Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
Hi, anyone who had your ROM at the poolside alrdy? Im interested to know how many pax can the poolside hold.. Signed up the package w Merchant Court that comes w the free ROM at the poolside but i'm afraid i have more guests than wat the poolside can accommodate..

I just had my rom there, the total pax that i have is abt 60.
Its reli up to u to have how many pax, its just tat ur guest mind to stand a not tats all, as the seating capacity is abt only 50 pax.
hope that helps.

Anyone noes that their latest theme for dinner?

Gals, cos mine is at 7pm so might be a bit diff in the coolness, the time tat i reach is abt 7.10pm, which is not hot at all, but oso no sunset lar.
Plus there is fan at the pavilion.
To me its still alright as tat day its a cloudy day.
Hopes this helps.

I'm shortlisting SMC as one of my choices too. but the min is 35 tables for weekend. anyone manage to bargain for lower min?????

=( the Ellenborough Market Cafe is having some crab promotion during the period of my ROM, and the price would increase by more than $20 per pax for lunch buffet! =( it's way beyond my budget, but my guests are already informed of the ROM venue n lunch thereafter... my rom is in nov...

sigh.. now i'm wondering how... =( on one hand also don't wish for the old folks to walk/transit to another venue for lunch, but on the other, it's beyond the budget... (and most of our guests prob wont eat crabs!!!)

i'm whining..haa.. anyone encounter the same issue as me here?

Hi Shanna maybe u wanna try it at their event on 31/10/10? cos normally they will give in more when they have event.

Hi Stephanie, I guess u cannot have best of both world, is either $ or walk.
Similarly like u, I have my rom on a ph eve, so all promotion(for me its 4pax for the price of 3pax, which can safe a lot) do not apply, and we have to pay much more. still we held it there and i have no regrets abt it.
If u reli do not have the budget then maybe have to change a venue/check wif ur coordinator see if they have other buffet menu to set for u in a ballroom maybe/maybe u can use the blue potatoe?

sigh... initially we were okay with the price for the buffet, and budgeted for it... now with the sudden increase in price (from $33++ to $52++), don't know how to manage it... not really worth it also because i don't think my friends (Esp the girls) would be eating CRABS (unglam! haha)...

yeh waiting for the coordinator to get back to me on some alternatives... =(

Anyone managed to negotiate more than the terms they offer?

Cuz I cant get anything more than their terms lei.

Francis is drafting my contract already and I'm meeting him this Sat to sign the contract. Anyone has additional tips?

btb: i tried asking but she mention cannot cos they only hv one wedding per night, so not possible..and also, the date i want is alr taken up! =X

sumitao & btb: thanks! yeah...of coz have a few photos (from my friends) but official photographer will take a while I suppose since he has 2 days of photos to process! Can PM if u wanna check out some photos. Had the solemnization ard 6+ so yeah...so it wasn't dark yet~

Absolutely J: it's pretty hard to get any more than their terms but they do offer perks during wedding shows.

hmm...best to put baby chair with the 10 pax rather than 1 additional adult.

Don't be too nervous, enjoy yourself on that day! =P

I will have my solemnization wedding buffet dinner by the poolside/restuarant on 12 Nov 2011. The quote i got from SMC (Lidia),the cost for venue rental is $788 nett, buffet per pax is about $40++. Anyone knows what are their cost of having wines/beers? As they only indicate free flow of soft drinks, coffee and tea leh...

Im not going to hold banquet wedding, prefer to keep it small, but seems like the wedding guests list keeps adding up

Hi Shannon,

I'll be having my AD on the 12 Nov 2011 at SMC

will be doing my ROM in May at the poolside followed by buffet at Ellenborough Market Cafe. Is ur 40++ buffet at Ellenborough Market Cafe? Cos I've yet to check up the buffet pricing. :P 12 Nov 2011 is like such a hot date.. i know 3 other ppl getting married on that day :P

oh.. Btw, capacity for the poolside solemnization is rather small rite? Im actually having headache for my ROM too cos the place cannot really accomodate a lot of ppl and am worried abt the weather too.. hiaz..

I decided to forgo the SMC poolside wedding as i have 150 pax guests on my list now, they cant cater that much ppl.. And yea the 40++ is the price of the Ellen dinner buffet on a weekend.. I have 3 other frens having wedding on that same day too lol!

Hi BTB of SMC,

I've cfm my ROM on 6th March 2011 and AD 17 mArch 2012 with SMC.

Waiting for coordinator to draft contract.

Love the poolside and ballroom

Hi Phoebe,

can share the additional perks in ur packages?

SMC dun seems to be able to offer more.

But i simply love the poolside.

IS ur ROM in day or evening? den proceed to cafe to eat?

Was told that the theme is blue for poolside

Hope it's nice.

btw, how's ur preparation already?

i'm getting excited!!

U can PM me. I can send u my additional perks & some photos of the poolside deco cos my coordinator actually sent me some photos & i was there at there bridal show early this year so i saw the actual set up~ it was a nice blue but im not into blue so maybe i was thinking to buy my own sashes... they say its ok they can help me put up.

My ROM is in the evening, yup after that my guests will proceed to the cafe for dinner but March there is some crab promotion so i think the price is higher then usual but if im not wrong, HSBC credit card i think u can get some %.

My preparation is almost done, only left the guestlist fo AD & some misc. kekek~~

Hi Pinkpiglet,

i tried to send you a PM but seems that u cant accept any PM. Do you want to provide me with your email address here? or you can drop me a PM with your email then i can send to u ~~ = )

Hi, can you recommend me your coordinator from SMC? I've emailed to Lidia, but strangely the package she sent me are for 2010, and she told me the package for 2011 is not finalize yet. And when i asked her when will it be out, she didn't get back to me, i tried to email her 3 times, but still didn't hear from her. So probably i shall approach other coordinator instead. Thank you.

Hi all im new in this thread... Recently i went to SMC to check out the wedding package. The coordinator I met was Huixian. Both my htb and I feel that she is very inflexible! She doesn't allow us to change anything
when we requested to talk to her senior, she said she is senior enuff and can make any decision. We are also not able to choose other coordinators! Maybe they have too many customers to even bother to offer good service... sigh... We really like the place due to it's location and $$. However, now we are looking for other alternatives....
Has anyone out there deal with Huixian before?

Hi cottonsweet,
HX is oso my coordinator, we love her, we had our rom and she did a great job. everything is set up before we got there and she is also there for almost the whole time to ensure things r going gd.
Maybe she had a rough day, my guess.

What kind of changes r u looking at? their things r pretty fixed if u have read the pervious posts.

Hi Cottonsweet, I didn't book the place as we are looking for outdoor venue, but we do like the poolside area though. HX is the one who assisted us, she is pretty alright. I've seen 5 venues in person and spoken to at least 20 coordinators from hotels, i really think she is one of the better ones i've met and communicated with so far. If you and your HTB really like the place, try to talk to her again.

Those who had your solemnization at the poolside, how many guests did you have? I'll be having mine in May but i have headache over the amount of guests that i should invite. Anyone care to share their experience?

i had 20. But I think the poolside should be able to take at least 30 guests sitting down. Others can stand as the ceremony won't be that long.

Hi btb and priceless, actually we are already done with our solemnization.. So We do not need the pool and was thinking if we can exchange for a night stay. It could not be done.. We also requested to get an additional night stay by converting dayroom into the night stay. Most hotels are negotiable on this part but she said not possible. We could not feel friendliness with her, she seems very rigid and inflexible on the terms. My friend has signed up with another coordinator. But this coordinator is very nice as whatever HX said cannot do, she can. ( i have asked my fren who is a wedding planner to negotiate with her). Therefore we requested for a change of coordinator but was also rejected...
my hubby really don't like this kind of customer service ... Sigh.actually the package is really attractive for those who finds all items they need included in it.. However, I personally feel they should have some flexibility..

Hi cottonsweet,
for the room is not an overnite room? hmm gotta check the contract again.
For the bridal room is a no no unless they have no other wedding on the next day cos they onli have 1 or 2 bridal suite. so they cannot afford to extend the suite. thats wat i noe.

Hi lemon_ice_sky,

My coordinator actually sent me some photos of the poolside set up & from the photos i can see about 40 chairs (20 on each side) so I am planning to imvite abt 40 guests as well, anything more then that it will look cramp & guests need to stand~

Hope it helps~

I just received news that Hui Xian is leaving and the person taking over will be Lidia, any comments on her service??