Merchant Court Swissotel

eteh3

babyblues,
i hacent engaged mag yet.but she told me tog with another guy tt i can get back last yr's deco if i dun like this yr's.

rosepetals

hi babyblues and all,
i approached my coordinator for this yr's deco ( not vice versa) as i'm the "gan cheong" type..

anyway, i guess u hav to be more proactive when dealing with merchant court as their level of service is only average, so you can't expect them to "remember" all your requests...sigh..

They told me we can't have last year's deco as they have changed the contractor.

Trust me, this yr's deco is definitely better than previous ones. Anyway, do make appointment with your coordinator to view the real deco as it's hard to visualise from the pics. The stage deco with the chinese word "da" doesn't look that bad afterall...hehe

suetan

Was able to see the setup of the venue. I tink the red,gold n ivory theme quite nice. Recep area oso big n spacious. Will be seriously considering. Find the price getting more ex over the yrs. Andy was quite o, looks so young! Told him our requests, he said he will see what he can do, if we can confirm he will give us what we want on dat day on the spot...

Can anyone share what u all request? I n my hb dunno what to ask at the pt, end up my hb asks for everything kekkeke. My mum ept grumbling abt the fish...

wen21

RosePetals - I am VERY aware of the speed of Merchant Court... The things tt Mag promise me when i sign the contract.. never came unless I bug her again and again..
If it wasn't because I love their pool for my ROM, I will NEVER engage them..

Haiz.. Do they still have lily in their deco.. I waited 6 mths for Mag to get back to me on her deco.. I am still waiting..

I am deinitely gettin back to her soon cos my wedding date is gettin near.. but I am curious abt the letter..

can anyone pls forward me Liz's letter.. I want to know what happen so Mag would try anything funny...

wen21

Suelynn...

you can ask for free flow beer... unlimited wines corkage..

If ur mom is grumbling abt the fish.. she can interchange with any other types of fishes on the other menu available.. but bear in mind, u have to top up if ur mom choose a more ex fish.. and of cos there is no rembursement if she choose a cheaper one..
Any other dishes tt u would like to change, such as dessert, cold dish, style of cooking is FOC..

Basically u bargain for what u need..for eg. an extra room for ur coordinators or parents to stay for a night..

But do bear in mind that u always have the upper hand BEFORE u sign the contract with them.. AFTER, it's mostly no..

suetan

babyblues> my date is a monday so ald got free flow of beer n there is waiver of corkage for all wines n hard liquor.....Their package for 2007 after march is $30 more per table.....This fish no pt changing cos the top up is nt worth it lo, so i ask for change to eefu noodle

My hb tinks the shower gel favour looks very out of place....N he says if they dowan our business so be it...I met up with a new coordinator, Esther together with Andy. My hb prefers to work with guy coordinator, he said women more niao ahhaha!

Oh yah can anyone email me Liz's letter? I got worried...

wen21

suelynn> Hmm.. It actually depends on the person.. guy is easier to bargain with.. tt's wat i find.. gals like wat ur hubby said are very stingy and niao... harder to get what u want..

I agree that it is more ex to top up the fish but unlike u.. I have no choice.. my parents-in-law insisted so i had to top up another 30 per table..

I am also getting worried abt the incident that Liz had.. But no one is sending the letter out..

khim23

I haven asked Mag bout the new deco. Din contact her and neither did she called me ever since i signed up last yr. I saw the new deco from the pic posted on the archives by one of the brides in this forum. I haven managed to reach her so duno if can take back last yr's deco.

I think for those who prefer last yr's deco, we shld call our coordinators n bug them on the deco. If they see overwhelming request for last yr's deco, they shld seriously consider having it as an alternative. Most hotels have like 2 themes, usually garden n crystal. So y don MC offer both decos?

aiyoyo

will be going down next week to view the place. i will be meeting louis. any ex-MC brides worked with him/her before?

disneyland

I was wondering whether staff at Merchant court will close one eye abt bringing duty free liquor?? Anyone know?? Thanks!! Normally what kind of liquor we have to buy beside red wine?? Martell or X0??

mars78

i having my Wedding Oct at MC too. Can anyone forward me the letter? email:[email protected]
My Coordinator Andy Just resigned, and change us to Someone call Esther. Have not seen her, anyone know her?

cutiepooh

Hi Mars

Your wedding will be this yr Oct? My coordinator also used to be Andy and have not met Esther. Do share with me your experience with her when u meet her k!

mars78

Hi cutie,

Sure, but hope shes better than Andy, cos i dun really like Andy, i find that he's not that honest, only when we ask him info, he will reply us, other than that he will not provide more info so i find his service not that good.

cutiepooh

Thanks Mars!waiting to hear fm u soon!

Hmmm...honesty part didn't really hit us during our interaction but he is quiet blur and mess up stuff at times....we had to be very alert! Really hope esther will do a better job!

mars78

Hi Cutie,

Mangage to get thru this Esther, it's so frusting cos i dun have her number and i called MC, the reception doesn't know she exists, they put me thru to other section and in the end i demand them to put me thru to the Banquet for any Manager to look for Esther..well in the end i got the number and called her. I asked her when she intend to meet us as my Wedding is on 8 Oct she says maybe 1mth before that..i was shocked, that i haven even had my food tasting..i told her i wan to meet her to clarify things not till the last min..then she says maybe next week. Well, i think mayb u should check out and not to wait too long, when is ur Wedding? Pretty disappointed with the services..

cutiepooh

Hi Mars

Andy said that Esther will be using his ex-office number.

Regarding the food tasting and printing of cards and etc, should start like 3 months before actual day.

Maybe you should initiate to start calling her again in July to arrange for ur banquet stuff. Your 1st encounter with her really scary ya!seems like Esther is more blur than Andy ah???

My wedding is next yr....do let me know more updates abt ur interaction with her and what to look out for.......thks Mars!

aiyoyo

i went down to MC today and I am happy with the ballroom! been seeing posts bout esther. The guy who served me is louis. Any one worked with him b4.

I am looking at saturdays of march but all saturdays of march have been booked! goodness! din knwo MC is so popular!

flowerlee

Thks aiyoyo,

Most likely my AD will be in May 2007. Was thinking to hold my AD on the same day of my ROM, which I find quite meaningful.

R you holding at your AD at MC?

mars78

Cutie,

Think i am going to arrange to meet her on June cos this 2 weeks quite busy. Want to meet her bcos i dun feel comfortable that i duno who is my Coordinator and no contact at all. Seems floating in the air..Cos Andy is already my 3rd coordinator, now Esther became the 4th...**sigh**..Well, i will update after met up with her..

cutiepooh

Hi MArs

Wah 4th coordinator??? That's alot ya! Do u normally go meet the coordinators when you r informed of a change? I just signed my package w MC, so Esther is only my 2nd. I will be waiting for ur feedback after u meet her! Gd Luck!

Hi Aiyoyo

R u on TWP thread as well rite? hehe have u signed with them or went down to try the gowns? Any feedback abt TWp? I intend to go down to see and try the gowns soon...

aiyoyo

hi cutie!
yes im in TWP thread too! i haven signed up with them yet, but will do so after i have confirmed my hotel. Went down MC last night, like the place but all my preferred dates in march 07 are oredi taken up. *sob* when's ur AD?

cutiepooh

Hi aiyoyo

Mine is July next year....yup MC ballroom is nice but after reading about their service makes me abit worried. Update us when u settle ur venue!

merchelle

Its been awhile since i last come here.. hehehe.. anyway, after reading some of your posts.think i just like to share some thoughts of mine for my sis-in-law whom will be holding us next mth @ MC so that u gals can take into consideration or look out.

Upon siging with MC, the co-ordinator brought them to the bridal suite to take a look. Honest speaking, it was not so bad. Quite spacious and ok looking. But then, donnoe why their deco very china like.. overall, still acceptable lah. But then the bedrm seems small.

Next, we move on to the banquet ballroom. Huge and grand i felt. But design ermm.. not nice. It was very dull and funny part is, the projector screen is actually side way of the entire hall, not like others, which screen is at the stage there. Then abt the stage, ermm.. also quite bad.. they consulted the co-ordinator if they can do anything abt the deco, and was advised that new design is better than the old. Ok, we felt relieved after that. But then...

We went for the food tasting last mth, and to our disappointment, the food presentation are not nice and the taste so so only. It does not gave us the 'wow' feeling. The moment we saw the food, we were like huh!?! we turned to the manager and asked 'can u tell us what is this?' And the manager just replied.. well.. ermm.. and then he proceed to look @ the menu. wa lau.. If you tell me its a 4/5* hotel standard, we will not buy that lor. My Sis-in-law & her hubby feedbacked to their co-ordinator, but then the only replied they got is, the food display is standard, cant change much. Well.. what to do!?! haizz.. then co-ordinator allowed my sis-in-law to have a peep @ the ballrm (since another couple is having their wedding banquet on the same day), happily they thought that the deco will be nice as was advised earlier that new deco will be up. But then, disappoinment again. Looks very malay lor.. pls note that I'm have no intention of offending malays wedding hor. But then just that MC's stage deco can definately do better mah, if they wanna to create malays style, then by all means make it better lah..

But one thing to comment, their invites are nice. I personally like it when my sis-in-law showed me.

Overall, till now we shall says that MC's overall service still not so bad. at least my sis-in-law's co-ordinator still quite prompt. but then its just the deco and food presentation that needs to be improve lah. Well.. hoopefully, next mth, my sis-in-law will be a smooth..

Maybe some of you are puzzled, how come my sis-in-law's wedding and not mine (i had completed mine), how come i know all these. Well, coz i was there with my sis-in-law for the whole process and witnessed it. From booking of MC, all the way till now. Anyway, hopefully the above are helpful to you gals.

mars78

My Wedding will be in Oct in MC. Just got to know they change the deco to a new one from this thread..U were saying Malay as in..is it this deco? I find it ok, better than the last year which look like fishnet...lucky they change in time
374209.jpg
374210.jpg

merchelle

Hi Mars,

Yup.. something like that i'm refering. Sorry ah.. if i had offended you in any ways which i really have no intention for offending any1 for that i mentioned look like malay setup. as my sis-in-law also felt that way. I guessed it depending on individuls liking bah.. ;)

Anyway Mars, who's ur co-ordinator? Hows ur preparation so far?

mars78

No problem, I was offended but i am relieve its better than the fishnet..haha..

My Coordinator has changed to Esther after Andy Left, have yet to meet her..well i m preparing the guest list now and searching for march in songs, currently my tables have already reached 43, max is around 48. Well, i intend to meet Esther to talk abt some special request at the Reception. I intend to play some piano music during the Reception so that the atmosphere and ambience is better and more classic for the arrival of guest...What do u gals think?

merchelle

Hi Mars,

Wohaha.. u really make me sweat man to see your first posting that u r 'offended'.. sweat ah.. hehehe.. thank god.. u r not actually. hehe..

Wow.. u had alot of guests man.. but be siong leh.. anyway, I liked ur idea in playing piano songs to smooth the whole atmosphere @ the reception area. Guessed it will be please for your guests as well to hear that nice piano musics.
just need to take note of the vol which must be tactful. Coz if too loud, ple not able to hear each other while talking, but too soft, also cannot hear.

cutiepooh

HI MArs

Ur idea of playing music sounds good. Hope esther allows that! If she does, do let me noe

Yup I agree w Mars that the new decro looks quite presentable after all. At least the setup doesn't look empty like sm other hotels which I have visited.

mars78

Hi Cha Boh,

Thanks for ur valuable advice, will take note.
This idea was suggested in one of the magazine so i tot this idea is good..

Hi Cutie,
Will let u know after neg with Esther, hope there are no extra charges..BTW, did u think of anything special to suprise the guest? i mean one of my fd told me shes so eager to attend my wedding cos she thinks mine will be suprising so i m now cracking my brains what to impress..

merchelle

Hi Mars,

No worries.. Hopefully Esther agreed with your idea.
As for your surprise idea you are asking... ermmm.. does u and ur partner dance? Maybe u guys would like to dance your way in for the 1st march in? heard from one of my colleague, her friend wedding couples actually were so engrossed with Salsa and they included that into their weddings. Where they dance Salsa into the 1st march in. Nearly shocked most of the guests (in a 'wow' manner lah). hehehe..

I've attended another friend of mine. Whom he is crazy over motorbikes, their banquet actually allows them to ride their own bike way into the hall for their 1st march in. Before they ride in, the couple helpers are asking guests to make ways. We were like huh? why must make way. Then once things are in manner, the couples ride in with their bikes, where my friend, the groom as the rider, and his bride sitting behind. We will definately surpirsed and amazed with the whole thing they did. till now, it left us with deep impression.

I guessed it all depends on u and ur partner also to amaze ple with what or to share with them. Remember, do something both of you like and not what ple like yah. Coz we cant fullfill every1.

cutiepooh

MArs

Wish u luck in negotiating! Shdn't be a problem if they have a player and speaker there.

Haven't actually tot of my AD event coz is still quite smtime later. But Cha Boh ideas are interesting......guess smthing special got to be smthing personalised and unique to couple! Maybe start thinking fm wat u and ur FHB like best!

mars78

Thank U both for the idea and advice..will take note and think it thru..well now it's 5 mths away..getting abit excited..hehe

louisawee

Oh, Andy is leaving?? he seems like a nice guy, tho my sales person is not him, but I spoke to him a few times..

hmmm I guess those sales person in hotel move very fast. My galfriend booked her wedding 1 yrs ago and changed 3 sales.. hehe

ssu

Any couple juz had WD with MC like to share some comment? Being seeking neg remark recenly, was it really that bad?

ms10

Hi.
Can anyone send me the letter and clip of LIz?

I am considering MC as one of my hotels and am concerned about the recent negative feedback abt MC.
Can anyone advise me about which co-ordinator to turn to? Any details would be fantastic!

sandsand

i am helping my best friend source for a hotel for her AD in 2007... anyone mind telling me, what is the price range for a dinner at merchant court and doe the ballroom have any pilalrs?
please do PM me...

eliaw

From wat i know, there is no clip circulated at all. I also heard that the couple was compensated, but not sure wat.

Summary of the complaints raised by Liz:
1) Rm too far from lift.
2) Last minute testing of projector
3) During slideshow, no music played
4) Mic was faulty
5) Food tasting diff from actual
6) One aunt vomitted during dinner

Hi Cha bo,
Can i just ask a sensitive qn? Did yr sis-in-law breakeven for the wedding? my FH keeps thinking that we'll do quite badly, so i m rather worried. So just tot maybe hear from u. If not convenient, it's ok. my email [email protected]

Hi aiyoyo,
The prices u stated, are for 2006 or 2007 bookings?