Merchant Court Swissotel

fifteenmay

Hi Brides who have gone for their food tasting or after banquet, can you recommend what are the good dishes of SMC?What did u choose for your cold dish platter?Please advise

bride__groom

SMC having wedding showcase on the 27 June 2009.

Special Perks:
- Cash rebates of $28nett per table
- Free flow beer And wine
- Free Cupcakes during cocktail

slyz

Hi Btbs,

am frantically finding a hotel for my wedding. Initially already reserved 2 locations but now, my guest list is getting bigger and have to look for a bigger ballroom.

Headed to intercon as 1st choice but the perks were low, then we went to conrad, better perks but realised we need more tables. now, im so close to december09 and we havent found a venue.

Wer're currently looking at the last 2, Grand Corpthorne and Merchant court.

Can anyone give me more comments about merchant court pls? do they give good perks, or is the bridal suite nice? are they hospitable? what are their wedding favours? thanks!

bride__groom

Hi Sam,

Agree with Kelvin. For Dec 09, I think Merchant Court are left with very few dates. You can call the wedding planner at 6239 1767 to check on the dates.

candymix

anyone knows what is the wedding perks given on 27 june for their wedding show?

is it applicable for their later half 2010 weddings?

rebeana

I notice this trend is alittle slow moving.. Any idea why?

They have a upcoming wedding how.. Anyone knows about it? Wat was their previous wedding show perks like?

ruachgall

hey all

the hotel now allows me to transfer my wedding package to anyone who is keen to hold their wedding in the month of dec 09...

email me at [email protected] if u r interested to take over ya

attractive perks and price is negotiable!!!

strikingreality

I think they have a lunch package but they dun openly promote it.

Went for the wedding show today. I like the service, cuz the staff are really friendly and willing to help. The food was pretty decent too. I like the oriental set up... very good for a Ye Shanghai theme.

keri_yong

I just went to see SMC's ballroom. I like it. But I find their toilets not hotel-like. Its looks unglam.... Do anyone feel the same? I might be dropping SMC in the shortlisting because of their toilets.

suimitao

Hi, we've booked SMC during the wedding show. Our initial preferred date is 11 dec 2010 but it was taken so we've gt to change a date. Anyone here took that date? Looks like SMC is quite popular becos also of the dates were taken, but yet this thread is rather quiet.. Anyone booked a date with SMC during the wedding show too?

suimitao

next year end of year. Their lunch is 750nett. but the menu is different from the dinner. Dinner one looks more interesting.. hope lunch is also nice.

suimitao

hehe mine will be in Nov. Wad abt u? Do u need the lunch package? if so i can send to u. Do you have other short-listed places in mind? Wondering if there is any SMC brides here to share experiences or any btb who went for food tasting, can share how is it?

angstar

oh... mine also in nov at 1st but too bad cant due to sum reason. Oh I haf the package... thanks!... grand park city hall is another consideration.

kaelyn

we managed to book dinner on 24 jul 2010 during the wedding show..it was a last min decision but lucky it's still available. =p I think the perks are really good, reception area is huge and exclusive, size of ballroom gives me a comfortable feeling. But i agree the toilets near the ballroom are not what i expected from a swissotel hotel..

another thing that's bothering me is the cramped walkway to the poolside pavilion during solemnization. Isn't it weird that my dad can't walk with me to the pavilion? can anyone enlighten me? thanks

suimitao

hmm i did not went to the toilet but my htb say it is ok, not that bad... Kaelyn, i guess u can ask the co-ordinators abt your worries, there must be a way of doing it.

fifteenmay

i just had my wedding banquet on the 26th Sept at Merchant court.Holding it at Merchant court is the best decision.
Food was great, coordinator was there to oversee things, own reception, bridal suite was huge, my guests all had great reviews.

kaelyn

congrats fifteenmay!!

i did ask huixian about that during my first site visit but she merely nod to my query without giving suggestions..i'll try to ask pris then.

fifteenmay

hi all, thanks for the congrats.
i am still sorting out the photos.will upload soon
Took the oriental theme cos i love the roses.
KAE,wat did u ask Huixian about?
My coordinator was Rebecca but she left 3 weeks before my wedding and Serene who is more senior took over.

kaelyn

i was asking her about the cramped and zigzag walkway to the poolside pavilion for my solemnisation..the width is so small that I worry my WG train may drop into the pond partially. and my idea is to walk in with my dad from the back, but now i have to walk in from the side and most probably by myself. the poolside ambience is good tho. i don't see any SMC brides being concerned with such problems for their poolside ROM..am i thinking too much? haha

i love the oriental romance theme too! can't wait to see your photos..

suimitao

Hi Antz,
I've emailed u the lunch package. During the wedding show they offer free flow of wine or beer for lunch package, for dinner i think is free flow wine and beer. and there is cash rebates, but i find their rebates too little.

I forgot to ask them abt the service, the ratio is how many staff to table? and whether do the staff portion the food out for the guests or do they just leave the food on the table for guest to fight?

antzc

Thanks Suimitao!
Wow...good that there is free flow wine leh, seldom hotels will give such good perks for lunch. Too bad i missed the wedding show. any idea when will their next wedding show be?
Is the Swiss Business advantage room a bridal suite?

suimitao

Hi Antz, maybe u can arrange a meet up with the coordinator and negotiate, they should be able to give u the same perks as the wedding show. For lunch package the room is not suite.

kaelyn

Anyone like to take over a wedding banquet on 24th Jul 2010(sat)? we signed up at the recent wedding show with very gd perks but decided to postpone AD due to flat delivery date.

paid $3000 deposit and willing to let go at $2500. not sure if the package is transferable at this point of time as I haven't discuss with the coordinator yet..please email me at [email protected] with your contact details.

genuine enquirers only please..not for those who wants to compare packages. thanks!

antzc

anyone here has held wedding lunch with SMC and had only host the min. 25 tables? Does it look very bare/empty with only 25tables as i understand that the max is 50?? Need advise on this! Thanks a zillion!

suimitao

Hi im gg to have 25 tables only..i dun think it will look empty but will be much more spacious, which i feel is a good thing. im going to MC this week to sign the official contract!

antzc

Hi Suimitao,

Had gone down to SMC but unfortuantely they didnt want to extend the perks to me. *sigh* Any idea when will their next wedding show be? Btw, when is ur AD?

antzc

Thanks Suimitao!
Oh...very far hor! If wait until then, not sure if there will be any increase in prices, somemore date may not be available (not yet fix my AD date). Probably ard nov 2010 too.
Have u sign up a BS? Which one u sign up with?

suimitao

ya if u wait till the next wedding show will be abit late.. unless u wan to ask them to reserve a date for u first, wait till wedding show then book, duno isit workable or not haha. Yup i got a BS already. Sbroadway at AMK