Novotel Clarke Quay

irritant

mine will be on public holiday...no ERP...but extra $1 for cab...next day also public holiday...so i guess Clarke Quay gonna be full of tourists and clubbers...

ryanon123

aroh,

don't worry.. clubbers are only out on the eve of holidays

ryanon123

happygal,

mine was on a weekday so didn't hear such complains about traffic. However some of my guests told me it was hard to find their way from the carpark to cinnamon ballroom... don't know if the same problem apply for phoenix ballroom.

Jodare,

There is only one pillar in cinnamon ballroom located slight off centre on the right. However you may want to know that for bridal suite to cinnamon ballroom, you have to transfer to the main lift by crossing across the reception area at the 7th level. Could be torublesome esp. for your wife dragging the wedding gown over 100m. However if choosing Phoenix ballroom, the lift directly brings you down.

That's one negative about getting cinnamon ballroom.

carlyn

Hi All!!! I'm also NCQ BTB... I just when for my food tasting last nite... I find that everything was not bad... Except for the noddle is too bland... (Maybe I dont have very hidg taste) Haha...

But i've a qns... I thought that the servings was small, but in the end, 10 of us(5men,5women) couldn't finish the last 2 dish... Vege and noodles...

I'm currently looking at the 8 dishes menu and thought of adding 1 more yam ring to the menu, but both my parents & PIL, said that it was enough... Any comments?!

As I've 4 tables with 10 men... So i'm afraid 8dishes wasn't enough for them...

xlan

hee.. ryan, we hv the same prob looking for a more "direct" way of reaching cinnamon ballroom frm the carpark.. the signs in the carpark is not very indicative and very confusing.. wat we did was took the lift from the carpark straight up to the 7th floor where the reception is and then take another lift on the other side n down to 5th floor for the cinnamon ballroom.. but i believe there is a direct exit on level 5 out to the carpark.. we have yet to explore it.. unlike the phoenix ballroom.. signage is so much clearer frm the carpark exit.. i wonder if NCQ can help us on the signage part..

irritant

mine is sunday public holiday...so next day is public holiday too...

haven explore the car park part...will note that as well...

cannot remember which menu i took but it's the 2nd most exp one but i had to pay premium due to the date...

happinessbliss

Mine is also cinnamon room.... haha i already anticipate that i need to rush to change so I had my bridesmaid and my husband niece with me.... My bridesmaid help me change and the niece help me with my accesories and shoes...then i have both of them help me with my gown as we run back to the cinnamon room... overall still quite alrite la....
My AD is on Saturday, so far i have not heard any negative comments abt the traffic jam

irritant

interesting...seems like more in cinnamon than phoenix...mine will be in phoenix...commited 32 at least...but i think more likely 35 or even more...

rjwedding

ya, seems like more people having their wedding at cinnamon room.. maybe didn't plan to invite alot of people.. i find cinnamon room more cosy..

ixoral

Am gg to hold my wedding at the Cinnamon Room next year as well.
But after reading that there is no direct access to Cinnamon straight from the carpark, am getting kinda worried... :X
Hopefully the BTBs this year can help feedback to NCQ on this signage problem =)

cally

Hi Ryan, thanks for the info.

i signed up phoenix... guest around 32 tables.. but as the date get nearer .. scare the guest no. getting lesser...

Have not decided on the which menu package to take up yet.

Wonder if the service will varies for diff menu?

mich55

I am having it in Cinnamon next yr too....I remember Huiling & Jamie said that the level 5 carpark can access direct to the ballroom...I tried it when I went to meet them....there is a door further down the carpark....correct??

irritant

i already commited 32 tables at least...can only have more n not less now. anyway likely to hit 35 tables...

i have no choice for my menu due to my date...can only take the 2nd most ex or top up for most ex...

dun think service would differ with menu. only the food should differ.

i never saw cinnamon...i guess since i'm already looking at 30 tables at least then no point to do so.

pannie

Hi.

May I know did anyone of you top up for deco? Do you find the standard package for deco ok?

Going to meet up with Huiling next Monday. So would like to know more.

pannie

Of cos you can. Huiling told me that we could talked directly with the deco provider if we find the basic which they are giving us are not enough. But have to top up money. So just find out anyone do that.

rjwedding

i remembered someone top up more decor.. can't remember who.. u can search the old posts..

hi aroh: what do u mean by u got no choice of menu becos of ur date?? i tot got 4 different menus to chose from??

irritant

orh...cos my date is 20 09 2009...

I had to pay $999nett for the $868 menu...my only choice was between this menu or top up $60 per table for the most expensive menu...

of cos i can take the 2 cheaper menu...but no reduction in price...

i got a few shortlisted songs but since it's still early days...shall not decide yet...

anyone got the floorplan for 32-38 tables can send to me pls? [email protected] thanks in advanced!

happinessbliss

Ryan < It is a special date becos 20/09/09 = 20092009... get it? hehehe

Formula 1 weekend no special charge i think... cos mine is on 27 Sept 2008(Inaugural F1 weekend)... no additional charge lei... unless 2009 they decide to have a surcharge ...

happinessbliss

Cos this "special date" hype is from the media la... like this yr 20082008... then 20092009..then will be 20102010.... hahahaha... from 2013 onwards don't have liao mah...

irritant

just happened that 'master' chose that date for us so we took it...it's hari raya and thus next day is PH so gd for our guests since it's sunday...

not so much the numbers though...

cheekychick

Not really...i think 20092009 is special leh, lol. 080808 is special if u put as ddmmyy format but if ddmmyyyy format then not very sui4 already :p we did consider this date too but gave it up cos its too soon (2 days) after 7th lunar mth and i don't tink our parents allow us to send out cakes + invites during 7th lunar month.....Aroh, dat means u r paying 999 for the 869 menu? But if pay 60 extra for the 928 menu, its 988 for a 9 course instead of a 999 for a 8-course rite? Then i thought take the most ex menu is more worth it ah?

irritant

hi cheeky...the hotel not stupid lar...if we wan the 928 menu...it would be 1059 for me...it's $60 on top of $999... not $60 extra on the original price...

my parents never mentioned anything abt the cakes part...cos i conveniently din mention it too...hahaha...but i guess if really mind...then we do it in lunar 6th month lor...

anyway i invited some of my closer friends already. almost everyone in my company knows abt it too and i told them i will be sending e-invites...e-angbao is accepted...hahaha...as long as transfered to my bank account i dun care how they do it...

irritant

anyway we figured that most guest would not give more than $100 each for ang bao...so we decided not to upgrade to reduce the likelihood of losing money from the banquet...hahaha...

really have to spent alot man...somemore i'm in the process of getting my resale flat that will be handed over by apr next yr...more vitamin M needed...

cheekychick

Aroh...this is damn xiong lor!!!! Frankly, if i can afford 1059 per table, i would choose other venues. Then i can understand why you rather take 999. You right...in fact, i see most of my frens losing quite abit, even if the per table amount is less than 1K. Becos you have to include the alcohol. And the possibility that there are still many ppl who will give $80 and some who MIA...As long as we have a cash buffer of 50% of the banquet cost, should be enuf to cover losses...thou hope really wont lose 50% lar! lol Your good frens and parents maybe can help spread the word around about your per-table costs? Wuahhaha...cos frankly, if ppl give angbao based on location, they wont give alot for novotel. $88 will be the most likely amount...My hb's frens have this pattern of asking the groom straight how much is one table so they will give accordingly...if super close frens, will topup more $ but if not very close, will bao just enuf to cover oneself's share :p

irritant

i know wat u mean...

but cos we decided on the date only in aug this yr...all the hotels in our shortlist were booked already (except NCQ which is in my shortlist too). my WTB dun wan havlock area cos not near MRT and marina &amp; orchard area (marina mandarin or pan pac was the only other choice available but it's $1099++ if i dun rem wrongly) is even more ex...we don't have much choices left.

actually my colleagues know the price already...n my close friends too...so hope relatives side dun too stingy...esp now economy not gd

i have 1 bottle of wine per table with 18 extra and 1 beer barrel...hope is enough for 35 tables.

actually many ppl have gd impression of novotel...esp the resturant is supposedly quite famous...so i think $88 should be the minimum...

i'm more worried abt those coming with kids and maid...for example, imagine 2 adults, 3 kids and 1 maid but give $288? not like the kids dun occupy 1 seat each...

ryanon123

aroh,

i would suggest you bring some bottles of beer just in case. Cos you won't be charge the cockages if it's not open, so at most bring it home. But if you run out of beer, it cost a lot from the hotel. It's safer.

my AD was in september and based on experience, friends of parents etc would probably give jsut $60-$80. Friends or colleagues would give $80-$100. My relatives are more generous surprisingly.

It's quite fun to see how much each person pack. Some may drive mercedes, wear branded stuffs but packed only $60 or $80. Some give $60 but embarrass to put their name, some gives taka/robinson/giant vouchers etc, some didn't turn up and say sorry and say will give red packet later but until now, like disappear from my sight ... it tells you a lot about the person and how many there are
I got some shocked from friends that i wouldn't think would do those things..

footprint

ryan,
ya, can be really interesting hor.
I had friends who mention she received newspapers inside the angbao lor. -_-"

I don't mind people come and let me know, they can only afford certain amt, rather than do all these, i feel...

ixoral

aroh> how come u have extra 18 btl of wines? part of the perks u signed up with?

usually for friends i'll give betw 100-120. maybe for pretty close friends, i may bao 128 for nice number ba. haha.

irritant

those 18 bottles are so called out of good will from the hotel since i'm paying $131 more per table.

i don't think so many people drink beer nowadays...more drink wine already. n i'm only taking red so that they wun have a choice. just in case u decide to have both n 1 run out faster than the other then not nice already. if really run out of beer...just too bad...

sigh...if those ppl really wan to disgrace themselves...let it be...just hope the closer friends and relatives give more to cover those stingy cheapo bast**ds...i'm only child...so have to invite all those relatives...even if not close...

been spreading the word that my tables are $999 each so hopefully they give at least $100 each to cover

ixoral

ooo at least they know how to 'zuo ren' abit. I agree that more ppl are drinking wine at wedding dinners now. Prob only the older gen will drink more beer.

fly05

Hi Aron,

Wow...it is so expensive now for each table for 2009 price list...

I did not bring additional bottles beers in, as my hubby told me, just tell the guest if there is no more beer, ask them to take wine...

Luckily, we did that, coz i heard the beer went low at the end of the banquet, and the quests took wine instead

But i realise, for ang pow wise, relatives gave the least...

irritant

aiya...$131 more per table leh...enough to buy 12 bottles of house wine liaoz... i asked wine distributor b4...it's about $10 per bottle for hotels...

irritant

ah....dun see my price...it's $928 for the most expensive menu...i'm paying more cos of my date...

relatives usually give the least cos the idea of inflation is not in their dictionary...their rates remained the same even when hotels are raising prices at a rate of 5% or $80 per table each year...

time to update the relatives...must find creative ways to hint them that banquet price went up 5% each year liaoz...

fly05

aroh,

I think no use one...if they wan to give more they will give more one..Dun think too much lah..

That time almost wan to hold banquet in 2009, if i really did hor, i think i lose money liao...

Invite more frens and colleagues, they really helps lor.. and hope not many people fly you aeroplanes last min..

Till to date hor, i still got a few frens/ex-colleage din attend my wedding (last min) and i still dun know the reason why......

irritant

nah...i'm not worrying too much...i'm expecting to lose abt $5k already...lose anything less is a bonus. hahaha...

fastest i can get married is 2009 lar...i proposed when i'm with my WTB after 7 months together only leh...hahaha...

dun have much friends and in a small company so not many colleagues too...including some who left only about 3 tables at most.

i expect 80% attendance only lar...expect some to be pilots last min one...

cheekychick

Aroh, isit?? One of my hb's relative ask wat is novotel, nv heard of it, lol...And some of them tink Clarke Quay is v far, like go JB lidat.im prepared to lose money, that's for sure...just a matter of how much only. Relatives, you bobian, die die must invite, they wan to come anot, its another thing. But for frens and colleagues, i would recommend only inviting those you are really on better terms with...A couple of my frens' parents will spread news, dat their sons'/daughters' dinner per table is how much...but cant expect the relatives (older generation) to bao current rate...too xiong for them.

FLY, i regretted not holding sooner, wuhahahahahah! Actually, if wu xim, will attend one...boh xim, you hold at the most convenient time and location also wont come...I envy u...urs over already. I cant wait for mine to be over...quite a hassle...

fly05

Aron,

You see very open, i only prepare to lose $3k...luckily neber lose money...

Better to confirm less tables coz i confirm 24 tables + 2 reserved, in the end open 23 tables only...coz some of them pilots mah...somemore, not all tables full also...

Cheeky_chick,

When is your date? Wat you say is true lah, got heart they will come one, no heart hor, they give all sorts of excuses dun go one...

On tat day, then u will realise alot of things, who is your fren, who is not...including Jiemeis and Xiongdis..

I agree it is a big hassle, but once in a lifetime thing, bo bian lor...But hor, i enjoyed my actual day very much, you should too! It is very fun lor!!

cheekychick

FLY, you mean that time u prepared to lose the deposit only isit? LOL I will juz prepare 50% of the banquet cost and dun tink anymore already. But then again, im only having 18-20 tables :D Mine Dec 09...n im already hoping to get it over and done with.

Hopefully, i wont have much problems with my helpers. Xiongdis not a problem...somehow men are less problematic. My helpers will be my closest frens and ex-colleagues...I'll try to make it as convenient as possible for them...cos i noe its not easy to help out the whole day...esp most of them are young mummies already...

irritant

some older folks dunno where is novotel...cos last time it's new otani...try telling them daimaru...think they will know le...or the one across the road from river valley swimming pool...

i already confirmed 32 tables...but most likely will be 35 cos 32 was the conservative number already...

i'm only son lar...sure have to invite the relatives one...

think 50% abit too much lar...i'm prepared to lose $5k which is 1/7 of my banquet... should be decent buffer lar...

if they r close enough to be ur xiong di and jie mei they should not stand u up...

cheekychick

Aroh..told dat relative its New Otani already...still no idea, lol. Oh and he is not old lar...mid 30s nia :D

Your 5k is wat? Including the 3K deposit or exclude?...if 80% turn up and each bao $60, i will lose more than 6K including deposit...excluding alcohol. Very hard to gauge...tsk tsk.

Dun tink FLY is talking abt helpers standing us up? Maybe more like create problems rather than help out, lol!