My Dream Wedding

missylois: do share your pics with me too @ [email protected]. Thank you

Hi Audrey,

hahaha! thanks for the feedback. hmmm. then i shall reconsider the mtv again. =p i've seen ur slides..the pace is alright. but is it my imagination or are some slides bit slower? hehe. btw seems that you took lots of pics..how many poses did you get in the end? i thot for my photoshoot, the max i wanna get is abt 40 poses. i saw the sample book of Lydia's and hers is 35 and it doesn't look too bare. but you know..when you take PS overseas, they will try to take more to tempt you. hahaha! sigh.. they are charging me $80 per pose unless i take 20 or more poses, they'll charge me $64. =P

Hey! you mean they will charge us for the lashes and ampoule for AD? i thought all included? =( wah... more costs!

when i signed up i forgot abt all the AD photography and VG. i also calculated my expenses including banquet losses, we need to set aside abt $22k just for the wedding itself. our honeymoon would be postponed to end of year (my wedding is in sept). partially cos we do not want to be burdened by all expenses at one time (wanna go europe!) and also my HTB's work schedule is quite tight esp towards year end. so we're probably gonna go for a short getaway. a cruise maybe? hehe.

Hi everyone! I just want to share that I am SO GLAD to have chosen MDW as my bridal shop. I enjoyed my interview. Everyone's so friendly and patient. Allysa my coordinator is fantastic. She follows up with whatever she's supposed to. No worries about having to chase and chase for things. The service at MDW is top class and I am so happy they are a part of my wedding journey!

Silin & Trina: Wow! I admire you all! Hehe, most of the wedding costs are bore by my HTB. He had been working for more years than me and salary is higher, so for us, the higher cost items are paid by him. I contributed the airplane tix , hotel and smaller items like the makeup for jie meis, accessories, odds and ends here and there. ^_^

Pearlyn: Hehe, yeah. i tried to slow down some of the pace, so that the effect will match the tempo of the song. Hope it's not too draggy. I got 40 pics too leh. <grin> It doesn't matter whether it's taken overseas or local, but whether its nice or not! Even if they dun tempt you , you'll also be tempted. ;)

Yup, ampoule and lashes is add on hoh. Got to include that too.

Silin: Hehe, haven't uploaded the pics of my shoes yet. These few days staying at new home and my card reader is at parent's place. =D

Hi 2009 bride: Welcome and glad everything went smoothly for you so far. =D. When will u be going for yr PS? Must be really excited eh. ;)

Trina: Urm, i dun know the name of the AD. He should be freelanced. My HTB arranged it as his bro also uses it for his wedding, and they find him approachable and friendly.

I m considerinng PS in HK
Read that Hong Kong has monsoon/rainy season in middle of year. May to Oct. Anyone gg PS during this period?

<font color="aa00aa">Hi! I am going to MDW tomorrow to see their photos and gowns. I'm meeting Lydia, who I think is the manager.

Has anyone signed up the local PS? Can share?</font>

Audrey: so how much do they charge for the lashes and ampoule? can we buy our own and bring for them to use? i thot i saw it included as part of the package? hmmmm.

Lee: i'm going HK in late May for the PS. it should be fine cos last year i went HK in early May and it was quite hot actually. hehe. in fact, i went macau and shenzhen too. total stayed for abt 9 days and i dun remember any rainy day. Lydia told me that Sept onwards would be the monsoon season, there was once i went few years back during sept and it was really pouring. depending on when is ur AD, you might want to put it in the earlier part of the year..latest by July should be safe enuf? you can ask Lydia cos she's a hongkonger..she shld know. =)

Winny: yup.. Lydia is the manager dere and she's nice. (btw, Lydia is also getting married end of this year). My HTB's friends signed up for their local package and they liked it so they recommended it to us. but we opted for the HK PS instead.

Pearlyn: Oh, they include in the package now?
For my package. false eyelashes is included for the PS, but not AD. Mico quoted me $18 for the false eyelashes, $30 for the ampoule. If we bring our own falsies, will still hv to pay $10 for the service.

pearlyn:
mine pkg is only PS include fake eyelashes. same as Audrey, Mico also quoted me $18 for eyelashes &amp; $30 for ampoule.

all MDW brides:
so when is really the recommended month to go HKG for PS ??

btw, Happy Lunar "nu" Year to all!

Need some advices and enlightenments from all who have signed up with MDW.

We are currently sourcing for a bridal service, and is torn between MDW and My Wedding Room.

My WTB finds the WGs from both sides are strong. Whereas EGs from both side are rather limited. Moreover, MDW don't do MTM (that's what they told us).

But the Photography and albums from MDW is a notch higher than MWR. At least from what I was shown.

Both sides show the same passion and quality services. MWR claims that they do not have hidden costs.

My concern for MDW is that most of their things from printing albums to gowns are sent/from HK. I am rather worried about the inflexible lead-time.

How's the services from MDW?

Help.

haha.. depends wat u want, iamken

1) super-fitting gowns &amp; suits that everything matches to ur taste, or
2) great services that would make u feel queen &amp; king, or
3) budget is ur concern?

for me, i'm still in the midst of waiting for the photos.. but did enjoyed myself so much that i didn't feel tired at all on the photoshooting day(mayb a little more tired for my hubby since he's the 1 carrying me for certain poses for many many takes!haa!) all thanks to their excellence service.. i'd give "full-marks + bonus stickers" for the team's efforts! hehee..

as for the gowns i've got for the photoshoot.. still not really what i wanted yet.. there was 1 or 2 i prefer more but they said those were reserved for AD use only.. those were not allowed to book out for photoshoot.. so in a way to me i'd feel quite ltd for the selection for photoshoot purpose.. anyway.. i promise myself would def choose the gowns again for my AD.. I want STUNNING look on AD.. haha.. ;p

budget wise.. i hv to say MDW is not the cheapest.. but their service justified their price.. so yeah.. no regret for signing up MDW (as of now).. let's hope our photo albums will not make me "deduct any marks" for them.. hee..

Great to know that everything went well for you, xlan

Yes their services is good. Can tell from my 1st contact with them. They explained the packages nicely... not pushy at all. I was served by Rachel and David the photographer

We dun mind paying more for the quality in return. My concern is that their limited range of EG and WG. My AD will be 28/10/2009. And it seems that that is a hot hot month for weddings.

I dun wan to end up finding unsuitable gowns and suits. Neither do I want to last-minute run across the street to get a gown from Ted Wu

Who is your coorinator and photographer?

Audrey: haha! actually i'm not really sure wat i saw in the package details. =p but i thought i saw a liner, lashes and ampoule included. not sure if it is just for AD or PS or both. i so blur!

iamken: i asked MDW abt the reservation of WG and whether if i could change my mind in b/w now and AD. According to Rachel, she said WG are often confirmed 1 mth before AD. hmmm.. this will limit our selection i guess. but looking at the range of gowns avaliable i am not too afraid of not finding anything decent at MDW for AD. =)

One thing i love about the HK PS is we get to choose another 2 WG and 1 EG. so what we will be wearing on AD is different as we choose another WD and EG. heard from Rachel HK got abt 400 WG. S'pore only 200 WG. something like that.. dunno how true cos i cannot possibly look through 400 gowns!

my coordinator is Rachel, photog is David, MUA is Mico

David is GOOD! knows exactly what he wants n how to achieve that! he guides us exactly how n where to look at.. always joking to keep us in mood n stay cheerful..

Mico is FANTASTIC too! i'm still drooling over the 1st veil that she purposely made to meet my request! oh i'm jus so in love with that styles! i couldn't leave my eyes off the mirror on that day!! n i've requested her to have the same thing on my AD! looking forward to my AD!!

i tink i'm only worried on the gown selections.. u c.. if i'm down on my luck.. nicer gowns being booked by other couples n i'll not even hv the chance to try out.. i guess is all depends on luck..

Ooo.. shall ask them to book for me Mico and David if possible then! hehehe. ur PS team sounds really wonderful!

i din know that you can actually request for them to specially do a veil..datz really a very personalised gesture. did you get to keep it?

btw, roughly wat kind of details the MDW team will want during the interview? you have to bring mags and pics of pictures you like? its a bit hard to visualize right now.. but i'm oredi looking forward to my PS in May! =)

Hi iamken,

Congrats to you!

Well, for me, i got great service,great quality photos and photo album from them. The PS experience was also a breeze . Both me and HTB had never even taken any makeover photos.However,our PG was able to capture us at our best angles and most of the photos are taken only with one shot and with no contrived effort on our part.
I have no problem with the lead time. My HK PS was in mid nov, and by the subsequent week, i am able to choose the photos. I just got my photo albums, MV and stuff last week. Lead time is around 2 months, and that's including the xmas and new year public holidays. I guess cos my wedding is to be held on 12th feb, they put me on the priority (sorry kodomo!) and expedite on the processing.

In terms of cost, actually everything is stated very clearly in the contract what they will provide or not. . Eg, dun provide ampoule, no false eyelashes, no accessories etc. Therefore, i can't say that there's hidden cost. But just the package is not comprehensive. These are default things that are provided in other bridal studios.
Otherwise, i can say MDW lives up to its promises and deliver what it should deliver.
Previously, I had mentioned i walked past My Bridal room and found the pics and gowns very nice. Just 2 days ago, i went to that area again and again flipped through the album. Compared to my album from MDW which I just received, I realised there is really a difference in the quality. The colour combination, mixture and finish of my album is definitely above My bridal room. And i wld like to clarify I'm not trying to sully the reputation of MBR . I personally think MBR's photo album is better than a lot of other spore bridal studios i see.

My 2 cents

pearlyn, i did some homework.. saved pics in thumbdrive or tear off mags to show them.. wat kind of things i like.. they appreciated my efforts to show them wat i want so they no need to guess my mind.. n it was really NICE of them trying their best to fulfil my wish

Audrey,

Very well-said for your last post...I absolutely agree with your 2 cents worth of view for MBR &amp; MDW.

Can i just summarise everyone's exp as quality and service surpasses the price we've paid?

Audrey, you jumped queue over me too...say sorry to me too...
Just looking at your albums, it gave an adrenalin rush on my albums. I have absolute faith their professionalism.

Wish you all a Happy Chinese New Year! Huat ar!!!

Hey Missylois!
You got ur pics already!! *wink* care to share w me?
my email addie is [email protected]

thankew!

Audrey: Your MV is great! You look stunning-ly babelicious!

~~~~~GonG Xi Fa cAi!!!~~~~

Shanice : Tks. =D
Silin: Oops, sumimasen .. Also cut ur queue.. ~_~"

Trina: The software's called photostory and could be downloaded at this website:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/digitalphotography/PhotoStory/default.mspx
I won't be getting any dresses for my jiemeis. Would just ask them to wear the same range of colour : eg, all white, all beige etc. But same dresses for jiemeis would be nice if it's a church wedding. ^_^

Btw, this is a pic of my shoes.. hehhe!
913518.jpg
913519.jpg

Aud: I thinking if they wear the same dress might be nice but scare it look like uniform...

I also bought my heels for wedding
for the HK photoshoot, we need to bring?

Trina : Hehe, won't la, unless yr bridesmaid are of the same build and height.Then it'll be very uniform :P

Yup, can bring for photoshoot as it'll be used in the indoor shots and some parts of the outdoor shots. But do bring one pair of flats for walking on the stones and pebbles.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Audrey,
you have got a nice pair of shoes.

May I know where u bought them and at what cost?

My friend custom made hers at over $200. Really expensive.</font>

Hi winny,

Happy new year!

I bought mine from a shoe shop on the 1st floor at bukit panjang plaza. Damage only $89.90 . =D

Wow, $200+ ah. Did she custom made at leap'n lizard? I had went there to have a look at their readymade shoes after hearing all the raves about them, but don't find the cost justify their design. If you are going down to HK to PS, their shops specialising in bridal wear around Mongkok area offers very beautiful shoes at extremely attractive prices! (eg, $50~$80). Pity i haven't selected my EG then n won't know what colour it'll be, otherwise, would get from there liao. But anyway, i think i haven't done too bad for myself selecting this pair either. Hehe!

Can I check with all of u,

Apart from Harbour Hotel, Royal Plaza Hotel, Hotel Benito and Metropark Kowloon, anyone stayed in other hotel for their photoshoot? Doesnt want to spend too much on hotel.

i stayed at Prudential hotel the other time when i went to HK last year for hols. it is very convenient as it is directly above Jordan Mrt. Its considered a 4-star hotel and cost abt $130 when i stayed in May 08 but now it seems more ex..prob cos dat time it was my HTB's brother who booked for us. cos he stays in shenzhen for biz so he's quite familar with Hk etc.

However, when its my turn for PS in late May,i intend to stay at 3-star hotel Largos. i've heard abt from travel agencies as this is one of their popular hotels for tours. shld be alright!

the weblink is quite useful.. take a look!

http://www.prudentialhongkong.hk1.biz/instant_reservations.php

except when you return late at night when the shops below the hotel are closed, you haf to climb up the escalators from the MTR. abt 2-3 levels. but other than that, convenience is fantastic and rooms are reasonable.

Trina : I actually like gold shoes more..but it'll be harder to match gowns.

I stayed at metropark Mongkok . Location wise is very central, mtr is just outside its doorstep and price is pretty reasonable. I paid around S$100+ per nite.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Audrey!

yes you are right. She got it from Leap'n lizard. I tot it's too expensive too but then it's her preference.