Novotel Clarke Quay

W&L: 10% of the total cost for 1 table per pax

eg. if ur per table is $888 and u have one veg/muslim in that table, it's 10% of 888 (ie. 88.80) + total cost of 1 table = $888 + $88.80

thomas: e cost s RM80 for 200pcs... i went there to print...

shirley: thanks for e map!

Can anyone share with me your experience with Novotel? Tried their food but arent that tasty compared to Orchard Parade Hotel, tho their portion is big. But i like their ballroom. high ceiling..

can share with me ur pics of the food and the experiences with them?

Appetizer.: Phoenix Roast Platter with jelly fish, gold coin meat, spring roll and drunken chicken
*Drunken chicken - Not nice... m gonna replace it with century egg as requested by elders
my family they love d spring roll... i like d jellyfish n gold coin meat

Soup.: Braised premier moon-cut shark's fin with *fresh cab meat & roe - NICE

Poultry.: Roast Crispy Chicken flavored with deep *fried garlic - Very Salty

Fish.: Steamed garoupa with hong kong style
*Personally i find it abit tough... bt all d rest find it ok

Seafood.: Poached live prawns
*Nice.. Very Fresh~~~ love it heez...

Vegetables.: Braised abalone mushrooms & spinach with dried scallops
*HTB likes it alot... i find it nice too.. bt not a fan of spinach

Rice/Noodles.: Wok fried Ee-Fu noodles with yellow chives
*Too much beansprouts... more dan the noodles i tink.. bt taste wise is gd..

Dessert.: Yam paste with gingko nuts
*i was too full to eat tis by dan.. bt of cos d elders love it...

lilmspep: thanks for sharin ur review! Hong Kong style fish is wif wat sauce? my food tasting wil b next tue... lookin forward

no probs cheer...
HK style is d soya sauce de lor........

o... urs is next tue.. enjoy ah keke... shir had hers ystd aso.. wonder hws hers...

helllOoooOoooo all

any idea any ncq wedding show coming up?

The fish taste tough is it becoz is garoupa not red garoupa?

i thought the roast crispy chix flavoured with deep fried garlic is one of their signature dish? =)

cheer: oic...I shld be printing mine there too

queen: are u excited? haha

lilm: ur pics looked so delicious...tot u met up with shir to taste together? lol

choco: u just missed it, their show was just over, u'll have to wait until next Sep I guess.

yam ring is their specialty dish, not roasted chicken

The thread has been moving very fast.
Days are drawing nearer and me and my HTB are beginning to feel the anxiousness as we have been 'shaking our legs' and not doing anything except for the foto selection.

So now we really have to work on our invites!
In order to save cost, we will like to print our invites with T&T.

Is it possible to send the invite template to this following email: [email protected]?

baobao: no worries... T&T has lotsa sample for u to c.. n u can amend fro there.. jus remember to bring ur parents full name in eng n chinese.. n if any of ur grandparents s around.. do let them know so that they will add in 3 wordings on top of parent name.. u can even add ur own photos but price a bit higher, tink s RM 10 or 20 for a photo.. can't remember liao..

thomas: we wanted to print @ t-dragon initially.. but later change our mind cos T&T s really much cheaper n come wif free icons..

lilmspep: thot u wil mit shirley there since both of u same day...

Morning all...

shir came much later dan me.. i tink hers ard 8 ba... bt i did saw her though kekeke.. shes so pretty n fair lol...

chocostrawberries - d fish is rock garoupa.. so tats y d meat abit tough...

chicken is nice bt too salty... cos there were feedbacks tat certain part were salty due to d marination, bt mine the whole chicken is salty..

baobao: u must be feeling excited now...enjoy ur big day!

cheer: yup they are really cheap from what I saw...what's free icons?

lilm: read that u are sick too? me also, down with fever, sore throat and flu. 3 days MC

you mean they only have one wedding show every year?

how about smaller scale workshop all these?

Oh, i though among the chix dish, the one with fried garlic is signature...

yam ring is the vege stuffing or with the prawn?

baobao:oh feeling excited...sure lor..cos when the "big day" gt nearer..gt more things to busy wit ma..muz take care..prepare hard n rest hard too..dun gt sick wor..n njoy the process..=0

hihi all

sorry for the late post hahaha...super busy yesterday with work work work

my food tasting review as following

Appetizer
1) spring roll (good)
2) Jelly (good)
3) Prawn salad (good and fresh)
4) Gold Coin Meat (good, is soft)
5) Drunken Chicken (hmm very funny, cos is cold check with manger, he say is serve cold think as lilm say will chg...

Braised Premier moon cut shark
very gd we all love it (many fin in it)

Roast Chicken with Garlic
is Nice

Steamed Rock Garoupa
the fish is fresh but just that the meat is very tough, check with the manger, he say cos is rock Garoupa...the meat is like that...omg..thou to chg to shun Hock

Poached Live Prawn
IT NICE, very fresh (each pax get 2pc)

Yam ring with veg stuffing
the ring itself size is bigger than wht i even see b4, taste is smooth and nice, the veg stuffing is too plain..not salty enough (everyone like this dish)

Noodles
col is too plain, the taste is normal not to my expectation

Cream of mango with pomelo
it too sour, watery and the mango too little hardly can eat it

Yam Paste with ginko (i pay extra to try this )
IT NICE all of us like it..but the problem is cos i alrd choose yam ring with veg and now dessert is YAM AGAIN is it very funny..

hi hi shir.... hee... d yam paste is nice hor...
i din take yam ring cos my dessert is yam already...
bt if u dun mind, i dun c y u cant haf 2 yam dish =)

ur chicken not salty???

d drunken chicken not nice hor.... keke tats y die die aso must change.. bt hor y mine no prawn salad... hmmmm

ya lilm: the drunken chicken is really funny...
hmm the chicken i fell is still ok..maybe the bottom part is more salty
why ur dun hv the prawn salad? is nice?

dun u feel the food is little...seem not full enough...or m i too hungry??? LOL

shir: thanks for the FR...ya I also think too many yam dishes liao, will be very 'full' one leh

haha u even took pic of their LCD TV?

Hi All... sorry i promised to load the pics.. but been lazy to log in.. hahaa, anyway here are the pics, i also copied my earlier comments, so no confusion!!

1196898.jpg

Phoenix Platter : Gold coin meat, Pork Terrine, Chinese Ham, Drunken Chicken, mini octopus

we decide to try the above combination cos we seldom get to eat all these at banquets, wanted to see how it looks and taste like.. hmm.. but the pork terrine, chinese ham taste weird.. and kids love the gold coin meat!
so we decide to take Spring Roll, Prawn Salad, mini octopus, gold coin meat and drunken chicken.

1196899.jpg

Braised Moon-cut Shark's Fin with crab meat and bamboo pith

some says the shark fin looks like the bamboo pith, actually i also cannot see the difference, but overall this dish is acceptable.

1196900.jpg

Roast Crispy Chicken flavoured with deep-fried garlic

everyone loves this! but i feel the chicken is abit small, cos maybe only 3rd dish, and ppl are still super hungry lo.. thus to some ppl, the chicken may not looked enough, but at least each person can eat a min 2 pcs of the chicken. i had 4 pcs actually! haha. have to snatch lo!

1196901.jpg

Soon Hock in Hong-kong Style

our parents love this fish and its well cooked!! i should have taken the before and after pics lo.. the after picture looks pathetic with only the back bone left!! we scraped all the meat from the fish!! the fish is well cooked and looks big enough! hopefully the standard remains the same on our AD!!

1196902.jpg

Wok-Fried Prawns with fresh lily buds and Sweet Peas

hmm.. this dish is abit disappointing, its like normal stir-fried prawns with green peas, lily buds.. looked too normal. some says the prawns looked too small, but i feel the prawn is ok, medium size, each person can eat at least 2 prawns, however not worth to top-up for this dish. we might change back to the orginal menu which is poached live prawns.

1196903.jpg

Deep Fried Yam Ring with Prawns stuffing and cashew Nuts

We all loved this dish!! first time i see that everyone finished off the Yam ring! usually ppl ate the fillings and not the yam ring right.. the yam ring is cooked just nice, soft and like the Dim sum!! a MUST order dish!!

1196904.jpg

Wok-Fried Ee-fu Noodles with Yellow Chives

the noodle's portion is alot!! after distributing to all of us, there are still about 3 portions left! the noodle is nice and good! maybe we all loved noodle! we are thinking maybe to change the food sequence, to let the Ee-fu noodle come after the phoenix platter.

1196905.jpg

Cream of Mango with Pamelo

i feel the pamelo is not alot but overall still acceptable, quite a refreshing dessert!

hope our food comments will help u all to decide ur food better!

cheer: Noted. Kevin did send us the invite in pdf format but we are not able to amend it. We will ask from T&T since we will be there this Sat. Thanks for your advice!

thomas: not yet excited. the 'KICK' has not kick in yet. Hohohhooo... :D

hannah: ya ya. I really need to take good care of myself.have put on weight recently. haiz, have to work hard to control my diet, if not I cant wear my evening gown. ;p

baobao: remember to bring e hardcopy along as u will need the address for T&T to change...

thomas: e icon include 'couple', 'hearts' pic n 'xi' wordings.. all these r chargeable if print in T-dragon.. but free in T&T.. we use 4 icons altogether...

chocostrawberries: there r 2 types of yam ring, 1 under 'seafood' category n the other under 'vegetable'.. e pricin s diff for both...
mm... seems like there s mix comments on e mango pomelo... will get to try it next tue... as for weddin fair, mayb u can keep a lookout at those mega weddin fair, like BOWS or those held at marina sq atrium, vivocity, etc.. sometimes they do take part in these fairs..

mmm.. seems like there s mix comment on e mango pomela during food tastin.. dunno if it s risky to take tis dish or not for AD...

Vivi:..thanks 4 uploading the pics..haha..can visualise beta now..cos know how the dish look like..as compare to juz looking at e menu n "imagine" the presentation n taste of the dishes..haha..=P

Baobao:..yaya...oh put on weight har..muz jia you wor..although my AD is next yr NOV..i also "jia you"ing in losing weight lor..cos i'm those "ba2" kind..diff to lose weight kind..then takes time also lor..especially the "tummy"..hehe..lets JIA YOU together!..*cheers..*

haha: thomas i feel ok with both yam dishes...still not full...maybe cos wnt to go food tasting therefore didn't eat my lunch...LOL
I saw lilm..her is @ 7.15pm...she so sweet with her long hair...how i miss my long hair..

oh cheer u mean T & T dun charge for icon..u even got 4 of it...T-dargon charge me $10 for 1..

hi hannah: 4 me stil OK...lucky me just went to my BS, measure still the same...think becos of my busy work schdule.

shir - keke ur side nt enuff my side cant finish...
mayb cos we onli haf 8pax....

wah i din even notice d LCD screen leh haha must "koup" ur tat foto liao hahaha

vivi - wow thanks for the so details review complete wif fotos....

vivi: thks for the pics upload...just by looking at ur pics already making me drool

cheer: oic...thanks! that's another reason to make me go to T&T and print haha.

shir: both u and lilm are babes lah...no need to fight ok?

hmmm...think I will most likely go for the mango dessert cos i have yam ring liao...

shirley: ya, T&T s free icon... tt's y we decided to go JB to print aft considerin e savin we hav n @ e same time can shop ard too... manage to find our ang boa box n ribbon there...

understand fro my parents soon hock s nicer than groupa but their size s smaller...

hi cheer: i also got my ang bao boz liao...will post pic...haha..thou to chg to soon hock but scare the size too size not presentable..

Yayys! After a busy week at work, long weekend is here!

Read about the recent bribery case of chefs, hopefully, Novotel chefs are not one of them..

shir: wah very nice! u DIYed urself? looks like a wedding cake!

cheer: I dun think it will look funny...and guests wun mind also cos they can 'attack' the fishes easier instead of having one fish only on the plate and everyone 'attacking' at the same time