Need Advice on divorce/ breakup

kaleenc

I really need advice and help right now. I am not in my normal mental stage, I feel like I just want to end my life, my everything. I tried but I do not have the guts yet.

My fiance (my bf) and I has been together for 4.5years and had been living together for a year. We are due to get married end of this year. We registered for BTO and we paid 20% downpayment of our new house which will be ready in 2011.

I am in the midst of wanting a breakup but it comes with heafty cost and emotional stage.

It all comes right after he was sacked by his company in end Nov. He was less than a year there where this thing occurred causing him to be sacked. His colleagues/ boss had maligned him at work. He is now pushing ALL the blame to me including changing of job from his previous job, my family member's outing, and so on.

Since last year, I had been mentally abused by calling me names - bitch, whore, asshole, jinx, F-word, and all other things. He shouted at me in public loudly and the public usually stare at us. There are a lot of incidents on this.

He starts to message me like 50 messages a day - non stop calling me names during day, while in the evening, he will hurled all kinds of names at me in front of his parents.

This turned worst when he started to physically abuse me - there was once, while sleeping, he slapped me more than 10 times in a row so hard, that I was just numbed and dazed - crying alone by the bed and doing nothing. It hurts me so badly.. So badly from the hard tight continuous slaps.

I really want to help him out of this retrenchment. I have advised him a lot of time to look forward and not to push the blame on me. But he refused, everyday, he got worst.

And TODAY (13Jan09) - he messaged me that he is going to look for other girls to make love now. He was home very late. I do not want to think about it further, I just hid myself under the blanket and sleep. He is sleeping out of the room now.
I was totally devastated, and moreover, I found a packet of cigarettes in his bag, and found its nearly empty - 12 sticks gone. He is a person that doesnt smoke and now he is smoking 12 at a shot!

I was very heartbroken. I am clueless. I wish to end all these, as all these is affecting my work very badly that I cant concentrate.

If we were to end everything, we will lose the 20% of the downpayment of the BTO (from HDB) and on top of that we need to pay penalty $30,000 grant. I think we may have difficulties getting HDB flat in future if we to drop the BTO and incur penalty from the grant.
Apart from that, we have other packages on hand like - bridal package and household furnishings.

Please help me! I feel like dying. I can't cope with all these. And, I am worried of his mental stage (coping with unemployment stage), worried of my daily abuse, and worried of my finances if we were to break up.

I need help.. Please.. I am in great pain.

Kaleen.

it is really simple - do you stay or do you leave. it would be both a simple and easy decision for most people. but most people won't allow themselves to be so abused in the first place. not willing to forfeit the down payment is just a convenient excuse. for whatever masochistic reasons, you choose this miserable existence. you'd consider killing yourself before leaving him; i doubt the down payment is worth killing yourself for. what can strangers on a bulletin board say/do to help if you are already so determined to suffer?

I'm sure if you are hard working enough, this 20% down payment is just short term suffering rather than having the wrong guy for your whole life.

Good man never hit a woman.

Hi Kaleen

I think your SO is unable to cope with the job loss. It is prob a big hit to his ego and the way he express his pain is to take it out on you.

If he is willing to see a counsellor to deal with his anger/loss management, then you can still see if you can help him.

However, if he refuse to see that he is wrong and unwilling to seek help, please leave him.

A person who takes out his fustration on you is not worth your love.

$ is a small matter. Can be earned back once you pick yourself up and concentrate on career etc.

Dear Kaleen,

For your own safety's sake, please move out immediately! Stay with your parents or with a sibling or friend. Money lost can always be earned back. Just treat it money that you pay for your "freedom" - free from the physical, mental and verbal abuse and be able to sleep peacefully at night.

The immediate action is to move out first. You can plan your next course of actions after you have moved out.

All the best.

Thanks for all the response. Guess, right now, all I can do is to ask to go for counseling together again. I will try to talk to him tonight. I really want to help him to cope with the situation and get him to move on - look forward in future, not the past.

But in fact, I did ask him to go counseling together last month when he first lost his job. But, he insisted he does not need any counseling and if I want to go, I will go alone without him. He does not want to be involved in counseling. From then on, I did not ask him to go anymore as he will turn violet everytime I ask him.

Right now, I do not care whether he has job or not, all I want is just him to be back to his normal stage and get on with life. Everyday, I have been helping him to search jobs via different channels. But, he shouted at me and said, he does not need any help. He said he's all useless, hopeless and have no future. I do not see it this way, as this is only a small challenge in life.

At times, I do not know what he do during day time as I am not home. When I don't work, he will just take his backpack and leave the house and return home at night.

If this persists for another 2 weeks, I think I will move out.

Thanks, tomasulu, atos, happywife and nemo.

hi, poor gal. if ur SO started to abuse u just becoz of job lose. U need to think abt the future cause he might do that again if facing any problem in his life. dangerous

hi.. mayb u shd just move on? once he lay hands on u.. he's nt going to stop. nw is slap, future? hm.. he might be stressful losing his job, feeling remorseful for changing job and getting maligned at work.. but its not ur fault. He made the decision to change job, not u. Even if u advised him to, u didn't take a gun n point at him to change the job rite?
I know u stil love him n care for him. But does he? Do not let him lay his hands on u again. If he does, just go. No man will ever hit his love ones.

Wow, I didn't know losing one's job can make the person go bonkers.

I lost my job once and was unemployed for a long while. At that time my first kid was very young some more. Finally found a new job, less than half my previous pay, bo pian gotta eat humble pie. Chalked up a huge credit during unemployment. So what, life goes on man.

Kaleen, your man has become mentally unstable. I don't know how he can link his job loss to you. And abusing you physically is shit. Get out of the house now, stay with your parents.

I think get out of this as fast as you can. No point sticking around just because of the money you will lose. Like Nemo said, money lost can be earned. Nobody needs to stand this kind of mental and physical shit.

We are all creatures of habit. Leaving one's comfort zone is usually a tall order. For your case, I don't see comfort in your zone, so what are you sticking around for?

hey kaleen dear..

your bf sounds so much like my ex..could they be the same person???!! gosh, advice to you is to forgo the 20% lah..no use dragging your future with this kinda person! Trust me, you'll find someone wayyyy better!!

Kaleen, can you please wake up??!! Why do you let yourself go through this phyiscal and mental abuse???

You said you give him two weeks. So remember two weeks is your deadline. Do all your best in this two weeks to help him, if he does not return to his normal stage or worse, lay his hand on you again, Please leave him ...

You only have one life. Money lost can always be earned.

Kaleen,
It's actually blessing in disguise. imagine being married to him and going through divorce tussle etc later...having his kids and then seeing his true colours...

come to your senses and don't let it affect you further. even if he's gonna beg for your forgiveness, forget it. men don't change. they can't fake orgasm as well as we do. need help let me know. [email protected]

He has to stand up himself. He dont need your pity. U have to respect that. Leave him alone. Hope he find his way out of this situation. the more u help him, the more he'll feel bad.

Kaleen-C,

Firstly, I want to say, Your life is precious. Treasure it. There are many who want to live but they can't. You can. Be strong. No one can make you lose your life for a worthless cause.

Secondly, what sort of help do you need? As in, you need a listening ear or you want to know if you should still stay with your bf? I hope it's not the latter question. Cos it's really a brainless effort to know what the answer is.

You seem to have a dangerous beast with you. What do you still love him about? After all the crap insults, disgrace and physical beatings, you are still confused?

Let me tell you, even if he suddenly finds a good job and turns better, you want to be with him for the rest of your life? You do know there is a strong possibility that he can abuse you again after marriage? Maybe even to a worse extent?

Yes, you will have to lose the flat down-payment and all that. That's painful, on your finances, if not your heart. But it looks like there is no choice here. Do you want to save the money but endure more beatings and insults by a beast in future?

What kind of man will beat or blame a woman like that? And you guys are not even married.

Ditch the beast and start your life anew.

Oh, and just for the record, if you were my sister, I'd probably give the coward beast black eyes and maybe some broken teeth.

Thanks so much for the response. I do not know how to leave him.. I am still hoping him to change for the better despite the insults that he's giving me. He still call me names like bitch, F-word and so on.. But, I am beginning to turn a deaf ear over the names calling. I am still pinning hope.

Sometimes, I just want to give up, but on the other hand, I can't let it go.. I can't. I have treated him so nice in everything, I really wish the relationship will turn well. I will do everything in proper and order for him. I give him money these few months for his expenses instead. Yet, I am still being abused and scolded. I still can't believe he is abusing me.

Will he change?

I am not local, hence my parents do not stay in Singapore. Both of my elder sister and my elder brother are married with kids. If I were to move to either my sister or brother's place, it doesn't look nice. Hence, I am still clinging on here.

My parents and my siblings do not know of this incident - the abuse although it happenned since Novemeber last year. I do not want them to worry about me.

I really need to wake up. I want to leave, but I am scared to move on.

Kaleen

Kaleen, you choose your own path.

- If you really wanna stay, be patient and work with him. Try to get him through BUT high possibility he will treat you agressively still. Think of consequences. Do you want to suffer in future till you got to apply PPO (personal protect order)? If you choose to spend your life with the one you love and prepare to suffer, it means you give in and you will not need advise. You just need a listening ear. It is good if you can call up a friend and talk instead.

- If you wanna leave, is just the money (which can be earned back as many mentioned) is gone.

Please do remember is better to marry someone who will give you happiness as it marks the rest of your journey.

Kaleen,

My guess is you're the meek and kind type of woman. It's a pity you didn't get a man who should be treating you like a dignified lady and wife-to-be.

If you want to know my honest view of regarding this matter, you have to find a way to break off from him. I don't know the exact details but from what I can see, you're pinning on a hopeless hope.

In such situations, it's always the meek woman who will lose out in the end. End it sooner that face unimaginable pain in future.

Just to update about everything..

It's been a year since things have happenned.
And, I gave him the 2nd chance - I can't let go.
I hope he will turn over a new leaf, but he didn't. I care a lot for him.

He is like a time-bomb to me, awaiting to explode anytime. I am worried he will hit me again, I am afraid he will shout at me and he still call me names and shout at me.
But, he refused to let go me and settle the HDB.

Can anyone tell me, what is he trying to do?

Am I doing the right thing or should I let go?
How to let go?

Kaleen

Kaleen
it's natural to want to help someone dear to u, but sometimes, u need to save yourself first. U've given him a chance, u've given yourself a chance, what more excuses have u got to not let go?
By letting go, i don't mean just walking away and breaking up, that, is really up to u. I mean to remove yourself from the situation of being verbally and physically abused. Much as u'd like to think that u're giving him the support he needs by staying, it obviously has not helped. Is he still unemployed now? r u thinking about moving out finally? If u continue to let him abuse u, remember it's because u ALLOW it. Don't.

Hi Kaleen,

I would advise you to give up and move on since you are married yet.

However, if you really don't want to give up, you can try the reverse psychology method.

It works on my hubby.I also notice my mother-in -law use this method too and it works.

Whenever, the hubby is in bad mood or angry, you should retreat and not be in his way because in this mental state anything you say will just anger him further.

After sometime, when hubby realise he doesn't have an audience, he will be remorseful and come and seek for you.
Then you can calmly try to comfort, console and support him.

Try to be a positive, bright light in his presence, this will lift up his mood and he will be more determine to find a job.

Don't pester him to find a job or pamper him with your money.
Just say "Do your best!", with a bright, cute smile and quickly leave for your workplace.

if u really don't want to give him up, then u will hv to learn how to handle him when he is in bad mood or in anger.

If you hubby can shout at you and call u name, then at that point of time, he is not in a state of mind when u can talk or communicate to him. I think u will have to learn to retreat or pace with him on what ever he is talking or shouting ... that is to agree with what ever he said .... And one more thing, never ever disagree with him or give comments when he is angry or in bad mood ... that will lead to further anger.

Once he cool down in a good state of mind, then u can lead the conversation ....

Alway encourage him, and never ever put pressure on him ... encourage him to think positively ...

I'm sorry but I really see the point of you guys advising Kaleen what to do if she wants to stay on in this relationship. She has probably tried her best in this past one year and he still hasnt changed. Why are u guys suggesting ways that she can 'deal' with him? You would be giving her false hope.

Kaleen..it has been almost a year since u posted about your problem. The situation has not changed. So what do you want now? People to support you? People to tell you what to do? Isn't it CLEAR what you should really do..?!! Break free from this abusive relationship and learn to respect and love yourself more! If you need to talk to someone, call Aware hotline : 1800 7745935. Hopefully, someone will talk some sense into you.

You are currently in an abusive relationship and unless your boyfriend acknowledges that he has a problem and is willing to seek help for it or is indeed showing that he is changing for the better, you really shouldn't be holding on to such a r/ship anymore. Does such a guy deserve your love? You mean after being a punching bag & a recipient of numerous insults and taunts for almost a year, you are still hopeful he will change? Is your self esteem so low that you rather hold on to such a relationship then to be single again? Anything may trigger off his anger and you will constantly live in that fear. Do you really want to have such a life? Well, if so..then go ahead..stay on in this relationship, and yeah, what the heck, just get married to him. And don't expect to have any more sympathy then because you chose that road yourself.

Agreed with Siobhan, How many more years must she waste? How many more abuse much she take before she throw in the white towel.

There isnt much improvements from what i can READ. Now is just unemployment stress. what about the futher hurdle ahead like marriage stress and parenthood stress.

The realization has to come from herself.. you all can talk until the cow comes home.

For me, I also took the longest time.. to think and ponder.. but of course, I am happy in that mood.

Kaleen: There is no point for any one of us to give you any advices if you are always living in self-denial or self-convincing that he will / might change for the better one day... his attitude and behaviour were the results of his retrenchment etc... Let me ask you then, can you do the same to him if you were the one instead of him who was retrenched at that time? This incident reveals what kinda of person he is and you are still waiting for him to change?

Keleen,

I think you yourself got the answer already.
May be you just cant face yourself, family and friends if they know about your situation.
Don't bother what other said. Just do whatever you think is correct and good for you.
Live for yourself and not for others.

Dear gal, you have only 1 option. LEAVE HIM. Unless you wanna end up dead. You need someone you trust to push you to do the right thing becos obviously you are not thinking anymore.

Here's some practical advice, make a police report on the violence. Transfer/sell your bridal packages. If you want the flat, ask your family if they would like to move, transfer his name over. If you don't want the flat, ask HDB if they can waive the penalty and refund the deposit (which they probably won't), then go to seek an MP's help in your constituency to write an appeal letter to minimise your $ losses. Having a police report in this case would be helpful for legal matters but i warn you, when you start this, you better move out incase he kills you which I think he will. He's crazy already. You obviously don't love yourself enough to subject yourself to such abuse and still remain in denial by cooking up all sorts of excuses for him. Think about this, you lose $100,000 in exchange for peace and stability for the rest of your life. Small price I reckon becos money, you can always earn back while you're still ALIVE.

If you've decided on martyrdom and to stick with him, hoping he will change, which he WILL NOT. Please stop posting to this forum. There are people with bigger problems and with a real desire to want to make their lives better inspite of what it takes. Let them have our time and reading attention pls.

It has been 2 months since TS last posted so maybe should see wats her update currently. Cross our fingers and hope for the best though...