Merchant Court Swissotel

moarie

sulynn

GCW is also a nice place lor.. worth looking at..
MC would definately need a date lor..tentative date also can.. not sure if they have any road shows coming up leh..u can try calling the coords there to find out more lor..

mars78

Hi all, for those who are still considering the MC offer, i have a package to offer at MC date can be changed to 2006 but definately less than $808 per table. Let me know u are interested ya...my email is [email protected]

akoyo

hi all, it's qutie disappointing to see that MC has not release their package for apr 06-aug 06. Sigh, i think i might need to look for alternatives already. Seems like a never ending wait..

akoyo

Is that so ? Cos yesterday my bf just called them and apparently it wasn't finalised yet. Okay ! I will try and give them a call later again.. Hopefully it is out =)

janlee

Hi akoyo, sorry think the details is with my hubby, let me try to get it from him. But if i'm not wrong, there are no changes to the package.

akoyo

Hi jen, so sad. I just called MC and they said the package is not out yet. Very weird... If i am to do a booking now, will have to pay extra $30 per table, which i think it is not worth it.. Try to send me the package. Will appreciate that very much. Thanks.

dice

I head many of you mentioning that the package is not out yet and I'm quite confused.

I just met up with Andy and he seems like a nice guy, very accomodating. He told me that there will be a surcharge of $30 per table for 2006 so each table will cost $838. There's not much changes to last year's package. or is there a new one???

fairy_loh

I've thot of holding my AD which is in Jun 06 in MC. Have been speaking to Magdalene and Andy. Not sure which one is better. Any idea??

What freebies can we ask for?

We are paying for ourselves, so I'm really worried abt making great losses!

akoyo

Andy is my coordinator. I can't comment on who is better as i have not met up with magdalene. I have just signed with them for a wedding luncheon in May06. Perks wise, they are quite stringent on that. Probably can't expect too much from them... Currently, for their dinner package, it comes with waiver 1 bottle of corkage per table, which is quite a good deal already.

shumin

Hi Akoyo.. thanks!
I tried to email them and a lady get back on the rental fee which cost $300 for the poolside.

erhm.. find tt its so exp lor.. =p

mayraindrops

hi,noticed this section has been quite quiet.
I'm a potential MC bride. Am thinking of signing up soon. My Coord is Magdelene. Does anyone have exp with her? Is she good?

mayraindrops

Hi, I'm potential MC bride, so hope to start a thread where all can join in to discuss abt dinners, coord, etc.
My coord is Magdelene. Does anyone have exp with her?

akoyo

hi, I have not met up with her, so cannot comment much. My co-ordinator is andy. He is a bit blur and needs to be more pro active in getting information or additional perks from them. When are you looking at having your dinner ?

booboobabe

Hello Gals....
Good to know that there is new life to this thread. The previous thread is so quiet! Hey, I'm a MC bride. My coordinator is Swee Lim. The last time i spoke to her she just started on the job and i found her to be helpful. Hope this helps...

magaz

hm...seems like the bridal magazines gave the wrong info? The prev issue of Females Brides gave its package as 660 on weekends.
Seems like MC is now out of my league if it's 800 plus

mayraindrops

looking at June next year. my next headache is looking for a bridal studio. Have you gals been through that stage yet...? Any advice? Which studios did you sign up for eventually? I popped by Tanjong Pager stretch on Sat. Wow...competition is really intense there...

mars78

Hi, i am having mine at MC too Oct 06..my coordinator is Andy too..Agree that he's quite proactive, sent him emails and he doesnt reply...needs to call him personally..I have signed up my bridal package at Tanjong Pagar with French Bridal..saw quite alot of customers too..Service not too bad...

akoyo

$800+ ? Think you can consider email the girl below. She is trying to sell her package away.. Definitely cheaper since she signed up few years back...

"Hi all, for those who are still considering the MC offer, i have a package to offer at MC date can be changed to 2006 but definately less than $808 per table. Let me know u are interested ya...my email is [email protected]
Thanks"

mars78

Hi all, i am the gal with this offer, sorry it's closed...i have no choice but to take back again cos i can't find anyone to take up this offer have to reply MC..

akoyo

Great, finally some life to this thread. Me will be having a luncheon there on 7 may next year..
I have signed my BS as well, Jawn Happy Ever After. Service is qutie good as well. Will be meeting them later to discuss the design of the gown !

booboobabe

Hi May,

I've signed up with THE WEDDING PRESENT. They have a nice and cosy shop. It is located at Bukit Pasoh. Relatively near Tanjong Pagar.... Do check them out if you have the time....

akoyo

Me just went to discuss my dream gown with the designers.. Waiting anxiously to see her drawings haha quite exciting.
Have you all saw the new invitation cards ? Quite nice le..

booboobabe

Hello Akoyo,
nope, i have not seen the new invitation cards... now you have got me all excited! any idea if they have any new wedding favours instead of just chocolates? i'm keeping my fingers cross that they will add new choice of favours!

mayraindrops

hi Akoyo and booboobabe! good morning!
I've seen the cards with chinese knots, and also, the ones with riboons. Are those new? I quite like the one with Chinese knots, but that one does not come with a map, whereas the ribbons card did.
Also, my coord showed me a heart shape shower gel, which is supposed to be the new wedding favour they are offering. She also said they are changing the packaging of the chocos.
Hmm...which one will you gals choose? chocos or shower gel? will pple find shower gel wierd?

akoyo

ya ya.. i saw that chinese knots one also ! Like that a lot ! Think i am going for that. For the wedding favours, think it is qutie limited... Only the shower gel and the chocolates.. I will probably go for the chocolates since it is edible. People might not use the shower gel anyway... Hopefully they can get better wedding favours..

booboobabe

Hello May and Akoyo,
Good to hear that the Wedding Cards are Nice.
As for the wedding favours, Shower Gel seems rather weird. Yah, do hope that they come up with more variety of wedding favours.

Hey, do you gals have some Muslim friends attending your wedding? If yes, do you intend to offer the Muslim course dinner or are you gals letting the guest choose from the A-la-carte menu on the AD itself?

akoyo

yes, i will be having muslims friends.. I wasn't told about the A=la-carte menu.. Only know that that is teh muslim course dinner. Didn't not find out that much =p

smilez

Can share with me the wedding banquet pricing for merchant court in 2006?
Or can send me ur coordintor's email addy so tat i can ask pls?

Thks!

mayraindrops

Hullo smilez,
you can call 62391754 to ask for their package... not too sure if the 2006 package is out yet, but if not, they will just add $30 to the 2005 package (for both weekday & weekend packages)...

akoyo & bbb: didnt find out too much details about the muslim menu too, just know dat can add one more muslim pax to the table with 1 extra portion of muslim course dinner, then just pay for dat extra portion (take table cost divide by 10), think is the common practice for most hotels

booboobabe

Dear Smilez,

My coordinator is Swee Lim... Quite a nice lady as well....

Hello Akoyo and May,

I think the Muslim menu quite Ex! you know, like have to pay double for Muslim friends. But guess no choice.... Most hotel also practice this.

akoyo

Hi booboobabe,
why pay double ? Thought they will be charging rates equivalent to per pax rate for the site down dinner/lunch ?

booboobabe

Hello akoyo,

I'm also confused myself...

I thought a table cost 788nett. if there are 2 muslims seated at the table, then we would have to pay 788 + (78.8*2) = 945.60 for that table.

I hope I'm WRONG as well, otherwise, very
"EX".

Does anyone knows about the arrangement for Muslim Friends at the banquet???

mayraindrops

Hello akoyo & bbb,

What i understand is that if there are 2 muslims seated at the table, will pay 788 + (78.8*2) = 945.60. But there will be 12 portions of food ie 10 from chinese menu & 2 from muslim menu.

Not too sure if can replace 2 portions of chinese menu with 2 portions from muslim menu and still be charged 788nett. Actually dun think the hotel will accomodate requests to specially prepare 1 table of 8C+2M portions, then another table of 9C+1M portions ....

Steve, u can call 62391754 n they will email u their package.

akoyo

Yupz, may, that was my understanding as well. So we can either have a table of muslims or 10 chinese plus 2 muslims. Humm, it will be quite difficult to plan the seating arrangement actually.
anyway, may and bbb,
so when is your big day ? =)

audreytey

hi all btb of merchant court,

jus wana share my views.

I was at the hotel few days ago to attend a wedding dinner, the ballroom is beautiful with its lightings and decor. but 1 thing to consider is that if u have alot old relatives who doesn't speak english beta to reconsider.

I was there and we all notice that 95% of the waiter are indians. i am not against any race but i could see alot of ah pek and ah ma dun know how to conmunicate with them.

And when they are serving their food, they will have a trolley table (something like the ones we always see in the mkt) and on top of it, is their BIG tray. they will have 1 trolley table assign to every table and they will leave the trolley table behind a guest's chair. making it difficult to move around.

soaringstar

Having so many trolley tables are quite unsightly isn't it? Thanks for your feedback. I am considering Merchant Court for its accessbility for my guests, now I will have a second thought. Any good hotels to recommend that can cater for about 40 tables?

icebubbles

hi aria,

i hv also considered mc for my ad venue also.
but my total tables will be around 40 too. find it too cramp with the trolley tables so end up signing up another hotel. otherwise everything is good abt mc, like the ambience there