Marina Mandarin Singapore

we did it the "modern" way. we did not really differentate who pays what. for us, there is no Yours n Mine, but OURS. basically like what u said, we just pool everything together n pay together. but hor, my hubby has alot more savings than i do, so i would say that he pays much much more than me for our whole wedding n house expenses loh.

Hi Yvonne

U very cute leh.....I guess I'm very choosy abt the banquet liao...Looking into things like blowing of light bolts during the dinner itself & how to recover from there?! U guys actually look into tables!!! This never cross my mind...

I guess the tables are more / less of the same size so should be comfy lah....

Hi Sunny

Did you go ahead with you honeymoon?? Wanna share with us your trip??!!

Hi Sunny,

So glad u are back to join us
...and thanks for the sharing. U've indeed given me a lot of great tips and contacts

I've also engaged Andrew Tay to do my actual day journalistic shots. Was thinking of videography, but don't know where and who and how much. Is Eric from The Edge working with Andrew Tay too? How much did he/they charge for the whole pkg or just the videography? May want to engage them. I may also call William for the projector. How much did Monica Eng charge for the video montage?

Thanks for your valuable advice. May you have a blissful marriage ahead

hi Mo,
glad to share

yes Eric was recommended by andrew n they work well as a team. i think he also has another videographer partner. maybe u can check with andrew, as mine was quite a last min thingy.

when i book with andrew, he was still charging his old price, $1600, i know he has already increased to $1800 now. the videography package is $650. for the digital presentation, monica charged me $200 including all scaning n touch up of photos. she really did quite a good job

as for the projector, william told me there's another range of projector which is less costly. maybe u can just call him to find out.

Hi Sunny,

Woa!!! Your reply came almost immediately. Thanks for your quick reply

How was your honeymoon and where did u go? So, how's married life now? hehe...

Enjoy and cheers

Table size in Marina is the bigger type (according to my hubby) he says he dun want those 7th month dinner size ones which are 4 ft I think.

When doing table planning, do keep in mind their sizes too.

Congrats Sunny! How's married life? Share with us!

honeymoon ah, we went to Korea n Hong Kong. we enjoy ourselves very much n had lots of fun. not forgetting alot of makan n shopping in HK !

married life has been very nice n sweet. last nite, we just watched our wedding VCD together for the first time, n both of us miss our wedding day so much. really had alot of fun n joy that day
we just hug n sat on the floor to watch the VCD, at some point, still very touch n teary too.

Aiyoh Sunny... You make me heart itchy itchy... oso thinking of videography of the wedding leow... *sigh*... how, a lot of $$$ leh...

kekeek JenJen, dun mean to tempt u further. but i really never thot of having the videography (like u, wana save cost n felt that not really very necessary) until abt 2 weeks before my wedding ! friends were telling me that i won't get to see most of the "show" cos we r the attention that day. n also, i wana see how my hubby get sabo by all the jiemei mah. so i decided to do it n boy, i must say i am so glad that we did loh

Hi Sunny,
How much did u have to pay for the whole videography??? And it comes in VCD??? Wow!

I'm also thinking of it now that u put in so many good comments. Like Jen Jen, I'm also trying to cut cost, but am now totally tempted...hehe ;)

Reebok

heheh..coz i juz attended a wedding last wk..took note of the surrounding, timing, table size, speech..everything lah..hehehe..coz preparing for mine also mah..can take note n learn from tat..
if not..i'll juz sit n eat tats all!

Sunny..
me oso nvr tot of videography..the dinner i attended has one..tot its a good idea..actually just think tat i can get a fren to do it..but not very pro leh..
after wat u've said..might consider..but like wat the rest said..it means extra cost!
hhmm..the digital presentation is something special oso..wat's monica's charge like? can share?

Sunny

oops...sorry blur me!
i scrolled up the posting..hehehe
paiseh..u have actually provided the pricing for the presentation..
sorry!

hi yvonne n mo,
the videography package is $650 n it comes with 2 video tapes (one edited n one original), n a edited VCD. the vidographer starts from the morning when i was doing my make up till end of my dinner

u can also scout ard to see if there's other better deal. cos mine was pretty last min, just ask andrew got any lobang or not. n i thot would be easier to get someone he works with too, then can have good rapport with his team.

Hi Sunny, I was wondering if ur $650 includes the B&W and colour photography which u said above or only the videography portion??? Wat about the part where the groom was preparing and coming to ur place??? was it covered in the video??? I will like to see how my FH comes to "fetch" me, including the preparations of his guys...
but I oso like to see my own preparation process oso... *sigh*... I veli greedy...

hi JenJen
the $650 is only videography. the photography package is a separate deal. maybe u can check with the Saint (simon, 3377678), i think they have quite a package for videography n actual day photography too.

it did not cover the groom side for the preparation. only on the bride's side, the make up, how the jie mie plan to tekan the groom..etc. then it will feature the arrival of bridal car n from there the saboing of the groom.

Hi MM brides,

I will be having my wedding in Jan 2003. I was really having a hard time deciding on which hotel's wedding package to choose from until I read your postings. I must say your feedback help me tremendously, and I am 99% sure that I will sign up with MM.

I have visited many hotels, and have actually narrowed down to Marina Mandarin, Merchant Court and Meridian. I was quite satisfied with Irene's(MM) followup service(Was anyone being attended by Irene before? I thought I saw "Cowie" mention that her coordinator is Irene. Can share your experiences?), and this MM coordinator, Pauline, seems to be excellent.
Overall, everyone seems to be quite pleased with their wedding dinner held at MM. So, I will probably schedule a time to meet with MM coordinator soon.

Sidetrack a little, I must say that Meridian's service is terrible. I called Meridian and asked for their package to be emailed to me. I called again the next day, as I had yet to receive their email. The Director of Catering said that the email had already been sent out. Thinking that the email might have been sent to a wrong email address, I suggested to send him a blank email so that he could have my email address. Days passed and I have yet to receive anything/followup from him. Talking about services from a Director! My FH also called up Meridian, and was quite pissed off with the stuff who attended to him. So, Meridian is definitely off our list, though its price and location are enticing. I just hope other people have better luck with this hotel.

This forum is very informative. I will surely come back again!

Hi Kaz

I'm also thinking of booking with MM. like you I have been to a few hotels like Orchard, Hilton Merchant and Holiday Inn. My FH and I like to ambience of MM. I met up with Beng Koon for discussion but just yesterday heard comment that Beng Koon is not as generous as Irene. any comment from the forum? What did Irene offer you and how much is your package? weekday or weekend? I wanted an extra night at MM but Beng Koon didn't give. so sad.

Hi Orange

The "generous" offers are decided by the management cos when we "bargain" with Beng Khoon for some "extras" he mentioned that he needs to seek for management approval.

How much "gimmicks" they can offer have to depend on the date & day that you book. For wkdays, they can offer quite alokt if you really know how to bargain. It goes the same on which month is your wedding & how many tables you're having...They factor all these into the package.

Hope it help you clear your mind...Cheers.....

Hi Orange

I haven't met up with Irene yet. As I intend to hold my wedding in Jan 2003, I would like to take a look at the menu before I confirm with MM. At the moment, the package for 2003 is not out yet. As much as I am very keen on MM, I don't want to hastily commit without looking at the menu.

I was just doing some counting, I think I have been to approximately 19 hotels and 2 restaurants to check out the prices and packages!
I am so glad that I have finally arrived at a conclusion, that is, to choose MM. I can only hope that the standard of service and food will be just as good, if not better, when it's my turn.

I haven't arranged to meet Irene yet. (But I think I know how she looks like, as my FH and I were at MM over the weekend to take a look at the grand ballroom again, and we saw her. Both Pauline and Irene look very approachable and they are very pretty ladies too!) I will probably arrange a meeting with Irene before the end of the year. I understand from Irene that if I can confirm with MM before 3 Dec, they will throw in some freebies. In the meantime, I can wish that they will release the 2003 package soon.

So when is your big day?

hi sunny,

could u give me the contact for ur videographer? Am interested to check out his work. Thanks.

Hi Kaz,
Yup, you are right. My co-ordinator is Irene. So far so good. She has been pretty approachable. In fact, I have called her a couple of times to "disturb" her with regards to some of the things regarding the package already ;P She is quite okay about it ;)

If you want any extras that are not stated within the package, just voice it out to Irene. She will do her best to give it to you if it is within her abilities. As for the menu, should be quite okay. In fact, when we were confirming the menu items with Irene (they allowed us to do some swop between the menus if we wanted) she also gave some opinions like what may be good, what may not be. She is very flexible about the menu part. Something which my FH and myself appreciate

Overall, we are quite please with Irene. She is punctual and when she say she will get back to you, she does.

Hi Videographer,
sorry to get back to u so late. the contact for the videographer is Mirage Pictures, Eric 97615104, 7523660.

Halo everyone

just o let you know I have joined your club. I'm going to sign up with Marina Mandarin. At first wanted to sign with Holiday Inn but last minute pulled out cos my FH and I still likes MM. We do not want to regret our decision later. I'm so happy now. I think I'm fated with MM too cos I have my school's graduation ball, company's D&D, friends wedding there.

The one thing I find lack of at MM is the deco not very impressive. Actually wanted to add more touch to the centrepiece at every table (like floating candles in a glass bowl) but on very tight budget.

orange, I liaise with Pauline, she's very nice too... great choice!! coz I think so far MM's sales execs seems to have the best attitutes...

I've yet to book my dinner but I'm looking for ballrooms which accomodates 25-30 tables. I think MM is one of them.

Can anyone please share what you think of the ballroom that is being used for the 25-30 tables ? Is it the one on the 3rd floor? I've not yet gone down to take a look at it, but hope to gain some insights from here first. My other choice is Westin (Stamford Ballroom).

hi orange,
i liaise with Pauline n she's excellent. my wedding over liao
n totally happy with MM. anyway, i heard from one of the staff that beng koon is the most experienced n flexible among the 3 co-ordinaters there. so u r in good hands

Hi Sunny

good to hear from you about Beng Koon. Heard from Beng Koon that they have recently renovated their bridal suite. How do you find it?

Hi Tango, think yours would not be at the Grand Ballroom cos that's for 35-40 tables and above. you can checked with Beng Koon, Irene or Pauline from MM.

Hi orange,
eh...i am not sure abt the bridal suit leh. when did they reno it? my wedding was 23rd sept.i have not seen the bridal suit prior to my wedding so i can't compare. erm...i find it quite ok ah, but i am not so particular abt it. my friends did comment that it was quite nice

Been to one weekday wedding at MM, it is badly oragnised. Imagine having very in-experience waiters and lousy waiter-to-table ration, got to leave 2 dishes before the end coz cannot stand the lousy service. Have you seen people serving sharks fin carrying the bowls with the thumb submerged deep in the soup ? Yucks!!!
I only had one refill for my tea for the entire night and my guests on my table got to pick up the drinks themselves. One of the waiter even spilled a full glass of beer on a lady guest!
Food is quite bad. All seems like "cold" dish to me. Don't they have warmers ?
So if you ever choose MM, make sure you discuss these with the banquet managers thoroughly. So good luck to you guys.

hi Amelia,
i am sorry to know that u had a bad time at MM. i just attended one of my best friend's wedding at MM last thur. hers was at the Grand Ballroom n eveyrthing went very well n smooth. overall, the service was good but i agree that the waiter did not refill the drinks promptly. but other than this, we were very happy with the food n service. n it def brings back fond memories to be back there again

Amelia

thanks 4 letting us noe..i will take note!

hey Sunny..
ur best fren oso same venue as u..u recommended her there?

hi Yvonne,
no lah. as our wedding was quite near to each other, mine in sept, n hers in dec. we did our searching almost same time. then i decided on MM first, later after her research, she also felt MM has quite a good deal n settled on MM as well

Glad to hear from Sunny that MM is still good.
But let's all take note of what Amelia had mentioned.

Sunny, how soon before your wedding had your picked up the invites from Pauline? I have less than 6 months to go from now and I am kind of lost as of what to do next. :p Any advise?

How abt the rest of the gals? Jen Jen, how's everything?

Just wanna check with those who've booked MM for your wedding banquet...how much did you pay for the deposit ? In addition, is it a policy that in the event of any cancellation of the booking subsequently, we would have to foot at least 50% of the total costs. ie. if one booked 30 tables for the package at $650, in the event of any cancellation, one would have to pay at least 50% x 30 x $650??

Our understanding from most of the other hotels was that only the deposits were forfeited.

Would like some advise on the above....thank you!!

hi Linda,
i think Pauline will contact u regarding the invites n food tasting. that would be abt 2 mths before ur wedding. unless u have special request n need the invites earlier, u can always look for her. i did !! cos my wedding was the first week of lunar 8th mth n we need to send the invites before the 7th mth. so mean time u can still relax a bit. maybe u can start thinking of ur march in songs, the event proceedings etc etc. but when u meet up with Pauline, she will give u a guideline as a reference as well.

hi ling2,
the depost was $3k. i think the cancellation of the booking depends on the date as well.

Hi Sunny,

Thanks for the advise. I am printing my own invites so I think I will try to get the cards early so that I have time for errors..
In fact I have already designed a few styles liao... :P
March in songs will start compliating and ask my brother to burn into a single disk for me and maybe few for my co-ordinators.
Event proceedings, eh....I am completely lost on that..... I dun even know whether I should serve tea when hubby fetches me from home or only serve when I come back from his......Any advise?

i think normally the bride will only serve tea to her parents after going to the groom's side to serve tea. then u will come back in ur tea dress mah. what we did is like this :
1) hubby come n fetch me
2) outdoor shoot (so can be in WG cos after that will change to tea dress liao)
3) tea ceremony for hubby's side family
4) change to tea dress n go my parents home
5) tea ceremony for my family
6) go to MM

Oh okay....Now I have a better idea...

BTW, Sunny, what is the centrepiece for each table for MM? I am thinking of doing something more.

Linda, borrow our dear newly wed itinerary. She gave me a detailed excel spreadsheet, you want? Email me.

jo, are you the JO I know or someone new. If it is the latter, you email and personal profile is not available......

hi linda,
sorry pie seh....i forgot the centre piece liao
pauline will meet up with u to discuss on the decor. she will show u all the different combi so not to worry.

Hi pple!!

This thread has been relatively "dead" for so long, so I'm trying to revive it... 1-2-3... BLOW!!!

Anyway, who's next on the list??

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 --> OVER LEOW!!!
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002
3) Linda 10/06/2002
4) Mo 07/07/2002
5) Cowie 15/09/2002
6) Reebok 21/09/2002
7) Yvonne 24/09/2002
8) JenJen 10/11/2002
9) Adeline 15/12/2002
10) Jasmine 23/12/2002

Next is bluebell...

how's everyone's preparations??

anyone contacted MM to view the decorated ballroom or what?? I no time to go and find Pauline...

btw, Reebok, do you mind mailing me?? I got some questions to ask you...

My wedding will be next yr Nov, and most likely MM will be THE choice coz of the price and its one of the few hotels dat can have poolside dinner wif a shelter for the number of guests we are having. Need some help and would appreciate yr answers

1. As we are getting the buffet dinner, there willbe no food tasting even if we offer to pay...how is the food like?
2. I have meet up wif Irene but mayb MM is more into ballroom wedding, Irene seems not very enthusiatic on doing poolside wedding. I've seeen a lot of people toking about Pauline, is she beri approachable and flexible?
3. Finally, anyone also getting the poolside? Altho its sheltered, but if heavy rain, it will affect guests sitting by the side....so I'm still wondering how to handle dat. Any ideas?

hi jowie, i dunno about poolside wedding leh... most of us are ballroom ones... i talked to pauline and she is really nice... but i dunno if she will do this either... maybe u can ask for her... another guy i heard which is good is beng khoon... i think...

hi reebok, are you still around??

hi dap, when we started the list, i think u were not in yet... heheh.. no worries... will add u in rite now... coz I dun think anyone read my posting on christmas eve anyway... all busy celebrating...

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 --> OVER LEOW!!!
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002
3) Linda 10/06/2002
4) Mo 07/07/2002
5) Cowie 15/09/2002
6) Reebok 21/09/2002
7) Yvonne 24/09/2002
8) JenJen 10/11/2002
9) Adeline 15/12/2002
10) Jasmine 23/12/2002
11) Dap 16/01/2003 <-- newest addition...

Anyone else wants to join the list??

Reebok, I think you did not read my posting the last time... no worries... just let you know that I have signed up with Bridal Zone after reading some of gd comments in that thread... happen to see u there too... wanted to ask you some things...

Hi JenJen,
Thanks for reviving the thread. Have been wanting to do it but just no time to do so cos of work commitment
Wow, so the next one on the list is in may next year........ Have not gotten down to going to see their deco yet too.....

Hi Jowie,
My co-ordinator is also Irene. So far still okay lah. Whatever she can add to your package she will. Since I have no experience with Pauline, I can't do a comparison for you.....

Hi JenJen and Cowie

Thanks, will tok to my coordinator and see what she can do...coz i neber been to MM for weddings yet, also a bit wolly abt the food and service quality.

JenJen, u can add me into yr list if poolside also counts :p