Merchant Court Swissotel

phaffia

Hi bubb and Kat,

Thanks for your feedback! It's good to know that the food is good. I was a little worried about it cos of feedbacks from friends who have attended recent weddings at SMC.

bopeep

well do note that the standard of the food for food tasting and actual day would definitely differ, coz quality control is inevitably harder when preparing for 35 tables as compared to say, 4 tables...

bubb, what dessert did you choose? mine was originally yam paste, but i want to change it but have no idea what would be nice coz no chance to taste already...

celinekam, pls contact MC to ask for their wedding packages for 2010, coz the price would definitely increase!

almo82

Hihi everyone,
I'm new to tis forum, but has been reading lot of it. I'm planning for early 2010 wedding.

I met Pris yesterday. She was great. The perks SMC offer are quite comprehensive plus the additional perks for the wedding show.
Oh~ beside the new themes that will be revealed during the show, there's gonna be inclusion of new designs of invitation cards.

The only issue I have with SMC is the aircondition. Some feedbacks from a bride last yr was that reception area can get very stuffy.
In fact yesterday while seated in the hotel lobby, I was wondering if the aircon is on.
Anyone has encountered similar issue?

fifteenmay

curious btb,
really? same invitation cards and favours? Rayston told me that there might be new ones so i was very excited... hm... ok.. their favors nots so many types right?

bopeep

i think the ballroom and reception aircon is ok. it is indeed true the hotel lobby is a little stuffy.

current wedding favours are groom/bride notepad OR carved rose candle. not sure if there will be new ones after the wedding show.

honeybeemel

hmm come to think of it, the hotel lobby really seems abit stuffy. But the room i went for food tasting is quite cold.

For the wedding favours used to have 2 red heart shaped shower gels but now it has phased out.
So i've chosen the rose candle.

curious_btb

fifteen may > i thot i heard that la, not too sure, but can find out during the wedding show

sapphire > no more shower gel meh? thot when i met up with Pris still hv or mayb i conveniently forgotten abt it

lets hope there are more wedding favours n invitations during the wedding show.

btw, anybody viewed the suite b4, i went twice but always occupied =(

denise_0704

Hi Sapphire and curious,

I'm lucky thou.. manage to view the suite before the next guest check in..

Very cottage feel.. esp the living room.. but room rather small.. toilet scatter with rose petals to welcome wedding couple..

Prisc actually suggested that I hold my solemnisation in my suite if I only have ard 20 pple to witness but i choose the function room instead ...

honeybeemel

Hi Bubb,

Thanks for posting the pics. hmmm not v nice leh...looks like a normal living room pic. of cuz cannot be compared to Grand Corpthorn Waterfront lo...hmmz
Do you have photos of the bedroom?

curious_btb

bubb tks for sharing the fotos. looks ok to me.

sapphire, mayb cos u dun like the cottage feel?

anybody gg for wedding show this sunday? actually what's there to see ah. 1 to 5pm so long.

denise_0704

sapphire - i dun have e bedroom pic coz is really just a normal bedroom kind.. haha

cherie - hmmm ya the color abit dull though.. maybe my skill not good la.. so pic dun turn out nic? :p but is actually not so bad ba... hmmm

cherie81

bubb> Dont think is your skill bad. In fact I thot was quite well taken. The living room like abit "tu". Lucky nv listen to pris to do my ROM in the rm. :p

Wow seem like everyone that has been to the wedding show are happy with it. Good Good. Dont have to worry liao.

curious_btb

hi everyone! ya went to wedding show as well, quite alot of ppl eh..but too bad nv won the GRAND pricE! envy that couple! hahaha. but i still won some White Link vouchers, if any one of u interested let me know, trying to sell off at discounted price as I have oredi signed my bridal package with other bridal studio.

i thot the suite looks not too bad already, of cos cant b compared with their sister company (swissotel stamford), but gd enuf, anyway only 1 night stay there, hopefully wont feel the differencE?

babyfaery

Hihi..I thinking of holding my wedding banquet at SMC too...Actually deciding btw Swissotel Stamford and this..Which is beta??? May I noe wat are the additional perks during the wedding show..Too bad we miss it...

honeybeemel

well gals, if you are getting your invitation cards soon, please check with pris carefully. Cus she did not give me proper details and end up i ordered the wrong amount of cards.
Ask her qns if you're unsure, to avoid any 'mishaps'...

honeybeemel

Hi fifteenmay,
Cuz the no. of cards in my pkg only provides 70% of the guaranteed guests. so she only send me the form to fill up how many cards i require. end up i order 70% lo...but i received lesser tracing(outer cover of card) than inserts. Doesnt make sense ma. So when i ask her she say "if im not wrong...etc"
anyway she says if i require extra can just get let her know....

denise_0704

Cherie>> ya she keep asking me to do my rom in e room also.. But i din.. so in the end I chose e function room instead...

Fifteen>totally agree! must change carpet.. haha

But the pic tat sapphire found.. the room in actual doesnt look so comforty.. :p and is rather small to me.. hmmm

fifteenmay

Dun think we will spend much time in that room as well. i think dun think so much and just enjoy that day.
Today is my negative one wedding anniversary! one more year to my wedding!

babyfaery

Hihi...i'm new to this thread....just sign up merchant court package last fri...heard that there are new themes... How u all find the themes??? =)

babyfaery

Raine: I didn't went to the wedding show but the coordinator told me cos they change new florist for next year so the theme will be changed. New theme is the oriental and romance theme. The one with doves and cages? She sent me a few photos.

almo82

Hi Babyfaery,
Oh, those are the 2 I saw.
I have to say btw the 2, oriental is actually nicer. The doves and cages are a little odd, but that's just my little opinion.
So when are you holding your wedding there?
Mine is on 17th Oct 09

babyfaery

Raine: Mine is on 13th Dec 09..thought a lot before finally settling on this venue.. hope it's nice..wat makes u choose this hotel??? Hmm...I only saw the pictures so I'm not sure which is nicer.. =)

almo82

Babyfaery: I attended a wedding there. The ballroom is very beautiful and grand with the high ceiling. I was enchanted, so was my fiance. So when he proposed, Merchant court was on the top of our list.

babyfaery

I see....I wanted Marina Mandarin... But it was book...so in the end had to choose SMC... so not our first choice... But the overall feel of SMC is oso nice.. =)

almo82

You wouldn't regret your choice ^_^
The only issue I have with SMC is the invitation cards. They are really not the nicest I have seen. We talked to the designated printer guys and they said if we wanna choose some other card designs from them, we have to pay the full charges. -_-

bopeep

I personally like the floral cards, chose the maroon and lilac ones, and had very good comments from friends, esp for the lilac ones.

babyfaery

Yupz...i saw that...i think tt one okie...but not sure if they will still hv it next year??? Tot they changing some? I don't like their ang bao box oso....not nice de...too oriental...i like those a bit like basket with flowers...noe whr to get them???

xiaa

hi sapphire,

i am under pris as well. i also got her out of office email. if i din rem wrongly, she was also on leave last week.

jingx

Hi, anyone knows who I can contact in Merchant court? I have sent an enquiry via their website, but there is still no reply from them.

honeybeemel

hi charlene,
ya not very impressed. When shes not on leave shes always away from her desk or at meetings. Y cant they give their mobile numbers?
My wedding is next week. Cant afford any mishaps.

hi nikko,
From what i know there is Priscilla and Rebecca.

honeybeemel

Just finished my wedding at SMC...afew comments for you ladies to take note.

Lousy sound system...most of the time too soft, sometimes got problem which sounds like the cable is loose? there was once where sudd very loud... all my guests got a shock.
when they played my 1st dish song its like the sound system spoil...doubt its my cd.

Played the wrong song during my 2nd march in...managed to change to the correct one after a few mins...but not too sure if it's hotel's fault.

Guest commented that the waitress served the 1st round of sharks fin and did not refill after that and cleared the bowl.

Displayed wrong spelling of my name at the electronic board at the lobby.

Suite bedroom toilet basin seems clogged...