Merchant Court Swissotel

blushing_cheeks

Hi Guys,

I am with Meechant Court. My Co-ordinator is Louis. Nice chap. Though the charges not out, its 30 extra, meaning $838.
Let's join to see what we can beautify the hotel.
Both us is 29th Oct (Sun)

seetoh

Hi Booboobabe,

Im with MC too, mu coordinator is Swee Lim. She just emailed me the pics for the nre invitation cards. Have uploaded for you to see. It's really very nice.
314523.gif

booboobabe

Hi AB,

So sweet of you... Thank you for uploading the pictures.

My coordinator is Swee Lim as well... I agree that the RED invitation card is very nice. It has such a CHINOIS feel to it.

eteh3

I'm placing Merchange Court as my top choice for my AD.
Has been aliasing with this lady, Magdalene.

Need some help on bargaining for perks. I see that the package already includes free corkage for all types of alcohol.

How about asking for freeflow beer? Has anyone manage to get that?
Extra room for helpers? is the ROM solemnisation set up free?

seetoh

Hi eteh3,

Its difficult to ask for free flow beer, at most they give another barrel if u confirn more then 40 tables. I tried b4.. As for the ROm setup, i cant ans u
can try asking for more parking coupons & invitation card. I did ask for a bottle of champange for my private celebration after dinner too. Hmmm, and additional pax for food tasting as they gave only 6 pax, 6 dishes. Hope this helps.

soaringstar

Free corkage 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. This is quite an attractive perk, but for the rest quite stingy, hard to get day use room.
Now with price increase of S$30 per table for banquet from April 06, it is catching up on Marriot pricing already. That cause me to consider Marriot too. I like Merchant court ballroom very much, high ceiling and spacious.
Unfortunately, the price increase without additional perks and the contruction outside the hotel will only expect to complete in 2007.

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

As Aria said, free corkage 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. Hard liqour also free corkage.

Am not sure abt the lunch package. Maybe you will like to contact the co-ordinator there to give u the package?

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

As Aria said, free corkage 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. Hard liqour also free corkage.

Am not sure abt the lunch package. Maybe you will like to contact the co-ordinator there to give u the package?

cutie_be

Hi eteh3

Have you booked with them? When is your AD? I m thinking of doing it by this week so that I can move on with other things...

booboobabe

Hello etech,

Free flow of beer, hard to negotiate for. I tried asking but did not managed to get it. As what AB stated, you can ask for more wedding cards, more parking coupons, maybe additional bottle of corkage waiver abv. the normal one per confirm table, if you have many wine drinkers.

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

I've placed a tentative booking with them. I'm actually waiting for my FMIL to come back to us by tml for the date. Hopefully the date we want is ok.

Depending on the dates available, mine could be in Dec 06/Jan 07. What about urs?
If all goes well, I'm also thinking of meeting up with Magdalene (my co-ordinator) to settle all the terms & of course, bargaining.

Have you booked your BS? Once i'm done with the banquet, I can rest till my PS day.

Hi BoobooBabe,
Anything else to look out for?
Tot if can get extra barrel like what AB stated, shld be quite enough.
I really dunno what else to ask for. Need some advice.

cutie_be

Hi eteh
I have tentatively booked on May 06. My coordinator is Swee Lim. I have booked my BS from French. Have arranged to try the gown in mid Oct. Where did u book your BS?

Have not seen the bridal suite. Did you ask for it? I tot they only give deluxe room. Maybe I check with her again.

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

Booked my BS from Milan Weddings. Just got my actual date. Will be in Dec 06. Luckily the date I want is still available.
Meeting her next week to discuss.

I'm going to ask to view the bridal suite lor.

cutie_be

Hi eteh
I have confirmed with MC loh... so happy ;)
Mine is lunch so they are not able to give me the bridal suite.
Initially mine also in Dec 06 but it is a Sat. I prefer to have it on Sunday if it is a lunch. So chosen May (sunday) instead... Now got to start chosing the gowns if not it won't be in time for PS, blar blar....

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

Congrats! wow, u actually changed from dec 06 to may 06, tts almost half a yr difference.

I've got some feedback that MC food std is dropping & they get part time chefs to cook for banquets coz they dun have any inhouse resturants.

Anyone knows who they get as banquet chefs?

cutie_be

eteh: No choice leh... for next yr, i only got 4 good dates, 2 weekdays and 2 weekends. Now got to rush lor...

Is it true that the standard has dropped? I have not attended any function there. Maybe you can check with Mag before you confirm with them.

Mindy: I think Swee Lim is quite flexible.. If you have more tables, she should be able to give you more perks... Mine, I m only having the min tables..so perks quite restricted.. no problem in asking for additional pax for food tasting, waiver of wine corkage for 1 ctn, more carpark and invitation cards...

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

oh, only got 4 good dates ah.
FH has eaten at MC b4 and said that the food is so-so only.
Most hotels with better food standards are those with in house restuarants. So MC only has a coffee house.
Gotto check with Mag during my 1st meet up with her.

How many times did u meet up b4 signing the contract?

cutie_be

Hi eteh

I met up twice... After my 1st meeting, I did clarify some other items through the phone. Think most of the things are cleared, so sign on my 2nd meeting.

Just checked with my friend who attended a wedding lunch, she said food is not bad, ambience good esp with the sweet smell of lily.. Anyway, I have signed up so not much choice...hopefully the standard is still there.. The only concern I have is the ballroom (too big)... as I only have min tables..may look abit spacious.

When are you meeting Mag? Can ask her for a list of menu and price list if wish to change the dishes.. That time i ask for it but she only told me verbally and ask me what I want to change...

happytea

hihi, me new in this thread, had my solemnisation at MC in this sep05, am interested in holding wedding dinner there.

The price that you guys been talking abt, ie $808+30 from apr06 onwards, is this the same price for weekdays? and fri is consider weekend price?

eteh3

Hi cutie be,

Seems like if there's any change in the menu, additional cost is incurred rite?
Do you happen to have muslim friends? I might have a few of them going. Know the pricing?

Did you have food tasting? Just concerned with the food quality. Ambience is good, ballroom is big.

Hi HappyTea,

Fri's a wkend price too. it will be at $808 & $838 pricing. When is your AD?

happytea

hi eteh3, my AD not fixed yet. now sourcing for resale flat, will decide on AD after secure the flat.

now am looking at MC cos i really like that place, but the price is high at $838. you gals know the rate for wkdays then?

booboobabe

Hi eteh3,

Sorry have not log on for quite a while...

If you have quite a lot of tables,you can try asking for additional barrel of beer and maybe extra helper room (24 hours).No harm asking. I feel that this 2 perks are important.

suetan

I mailed merchant court n for almost 5 days n no one responded....whereas other hotels replied me the very next day....

shuhann

sorry to bump in like this..i am having my wedding dinner at merchant court too on the 14/12/2005..the problem is they dun provide projector..anyone know of any projector rental contact? i really need it urgently coz my wedding juz around the corner..have been looking hi n lo, still can't find one..please let me know if anyone happens to have the contact..thanx alot

eteh3

Hi suelynn,

Maybe you might wanna try to call Magdalene instead @ 6239 1754. She's quite prompt in her service.

When I posted her a query which needed her boss' approval, she got back to me the next day. Was surprised coz I hear a lot of complaints abt slow response.

Hi shuhann,

U mean MC dun provide projector? its not even available if we pay for it?
then do they provide the screen & songs?

takarasuki

hi eteh3, MC charge for projector rental. So be prepared if you need to use. And you have to provide your own player/laptop to play ur video/montage.

shuhann

hi twinkle,
thanx for ur reply
somebody recommended one to me, $88..has confirmed with him on the rental..

r u gals having the montage showcase too?

hi eteh,
MC dun provide projector..they dun have it at all..they can only recommend to u where you can rent a projector..we can project it on the wall, they have a space for tat..they do provide their own song collection but you can provide them with your own songs too and they will get it played..

twinkle,
when i checked wif my ex coord, jennifer, she said they dun have any projector at all..u mean they have it now? i signed up in may tis year..

sunflower,
there is not much perks given by them..most of it u got to exchange with the things u want..eg: i exchanged the high tea voucher and wedding favors for few bottles of wine corkage..try to negotiate for 10 pax for food tasting..

~sun_flower~

Hi shuhann,

Will u be doing ur own montage?

Do u intend to get ur own wedding favours? How many bottles of wine corkage did u manage to exchange for? Did u manage to get 10 pax for free food tasting?

Anyone who manage to squeeze perks from Swissotel Merchant Court? Care to share?

icebaby

Hi eteh3,
from what i know, MC do have their own chefs for banquets. Their are some part time assistant chefs when they need extra help. Have tried their food druing our company's DND. Their master chef chan is a very experienced man. He was from the former Cockpit Hotel (quite a few years ago, don't know if anyone can still remember that place)

shuhann

sunflower,
i am getting a friend to do the montage for me coz he has done a few for his friends..i changed my mind last minute on using their wedding favours..theirs is chocolate n the recent one is shower gel..not so presentable..i am preparing my own wedding favours now..i exchanged it with 8 bottles of wine corkage n the high tea voucher for 7 bottles..in total i got 50 bottles wine corkage waived..i confirmed 35+2 tables with them..yet to confirm the final count thou..yeap, i got 10 pax for free food tasting..

a hint : u might try to negotiate to upgrade the bridal suite to a a higher grade suite, can't remember wat is the name of the suite coz my hubby's friend did tat few years ago..try to negotiate for a day room for ur helpers too..

gals,
did any of u managed to get a day room from them? they said they can only do so if the occupancy rate is not high on our AD..is it true?

eteh3

hi shuhann,

MC only got 2 types of wedding favours?that's quite little varieties to choose from.
Arent they getting more types? other hotels has selection of like 5 or more.

How does the day room work? they give it to us till end of the dinner & takes it back? no overnight stay issit?

Anyone manage to get 2 nights at the bridal suite instead of 1? coz they are giving 2 nights for the deluxe room.

The free food tasting is only for 6 dishes. Do you get to choose which 6 dishes?

Anyone done solemnisation tog on the same day in MC? Any charges? We intend to hold it 1-2hrs b4 the actual dinner.

shuhann

hi eteh,
previously, they only have 1, tats the chocolates but recently they came out with a new 1, it's a strawberry heart shape shower gel, dun look presentable enuf..Mag said not very favourable..i have the pic of it..not sure if they r getting more at the moment..

i think we can only use the day room for few hours..say from 2pm till dinner starts? me yet to check the exact timing..confirmed no overnight stay..

me got only 1 night stay for bridal suite..think it's difficult to negotiate for 2 nights..

my package is a weekday package..i did not chose shark fin, dessert n noodles..i've chosen the below :

Merchant Court Deluxe Cold Dish Combination
Roast Cripsy Chicken in Szechuan Style
Stir Fried Prawns with Celery In special XO Sauce
Deep Fried Garoupa In thai Basil Mango
Stir Fried Prk Ribs in Coffer Sauce Stir Fried Taiwan Siew Pak Choy with Pacific Clams

~sun_flower~

Hi Shuhann,

Would u mind to share wat do u intend to get for ur own wedding favours? My hubby and I also dun like the idea of getting the shower gel as the wedding favour. Looks weird.

U managed to get 10 pax for free food tasting! For the 8 or 9 course?

Did u manage to upgrade to a higher grade suite? One or two night?

May I know who is ur coordinator?

shuhann

hi sunflower,

i got tea leaves in test tube as the wedding favour..did everything myself..abit common..but can't think of anything in such short notice..if u dun have budget contraint, u can pick some nice ones..i saw a few websites where they have nice wedding favours..yeah, the shower gel really dun look nice..

yeap, got 10 pax for 9 course..

no, i didn;t managed to upgrade..mayb will try my luck again when i meet up with magdalene in november..who is ur coordinator? swee lim is a very nice n friendly coordinator among the rest..i thot of changing to her but not sure if it is nice to do so..

~sun_flower~

Hi shuhann,

Well, just hope that they will bring in more choices of wedding favours.

How did u manage to get the free food tasting for 10 pax for 9 course?

My coordinator is magdalene. She's quite firm with the perks other than that she's quite nice. Hmm.. dun think it's quite nice to change ur coordinator now as ur wedding is getting near...

Did u manage to view the bridal suite? Which bridal studio r u with?

takarasuki

hi shuhann,
Sorry for the confusion. MC do not have projector. Like you mentioned, they recommend. Where did you get to rent @ $88? Very good price yo! and where did you get the test tubes? What is the price of it? You may send me a pte msg if it's not conv to tell me here.

hi Sunflower, isn't it a std to have 10pax to food tasting of 6 dishes? Mine is 10pax to food tasting, we top up alittle for the full course.

SweeLim is a very nice lady, prompt in replying email too.