Mother-in-Law

lettingo

today i just heard something said by my mother in law, which i think its very scary...

My MIL, used to say she won't move in with me and husband if we get a new flat... then today i heard her telling my husband saying :"if i don't move in with you, how to help u take care of your kids?"

So it means she ultimately want to stay with us isn't it? SOrry, i know i am bad, but i also know XIANG JIAN RONG YI, TONG ZHU NAN.... very hard to get along de, meet up is fine.. SHe is afterall not my mum, and she dun seem to be someone who is easy to get along....

A selfish part of me is also that i wish to spend ER REN SHI JIE with my husband.

anyone had the same situation as me... how to tell my husband that i dun want to stay with his parents in a tactful way... oh ya, not forgetting, my Father in law is someone who always want his way in the house...like to keep unwanted garbage thrown by other people in the house and caused cockroaches/insects problem....

I tink i am seriously headache now.. Please help, anyone!

Seems like your MIL changed her mind. I think the best thing to do is to get your husband to tell her you both prefer to take things step by step. Child care arrangements can be discussed later. You both prefer to have your privacy for now. Maybe talk to your husband? Tell him that you value privacy now? That you don't mind considering having ILs stay with you both in the future if the circumstances warrant ILs staying with you?

For me, my FMIL also told me that a few days ago... Mentally, I am prepared to let her move in with us... I told my SO that we will keep a room for her....
Main thing is that I requested for 2 years of honeymoon period and therefore, told my husband to try to tell her that we would welcome her only after the first two years of marriage....
My SO talked to her, find out that she actually wanted to move in with us, retire from her job and rent out the rooms in her flat so that she can help us take care of our children in the future...
SO told her that it is best to wait till his younger brother has found a wife, then after he also moved out, then rent out the whole flat... At that time, we would be happy to welcome her into our flat to stay....
Explained to her that if she were to rent out two rooms, then she still have to pay all the bills and fees of the house... turned out, she will not have enough to spend if she were to stop working completely..(she has her own commitments)
But if she were to wait for a while more till the younger one is married, then renting out the whole flat, she can cover her own obligations.. and by then, if we have kids, she will be entertained, rather than facing 4 walls everyday when we do not intend to have kids in the first few years...

my mother in law was someone very unpredictable.
she once kill the hamster i give my SO.. long story...

And also, i think my SO upbringing quite bad... because when he come my house, he never greet my family. I once told my MIL, and she still laugh and say "Ya its ok, he is like tat one, nvm abt him"... what kind of upbringing would my kids have if she take care of them? so i tink i would tell her i am going to let my parents take care.

And the way she talks sometimes, shows that she totally disregards other's feelings, which is why my SO also behave the same way all the time.

My father in law is someone who want his way in the house... always want to bring rubbish thrown by neighbours back home and attracted alot of insects... if he move in with us, i think same thing will happen to my house... its suppose to be our Love nest, i really dread them staying with us.

And also, my parents in law love to speak dialect and also some vulgar language... i seriously dun want my future kids to behave the same way. i am feeling so fan now.

For me, my FPIL are not that bad... just that my FFIL smokes and drinks... FMIL only drinks....
Anyway, another point that my SO actually bring across is that I hope to stop working after giving birth and stay at home to take care of my children...
So after she heard this, she says that she will continue to work....
Furthermore, I already told my SO that my parents will be moving in too... and can take care of the children( if any in the future) as they are both retired....

Actually my hb and I dun know when we will have kids cos we are not actively planning for kids. But we also want to give our kids the best when they arrive. My MIL hinted she won't look after our kids cos she said she can only help for a year or 2 more... and obviously our kids wont come in a year or 2... and she si already looking after her daughter's son and her daughter wants a second kid. My mom is still working. We told both moms that we are open minded to them looking after our kids, or for me to stop work to look after, or for us to send kids to nanny or infant care centre in the future. We are keeping our options open cos we can't tell what will happen. Although I prefer my mom to look after our kids, I think it's selfish of me to ask my mom to stop working and stay at home... cos she earns quite alot now and she has a very good job..also never know if my mom may be struck with any disease (touch wood!!) and therefore become unable to care for grandkids... since can't plan too much now, just have to keep all options open.

I was thinking of telling her that My parents will be helping to take care of my kids, and first two years i plan not to have kids, because want ER REN SHI JIE. I also want to tell them that i plan to have a room for me and husband, a room for kids, a room for study room, do you think she will catch the hint?

Hi hui,

I think better not tell you MIL anything. If necesary, let your husband do the talking.
And I don't think it's a good idea to set out your cards so soon... cos you never know if your parents may become unable to help look after your kids.... know what I mean?

I think just come to an understanding with your hb first. See if he will agree to tell your MIL that you both want privacy now. Don't mention having kids only after 2 years. What happens if you have child soon after AD? What happens if you and hb are unable to have child after 2 years (touch wood!) and your MIL blame you for delaying childbirth?

No need to tell her what you plan your rooms at home for. Shes not a home owner. She doesn't need to know.

hi hui,
i see your point in ER REN world, worry about the negative influences from your IWs to your kids, the living habits of ur FFIW that might mess up your love nest which you spent lots of efford building it...

but at this point, if you were to stop her anything, might sour the r/ship with her.

how's your SO reaction when he knows this?
better to get a way to compromise with you SO and let him break the decision to your FMIL.

I agree... let your SO be the one to talk to her.... also, if you really want to hint, do it discreetly...

For me, when my SO uncles visited my house, I said, oh, this is the master bedroom, this is going to be my mother's room, that is my PIL room and that one, study room... so all taken up....

I said it in front of her because they were trying to suggest that I hack off a room to do a walk-in wardrobe....

I just empathsized to my SO that his parents can only permanently move to stay with us after 2 years of honeymoon....

The same shall apply for my own parents... it is only fair...Unless I have kids earlier than expected, which SO doesn't want but his mother is telling us to have kids younger than wait and wait... haha

I think all parents want grandkids, Mindy. Same prob with my ILs and my parents too.

i know i am been paranoid, but somehow i am losing sleep because of what she say... and no mood to work at all...

however, i think if no choice, i will tell my husband to communicate to His parents to allow us to have 2 years of privacy before having kids and staying together.

That's the way to go, Hui. No matter how tough it gets, it definately helps to have our hbs on our side... cos it's never easy for us to deal with ILs on our own. At the same time, hopefully our requests don't put too much pressure on our hbs cos ILs are after all, their parents.

ya... thanks cactus, mindy, cynthia , everyone here in this thread, giving me ur advices and support... i am really grateful for this!

sad to say... the more i think of these, the more i feel worried....

my FIL, recently did something which i could Not tolerate.. He was at Home, and he refuse to open the windows... then worst thing is, he left the rubbish chute open purposely which i dun understand why (u know old flats, have the rubbish chutes inside the flat), and the smell is unbearable when i step into His house, and also attracted alot of cockroaches...

One more thing, my FIL, never flush the toilets after he finish SHITTING.... and he say he feel that there is no need to...

I tink i am determine Not to stay with Parents in law... please help, i need to prevent them from coming to stay with me....

u hv been complaining abt ur FPIL bad behavior...but u did nt mention wat did ur FH respond and is his take on whether to let his parent come over to stay?

Hv u discuss wif ur FH? If u hv nt, u shld start to discuss nw, if nt, there is no point grumbling here wen only wif ur FH support tat u can resolve this prob.

also, is the flat u all hv applied nearby his parent hse? if so, then can tell ur FH to tell them since u all r living near them there is no nid for them to move in.

also, is ur FH the man u really wan to marry? if u cant take his upbringing and his attitude, r u really sure he is the one? regarding the part where he nv greet ur parent in ur hse, did u tell him tat u find it rude? wat is his response?

well i honestly dun think u r selfish at all in NOT wanting ur PIL to move in with u coz i felt the same way as u r feeling rite now

tis may not sound constructive 4 u but i actually hacked down both the rooms so that i have only 1 masterbedroom n 1 living room (n of coz kitchen) so that his folks N my folks will not hav a chance to stay wif us. Yes sounds nasty but i would prefer it this way than to risk having any of our folks staying wif us. Just like ur MIL, my ex-MIL-to-b oso stated she wont wanna stay wif us but when she came to our flat the 1st time, she commented in Malay (thinking i dun understand) that we dun welcome them to stay (which is very true)

u gotta bring this up to ur husband firmly, yes he may not b happy all all but beta for u to raise yr concern (read: objection) now than for him to say to u in future 'y didnt u bring this up before??'

he's sandwiched but too bad, someone's gotta b the bad guy n it's not gonna b u....YeT

Diana, actually i did ask my hus.. he say he is ok with anything....

as for the part whereby he didn't greet my parents, i did tell him its rude.... but he commented that he is not used to greeting people since young and his mum never scold him for not doing so.... His mum also say nvm lar, let him be... my concern now is, if she want to take care of my kids, will my kids be as rude as my hus? basically my hus is a kind hearted person just that he is quite rude at times..

Serene,,, i totally understand your feeling! Only those with bad MIL will understand.....

hui, i can understand ur concerns abt ur PIL taking care of ur kids in future..i'm assuming u dun hav children yet

obviously the kind of values ur IL taught ur husband will b similar to what they gonna teach ur children, it's inevitable i guess

some ppl may say its too early for u to think abt such a problem if u dun hav kids now, but its beta to raise the alarm now then to tok abt it later

on ur husband not greeting ur parents part, i tink u gotta educate him there, ask him if its ok if u dun greet his parents ..if other relatives c dat, they will probably comment this to ur IL..lets c whether they like it

serene... yeah... this is what i think too...
i believe that kids will follow the habits of eating, talking and also the language from the person who take care of them... For instance, if they can't teach their own son properly, as they get older, the more they could not teach grandchildren properly, they would probably spoilt the children even more

just giv u a very gd example...my younger sis's PIL...they r so into stocks n shares n glue their eyes on TV that they dun diligently bring my nephew to school in the mornings at times..both my sis n her husband got work earlier than usual which is y they got their ILs to help bring the kid to school

there was once i asked my nephew y din he go to school n my 3yr old actually replied 'ye ye gen nai nai kan gu piao'

i din find it amusing at all honestly....

then u hv to get ur husband to tell his parent tat u all dun intend to stay wif them at least nt during the 1st 2 yrs. as for taking care of ur child issue, wait till the baby arrival then decide....but u hv to let ur husband noe u intend to let ur parent take care of ur child as they are retired....

I'm new here. For me, I'm getting married next year and will be moving in with his family to stay for a few years before we moved out on our own. I reaaly hope that my future mil will not stay with us wjen we get our own flat. Not that I'm selfish, I wanted 'er ren shi jie' too and also I have the probia of mil and dil conflicts.

one mountain cannot have 2 tigers. i think one household shd only have one woman. if u r stayg at her house now, she sure has the final say at her house. once u have ur own house, even if she is stayg w/u., i wish she knows who is the boss here n hopefully she will gave u face

Especially the kitchen...its the tigeress territory...

I can't even make something simple for myself when my HTB's mom is in the kitchen. Her watchful eyes really stresses me...

Hui, I can understand your fear because I have been living with my MIL for as long as I am married, and that is, 15 years.

Up till today (yes, even after 15 years!), I'm still not used to living with my MIL as our living habits are worlds apart. At 73 years of age, it's naive of me to expect my MIL to change her living habits that have been ingrained over the past 73 years of her life.

In my case, it's a bit tricky because my hubby is the younger of two children and his older brother will not even think of asking his mother to move in with his family.

It is not selfish to want to live apart from your parents; especially in cramped HDB flats. Everyone needs his/her own personal space. Only those who have lived with their ILS can understand others in similar situation.

I think this stupid tradition of parents wanting to stay with their married children will die with our generation and mankind will be the better for it. Why court unnecessary trouble, right? I mean there's the option of living nearby, so why not? Near enough in case of emergencies but far enough to give each other breathing space.

Hui, you need to talk this over with your husband but then again, there's a possibility your hubby may change his mind. Some men can tell you that they don't mind not living with their parents but when they really have to make the decision or when their parents start playing the guilt trip on them, they may just give in to their parents' wishes. So you'd have to be firm and tell him your concerns. Why spoil a cordial relationship?

My take is that once you live on your own, you'd never ever want your in-laws to move in
with you.

Good luck, Hui. Hope you can strike a compromise with your hubby.

Hi hui,
Your MIL really sounds scary wor, especially the part that she could bear to kill such cute animals.
Btw i think it's better not to reveal anything to your mil 1st. Have a good talk to yr hubby and see if he agrees to your suggestions. If he agrees, better let him talk to his mom personally.
Actually i think Serene's idea is very good too. Hacking of the wall... If next time have a bb, then build a partition wall...Or perhaps by then u wld want to upgrade to bigger flats le.
Lastly, as for the upbringing matter, i actually seen two siblings brought up in different places, really have bery big difference in manners wor. The one brought up by in-laws is more demanding and selfish, but the other one placed in childcare is more gentle and knows how to share....But different people may have different outcomes ba....
Hope u can solve your prob soon

i didn't know many of you had replied this thread... sorry for my late reply....

Serene... how come your sister's PIL so terrible... can forget to bring kids to school? I tink my PIL also will spoilt my kids to the maximum which i scared too.

Diana, ya... i think the best way is to procastinate bah... i tink i will just tell my hus that i dun want to stay with his parents, if dun work, i will just say i want 2 years of Er Ren Shi jie to settle down and enjoy first.

Minolta... Ya u are right.... we have our rights to have er ren shi jie.... once you have your flat, maybe you can tell ur PIL that you intend to keep a room for Study room and a room for kids room... this is wat i intend to do...pray hard....

Janica and Jue... i have the same feeling as you... if she stay with us, i think i can never have any chance to use my kitchen!!!! And if i use, she will comment this wrong that wrong...

Faith... i really pei fu you that you can stay with your PIL 15 years... The thought of staying with them nearly make me not wanting to get married.... I had seen how my mum and my grandma get along and have conflicts all these years, i really scared liao....got phobia...Same as your case, my hus is the youngest... and the elder brother also never offer the parents to stay with them.... whatsmore , the mum dote on my hus the most... so i think she hope to stay with him.

Snow... I also think that bringing kids to childcare centre is better than letting PIL take care... because my PIL dun really know how to teach the correct things to small kids... CHildcare center at least allow kids to mingle with one another... next time the kids grow up won't be too anti social. (one more thing, my hus is very anti-social)

Jan Jan... ya... never agree to stay with PIL.

hi all.... know this thread on PIL... just digressing abit... what if it is ur own mother?

if it is only u n ur mother. I am the only child & my parents are divorced.... n ur fh n mother cant get along, would u still let ur mother stay with you?

in my point of view.... if my hus is willing to allow my parents to stay with us, i will definitely let my parents stay with us.... if not, i dun want them to stay together and suffer also, if they stay together, they would only quarrel and be miserable if they can't get along... however, i will try to buy a flat nearer to my parents and visit them at least 3 times a week. this is my point of view.

but right now, my parents are quite understanding in the sense that they ever mention to me that they are not willing to stay with their children in future, for fear of conflicts with son in law and daugther in law.

Angela, I agree with you that the decision to live apart is even harder when your mother-in-law is either divorced/widowed and your spouse is the only child or the only other sibling is either not willing to live with her or has emigrated. This is exactly my situation and that is why I have been living with my MIL for so many years now although I really hated it. This goes the same if the wife is the only child and the husband has to live with the wife's widowed/divorced father/mother. But in general, it's easier for men to live with their wife's family as they don't quite bother about cleanliness/housework and other domestic stuff.

If faced with such a situation,I would, in order of priority, do the following:

1. Find a granny flat - those that HDB built many years ago intended for this purpose. Couple in one flat and parents or in-laws in adjoining flat. Both flats have separate entrances but an adjoining door. There is at least some privacy; better than living under the same roof.

2. Buy two flats in the same block or next block. Near enough for any emergencies but far enough for some privacy.

And if money is not an issue; buy two apartments in the same condo (studio apt will do for parents/in-laws)or a landed property with a separate annex for parents/in-laws. Wishful thinking. Perhaps I should start buying 4-D.

i understand how hard it is to live with MIL.b4 i got married,i used to stay over at their hse on wkends and i found her quite nice but abit naggy.after i married and stay at their hse for 7 mths,it turn into a nightmare.his mum want to invade into all my life:nag at me not to wash my hair everyday,dun blowday my hair, why my nails cut until so short,what i eat at lunch everyday that everytime got sore throat.their family is super healthy,only got plain water and milk at home.no soft drinks,no titbits, no microwave oven,no hotpot nor hot flask.it's like living in the 70's where there is no electical applicances.bec of her constant nagging,i dun even there to eat titbits, drink soft drinks,nor even cough in front of her.i feel like i hv totally lost my integrity as a human being.no tv to watch bec my idiot hubby dun even hv a tv point in his rm!in order for her not to hv a chance to nag at me, i keep my mouth shut n not talk to her at all.her own daughter can't keep talk 10 sentences to her bec she is so pissed off with her mum's nagging.i tink why i keep falling sick was bec i was so stressed by her nagging and her constant scrutisination.i was so stressed out that i wld burst out crying in public when i got too agitated complaining abt her to my hubby.luckily i finally got my own hse and got out of that living hell!i m more sane now and no longer fall sick.

one last advise,do stay over at yr bf's hse for some time and observe yr bf and his family (wkends stayover not counted)b4 deciding whether to stay with yr IL.i hv a gf who is malaysian and stay with her bf's family 4 sometime.she said she was glad she did or else she wldn't c whether she can get along with his family n their habits.in the end, they broke up.better to c now than getting a rude shock later afetr getting married.

hello sleepygal

why do you think weekend stayovers not counted? Also, how does one approach in staying at bf's house for a long time before getting married? Won't it reflect badly on the girl?

My weekend stayover at bf's house is already at the limit of my parents. Also, I dun think bf's mum would like it too. And staying together with bf's mum after married is not a choice.

At this point of time, i admit i do have reservation of getting married. Because i am not just marrying my bf, but his entire clan *_*
I am not exactly convinced too, that love can conquer all....

I totally agree on PIL will nvb be the same as yr own parents...

Ladies, i think im really in trouble...My hub is from a single parent family...the hse he's living is rented under his & MIL name...nw we gt a flats selection from HDB...i was so happy!!!

until i hear his mum saying pitifully "den where am i going to stay???"my hub gt a elder bro but havent gt his own flat yet...but his mum is insisting of staying with us...

i really dont noe hw to approach her in a tactful way...but i really dont want to stay with her...

pls guide me...HELP!!!

just wanna rant my frustrations here...

my hub comes from single parent, so he bought his previous house with his mum... now tat we have a new house, his mum is also staying with us plus his stepfather

firstly, his mum and stepfather has totally no savings of their own. although his stepfather works, his entire salary he gives to his mum to gamble. she is those type of people with no planning for future and consideration for others even her own son. she never ask if my husband has enough to pay for housing loan (last time took bank loan), and if he had money to do up wedding banquet or buy house furnitures etc.

the reason why she doesn't ask or 'care' about my husband is because she doesn't want him to question her back her gambling habits. so it is like 'u dun bother me i dun bother u' kind of relationship she wants to have with her own son. and she still dare to always claim that she owe her son 'debts' because she give birth to him and also she cares for him a lot etc

All these is so untrue because even my husband says that she is those type who got money can disappear from the house from morning to wee hours to gamble and only come back house to sleep and only when she gamble until that month allowance is gone then she will stay at home and pretend to be a good mother by calling my husband if he wants to come home for dinner, but she doesn't cook... at most she cooks 2 simple meals per week and she thinks her cooking is the best because when my husband and i cook, she will sneak around the kitchen to see how we cook and make comments and will also check upon us after our cooking and rearrange everything and clean up everything again to show us that we do not know how to cook and maintain the kitchen, and when i go back to the room she will take her food and add more soya sauce saying to my husband that what i have cooked got no flavour at all (i happened to walk into the kitchen when she said that and she looked sheepish immediately)

what is more irrating is that she likes to check on our stuff in our room as well. she will rearrange our personal belongings to her own liking, inside wardrobes, drawers, cabinets, table top items, gadgets, etc. my husband also mentioned that his coin box money is missing sometimes

there is totally no privacy because everything is under her scrutinization whenever she is not gambling!

she is so much of a control freak that even after i hung up the clothes to dry she will rearrange everything again. and no matter how clean we have wash the dishes, she will check them immediately we walk out of the kitchen, to the extend of refilling the water jug with water after every cup of water that we drank!!!

sometimes even when we are cooking very simple things like barley water or green bean soup, she will also want to take over from there and insist that we do not know how to cook.

basically she gives no room for my husband and i to move into the new phase of 'growing up' and growing in marriage

but at the same time, she always tell my husband that he has no one else to depend upon except himself and should provide financially to the family although he is already paying thousand plus for the housing, car, some house items, etc. all she wanted when she said that is to squeeze some money from husband to support her gambling hobby and also comparing that other people son can give their mothers so much and why couldnt he. my husband has always tell me that he feels that his mother is not understanding enough as a mother and she doesn't think back how she has never provided to him much since young because of gambling and running from debts and he only has a proper house when he started working and bought his own house and paid with his own money. and when he sold his house the mother still want to have a share in it making stupid claims that she has contributed a few times to the housing earlier when my husband cpf was running low at a point of time. twice when he sold the house, his mother wanted money for gambling. she doesn't calculate in that her own son needed money to renovate the new house and buy new furniture and electrical appliances all because she claims that this is spoilt and that is spoilt, new house must have this thing new and that thing new, etc

sometimes when my husband and i communicated in mix english-chinese, she will think that she knows what we are talking about and interrupt us, usually when we talk about money and she tinks that i complain to my husband that i have to contribute to the household and she will say something like my money will surely get it back, which makes my husband and i very irritated by her bossiness

the most recent time was when my husband and i were discussing about the future housing payment since economy is so bad now(because we are both self-employed and contribute to our own cpf), we were thinking which is better to pay for the housing should our savings run low. whether by cash or cpf because cpf still must spilt into medisave and special account so must contribute even more in order for ordinary account to have the same amount to the housing loan than cash, so his mother interrupt again and say if cpf not enought just need to take a few hundred cash each month to top up for the housing. this is such a stupid statement because unlike employees, our cpf is not contributed by company but by ourself with our own money, it is like left pocket is our money and right pocket is also our money, so cpf is like our cash as well, if we have not enough cpf money that could mean that for that particular month we did not have enough cash to contribute to our cpf and so how to have extra cash. anyway explain to her many times and she still can say it is the same and cpf will sure have money as long as company contribute cpf. she doesn't understand 'company' now is 'us' because self-employed. but all these frustrations is because she thinks she is very smart and wants to have a say in everything and she also wants to 'reassure' us so that we won't ask her to cut her gambling and contribute to the household instead.

we both felt that she is very selfish, doesnt care about the family or if we will have enough money for the family as a whole because they dont have savings to cover themself for old-age medical also, and also she doesn't care that her own son is 30++ already and will want to have own children someday

hi all,I've a problem. been ROM for 5 mths, currently staying apart
till flat arrives. before
e ROM all ok, my mum find my wife ok nice etc.
but recently she's been behaving really strange

my mum's been out of touch with society for many
years & is dependent on e children for daily needs.

we've been trying to cultivate independence
in her by encouraging her to cook if she dun buy.

it seems that she's reluctant to even do that,
even e bread i buy for her has leftover recently.

i spoke to her on this issue & she probably took
offence. she called me up at work today asking me
to return the balance of the chicken essence my
wife had bought for her last year, even enquiring
if there's loose bottles of it for sale to make up
for the bottles she already had.

I tried to have a good talk with her after work.
explained my reasons for asking her to have her
meals on time etc, ie. in future my house will
be quite a distance & it's simply not possible
to cook/buy back everyday, even my sibling won't
be able to do that either with work commitments etc.

I never said I'm abandoning her.

Tried to enquire on the chicken essence issue,
only to be met with a ridiculous reason. she
commented that my wife had bought the chicken
essence to return e "favor" of buying e "si
dian jin" for her?! she also requested that
she be informed in advance if my wife were to
visit (to clean up e place).

The worst issue was for CNY, she told me to
go out with my wife, while she & my sibling
go on their own.

I mean what is this? jealousy or don't wish
to let go. I told her one is my mum, one is
my wife, if there's anything unhappy, speak it
out. she just brushed me off with being hungry.
I'm really troubled.

Just stumbled across this thread which caught my attention. From the long listings of postings.
Not whehter this thread is still active though.

I'm amazed some endured 15 years, whereas i'm only endured for 4 years, 8 if including ROM years, i'm quite nothing compared to them.

fish-out-water:
I have the similar problems with my mil last time.
Anyway, i feel that your mother is using anything spark attention from her children, in this case using chicken essence. Are you the last child who is going to get married and 'leave' the nest? if so, that explains why out of sudden she have this kind of reaction. She realised after so many years of cultivating her children, her children is now flying out of the nest and have their nests on their own leaving her alone... sort of like, she's lost of what to do... But, have she got any conflict or sudden dislike of her daught-in-law which is your wife recently?

Personally, can't give much advices because i have my own mil problems too. Try this though, because it used to work once on my mil, is to encourage your mother to re-join the society instead of sitting around at home doing nothing (but housework), volunteering, attending courses in CC, etc.

I'm e only son & eldest sibling. my younger sister is not married yet. I'm not sure if it was e 1st get together dinner between 2 families before e ROM tat caused this. my sis was showing a black face & being in e wrong, my mum still defended her & claimed my wife's side family members were late & showing faces also. (ta's not being reasonable !)

I think it's e reminder of asking her to take care of herself, must eat all those stuff also.
she refuse to "rejoin" society, it's not like i've never tried. sigh......

My husband is the only child. so does i. no wonder similar behaviour.

This sounds quite bad, the 2 families are already showing black face before you two even got near to marriage, cannot imagine when you have to hold your big event.

It is understandable that you are in the middle, one is your mother, one is your wife. Also, i can see your wife's difficulties and unhappiness because i, too, face similar problems. I think you have to choose a side and continue with yuor life... else it is going to be very difficult for you... and your wife.