now isn't the time to PM, and share stories of 12k debts... if u wanna get out of debt, all u do, everything u do, Is abt earning that extra dollar to pay that extra dollar.
when i went into a sizeable debt over a failed biz where my shareholders left me to burden the whole fall... i went back to basics of earning watever i could, having 1 meal a day capped at Max $2 a day, etc. i restarted life with a mthly salary below 2k and worked my way back up again. it isn't alot at hindsight, but that 70-80k debt took me 4.5yrs to clear. my daily diet is either 1 big pau, lor mai kai or fan choy. just 1.
i can tell u that most average pple will lament and decide they Can't clear the debt and just giveup, thus allowing themselves to spiral down. this is where debts tend to get out of hand, and this is also what makes the difference between success and failure in life.
u are seeking help on a debt, but u must remember that advice does not help debt... it only helps u to manage it, or manage the repayment process. advice does not help u Increase your financial earnings unless u personally have an urgency to adopt and change your life.
u should just find work at all means, your lunchtime, dinnertime, nitetime - these are times where an extra hand is needed at F&B Outlets.... have u explored? u can look at these establishments near your workplace or home and ask if they can do with the extra help.
when i was 14 in sec 2, i worked 4days a week as the closing shift with burger king for less than $1.85/hr. nowadays the money is much more.... when i was 17 i was a coffeeboy making coffee and sandwiches at the defunct Victor's Superbowl... i have made coffee, burgers, washed toilets, cleaned up faeces/vomit, waitered, cooked, sold mandarin oranges during CNY, helped out at food stores and there's been many menial jobs i have taken in my life being born Not Rich n without good academics, and later when i went into debt when biz failed.
How prepared are u to clear your debts? cos if u're just looking for stories, it Will Not solve your problems i guarantee u that. as with the Nike creed - Just Do It.
no job is below us, and we are never too good for Any job if we Need money. it is with the same dogged determination for me to get out of the poverty cycle that helped me to make my 1st million. So seriously, how big a problem is your 12k debt? if u put in effort, 2yrs should solve it with 'little effort' if u make an extra $600-700/mth
Yes, i have parent to support too. my mum was selling 4d for a meagre $600/mth. Now Stop finding excuses Not To, and telling yourself How Big the debt is... and how it is not your fault... and Just Do It... really, just start grabbing watever u can First.
this is the best piece of advice u're ever gonna get, other than those to work out a repayment plan, which even at 14 i can do the math.
dun give up. cheers.