Marina Mandarin Singapore

snowiee

Thanks ace !

elcy

Hi yap
the Cabernet Sauvignon that we tried is more 'plumy' while Shiraz Merlot is generally more 'spicy'. According to the sales person, non-wine drinkers will not be able to appreciate a good Shiraz so Cabernet is a safer choice with the majority. There are different grades of Cabernet Sauvignon, too. We preferred the more plumy "Belmore Cabernet Sauvignon 2003" which goes down better with banquet food compared to the other lower grades of Cabernet. For banquet, take care not to compromise the quality of wine with cheaper cost as the wine might ruin the taste of your banquet food. Especially when guests who will drink wine are those who can differentiate a good one from a not so good one. Thus, it's better to get the best grade within your budget. Just my two cents' worth.

jenny_ang

Utterly disappointed with Marina Mandarin...

I called twice to enquire about their wedding package for 2007. First time was 2 weeks ago, asked for a date to go look at the ballroom and meet with a coordinator. The person who answered, got my name, fax number and contact number and promised to fax the details of the package over...I did not receive any fax nor phonecalls from them at all over the past 2 weeks.

I gave up waiting today and called again. The man was far from friendly and was hardly helpful. Asked me for my name, fax number and contact number again. I gave him all the details once again and informed him that I had called before but did not receive any fax or call from them, thus would appreciate that there is a reply this time. He ignored my comments and kept asking me questions abt the banquet, eg. date (i told him it's not very confirmed but it's in july but he pressed me for a date...!), no. of tables, etc.... I was totally put off by him.

Then when it was time to book an appt with a salesperson...he was uncompromising... I told him I can only make it after 6pm this sat... he said cannot.. either before 5pm or after 7pm cuz need to attend to the wedding couples for that day. I accepted this and suggested that I take a walk around the ballroom without the salesperson first and meet up with him/her at 7pm instead. He say cannot. Not nice for the weding couple as guest will be arriving. Well..other hotels allow us to do that.. and isn't that how things work, since us, prospective customers, have to look at the ballroom with everything set up. AND i believe no one arrives at 6pm for a wedding dinner...

By this time, i was already put off by him...but still hoping that maybe some miracle will happen since i think it shld be quite a nice hotel to have a banquet in.

When he mentioned that there will be a few banquets on sat...so i asked him if it's common that they host more than 1 dinner per night and how many is the max they will host. my concern is that my guest might go to a wrong ballroom on the day of my wedding if there are TOO many dinners on the same day. He say the ballrooms are on different levels. I then asked if there are staff or signs to show the guest where they should go for the different dinners...he said it's all indicated on the wedding invites... then i said most people do not bring their invites along, i think...his reply was 'then i can't help them...'!!!!!!

What kind of a reply was that!!!

Grand Hyatt has many ballrooms too, and they have staff on every floor to direct guests to the correct ballrooms...i think that's proper service...not tell me that he can't do anything!!!

Is it just me or did anyone encounter such bad service at marina mandarin as well?

I am not going to book my banquet with them!

lavis

Hi, jenny,that was really a very bad encounter. I can understand how frustrated u were. So far only emails with the coordinator and got prompt reply, have not talked to anyone of them.. Hope will not have the bad encounter. Do u want their wedding package? Guess their coordinators will provide better service.

jenny_ang

Hi Lavis,

Thanks for offering...but I'm not sure if I still wanna book my banquet with them.

Coordinators are not same as those who answer the phone? Then who are the ones who answers the enquires? Shouldn't they be better trained too?

You have booked your banquet with them?

snowiee

wow jenny.. thats weird that the person gave such a reply? who was the man you spoke to ? do you have his name?

I emailed them previously when i was searching for my venue and received the package via email on the very day itself. Maybe you should drop them an email instead?

Actually, if you did a search on the marina mandarin's website the packages are already posted online.

http://www.marina-mandarin.com.sg/weddings.htm

Check out the packages here. Hope it helps

snowiee

by the way, marina man only has 2 main ballrooms (excluding the function rooms).

Vanda ballroom is located on level 5 (min 20 tables)

The grandballroom is located on level 1 (min 40 tables) <-- i think .. not sure how many.. will ask jaslyn to come in.. she is more familar with the grand ballroom... heee...

I guess its understandable that they need you to give them a tentative date of your wedding so that they are able to make a tentative booking for you and to ensure that your ballroom is available for use. Thats why they also asked for the estimated number of tables you are using mah.

Its also weird that the man you spoke to said there is no directions to the ballroom.

When I signed my contact, the contract also asked us for our names to be shown on the signage that will be placed outside the ballroom.

In fact, my coordinator then encouraged me to go down to view the ballroom by myself first wor... my coordinator even gave us the date where there is a wedding on going so that we can see the wedding deco. set up instead of just viewing an empty ballroom without the lightings. Actually if you would like to view the ballrooms, you can do so on any day after work or weekends etc. The 2 ballroom are not locked when I went down for viewing by myself.

In fact, I view the ballroom by myself too .. my coordinator didn’t bring me around.. *sad…and even after I signed the contact till now I havent seen the actual lightning effects of my ballroom yet as they were saying they have to book the video guy’s slot etc as the lightings effect are controlled in a room.. or something like this.

So far my experience with them is great. Great service, prompt response.

*keeps fingers crossed. My present coordinator even took the trouble to provide suggestions etc. not too sure if my permanent coordinator (hopefully no change in coordinator again..
)will be the same.

But then perhaps one thing marina mandarin could do is to inform me when my previous coordinator has resigned!! Noone informed me and I only realized it when I tried to call her up and her colleague mentioned that she has left the company… *sobz

aye jenny, do post the name of the man you spoke to... very curious to know.

blurberry

Jenny, I can understand how frustrated u were. My co-ordinator left 2-3 months ago, if she attending you, sure you will enyoy with her, she very nicely and kindfull person. SO far my experince was great. But after she left, I also frustrated to contact the new staff.Until now I haven't meet up him yet, but last week he went for Reservist. Actually my AD coming soon, I still haven't see the lighting and actual decro. My previous co-ordinator told me that we can go down to take a look if they have wedding.

Snowiee, when my co-ordinator left, she had email to us and told us who was take over. Just the guy never answer to call. You know who i'm saying right?

jaslyn_82

jenny...
I also booked my banquet with MM..

how come u have so bad experience huh?
mine ok leh.. she even meet me after 7pm to check out the ballroom.. and on public holiday to pay my deposit.. and very prompt replies..
which coordinator u meet?

grandballroom is min 40 tables..

most hotels will provide signage mah..
as what snowiee says my coordinator also say signage can change when the time comes.. how come must see the invites??

my coordinator left liao.. but she gave me another coordinator taking over her.. u want her details can PM u..

snowiee

318bi, she didnt email me when she left leh.....

sobz.....

318bi, try emailing him.. he is nice and helpful leh. Maybe coz he is usually full with appointments thats why he is not at his desk and cant answer the call.

Try calling fiona? Think she will pass a message to him one.

Generally the coordinators are nice leh ~~

*keeps fingers crossed again

thats why curious about which 'guy' jenny is talking about.

318bi ur AD coming soon ah... when is it? i think u posted liao hor.. but i have forgotten.. heee....

blurberry

Snowiee~Maybe she email to your husband? yes, I also got his email from forum leh...
He did told us that last week he went for reservist, so will meet up him on next week. Understand that he full of appointments lor...my AD on 10/12, when is your?
Fiona also quite helpful person.

snowiee

no leh.. never email to my hubby leh...

mine is still far... heee... next year december!

but cant wait for it.. so excited.. hehe

blurberry

Snowiee~ wow...have a long time to prepare... now I really excited leh...hahaha..but me still put on weight
how to wear to gowns...

ace75s

Snowiee...next dec...good thing to get the hotel thingy settled...same idea that me and my hubby got when we also booked last year.

anyway, my coordinator also left, but she did send us an email to inform us and also the person (fiona) taking over. intially, i was afraid that what was discussed will not be passed on to fiona, but when we went down to finalise the details last sunday, everything was settled and handed over properly. Really thumbs up for all MM's efforts.

Now, just can't wait for the AD to start and end...

jaslyn_82

ace75s..
is ur coordinator Sen?
she also email me and my hubby when she left..
so sad.. she is very friendly and prompt in replying me...

thats gd that she pass everything to fiona..
i more "an xin" now..at 1st quite scared..

when is ur AD?
mine is the same as snowiee n Dec 07..

ace75s

hi jaslyn, yup, its sen. so sad that she left. she's so friendly and me and my hubby really enjoy working with her. she passed everything to fiona too. met up with her (touch base) and also found her quite nice. lucky my hubby decided to meet up with her as i was afraid she'll not be as nice as sen but after the meeting, i also more "relaxed"...kekeke... guess I was being too over-anxious...

anyway my AD is in Dec 06. already tied up the necessary arrangements with fiona and now waiting for the day...kekeke

jaslyn_82

hi ace75s,

ya lor.. really enjoyed talking to her..
really ans all my enquries.. and show me the lightings also..

ya.. its better to meet up with fiona..
very bride want their AD to be the best mah..
so will be anxious.. hehe..

oic.. congrats!
1 mth + left.. relax and enjoy ur day!

jenny_ang

Thanks for your comments and encouragements!!!

1st time I called, I got Kimmy. 2nd time, the man, his name is Kevin. But their names were not mentioned at all. Maybe they are not even from the banquet dept. I got them when I called the number they have on their website, for contacting wedding specialists lor. truly bad experience...

snowiee, i understand the part abt the tentative date also, that's why I did give him when he asked. But I think he shldn't force me. No other hotels forced me when I say it's not confirmed yet. Names outside ballroom, i think not enough rite? If the guest already walked to the ballroom, it's a wasted trip... hehe... Just thought maybe signs can be placed at strategic locations even before reaching the ballrooms...

The usual coordinator is on reservist? maybe that's why i haven't gotten a reply at all!!!

Anyone has the email address of the coordinator to send to me? my email is [email protected].

Thanks again!

jasline79

I think the co-ordinator that you all mentioned should be Steven. He told me that he will be going for his reservist till nov. He is my co-ordinator now, my ex-co-ordinator was Wendy. She is really nice and friendly, it's a pity she left.

Had met up Steven last month, he is quite helpful and polite. He replied promptly to my e-mails. So far, I am quite happy with MM service.

My AD also in dec 06, seems like a lot of dec06 brides here.

blurberry

Snowiee~yo, I just met up with Steven, he very friendly person and helpful..Something Wendy can't help me to arrange, Steven did it...cool!

Jasline79~yeah, Steven replied promptly. When is your AD?

jenny_ang

I guess I should clarify since I have gone down to meet Kevin in person yesterday...

He's actually the director for banquet sales and outdoor catering. Big Shot...!!! He met us cuz his staff are all occupied with wedding preps for the night. But I guess the fact that he, as the director, took the time to meet with us to answer our enquiries was nice la.

But i guess meeting up with his staff might have have more helpful since they are the people on the ground...

After looking at the ballrooms, I think I quite like the place...now just considering if I wanna use MM since my cousin used the same ballroom just last year. hehe...and i don't have enough tables to use the bigger ballroom also...

canaryanne

hullo jenny, is theres any promos now on for mandaren marina?

for past all brides, how did u all find the hotel?

i m about to pay deposit but still undecided &amp; still thinking if can better offer or not.

should i wait?

snowiee

The current director is kevin? I recalled it was someone called Michael Seet last time?

Michael Seet also resigned already?

Jenny, when is your AD?

canaryanne, if you are not particular about dates maybe you can wait. but if you want a certain date and you have decided that you want marina mandarin as your venue, maybe its better if you book now already... or else some other couples may decide to wan the same AD as you. When is your AD canaryanne?

jaslyn_82

canaryanne...

u r here...
I am from Dec 07 thread.. hehe..
snowiee also in Dec 07 thread...
my banquet also in MM..
think most dec 07 dates are booked liao.. so u better decide fast..
maybe u can tell us what offer they gave u??

ace75s

318bi, been busy with the invitations and the GDL stuff. Other than that it's almost done... kekeke... all thanks to my hubby. How about you?

blurberry

Ace~ the invitation card for relatives haven't done yet, mostly invitation card already done. Not yet choose the wine and song...

donaldaisy

Btw 318bi, when is ur AD? Mine is next year Jan and hasn't collect my cards for printing yet. Just finished selection of my photos... and now shopping for furnitures... next to do my e-filing for ROM... then GDL... bery busy...

blurberry

Hi Happyily, you have an email. You can collect your invitation cards 10 weeks before. I collect it quite early and done at middle of oct.

Me is dec bride. My big day coming soon...yah, I already ROM last year and house warming already...you work hard oh!

I already done and all the invitation cards and only left my MIL guest list. Almost done my GDL's stuff.

We haven't choose song yet! Any good song to recommend?

ace75s

318bi, song-wise, i leave it to my hubby cos he's better. In fact, I'm glad that he took over the selection of the songs and the photo montage (he did it himself! save a bit...kekeke)

snowiee

am curious to know if anyone managed to negotiate for both 2 nights bridal suite stay and also the helpers room included in the package?

the standard perk is 1 helpers room + 1 night stay in suite.

by the way if wan to book some rooms for the guests does MM provide any preferential rates for us BTB?

bluyee

had my wedding lunch in marina mandarin on 29 Oct. Quite disappointed with them on the food, cos general comments from my relative is that it's bad. First, they serve the wrong dishes => we asked for the fried mee sua, but they serve up the ee foo noodle instead. Second, the ee foo noodle they serve, taste totally awful and the noodle strands just stick together like a mess. As i din get to taste all the food, my relatives also mentioned that the sea bass that was served isn't fresh at all..Sigh... generally, the comments are that the food isn't worth the 5 star hotel standard.
Well, quite regretful that my frens and relatives who attended the wedding din't had a good lunch. Perhaps you wanna remind the hotel on the above for your own banquet. At least, one good thing is that Marina Mandarin did own up to us that they serve us the wrong food (the mee sua became the ee-foo noodle), and compensated us with one table off the whole bill. Other than that... the comments of the food that day is quite bad. Well, just my luck..wish you girls will be luckier.

kimkim_78

Dear MM BTB

Hi I'm new here, just like to share with you my experience last night at a friend's wedding held at MM grand ballroom.

The ballroom was great, and the couple has the whole foyer (very spacious) for their pre-dinner cocktail. The food was fresh nice too, save for the desert, mango sago with ice-cream, not sweet enough. maybe beause of my sweet tooth, hehe..

The waitress who served our table was very good too, and efficient, as she clear our table (after we had finished) even before other tables have started eating/being served!! And we did notice that there are some inexperience waiter/waitress for other tables.

The the first dish presentation was cute, the waitre and waitress actually DANCED on the stage (with the first dish tray on their hand) before they served us

snowiee

huh? they charge for it?

i thought its inclusive in the package and part of the food presentation...

at least this was what my coordinator told me when I signed with MM

kimkim_78

Em.. Sorry i'm not sure, didn't get a chance to ask my friends as the couple has gone for honeymoon... check with your coordinator, bargain for it if it is not included in the package lor..

donaldaisy

Dear MM BTBs, which cards have you selected? The pink or the beige? I am thinking of collecting all cards in pink as I am wondering if the card printing shop might charge extra for the different layout for both designs. Am thinking what is that pocket in the pink card for?

Anyone to share your experience/ideas?

ace75s

Hi happilyeverafter

Pink? Beige? We were given the ivory and red ones to choose from. If it's still the same then
we took the ivory colour(shld be the beige that you mentioned) cos we felt that the red one looks too loud. Luckily, both parents agreed to it with the same thoughts...kekeke

Another reason is that the ribbon looks nice with the ivory.

Anyway, the pocket in the red card is for you to slot the inserts, i think.

jasline79

Hi Happilyeverafter,

I had both red and the ivory cards. i did my printing at kentrich. They did not charge extra for these two different designs. For me, i just insert half of the inserts into the pocket of the red cards.