah.... Did you go to the bank to change the $2 notes?

samanlyt

Hi caitou

Yup i opt for the free flow beer instead of the one bottle of red wine per table. Cos majority of my relatives drank beer.

Cos my AD falls on a wkday, so quite grateful for those who offred to take leave to help esp my jie mei & xiong dis, so i felt they ought to deserve a bigger ang bao. So its definitely worth it, after i have witnessed their hard work! Ya went to bank to change $50, $10 & $2 notes

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">wow, thanks Vanilla for being so detailed. now at least we can know how much hongbao we need to prepare. Vanilla, on ur wedding day, still have other ppl booked other ballroom? hope mine dun have so they can pay more attention on us, so their service will be gd, haha.</font>

belleteo

Hey Vanilla,

Thanks alot alot alot....you are so sweet and helpful. All info indeed help me alot. Is a guide line for me. At least roughly i know what to get prepare. Miss out the bank portion, need to go bank change notes....
Will be meeting Jamie in 2 weeks time, think will request for Zul as banquet manager.
Or ya, did all yr guest take the wedding favors?

neocaitou

Hi Vanilla,

Ic ic.... I opted for the red wine. So did u give ur jie mei and xiong di ang baos? Not counting the gate crashing for the jie mei.

Now starting to get stressed. Haha. Btw, for the table floor plan, when will NCQ provide?

jiahui

Hi Vanilla
That very nice of you.
kao_kiss.gif

Thanks for providing the detail info.
Especially the bao Hong Bao.
Will use that as reference for my AD.

diva79

dear vanilla,

welcome back! thats really a very detailed account..and all thanks to you i can feedback to my hb on what can we expect on our big day

btw what is your multiply nick? so we can look see the photos :D

samanlyt

Hi Iris,

My wedding falls on the 20 Sept, and happens that a company booked the Phoenix ballroom for their convention, and the handover can onli be done at 6pm, which is rather rush for my flower gals to rehearse their march in, since the cocktail reception starts at 7pm. Thanks to Jamie, she managed to get her colleague to switch the convention group of people to the smaller ballroom instead. Thus, everything went on smoothly, and the little gals were able to start their rehearsal on time.

Hi belle

No probs la! Mus share wif u gals quickly, &amp; 'empty my brain' if not few weeks later, I may forget the details liao. :p Ya almost all of my guests took the wedding favours. Got some remainders. Around 20 pcs. I got my jie-meis to collect the rest for mi.

Hi jiahui,

Glad it helps! =) Oh btw, the ang bao is actuali for the 'little uncle' who opened the car doorwhen hubby rch my house.

Hi caitou,

Ya my hubby gave ang bao for xiong dis too. $68 each, cos some of them drive, so more ang bao $$ for them, to make up for the petrol they used. On top of that, I 'sponsor' my dad 12 pcs of ang baos, each ang bao has $6 for the xiong dis &amp; jie meis too, to thank them for helping his daughter. As for the floor plan, Jamie will email it to you when u meet her up to choose ur table cloths &amp; wedding favours..tat would be around one wk b4 ur AD. Cos by then, during the meet up session, u'll need to tell her hw many tables u have, so that she can email u ur floor plan.

Hi divasan,

sorie lei..me no multiply. I got Gmail picassa web album, so onli can email e-invite to view the album. Can?

tinggy

Hi Vanilla,

Why need to give ang bao to Parents/Parents-in-laws? I thot they will give us ang bao during the drink tea session. What lau. S$2260 plus for ang bao. Stress...
Can email me to view your album? How long is march in? [email protected]

funfun08

hi vanilla,
Wow!! u become our hot guru now!!!
such detail list of review n angbao..

But may I know y we need to gv angbao to singer, PG,VG, MUA...etc? ain we paid them for the service?
so xiong le.. 2k for angbao... as my wedding oso fall on weekday..

Do u mind telling us wats the 'smallest' amt of angbao u received? so I can agak agak too.. hope wun get heart attack when i open it..

ooh.. Can I view ur photos and video on little dream too?

samanlyt

Hi Ting,

Actuali its my idea to give ang bao to our parents/parents-in-law. No special reason. Just a token of appreciation from hubby &amp; me. Bobian la, wedding is spend $$ one. Next time every CNY oso kena ah! Now is 'rehearsal onli! LOL Just a note: Prepare at least $1500 for the ang baos. Make sure got spares with you, in case you missed anyone out.
March-in is like 2 minutes. We walked reali slow and Jamie kept reminding us to walk reali very slow. Something like: Walk one small step, then stop for few seconds, then walk one small step again etc.

Hi fun fun,

No guru la... *blush* Just wanna share my experience with you gals, hoping that you gals will b a happy bride like me ma! Then come back can share ur experience wif mi and other brides as well! Hehe. Giving of ang bao signifies good luck ma. Though they r being paid for their service but give ang bao represents good luck for u &amp; the other party too. So jus a small token will do, $6 or $8 also can. Up to u to decide. 'å‰åˆ©, 'å‰åˆ©' lor..Smallest amount as in? For the banquet ah? Hmm...my side got 1 ang bao $50 from one couple, which means only $25 per pax lor. But anyway, mine considered lucky lor, on average (bride's side) receive at least $50 per pax from relatives, frds on average receive ard $88 per pax. Hubby side received bigger amount of ang baos than mi. *envy* Overall, quite satisfied. Thank god, no lose $$ can liao lor! Haahaa.
Photos will email you guys asap. Still trying to figure out some tools. Hehe. As for the video, have yet to receive the full version from my VG, but hor..sure very huge one lei...how to upload ah? Me 'sua ku'

Ok Iris,

I will get my link up asap!! Then forward to u gals!

samanlyt

Hi Ting, fun fun &amp; iris

Finally finished uploading the pics of NCQ! Phew..Check ur email!
I have another album on my AD during the daytime, but not ready yet.

belleteo

Hey Vanilla, I wanna see also.
Not bad can take back the wedding favors and use yrself. That time i went to my fren wedding is like a pair of keychain and so many ppl dont even bother to take. Some still throw around pass here and there lor.

truefaith

Hi Vanilla, congrats on your wedding! Have been following the threads recently as my wedding @ NCQ will be in Sept next yr

I like the part where you mentioned their waiters sway to the first song.. interesting! May I ask if the song for the first dish is arranged by NCQ &amp; what would that song be?

If you do not mind, could you pls share your photos with me? [email protected]

Hi Vanilla,

I want to see you photos too... send me the link too...

Hi Eemoo,

I do not know abt others, but same as Vanilla, for me, bride's side angbao were given from my own pocket... I prepared the angbao n pass to my mum to hand over to the VG, PG, MUA n jie meis and xiong dis and those youngs siblings and cousins.
My thought for doing that was: We have already spent most of their "yang lao jin" in order to get "old" enuff to be married, should not spend more from them to get married... (hope you get what i mean).

rjwedding

hi vanilla,

thanks for ur very detailed information!! really feel so happy that u had a wonderful n memorable wedding at NCQ... can't wait for my turn, hahaha.. but it's next yr..

can share ur lovely photos with me too?? my e-mail is [email protected]

belleteo

Hey All dec bride, can i just check anyone used to work in Exer technology before?

One thing i am confuse, not we give the VG, PG, MUA ang bao personally meh? Is give to parent then ask them to give ah?

Vanilla, you very generous lei, treat little dream dinner, ang bao and yet still pay them$$$.
Actually i never really set aside alot of $$ for ang bao, but after your reference, i think must go discuss with hubby and calculate money liao....
Too much thing to plan and do liao. Getting stress liao loh when the date is getting nearer...

Hi Belle,

On the actual day, you will be busy- getting ready to be the bride. So parents is the best person to rely upon to give ang bao when VG, PG &amp; MUA come.

On my AD, I even gave my hp to one of my jie-meis to take charge, vett thru the calls and sms.

Totally only concentrate on becoming the bride.

eemoo

Hi Bruce Almighty,
thanks!! Ya, i have the same thoughts as you, will pass the $$$ to my parents. I thought on top of that, i still have to give another angpow to VG &amp; PG, then like that, it's 2 angbows from me...haahaa

eemoo

btw gals, are you all receiving unsolicited emails from wedding companies? i think becos we post our email address here and they can just "add" to their mailing list.

I've been receiving quite a few recently. so fed up cos one of them send and send and send. then i replied to them and ask them how they got my address and tell them that i did not enquire anything with them so this is an unsolicited email. i replied with huge big red fonts and since, they didn't send me anymore. ^_^

belleteo

hey ladies, any nice cakes shop to recommend, those cakes are for relative. Me like the cup cakes from carnivalandco but like very ex and they dont bake everyday lei. But really really so nice and cute lor.

pannie

Hi Vanilla.
You no good ah.. keep using pictures of food to tempt me. Me now going thru "slimming program" lei, how can keep tempting me? Next Saturday cannot fit into my ROM gown then you must be responsible ah.. must compensate me by buying all the food in the pictures for me to eat. Kekeke!!!

You wrap so much ang baos ah?? Then I think I must also set aside $3k liao for the ang bao giving.

Hi eemoo.
I also received such emails but only a handful. I registered them as junk mail and ignore. Too lazy to do anything abt it. Hehe!!!

Hi Belle.
I heard Pine Garden one not too bad. Pricing and taste also very good. Why don't you give it a try? They also have cupcakes too.

Hopefully my banquet will not earned a loss.