Merchant Court Swissotel

phaffia

Thanks sapphire for your feedbacks.

Other than the hiccups, hope you've enjoyed the rest of your AD.

oh.. seems like they really had a bad sound system.. read somewhere in the past posts n there were also comments about their sound system.. now i'm thinking twice if i shd shortlist MC now..

precious_11

Hi phaffia... how big is the suite? considering having my banquet there.. and am arranging to view the place this week...

Was it 1 server to 1 table?

Thanks for sharing..

phaffia

Great to hear that sapphire!

Hi Cher, think your questions are best referred to sapphire, not me. Hehe. I have not gone through with my AD yet.

Think I will ask about the PA system when we meet up with Rebecca the next time. Btw, has anyone contacted Rebecca these days? She seemed to be 'very busy' and not able to return her calls. Hubby has been trying to get hold of her for the last two days.

honeybeemel

833425.jpg

833426.jpg

833427.jpg

Hey Cher, have a look at the pics.
Cant rem isit 1 server to a table BUT there were many food trolleys around until i have trouble moving about during phototaking.

And 1 recommendation, prepare ur own songs thru out the dinner...their songs cannot make it...music only and very soft...hear liao wana sleep. haha

Hey phaffia,
oh no ur turn having prob getting the coordinator.
they dun give u their hp no til the few days b4 ur wedding. you will have to keep calling, leave msg and email!!!

precious_11

Oh yeah... 1 other question... what were the additional perks during the wedding show in Sept? I couldnt go in the end coz i was on a biz trip

So some kind soul pls share with me.. thanks muchies!

jewelnjack

Maybe someone should highlight to Merchant Court that their PA system is really bad.
I think constant complain they bopian will upgrade better PA system be... ...

jewelnjack

Anymore gals just went thru your AD with them & have such problems??? I already signed up with them in October lei. Then heard such feedback abt them really dissapointed lor.

sharon, not to worry cos im sure most of us have aldy feedback to our coordinator.. Rebecca did mentioned that they will look into this.
I had my rom during sep last yr and didnt encounter any prob wif the sound system..fingers cross tt everything will be smooth for my AD on 28dec...

jewelnjack

Hi Evisu, thanks for your email. Your AD is on 28 of Dec.... so happy for you. Hopefully everything goes smooth for you on your special day. Hows was their service last year during your ROM?

phaffia

I am about to go for my food tasting and am in a dilemma to choose the food in the 1st dish. Would you ladies mind giving me suggestions or your votes as to which ones are good? Thanks in advance.

* Prawn Salad
* Shark's Fin Omelette
* Seafood Roll
* Jellyfish
* Money Bag
* Mini Octopus
* Vegetarian Spring Roll
* BBQ Pork Coin
* Top Shell
* Roast Duck

They did a good job for my rom. Was very pleased with the enhanced deco for my solemnisation @ e poolside. Jus hope that everything will be very smooth for my ad..

skyea

Hi phaffia,

I had the following selections for my 1st dish:
* Prawn Salad
* Shark's Fin Omelette
* Seafood Roll
* Jellyfish
* Roast Duck

I thought the dishes were quite tasty and i especially liked the shark's fin omelette.

jewelnjack

Hi Ade,
Is there any problem with their service or PA system? Hope they are good. Btw which package did you take. Any photos to share with us?

phaffia

Thanks Ade! I was initially contemplating if I should choose the omelette because the next dish will be shark's fin soup. But think I'll choose that one since there's a stamp of approval. hehe...

skyea

Hi jewelnjack,
Their service was generally ok and i heard from my guests that the food portion was generous. I'm not sure about the PA system as our live band brought in their own sound system. Mine was the weekend package, but the prices are different now.

Hi phaffia,
You're welcome! Do try out the dishes yourself to decide if they are good. Enjoy your food tasting!

denise_0704

The money bag and prawn salad are good!!! I'll suggest tat u choose that..

My AD was last Sunday(30.11).. No problem with sound system.. and good feedback from my guests that service is fast, food is good :D

Ade>> Urs was on 26.11??

phaffia

Hi Ade,
Thanks very much. Looking forward to it.

Hi bubb,
Thanks! We chose the money bag too.
I recalled someone saying the same thing over this forum. Hehe. It's also good to know that you've have good feedback from your guests.

baosy_87

i'm new in this thread. i'm short listing merchant court hotel for my AD in 2010. I had been sending emails to them but till today, no response. I manage to get the 2009/2010 package from singapore brides.com.

I personally like MC very much cos of the food. Any one of you have the wedding package and ROm solemnisation package for 2009/2010?
Pls email them to me at [email protected]

princessxue

Hi Jeslyn,

U can use the wedding package details from Sinngapore Bride. The wedding package details i have is the same as the one at Singapore Bride. Who did u send email to??

baosy_87

DEar Princessxue,

I just send the package to the hotel under the email given in brides magazine lor.

I will be making an appt with Joys once their 2010 package is out cos i'm looking at 2nd half of 2010.

However, I have checked thru some of the packages and as compared, the perks given by merchant court is definitely much much better then many other hotels. I think perhaphs, those who are signing with merchant court can ask for more carpark coupons, invitation cards, extra one day stay for couple, complimentary pre-dinner cocktial reception etc etc and see if u can get it from them.

My advise is if u have not decided which hotel u want, then check up those hotels that are of lowest priority first so u know wat they can offer u best and then go to the hotel u want last and see if they can give the same or even beter.

ruachgall

need a favour... i have sent an email to a general email address enquiring on date avaiability for my wedding but have not heard from them thus far.

can someone kindly provide me with a contact email address?

denise_0704

I would suggest that you call them up and ask them to email you the details coz the website email is international one.. and they might have overlook urs..

baosy_87

Dear Ruachgall,

I also email to the general mail. it took a while for them to reply as well. Finally after few days, some one from the hotel finally replied.

You can email to Chong Huixian, email as below
"Chong, Hui Xian (SMC)" [email protected]
Tel: +65 6239 1767
Fax: +65 6438 7203

Hope this helps. I have the 2009/2010 wedding package (valid untill 31/3/2010)
If you are looking for 2010 package, it will only be available after 9th Jan 09

Hope this helps. If u have need the package, can email me at [email protected]

ruachgall

hi jeslyn

thanks for the info... huixian did reply me... i m actually looking at end of 2009 for my AD... unfortunately seems like most of the weekends r all taken... sigh!!!

baosy_87

Ruachgal> I have not booked my AD with merchant court yet, still waiting for the 2010 package to be out cos my AD is 10 Oct 2010. Anyway it should be out after 9 Jan 09. I will see whether the perks are still the same or even better.
I intend to visit some other hotels i shortlisted and make merchant court my last visit. So that I can compare the ball rooms, the suites, service and etc etc.. haha.
I will be having my solemnisation at AMRARA hotel in 10 Oct 2009.
When is your AD?

ruachgall

hi jeslyn,

i was looking at end dec 09. Unfortunately, the date is already taken. hence, i would have to get my master to give me some other dates liao.. sigh....

jlee_lv

We had just had our wedding on 31st Dec 08 at SMC. It was a successful event and we had truly enjoyed ourselves that evening!

A big thank you to our coordinator, Rebecca Liao, who has put in the best effort in helping us to run the banquet smoothly. Her pro-activeness and friendly attitude has helped us to make or wedding dinner a success without missing out any details. Many positive comments from my satisfied relatives & friends on the ambience, food, service etc. You will not make a wrong choice in holding your wedding banquet in SMC and definitely the right choice to have Rebecca your coordinator! 3 Cheers to SMC & Rebecca

Lastly, we wish all the wedding couples-to-be of SMC all the best in your wedding preparation and have fun in the process!

shakingheads

Hi Joyce
Congratulations to you on your wedding.
I am considering to shortlist SMC as one of the banquet venues. Just wondering how was the sound system for your event since the earlier comments seem to be rather negative on that... could you kindly share... it's be wondering if you have any pictures to show us as well ... thanks !

cosyouaremygal

Dear all SMC bride to be and all who are considering SMC as their banquet venue, I just held my wedding on 10th Jan 09 at SMC!

It's all a great success!My coordinator is Rebecca Liao, very friendly and patient lady. No problem with the sound systems. Service staffs were friendly and helpful, food was great, no complaints from guest. Except that parking may be an issue which we already informed most guest before hand.

Other than that, it was filled with love and joy for the whole night!

Thank you to the crew of SMC!

baosy_87

cosyouaremygal> Congrats to u!
Can u share with me the photos taken at SMC on your wedding dinner? Can you also give me the contact of your co-ordinator Rebecca, cos i been trying to contact JOy, but cant get her.

manta05

hi, am considering Merchant court. Can any recent brides shared what they managed to negotiate in the package with the hotel?
We are asking for 2nd night in bridal suite and it was a straight 'no' even though our wedding is on a week night? Appreciate if anyone can share what they managed to negotiate on the package. Comments to [email protected]. Thank you

precious_11

Hi Sammi,

I ever asked them for 2nd nite too...but they cannot accede because i think they only have 2 of such suites in the hotel... hence, if they allow 1 more nite, they run the risk if not having a suite for another couple...

cherie81

Seem like nobody know if priscilia is still at MC.... Perhap she left already thats y nobody knows.

How are you ladies going to solve the shortage of carpark problem? Which are the alternative carpark?

missylois

Hi there...

Good to hear favourable feedback!

I will be holding my AD on 09.02.09.. hope everything will be just fine.

My coordinator is Priscilia. I do agree she is difficult to gyet in touch with via phone. you can try emailing her, she is pretty prompt in replying her mails. She will adefinitely get in touch with you when the dates draw nearer ;)
As far as I am aware, Priscilia is on leave 2day.

If short of carpark, try the central. carpark is pretty cheap there... S@2/50 per entry if i am not wrong ;)

Hi All, i'm new to this. I have just signed my package with SMC today!!! i do hope that everything will turn out well. anyone has any advice to share on what to look out for?