New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi greg,

For the accomodation, do u think NZ has motel which is like "twin room with bathroom" but no need kitchen facilities? Dont prefer shared bathroom. just need a bed to sleep n bathroom is enough for a night cos next time will be continuing driving again.

Hmm wat i mean is self contained rooms with own toilet/bathroom.

How about goldenchain accomodation? anyone booked from there b4? thanks.

Hello Kite,

That is what we are primarily looking for as well. A Double Room with toilet/bathroom attached. Just to clarify if you did not know:

Ensuite - Means that the room has attached bathroom for your own use (not shared).

Difference between Double and Twin Room is that a Double Room will either have a double / Queen / King size bed where two of you share the bed. Twin room is that there will be minimally two single beds such that two of the same gender can sleep separately.

If you had looked at the Top 10 site, ensuite rooms average NZ $52-$80. Isn't that within your budget?

Care to share what activities are your MUST DOs for your HM to NZ?

Hi Greg,

Yes, seems like we have the same idea on what accommodation we want.

Thanks alot for the info, didnt know that double n twin differents alot.

Actually my budget is about NZ$60. But through the internet searching, most motels with ensuite rooms (twin/double) are about NZ$75 to NZ$80 at least.

Hmm i dun mind Top 10 site but abit confused on its different kinds of accommodations.

Tariff:
1) motel - $104-$120,
2) leisure lodge - 2 persons $75,
3) tourist flat ¨C $85-$101
4) Kozy Kiwi unit - 2 persons $69
5) chalet - 2 persons $60
6) lodge - 2 persons $55
7) standard cabin - 2 persons $45

hmm which one above is with ensuite rooms? as long got own room w own bathroom, can do.

Hi Kite,

If I'm not wrong, you are referring to the CHC property. From the link below, you will notice that it's definition of chalets is:

Chalets
Inexpensive, self-contained comfortable 1 and 2 roomed, sleep 2-6, own shower and toilet, cooking facilities, fridge, television, cutlery, crockery and cooking utensils. Blankets, sheets and towels not included, but available for hire.

http://www.meadowpark.co.nz/facilities.html

Can any1 tell me if Jan is a good month to go NZ?
Also, for hot air ballooning and heli ride...how did u all go about booking?
And before the activity, do you all arrange your own transportation to the set-off location? I remembered reading somewhere that hot air ballooning activity starts quite early way b4 breakfast is served.So do you all book your own transport to pick u up before and after the activities?
Would appreciate your response, thanks!

Ques : Also, for hot air ballooning and heli ride...how did u all go about booking?

Ans : I book via phonecall in NZ.

Ques : And before the activity, do you all arrange your own transportation to the set-off location? I remembered reading somewhere that hot air ballooning activity starts quite early way b4 breakfast is served.So do you all book your own transport to pick u up before and after the activities?

Ans : They have pick ups from the motel/hotel, jus tell them where you stay.

seems like alot of ppl here in Jan. Yes jan is a peak period.

Anyone online websites for accommodations?

I went to NZ commission at taka today. Abit disappointed cos brochures very limited n the thick accommodation catalogue is out of stock and the staff told me i hv to go AA website, order my own n i hv to pay for the postage? so strange. thought everyone here went there to get a free one?

Hi again...

Been a long while... just wondering if we can bring in foodstuff like instant noodle, 3-in-1 coffee, tea, creamer, etc pass their customs? Australia is really stict with this and not too sure if NZ is the same.

Hi C&C, as long as u declare to them the noodles & stuff, they are okay. But no sure abt creamer, cos they quite strict on dairy product.

askabride: for the methven hot air ballooning, i think they do pickups from chc, but best check. if you're already in methven, they recommend staying at abisko lodge, near the i-site (the mtg pt)

usually two or three days' advance, even day itself for the heli, was ok for us. but jan is peak period so i'm not so sure.

need to apply visa ourselves if book air tix online DIY? hv to go NZ embassy to apply visa? how many days b4?

kite, if you are singapore or malaysia passport holder, there is no need for visa application. if you are non singapore or malaysia passport holder, then u have to apply visa from nz immigration

thanks , ladies. we will try to pack as much food so as to save cost. just wondering... for motels with kitchen facilities, does that mean cooking oil and stuff are provided? do we even have to consider bringing there?

also for shared bathroom, can we assume that towels are provided?

C&C, cooking oil, sauces , salt, pepper all all food are not provided in motels. what they have is a packet of milk everyday, complimentary coffee, tea. Pans, Pots, And other utensils for cooking. In fact, u can buy vegetables and cook yourself dinner at night. is really much cheaper this way.

would it look stupid if we bring our own cooking oil and stuff? the custom will probably die laughing! =) wonder if any of you brought anything over.

C&C: think it would be nice if you could go there and purchase olive oil from the supermarket for your cooking...would be a nice change. Was thinking of doing this when I go.

Has anyone been to the Hanmer Springs Thermal Resort? Been to the private thermal pools?

wow u all going to cook urself. great, fun!
hmm but dun think wil cook cos by e time, wil be tired from driving n etc? or maybe i suggest can buy those cup cup noodles, just boil boil water n pour in. easier.

Hi C&C,

which motel u staying at? book ur accommodation?

Just drop by the Supermarket when you reach the town and stock up all the food stuff.

A sandwich is good. And near the christchurch airport, there is a chinese takeaway that sells cheap and good sweet sour pork.

If u are buying stuff from the supermarket, try and buy when u are in the bigger towns, cos the smaller towns do not have big supermarkets and the selection is very limited. For e.g made the mistake of driving to Lake Tekapo and thinking of buying groceries when we get there, but realised that they had only a really small supermarket which had very limited selection. And there were no big supermarkets nearby. But no problems with the bigger towns like Dunedin and Queenstown, definitely will have supermarkets.

When i went NZ, brought instant noodles, soy sauce, steak seasoning, chilli powder, instant soup etc. Cooked almost everyday while i was there, more fun. U can also buy takeaway fish and chip, very nice and quite cheap. When u are there, u will find that the restaurant food is quite expensive, even when u go to the supermarket, some of the food is more expensive than Singapore, which is quite surprising. E.g when u buy steak in supermarkets, can be more expensive than when u buy in singapore. But if u buy from the butcher, it is quite reasonable.

wow u all very ON cos i never think of cooking there b4. btw issit more expensive to buy cup cup noodles there or better buy in SG to bring over there. thanks

thanks for the many advices... will try to cook as much but nothing too elaborate, i guess. =)

Hi Kite,

Our accommmodation in NZ...

CHC - not decided yet
Fox Glacier - Lake Matheson Motel
Wanaka - Alpine Motel Apartments
Queenstown - Pinewood Lodge
Te Anau - Alpine View Motel
Dunedin - Sahara Guesthouse and Motel
Twizel - Mountain Chalet Twizel

Anyone of you stayed at the above places? Anything that I should look out for?

Hi C&C, i stayed in Alpine at Te Anau. Nothing much to look out for. Just keep their place clean. Some motel owners will tell you they will charge if place is left too untidy. Basically, they are all very nice.

Hi Stussy,

That's great. I've been communicating with Illeana and she has helped us booked glowworm tour and cruise to milford sound. I thought she's quite a sweet lady. heh... Hope the place will be nice too.

Hi Stussy,

That's great. I've been communicating with Illeana and she has helped us booked glowworm tour and cruise to milford sound. I thought she's quite a sweet lady. heh... Hope the place will be nice too.

We wld like to visit the Gold Mine and the Winery tour. Any idea where can these places be found?

I will be driving from South down to Queenstown and Dunedin.

Anything to do in Dunedin? Went to the tourism board..they say shld stay 2 nite each in QT and Dunedin.

Would appreciate if those who been to NZ can advise.

Gal, u can see penguins if u are in dunedin. also in dunedin there's a slope which is very steep. one of the steepest... not sure in the world or in NZ.

Hi mngo,

You been to dunedin? Could you tell us if the Larnach Castle and Moeraki Boulders are far from each other? Are they both worth visiting in the first place? Many thanks.

hi C&C. yes i been to dunedin. but i din stay overnight as i could not get any motels. i only been to larnach castle. is so far away, and up in the mountain. and costly. i din like it and i tot it was not worth to go at all. it looks eerie to me!

as for moeraki boulders, i dunno where the place is.

Hi C&C
Yeah...i agree the castle is nothing fantastic..don't waste money.
Well you will definately pass by the moeraki boulders when travelling to Dunedin. Can stop for a rest there and see the boulders.
And yes..there is a steepest slope at dunedin, the steepes in the world....i took a few pic there. Can go there have a look at the slope as well.

Seems like nothin much to see in dunedin leh. I surf the net and most of the activities like wildlife must pay to go in. Other than that..nothin much. I guess will only stay one night in Dunedin and Spend 2 nites in QT.

Can i know if Canterbury and Ashburten and Fairlie are the right place where farmstays are?
I would like to see the sheep..and shearing of wools there. For the Beech hill,is it difficult to drive there from Queenstown? how far?

Another question on booking YHA, must we be members to book it? I tried on the internet but they ask for membership. Can someone pls advise?

sorry for the long questions

I managed to book my air tickets online through air NZ just today! Now there is promotion n the air tix are considered cheap! costs $899 (including tax) per person. I wil be going in mid Jan 05 n wil be there for almost 2 weeks.

Next thing, i know i hv to make myself to plan my itinerary cos too busy with work n wedding preparation, not much time to plan.

As for car rental, most likely gg to book from Teddy and accommodation wil hv to start booking soon!

ladies,

i want to book my air tickets first then plan iternary backwards. if i m going in mid jan, will it be too late to book my air tickets in dec?

if i am going south island, whats the name of the airport that i will landing down called? paiseh, i know i sound very bimbolic. cos i do not know anything abt new zealand except its well know for scenery.

Hi cin,

I m going in mid Jan 05, its better to book ur air tix now as afraid that if u book in Dec wil be fully booked as its peak period in NZ (mid-dec to Feb).

If u gg to south island, u wil arrive at Christchurch.

But my air tix (S$899) is not direct. Its from:

Depart: SIN - AKL - CHC

Arrive : CHC - AKL - SIN

Hi Kite & Cin, jus for info. Air NZ does not fly direct to CHC. Only SQ fly direct. So that maybe one of your consideration between SQ & NZ.

Hi Stussy,

Yup i know that Air NZ cant fly CHC directly. My air tix from air NZ wil transit at Auckland, then will be taking a domestic flight to CHC.

Hi Gal, there is this farm in Kaikora that got sheep and shearing demo. Will give souvenir also. You can feed the lamb too.

thanks for the advice on larnach castle... that's good. We'll skip that one and save some money. If i'm travelling to Dunedin from Te Anau, will i get to pass by moeraki boulders before reaching dunedin?

Anyone of you been to the puzzle world? sounds like alot of fun but is the entrance fee expensive? is it like some amusement park but in the form of puzzles? do we need to pay to play the puzzle? how much time would one actually spend inside? 3 hrs enough?

wow... so sorry for fielding so many questions at one go.

hi stussy,

thanks for your advice.

really very busy with work cos its end of fiscal year. i m having a problem now, really want to go nz but know nuts abt that place.

heard from my frds that north island is boring so i thk i will spend 14 days ins south island then. a couple of qns to check with u cos i have no time to go to the achieve, hope u dun mind.

any car rentals to recommend n can we pick them up in the airport?do we use the same car from day 1 to the last day?

how is the weather like in nz? will it be scorching hot since its summer?

accomodation wise, can i book on the spot since i did not plan for the trip? how much does an average hotel room cost?

how much did u spend exclude your personal expenses during your last trip.

or do u thk its better for me to take a package trip n extend on my own the last few days?

paiseh, bombard u with so many qns. maybe this weekend will start to read the old threads.

many thanks!

"Can i know if Canterbury and Ashburten and Fairlie are the right place where farmstays are?
I would like to see the sheep..and shearing of wools there. For the Beech hill,is it difficult to drive there from Queenstown? how far?"

There are farms elsewhere but canterbury and farlie seem to be offering many of the farmstays. whether you see shearing depends on the season; i'm not sure if it's shearing in right now, best email the farms to find out what you can experience during your stay. but there are some commercial farm tours which have shearing and sheep dog shows. queenstown to beech hill - very far! you'd have to drive at least 7-8 hrs i think

cin, i can help with some of your questions

1) i used ezy car rentals. they have someone to pick me from auckland airport to their office to pick up my car. when i return the car, i will drive to their office, and they have someone to send me to air port. Yes you will use the same car from day 1 to last day

2) which month are you going? it will be hot, but not humid like singapore. it will still be cooling.

3) you can book on the spot provided you do not go during peak period. i ever encountered not having any place to stay, and we have to drive to another sub-urb or town 1 hour away to look for a motel

4) a motel is anywhere from 65NZ to 150NZ , depending. hotel is more expensive, and smaller in size