Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi JenJen,

What have you been up to? Anyone been to a recent MM wedding? Pauline was telling me that the deco theme might be changed. Any idea?

been reading some of ur latest postings n juz want to add my two cents worth coz i juz attended my cousin's wedding din at the grand ballroom (ground floor) at MM last tues....

food was good... no qualms abt that....

but svc was not very gd... at least to our table can consider bad lah....

the waiter serving us told us they were short-handed that night n seems to me like they got 1 waiter n 1 waitress serving not only our table but if i rem correctly it's another 3 more tables lor..... tot this was quite an ok ratio but apparently that's not the case.... the dishes were served rather late for our few tables coz we saw other tables eating the next dish n finishing liao but ours still not served yet... this happened to not only one dish but quite a few dish... at one stage i think they even forgotten abt our table until the waiter saw us looking ard n caught our eye contact then he rem n served us....

then worse is they spilled the drink over my dad n half his shirt was soaked with beer... wahz! can u imagine how mad my dad was? but they offer to change a shirt for my dad which he rejected lah coz he very buay song liao so dun want to bother with them some more lor.... this happened at the beginning when we were juz seated... before the dinner starts.... then later in the midst of the dinner, when the waiter was clearing the plate for the fish, he actually spilled the sauce at my seat... lucky i went to ladies before that n was not back yet else it wld be me who kena from the spilt fish sauce and not the table or my seat leh... when i went back to my seat i was initially puzzled why my sis in law n cousin who were sitting on both my rt n left were cleaning my seat... later then i realize n i think i really lucky i not there... else i will be very oily n sticky for the rest of the dinner leh....

so i think u all better take note of this lor... but then on the other hand we cant really blame the waiter/waitress coz they are all part-time student helpers... but perhaps u all can feedback to ur coordinator to take note lor... i mean things like clearing the plate they shld know better how to correctly n carefully clear the plate instead of trying to hold the plate with one hand n juz take it away rt?

also i didnt notice there was any centre piece on any table when we were seated.... dunno is it bcoz my cousin requested dun wan or they dun ve... this one i not sure lah...

but the two VIP tables very nice lor... draped in gold sash instead of usual red... i think they choose the gold theme also lah....

that's all... hope u find this feedback useful lah....

thanx islandpub for ur comments, I think we will feedback to the coordinator when it is our turn... but i think it's quite a norm at most places that one table was served and another table later... it's not the first time i come across... and i think we cannot expect Ritz Carlton service for the charges that we are paying lor... maybe ur table was really sway that day...
anyway, we will feedback... thanx!!

hi cowie... yah... i finally got down to reviving this... so wat have u been up to lately??

hi jowie, no problem... poolside or ballroom... they are all weddings of MM brides wat... sure add u to the list one!!!

hi linda, me have been busy sourcing for bridal shop... coz the one I was with, Paris, had very bad comments and I was kinda scared... so I have signed up with another one...
quite happy for now... wat abt u??

And wat abt the rest of the gals who did not answer us yet??

Hi Islandpub,
Thanks for the update...... will definitely feedback to my co-ordinator when the time comes.

Hi JenJen,
Very busy with work lately
Currently also looking for shoes for my ROM in feb......

Hi islandpub
thanks for the feedback. will make sure i talked to the coordinator too. in fact the last time when I signed up I have highlighted to him before. will keep reminding him until he remembers. hee...

Hi Jen Jen
hee...thanks for adding me in. now feels part of the thread liow. hee..

Thanks for the reminder islandpub. I think service of MM has been commented on quite often. Think we should really speak to our co-ordinators abt this.... bad service is something I cannot tahan.

Jen jen, which bridal you sign with now?
So did you manage to change that deposit with Paris to something else? I have chosen all my gowns liao. Waiting for photoshoot on 1 Feb. Now trying to lose weight....
to no avail..

Hi Jowie,

I asked Beng Khoon abt the poolside wedding beforee but he says it is not under his charge. I think it is a different department.

Jowie,

Sorry I forgot to add that Beng Khoon was also not enthusiastic abt poolside weddings. You can't pick your wedding date during the rainy season even tho it's sheltered. If the wind is strong, the rain will still get in. Moreover, Beng Khoon warned us that if the wind is very strong, your champagne glasses may topple!

Although these are some things to bear in mind, I do feel poolside weddings are sooo romantic.

Hi JenJen,

so which bridal shop are you with now?

I am currently looking for my wedding shoes
Need to get it ready for my trial makeup and 2nd fitting next week. So excited...can see my gown again...

Now I am very busy with my sis's wedding and trying to do up my guest list as well. ;P

hi bluebell, linda and cowie...

i changed the pkg to studio photography only so that i can use up the entire amount... hopefully, their studio shots are not too bad... the new one i am with is bridal zone... like their outdoor photography... was actually debating between JWN or BZ and in the end, settle for the latter...

as for searching for shoes... my advice is no need to look for a perfect one... coz i find that no point looking for a really beautiful pair and no one notice during the wedding or ROM... so i advice, just find a normal white or off white pair... simple design which u can wear after u use for ROM or wedding...

Hi Bluebell

Thanks for yr advice!
I was not told about the possibility that the glasses might topple! the rain...yeah its quite a headache coz altho its sheltered, wif heavy rain the side sure kena, so will meet up wif the florist(can onli use the hotel affliated florist) to see wat they can do, probably put a standby drapes....if cannot(coz its not allowed to touch their deco) then have to change of plans liao
The reason i have choosen poolside is...of coz its lomantic
and also we are having a small crowd which is quite suitable for poolside....and i dun really fancy conventional chinese weddings wif the YUM SEY and champagne pouring....also, I will be having another real ballroom chinese dinner in Malaysia and will be in a 5 star hotel($500+ ringgit can do for 1 table in hotels better than Rasa Sentosa :p), so in Singapore can try something different!

Hi Jen Jen,

Well, I actually found a pair i like but it's grey, not silver.
Dunno if it will look funny.

Hi Jowie,

wah, 500 rinngit for a 5-star hotel is cheap. ya lor, if you are already having a ballroom dinner in Malaysia, can opt for a different setting in Singapore.

Hi Sunny,
Thanks for "popping out" to share your experience!
Just to check with you, was your co-ordinator be around at the food tasting too?

Hi Cowie,
Pauline wasn't ard during my food tasting. Fiona has been excellent help n i requested for her to serve the VIP table. Pauline called me up the very next day to check on the food tasting though. Oh, the chef did come out to chat with us for a while on the food too.

i have a gf who attended several MM weddings n her own wedding was also held there. so she no need to go for food tasting as she has taste most of the dishes already
she told me which are the nicest n i agree too :
1) poarched prawns (very fresh n big, yummy)
2) smoked tea duck
3) red bean paste with "tang yuan"
4) mee sua (the chef told me during my food tasting that this is their specialty)

so maybe u girls can keep these dishes in mind

Hi Jen Jen,

Really appreciate your effort in reviving this site

Not sure abt service in MM, but must say that sometimes people do make mistakes. Even Ritz Carlton service is NOT fantastic. I was there for a wedding some time end of last year. And the waiter forgot one dish for our table while other tables were already tucking in. It took them soooo long before some waiter noticed that our table was empty and signalled to other waiters. Then, the final dessert was awful. It was the yam paste thingie, but tasted a li'l sourish...so we all didn't eat. Can u imagine, even Ritz Carlton can serve "chao sng" or "soured" food. So, I think nobody's perfect. Mistakes are bound to happen, it just depends on whether we are the unlucky ones to be there at the right time, right place to experience it. And once we did, we are bound to set a bad impression of it even if it's not necessarily the case. It's human nature.

Anyway, just wanted to encourage you gals out there not to get too upset if something goes wrong during your weddings. Anything can happen. So, just take it easy and relax...enjoy your special day. Don't let anything else destroy your mood or happiness, it's not worth it
Cheers!!!

Hi Sunny,
Thanks! I think I have 2 out of the 4 dishes you mentioned in the menu I selected the other time
Hope to get Fiona too!

Hi Cowie,
no problem
u still can change menu if u r not happy with any of the dishes.

there was one dish that wasn't in the list of menu. n my mum just so happen to mention to Pauline n she said MM can do it !
It's chicken with kailan n ham. something special n all my guests love it.

Hi Jowie,

Looks like my wedding banquet plan is very similar to yours! I'm also having traditional chinese banquet in 5* hotel in M'sia and planning to have a small buffet dinner in S'pore. Irene has given me a few packages to chose from. I am interested in the Italian restaurant "RISTORANTE BOLOGNA" in MM. Can anyone comment on the food in that restaurant? Thanks!

Hi Ice

Glad to know someone same as me! My bf is from Msia and as he know nothing about the wedding shops there, tink I will have a problem searching for makeup artiste and photographer there!
I have met up wif Pauline from MM and is now waiting for her to get back to me on whether the shelter at the poolside can hang drapes in case it rains.
I like the Ristorante Bologna as well but it can onli contain 100pax, my list is about 150...

Calling for Linda.....need your advise on your "contract" with MM...what are the terms and conditions...pls advise...THANKS!!!

Hi Ling02,

You need the which term and condition? Sorry but are you the one who I mentioned I will check for you? :P I was busy with the new house and forget to bring it to the office everyday. Sorry. Will try my very best to bring tomolo. What is it that you need to know?

Hi! Linda,

sorry to have "chase" you...well remember I asked about the "forfeiture clause..in the event that there is a need to cancel / postpone the dinne due to unforeseen circumstances"...well...need to know whether is it a standard clause ...the other hotels dosen't seem to have it and thus don't really feel comfortable about it.

need to trouble u.... THANKS!!!:-)

Hey gals!!! New addition... Jowie, saw from another thread that you have joined the MM gang... dun mind if I include you in our list??

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 --> OVER LEOW!!!
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002
3) Linda 10/06/2002
4) Mo 07/07/2002
5) Cowie 15/09/2002
6) Reebok 21/09/2002
7) Yvonne 24/09/2002
8) JenJen 10/11/2002
9) Adeline 15/12/2002
10) Jasmine 23/12/2002
11) Jowie 03/11/2002 <-- newest addition...
12) Dap 16/01/2003

Dun stay so quiet leh... tok tok tok... hehehe... :o

Hi Ling02,

I think the clause you mean is this:- "If you intend to cancel or postpone the function, you have to inform us latest in writing by [date *abt 8 months from signing contract for mine]. If you failed to do so, you have to pay us a 50% charge on total contracted price based on the minimum guranteed attendance.
However, should you cancel or postpone the function with less than thirty (30) days' written notice prior to the function, you have to pay us an eighty per cent (80%) charge on the total contracted price based on the minimum guaranteed attendance."

Ling02

I think it fair that they have to charge if we cancel or postpone the date after the dateline given to us.
Depending on how soon in advance you booked and sign the contract, our dateline was 8 months after we sign and 6 months before the actual day.
Between signing contract and dateline, you can still change your date. So in case if mums or ILs need to check the tong shu, then you can still book ealier using a day in the month you will roughly get married. Then when the tong shu is out and date heck against, then confirm with MM lor.
This clause shouldn't be a problem cos they give quite a good grace period.

Hi JenJen

I tot I am already in your list!! (refer to way up above :p)

I have met up wif Pauline, and I dunno whether she's too tired from whole day work, or MM's sales persons is really not interested in doing poolside wedding. She din really talk much and not really negotiable....she is the 2nd salesperson I met up wif, 1st is Irene...Irene told us dat the mini cakes can exchange for 1 nite stay, but Pauline rejected dat.
Anyway, Pauline have redo a quote for us and the menu is much better than the standard package, but at a higher price of coz.

Would like to check wif u gals, issit true that we have to pay the deposit below MM will mail us the contract? Pauline told me so, but isn't it strange dat we have to pay before even knowing what the contract says? If the contract is in conflict wif what is initially agreed on, are we able to get back the deposit?

no lah... jowie... i just added u one mah... way up above where??? i think maybe poolside is not really their field, that's why they not very keen lah...

Hi Jowie,

We're really in the "same boat". Me and my fiance sort of agreed that we'll take our wedding package in S'pore rather than in M'sia bcos he's now in UK. Since I came back 1 year earlier, I'll have to co-ordinate most of the wedding stuff except for the banquet in M'sia. I'll be meeting up with Irene in 2 weeks time when my fiance comes here for a visit. I've a smaller crowd (<100) but I'm still considering betw poolside and the italian restaurant. I'd loved to know your progress, do keep me informed

Hi JenJen...dun understand why they do a sheltered area at the poolside for dining when they are not keen to sell it...but no choice lar...MM is the onli hotel wif good price and can provide a sheltered area for my number of guests...so cannot complain too much heheee

Hi Ice...I have gotten a new quote from them wif a whole new menu...the previous one is a bit chinese for a buffet...now is more to international...but the best part is, they allowed us to hang drapes in case if raining too heavily, previously we are told it is not possible at all. There is a metal bar running along the side of the shelter, so mayb we have to make our own "shower curtain"

Can someone pls answer me about the deposit and contract that I posted in the 3rd msg before this? My FH and myself is quite kan jiong to know how is it done wif fellow MM couples...THANKS!!

We paid the deposit before receiving the contract in the mail too.
When you pay deposit, you didn't sign anything other than receiving a receipt in acknowledgement that you paid. You only see a 'rough' contract which Pauline used the package list and edit or add in items she promised you. You check from the list.
Then when the contract comes, you have to sign and return to them a copy of it.
I didn't think Marina will be out to cheat us lor cos they have their reputation to protect. Everything Pauline mentioned was correctly inside the contract. So no worries lah

I've confirmed my wedding banquet at MM. Just wondering if any of u guys have seen their set-up or been to any weddings at Les Oiseaux, Level 5? Only manage to see their empty ballroom when I placed my deposit that day...

I've some frenz saying that Grand Ballroom serves better food than Les Oiseaux and some say otherwise, issit true? I thought the food should be serving from the same kitchen?

Pls advise...thanks!

hi luzon888, i can't answer ur question, sorry, but will u like to join our list?? pls tell us when is ur wedding so we can all countdown together...

Hi JenJen,

Count me in...My wedding is on 30 June 2002....Yup..at MM too.... So when is yours????

Hi luzon888,
Just attended a wedding at MM on Thursday... The food is good.....don't worry....

Hi JenJen

My wedding is on 20 November 2002 but yet to book my bridal package.

Hi Lily

Thanks! btw, which ballroom did u go to?

Hey MM Brides!!! New List:

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 --> OVER LEOW!!!
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002
3) Linda 10/06/2002
4) Lily 30/06/2002
5) Mo 07/07/2002
6) Cowie 15/09/2002
7) Reebok 21/09/2002
8) Yvonne 24/09/2002
9) JenJen 10/11/2002
10) Luzon888 20/11/2002
11) Adeline 15/12/2002
12) Jasmine 23/12/2002
13) Jowie 03/11/2002
14) Dap 16/01/2003

Seems like Dap is still the last one...

Hi Luzon888! Hey, you are a MM bride huh?

Hi Ladies, me "back" after a long while... still yet to decide on banquet! haha... :p

perhaps I might be no. 15 on the list!!

Hi JenJen

thank u so much for updating the bride list..
so how's ur reno btw..finished alreadi?
i noticed tat quite a no. of ppl ard ur cluster of blks have started to move in liao..

I am thinking of booking at MM also on 29 Dec 2002. Have spoken to Irene. Just wanted to know if she is okay or should I change a coordinator? Many Thanks for your advice.

Hi JenJen

yup me is the 1st for 2003 (according to Beng Khoon) and now is the last in this thread. very nervous about MM's 2003 package which is not out yet. dun know whether we will loose out since we have already booked.

Hi Jolene

Irene is my banquet co-ordinator too. So far so good, personally I find her ok. Unless you feel uncomfortable talking to her?

MM is quite a well-known hotel which they need to maintain with their good service too. Agree?

Can anyone do me a big favour by emailing me a scanned pix of Les Oiseaux, Level 5 decoration (if u happen to have one)? Me too lazy to contact Irene for site inspection at MM.

Million Thanks!