Marina Mandarin Singapore

jenjen

Reebok...

Acherly I was in the same boat with you lah... I kept asking when he will propose until I buay tahan... he oso say he will do it...

So trust him that he will do it lor...

cowie

Hi JenJen,
I know what you mean.
I felt that way too when my FH proposed. He also chose a time which I least suspected........ He knows that I do feel the importance of being proposed to lah..... cos after wearing the ring, doing preparations somehow felt more "appropriate"..... BTW he proposed before we started looking for banquets and bridal package. (cos I will not do all these before he pop the question......

Hi Reebok,
Be patient. Since he said that he will propose, he will........
Maybe he is planning something big, big leh......

mo

Hi Cowie,
Hehe...me blur mah...yup, mine is on the 6 & 7th July 2002...quite close to yours hor?
Was reading the earlier threads on dieting and found out that u are a pharmacist. Wah...so next time can go to u for medicine and advice hor...hehe

Guess what??? We have another thing in common too...and that is i will NOT prepare anything for wedding too if the guy has not proposed...hehe

Hi Reebok,
Don't worry. I'm sure your FH will propose since he said he will do it when the time is right. Proposing to a girl in a special way takes a lot of effort and planning too. So, don't spoil the surprise now, give him some time to plan and surprise u when the time comes ok?
I understand it's frustrating, but be patient. We are with u

Hi JenJen,
CONGRATS AGAIN!!! Still very excited and happy for u
Tell us how he proposed if u don't mind sharing

cowie

Hi Mo,
I will try my best to answer any medication questions if you all have any.
Yup, yup, I am a registered pharmacist but am not really practising now.

Hey, you have to give me a pat on the back man for remembering your wedding date!!!
Not exactly very close to yours lah.....more than two months leh..... But close enough for you to still remember what tips to give me lah huh!!!

reebok

Thx for the support!!

Being together with my FH for 2+ yrs, I know his style too well. More / less can guess what he is trying to do liao. So far, he only manage to surprise me once. U know, the real surprise...

Well, I've not given up hope yet. *Sigh* Still waiting patiently....Hope he'll really surprise me!!

Anyway, congrats to all on your happy occasion & congrats to myself that I've found a lovely husband though not romantic...

Cheers..........

cowie

Hi Reebok,
You should be more than happy to get a loving hubby. No point being just romantic rite.......you want someone whom loves you for life and you can also depend on him for life.......
So, yup, congrats to you too!!

mo

Hi Cowie,

*pat pat*...on the back...for remembering my wedding date...hehe
Sure, no prob, will definitely give u all the tips after my wedding...esp since we have so much in common

Hi Reebok,

Don't worry...I'm sure he will. Well, it's a blessing that you have a husband who is stable and who loves u...tho not romantic. There are many men out there who really knows how to romance a lady but they usually turn out to be jerks...and they start romancing other ladies. See...so u are blessed with a good stable husband

reebok

HI all

Yeap, I am very contented & glad to have a lovely & caring guy. I'm sure we will still be holding hands till the end of our life. He'll be the one who will take care of me when I get too old & fell sick.

To show my love & commitment to each other; there's why we're getting married mah....

But huh, sometimes life gets boring & we, as gals, do like abit of surprises & sweet talk lah...

Got to start work liao..... seeya

Cheers.........

reebok

JenJen,

My working hours is from 7.30 am - 4.45 pm. So, still not too bad lah....Think that I can go shopping with lesser crowd. By the time the crowd come, I'm already done with my shopping. Not too bad rite?!

Cheers....

jenjen

Good ah... but I prefer to work later...
... coz I like to sleep late...

can anyone advice me... the other thread like not many pple read leh...

I am going to choose gown for my ROM soon from my bridal shop... I was wondering if it is necessary to get those "inner support" (coz I not well endowed...
) if I plan to wear spagetti strap or off shoulder type of gown??? If it is advisable, any good brands or places I can get from...

linda

Hi Jen Jen,

Does your ROM gown comes with padding? If yes then no need lor. But if you want the "Uhmm" effect, can consider getting those nipple tapes look alike but provide support to give you that uplift. I saw at Metro Woodlands 2 floor Cashier near to Men's apparel.

cowie

Hi Mo,
Yup, waiting to learn from you

Hi JenJen,
Dun worry so much about the ROM gown. I think the shop people should be able to give you advice on what are the cutting that suits you. After finalising on the gown then come and decide on what are the "extras" you need to make the overall look even better....... It is always easier when you have the actual gown design already.....Who knows, the chosen gown may fit you to the T such that you can do without any other extra paddings, etc....

Hi Reebok,
So touched to see the love and bond shared between the two of you........sob, sob...

jenjen

Linda, ur "umm" effect very cute... but u sure those tapes can give u "uplift"??? I want to at least see a bit of cleavage mah...
... btw, maximiser bras not effective enuff for me...hahaha...

Cowie, I have not chosen yet... but I roughly know I want something simple lor... so I dun think simple gowns have sufficient paddings... furthermore, paddings look kinda fake???

btw, wat about bustier tops??? wat are they??? are they any good???

linda

Jen,

Bustier tops are just like tubes. Wore external.

BTW, you know the trick to 'fit' better in maximiser? I learn this from a friend. Buy your bra size one size samller than what you usually wear.
After wearing must remember to bend forward, pull each breast up and front, sitting each nicely in the cup....Then da-dah! Super cleavage! Cos tighter and breast are kind of "forced" to sit upright mah....
Those tapes supposedly provides uplifting support. But true or not I dunno leh.

jenjen

Linda ah...
If bustier tops are just like tubes... then it wun help much to push right???
Oso abt the maximiser thing... when u say 1 size smaller, does it mean the cup size or the bra size???

dew

JenJen,
have you read my reply in the Paris thread? bustier tops are HARD while tubes are soft and take whatever body shape you have. Bustiers SHAPE your body instead, and yes, they will push you assets up!

serene

hi ladies, sorri for disappearing for a week now... been busy, hope some of you still remember me?!!??

reebok, read your posting about your hubby not being romantic... sigh* felt the urge to contribute, my man's like yours.. not romantic one... aiyoh, but think of it this way, the little little thing that he does sometimes is actually his way of expressing his love and care/ concern and i guess this is more sweet than if he were to say "love you" all the time?

i remember when i was in hospital december last year, he really took care of me.. took me to the toilet, powder bath me, watch me while i sleep etc.. it's really touching and from then, i stopped complaining that he isn't romantic! a romantic man, i want but a guy who truly care for me is more important!

it's been 5+ years now, love is still in the air and i guess that's most impt?

as for jenjen, my sister is also like you and for her wedding, she requested/ opted for bustiers! it works well for her. gave her that cleavage which is required but didn't give her one that's artificial! that's the point! try dew's suggestion, I think it works!

serenetan

jenjen

hi dew & serene... theanx for letting me know the "secret"...
I din have time to check the website during the weekend...

ok, now my next question is... where can I buy one???
what brand is good???

dew

Hi JenJen, if you mean where to buy a corset,well, Triumph is a reasonably good and mid-range priced brand to buy. Otherwise you can go to Blush at Scotts.

jenjen

I mean where I can buy a bustier top, which can be worn alone, or can be worn below my gown??? double use mah...

mag

Hello to all,

I'm new to this website and I'm happy to see so many positive comments about MM. I plan to have my wedding dinner Dec 02 and MM is one of my choices.

I know most hotels only allow Duty Paid liquor. Is MM very strict on this or will they close one eye? Also, may I know how much deposit to pay?

yvonne

Hi mag

welcome to the MM "gang"
we did asked our co-ordinator abt the DFS liquor n she said tat only non-DFS is allowed..think quite strict..
but there is another hotel tat we actually asked n the guy said tat legally in the contract they will state duty paid but as a matter of fact, they will close one eye.
i paid $3k for the deposit.

maybe u can meet up with MM n check with them.

mo

hi mag,

welcome to the MM fan club...hehe...we are all firm supporters of MM as we have gotten good service so far and are really happy with them.

well, just meet up with one of the MM banquet managers and see what they can offer u. it's worth a visit even if u eventually don't sign up with them.

all the best

jenjen

mag,

the person I liased with is Pauline, she is nice (highly recommended)...

DFS liquor they are not very strict, as long as let them know... but pls dun say that I said this as it is illegal...

yup, deposit 3K

reebok

Mag

Welcome, welcome to the grp. Not hard selling but MM has the most complete package & the Banquet Mgrs are friendly & timely too......

Juz check with us if you need any infor. Cheers.....

mag

thanks a lot for the info!! well i supposed if the customers of MM are being so positive and enthusiastic about MM, their service must be of a certain standard!

OK, now MM is ranked No.1 at my list!! you know what? I think this is a WONDERFUL website as I've gained lots of information from you WONDERFUL people!!

Have a nice weekend!

adeline

Hi mag,

Welcome. I think MM has one of the best packages so far. Regarding the DFS, Pauline did mention to me that we can bring in non-duty paid and they will transfer into duty paid bottles for us. You may want to check with her on that.

cowie

Hi mag,
Great to have you as part of our "gang"!
Looking forward to exchange tips with you.

How's the rest of you girls? Pretty quiet these dayz huh?

jenjen

yup... everyone's so quiet... dunno if sunny is back from honeymoon... enjoying married life leow...

so how are all u gal's preparations??? I'll be going to the bridal boutique tonite to choose a simple gown for my ROM... have been advised not to use the trial makeup for my ROM first... wat u gals think??? oso looking for a place which does hair for ROM... but it's gotta open early... coz mine's in the morning... hehehe...

yvonne

life's quite "routined" recently..was really busy choosing the venue n bridal..after tat..life's back to normal..
always log in to c new postings..i guess when sunny is back the thread will be longer here..we sure to ask her lotsa questions..on the dinner, honeymoon etc...

JenJen
i think Paris can provide makeup n hairstyling rite? but must pay them extra..
so how's ur day at Paris last nite? choosen ur ROM gown?

jenjen

yep yvonne, chosen my ROM gown... quite simple but I am worried if it is a bit too formal... my bf did the choosing...
hehehe... seems like that dress was one of the very popular ones for ROM... *sigh*... later I meet someone who tell me she wore that dress before then die...

Paris will be very expensive... I asked leow...

Hey, now I know why all the brides want to keep on slimming down... coz when I tried the gowns... wah!!! so stressful... I have to keep breathing in deeply just to zip it up!!! *pengz*... so depressing!!!

yvonne

JenJen

glad tat u found ur gown.

hehe..ya..i think so too..tat time i went to Milan and they allowed me to try 2 gowns..one was ok but the other one quite tight!
but nvm lah..they can amend one mah..

hey if someone say she wore the same b4 still not so bad..if u get ur dress from outside (the more popular ones) u have high chance of seeing another bride on tat day, scarly wearing the same dress as u!! like tat more cham!
at least u need not worry coz i think the dress is only from Paris..low chance of seeing another one exactly the same one!

Happy ROM!!
hey...do remember wat u have said during the ROM leh..for my case..both my hubby n i couldnt remember wat we have said coz i think we were too kan cheong..just repeat the lines..heheheh

jenjen

yvonne... I have attended my bf's friend's ROM before and guess wat... after the whole thing, his wife ask him if he felt that he was getting married, he said no!!! Why??? Because he say everything so chop chop until he dunno wat he said...hehehe...

btw, do u know how long before the time must u arrive??? I forgot leow... oh yah... ur makeup and hairstyling that day, did u ask anyone to do for u??? Any recommendations??? coz I sourcing now...

yvonne

JenJen

try 2 b there at least on time..best to leave half n hr b4 time..in case of traffic jam! since urs is also a morning..
tell u something..i was ALMOST late for mine!! panic like siao man..we were there on the dot! but very rush..we forgot abt the traffic..
but good thing we managed to reach on time loh..

no harm gettn there earlier..then u can take photos with ur family n frens mah..

as for makeup artisit..i wouldnt recommend mine..tat time my fren recommended her to me..she's fr a bridal boutique but i dun like her makeup..very thick ah! n also..the hairstlying..wat she did was to spray lotsa hairspray..not recommended i should say!

Sweetiee recommended Sandy in another thread rite? u managed to get her? sorry..i dun have recommendations.coz mine not good.

jenjen

hi yvonne, if u read the other thread, I think I will do my makeup myself... as for the hair, I just go to a hair salon when they just open to do it...
Like that oso can save a bit of $$$ mah... coz they will charge double if I want to make appointment before their opening hours... everywhere else quote so high...

bridal makeup sure thick one lah... wat's impt is ur photos come out great!!!
as for hairspray sure a lot one oso lah... my advice from hairdresser is, if u got lots of hairspray in ur hair, when u want to wash ur hair, use conditioner first, then shampoo... it'll be easier...

serene

hi jenjen

just wanna KPO a bit here!
you know, if you are looking for someone to do the make-up for you, sandy is a good one, cos you did mine for me too, though she was introduced by another friend who "used" her for her ROM too!

i think "my" sandy might be the same sandy as what sweetiee mentioned in the previous thread!

just before my ROM, i was looking pretty pale and weak as i was recuperating from an op. 3 weeks ago, but sandy managed to transform me into a "beauty"!! haha.. so thick-skinned...

anyway, the more important thing is, make sure you & your witness remember the IC!!!! for my case, i was late for my ROM (5minutes) cos, my MIL forgot!!!!! she didn't know she has to bring it!!!! my hubby forgot to tell her!!!! aiyoh, had to go back and take and then, the traffic jam cos we had to use the CTE and our time was 9am!! the first one!!!!

my hubby's godsister called and said that everyone had already arrived but the bride & groom was missing!? told her the situation and she spoke to the pp at the ROM... when we reached there, my friend took over the car and we rushed upstairs! so many friends & relatives saw us rushing... so pai-seh!!!

lucky thing, we weren't made to wait long, we went in as the second couple!

but i can see my hubby, he was breaking out in perspiration! haha... kan-cheong ah!!

so, IC!!!!

jenjen

serene, cannot use sandy leh...
she's taken... but i've got faith in my own makeup skills lah...
hehehe... it's the hair only which is problematic... u think sandy willing to come and do hair only???

sunny

HI GIRLS

I AM BACK !!!
okee, shall share with u my wedding details now...

few days before the wedding, i was busy with cleaning my new hse, getting everything ready for the big day, was so tired. most headache part was the guest list n table arrangement n i cannot stress more on it. pls do it soonest possible. but lucky i got everything settled n i can relax on the eve of my wedding. i was very tired but could not get much sleep, guess i was excited n waiting for the big moment to arrive.

i woke at up 5.45am, get ready for the make up artiste (Jac) to come. she arrived at 6.45am sharp as promised n start to work on me. i must say she did a tremendous job, transforming me into a little princess..kekeke
then the photographers n videography came. they were really a funny team n kept making me laugh. really good to have them ard cos they help me to relax n i feel so comfy with them ard. i was ready by 8am n my hubby only will arrive at 8.30am. so i had time to walk ard, teased my "jie mei", check myself on the mirror.. parade...blah blah blah.

then Andy (my hubby) came n i can hear all the comotion outside. i was seated all the time in the room, trying hard to listen. let's just say that andy did not have an easy time to get in but he did eventually. when i was leaving my parent's home, my mum took my hands n placed on andy's, told him to take good care of me n she started to get teary. me also can feel the rush of tears in my eyes but i told myself to control hard.

then we head off to our outdoor shoot. was planning to go to Emerald Hill but it started to rain, so Andrew (photographer) signal us to go to Art Museum instead. was rather glad to make this change cos the place is air-conditioned n got nice places for photoshoot

next, followed by tea ceremonies n we head off to MM. we only reach MM abt 4pm i was already very tired but still very excited. Jac was suppose to come at 5pm so i need to rush to clean up n have the complementary room service meal. girls, do try to order earlier cos it takes quite a while for the food to arrive.

Jac arrived to proceed with the make up, again, she did a wonderful job. Andrew came too for the journalistic shots.. followed by all my close friends n good buddies. Andy n the helpers teams went down to have rehearsal n briefing. they will have a rehearsal at 6pm, briefing at 6.30pm. during the briefing, then u can tell the techinican what songs u r playing for the march in, test out the projector...blah blah blah.

i went down to greet the guests at abt 7.30pm. was so excited to see so many guests. we were pretty lucky, all my guests were seated by 8pm n we start the event at 8.15pm. we started with showing the slideshow followed by our bridal march. the event operation manager from MM was really good. he calm us down, made us feel good, assured us n was there all the way to guide n help us. he was really very nice ! Pauline was there too, she chat with me n assued me as well. she was there thru out most of the dinner to make sure everthing falls into place nicely.

after our second march, my sis gave a very touching speech that i nearly cried on stage. then me n hubby each gave our personal thank you speech too. the event manager was there always to make sure everything was ok.

ok, feedback on MM. mostly said the food was okee. only bad feedback i received was that the waiter seems to "rush" the guests. they kept asking whether they are done with the dishes n they want to collect the plates. there's this particular waiter did not even bother to ask, just took away the plates when there's still food !!! i think u girls should highlight this to MM. other than this, everything was GREAT !!

Pauline n her team really did a wonderful job n we enjoy ourselves so much on our wedding day. there were a few hiccups here n there, but i just completely ignore it n leave it to my sis n friends to settle it. so girls, on ur big day, no matter what, just leave it to ur team, relax n be a little pricess for a day

Here's a a few ppl that i would like give credits to n also some lobang to share...

~ Marina Mandarin (Pauline 8451225)
she really help to make sure everything was done nicely for our big day. i am very grateful that she stay almost thru out the whole dinner.

~ Ted Wu (3271241)
i received alot of compliments for both my gowns. i enjoy every single session with him thru out the whole design, fitting phase. if anyone out there loves embriodery n considering Ted Wu, do check him up.

~ Montage Studio (4762440)
Eng Howe did a great job for our photoshoot. he was able to capture every little moment n made us look so natural n loving. andy was so stiff during the shoot n i was so surprised that the pic turn out so well. infact he look much more natural than me !!

~ Jacqueline Law (make up artiste 96353568)
a friendly gal to work with n she listens to my concerns n preference. she is pretty stong with both make up n hair.

~ The Edge Photography (Andrew Tay 96867894)
i had 2 photographers for my actual day. Andrew took the B&W journalistic while his partner Leslie took the tradition colour shots. then Eric was incharge of the videography. these 3 funny guys, just made us feel so relax n i must say they are very professional. they are a great team together n have very good rapport.

~ Projector (William Chua 90250418)
i rented the projector from William n he told me ours is the first wedding event. usually he handles coporate events. $150 for the projector, including delivery n pick up. MM charges $450 !!!

~ Digital Presentation (Monica Eng 98488199)
Monica did the slide show for us n many guests told me was a good job done. i even have friends who felt so touch while viewing the slideshow that they feel like crying !!!

~ London Cab (Michael Tan 97351991)
the london cab look very pretty with the nice decor done by Green Point Florist. Micheal is a very nice guy. we enjoy our rides with him. (if contact him directly is cheaper than going thru Tibs... shhhh. i contacted thru Tibs is $550, he told me direct to him is $480)

~ SB Forum of course !!
i made so many good friends here n also found alot of good contacts here for our wedding preparations. THANK YOU

that's all from me. i hope i have not bore u with my long long posting.

cowie

Hi Sunny,
Thanks for sharing so much with us. Continue to stay in the forum and "guide" us through our weddings, okie?

Ya, and remember to share your photos with us when you get them!

reebok

Hi Sunny

Glad to hear that your wedding day went on smoothly. Thx for sharing with us your joyful day & all the lobangs........ya..ya.. we wanna see your pics!!!

yvonne

Sunny

yup, thks for sharing with us..looking fwd to c ur photos!

btw, want to ask u something..dunno if the other took note of this..
any body commented tat the table is too small..squeezy??
when i went to c the ballrm tat sun (ur dinner) i saw the tables..dunno whether i "xin1 li3 zuo4 yong4" i find the table very small leh..
u know y..coz b4 i signed up, my FIL told us to ask abt the size of the table..5ft or 6ft..
coz if too small..not very comfy..he said 6ft better..
i forgot to ask Pauline n asked only when we were abt to pay the deposit..she said its 5ft!
my hubby say should be ok..

i went to a colleague's dinner last nite..noted tat there r some smaller tables..ours is quite ok..but i c tat some are smaller..(like the ones i saw at MM)!!
pls tell me something +ve!!

btw, did u gals check for the size of the tables b4 booking?

sunny

hi yvonne,
eh...so far no one feedback to me abt the table size. n from what i noticed that nite, it seems pretty okee

girls !
andrew called me n said i can view my pics this coming thurs. i am so excited now

sure, will def help n guide u girls if u need any help
one thing to note is that for ur actual day, u really need ur greatest pals ard to help run the show for u. find someone u can trust n rely on. there might be some unforseen hiccups n u need all ur buddies to handle for u, u shouldn't even know if there's any problem on that day.

jenjen

wah sunny, you like really spent a lot of $$$ on the whole affair leh... in the end, ur ang pow win or lose???

all those photography, I think we will ask one of our friends to help... then if we do montage, may do ourselves... I think video no need lah... no $$$ leow...

sunny

no lah. the photography package was a wedding gift from my dear sister lah
actually i did not want to do video too. but after some thoughts n advise from friends, i decided to go ahead with it. reason being is that u dun get to see alot of the details during the wedding, as the attention is on u. it is only thru the video then u get to see the whole day procedure. now i am really glad that i did it.

due to our generous guests, we managed to cover all the banquet cost

jenjen

btw, how did u 2 split the cost???

is it the traditional guy's side pay guy's side + the no. of tables he give the gal??? but he only take angpow for guy's side??? then the gal take all angpow on gal side and pay only for extra tables gal wants (above the no. received from guy)???

or u 2 just pool everything together and pay together, dun care abt the no. of tables guy gives gal???