Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Meimei
I am looking at about 35 tables? Approx. For the moment, FH & I are interested in Merchant Court, Oriental, Mandarin and MM. Comments? Other suggestions?
Because my family (extended family) is big, I have to cater about 10 tables just for my uncles and aunts!! From past experiences, I know I sure lu-gi alot, so am thinking of going to a "not-so-ex" hotel but which one???

HI Serene,

have u consider having ur wedding on a weekeday? if u r able to, it will help to save alot too

I would suggest Merchant Court as the food is good and the ballroom looks grand. The only problem is the location is not as convenient. The price is around the range of $600+. Are you looking at weekends or weekdays ?

I have tried Oriental before and it is not bad either. I would very much like to try those hotels but was not able to meet their min number of tables. You may want to try Holiday Inn Park View. Their ballroom can take around 40 tables but may be cramp. They having a promotion which is around $599 and $639 for weekday and weekends. I am looking at that hotel but both FH and me find the hotel looks a bit old and the lights are rather dim.

Do you have any advice on hotels with min 20 to 25 tables ? I have a hard time finding one which fits my budget. My budget is preferably not more than $700 per table. Anyone has any advice for such hotels ?

There is a search engine at http://www.prep2wed.com where you can narrow down ur choices by fitting in ur budget & number of tables... there are also contact numbers there... once u narrow down ur selection, call them to view the place...

HI Mei Mei & Serene

Don't know any website for checking of dates leh...Sorry can't help!! But loh, I thk Popular Bookstores are selling some Forture telling books for next year so you can go there c c look look.

For me, my MIL advise us to choose any of the 1st & 15th of Lunuar month (except Ching Ming, 6th & 7th mth) as she says it's always gd. Not many parents like to have wedding in Ching Ming mth cos it's' like mourning, 6 means half of 12 & the marriage will only last 1/2 a year. For 7th mth aiya no need to say lah... From there, my FH & I narrow down to both 8th & 9th mth loh!!

MM happen to have the Lantern Festival date available so we thought very meaningful leh so juz book loh....

From what I know 22/09/2002 (Sun) is a gd date. MM is hving 3 weddings on that nite so fully book liao. If you're considering other hotel then maybe can look out for this date.

Cheers...........

Hi meimei, reebok and sunny,

Weekdays, i am not too keen but I guess the dates are important too. i am thinking of 15.02.2003, which actually falls on the 15th day of the chinese lunar year!!! so according to reebok's MIL, it should be good day right? Saturday too... so, that's why I am thinking..

HIPV seems a little old for me, thus I am ruling that out..

Merchant Court is good, I have heard great food reviews on that, MIL likes it too, but I don't really like the idea. Not the location (cos Clarke Quay MRT ready mid 2002) but because it's my corporate hotel.. I go there very often to meet my guests etc, company functions etc., so it's doesn't seem too "interesting" for me...

what should i do??

Serene

What is your budget ? Maybe I can suggest some hotels that I have seen already.

I too have a big problem - the nicer hotels are pretty x per table. Did you know MM charges $688 per table on Sundays for year 2000 but now they have raised it up to $738 for year 2001-2002.
I have some budget and min tables constraints and this is really depressing.

hi meimei... nowadays a bit difficult to find a decent hotel less than $700 leow... so I still think slightly over $700 for MM plus all perks are very good deal leow...

dun be depressed... u r planning for a joyous event!!!

hi meimei, i am having a headache too... FH told me the budget is max 800/ nett per table but also added, the cheaper and the lesser people to invite the better. so, how am i to react?

but yes please, suggestions on hotels you have seen would be great! i have yet to see any hotels, so i really don't know. so far, my "homework" is to collect and filter hotels, according to budget.

minimum tables is usually set at 25/ 30, so i think i am safe. i will need at least 30..

hey, when is your wedding set?

your budget is about 700 per table, i think merchant court is good, the food is also good, it's just that i don't want to have my wedding at my co. hotel, otherwise i will use them!

have you confirmed your wedding/ bridal salon package?? if so, where?

anyone, good comments?

I have no fixed date as I don't mind any weekend dates in either Oct or Nov 2002. But I am only looking at 25 tables or less hence my choices are quite restricted.

I liked Merchant Court a lot but I can't meet their min number of tables.

So far, I have seen a number of hotels and some short summary
1. MM - $738 for Sundays (good and complete package and min table is 20)
2. Grand Plaza ParkRoyal - $728 for Sundays (new hotel, liked the suite a lot (has a rooftop jacuzzi), heard that food is good. Ballroom is not very big - max 32+2 tables.
3. Orchard Hotel - $738 High ceiling, no pillars and can take quite at least 35 to 40 tables. Not much exclusively as it can hold a few weddings at the same floor.
4. Orchard Parade Hotel - $600+++ Food is catered by Club Chinos.
5. York Hotel - $528+++ Cheap but look at bit lc.
6. Regent Hotel - can try this, heard it has a grand ballroom.
Min number of tables is 35. Price around $698+++ for weekends.
7. Hilton Hotel - $738 (good package and you can use their grand ballroom as min tables is 35)

I have compiled a spreadsheet. I can send to you if you are interested.

Have not source for my bridal package yet. Any recommendations ?

After hearing from JenJen, I would seriously consider MM and Grand Plaza as both fit what I wanted but they are a bit above my budget so I guess I have to prepare for some losses unless something else good comes along.

Do you know if hotels change their promotion packages every few months ?

Hi Mei Mei

I'm abit confused liao. Thot Grand Plaza is an old hotel, formally named as The Plaza. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I do agree with JenJen, nowadays is difficult to find a hotal < S$700. If there is, then their package might not be complete &amp; could result in hidden costs or theirs are on the +++ kind. Get wat I meant.

Eg: if XX hotel is charging S$600 +++/tbl, so after all the service charges, it'll still be the same with those charge S$700 nett. Don't let the numbers play tricks on you.

MeiMei

Don't hesitate lah.... Join us &amp; become MM brides (sounding like a die-hard sales person). Juz kidding lah!! Do enjoy make the rite decision &amp; doning your "homework".

BTW, what you FH says?? Does he has any comcern / something in mind?? Me, veri KPO huh?! Cos when Iwas busy doing my "homework", my FH alreadi has some hotels in mind. He doesn't tell me cos I'm too excited &amp; doing all these secretly. Thot of juz sharing tis with u!!

Cheers......

Hi reekbok,
Grand Plaza Park Royal is just opposite City Hall MRT and Funan Centre. It is a 4 years old hotel so it is very new. Don't be mistaken with the Plaza Hotel at Beach Road. This hotel resides in Coleman Street and I believe it is either a 4 star or 5 star hotel. It is just that it is located beside a lot of old buildings so not many people knows of this hotel or if they do pass by, they thought it is a 3 star old hotel.

Frankly, my FH likes Grand Plaza a lot 'cos it is new and it gives a exclusive feeling as it has only 1 ballrom so only one wedding at a time.

For me, I don't mind both MM and Grand Plaza but I hope to make a decision after viewing an actual wedding deco next week. So, let's see....

It is true, there are usually hidden costs with those +++ as compared to those on nett. I actually introduce my FH to this forum as well so that he can see what comments we make on the hotels.

Hi ladies!

but if you were to compare Grand Plaze Park Royal and MM, wouldn't it be better (in terms of price &amp; popularity) to go to MM? afterall, it's better known, isn't it??

reebok, when's your wedding set? meimei's not fixed yet right? are you gals looking at the "tong shu"?

meimei, so you have already done your homework (spreadsheet)? yes, i would love to have it!!! please email it to me at - this is my office email address.

you know, actually, i have a problem. i plan to have my wedding in february 2003, so the prices for tables are naturally not out yet. i am just using the figures for 2002 as a basis... if i add on SGD50 for 2003 on top of the 2002 prices, i sure have to exceed SGD800nett budget set by FH! do you gals think if i were to confirm my reservations now with any of the hotels, they will agree to the 2002 prices??

Hi MeiMei

Thx for the clarification. So, I've got the hotel mixed up along.

For your previous posting, GP is charging S$728/tbl rite?? Is it +++ or nett?? Anyhow, I think it'll be gd to take MM cos considering the popularity &amp; it's 5*s. Cos pple will think GP is a 3*s hotel &amp; give lesser "ang pow" &amp; you can't cover your cost. But if u don't mind then GP should be idea as it's exclusive having only 1 ballroom.

Hi Serene

I didn't look at "tong shu" cos MIL thot all Lunar 1st &amp; 15th shld be good dates &amp; since we've booked the date so no point looking at it. If "tong shu" says no good &amp; we can't change the date then we'll be so worry, thot it'll better not to know lah!!

Mine will be on 21/09/02 (Lantern Festival Day) @ MM 5th level ballroom. It has a low ceiling but thot it shld be ok as there isn't any blockage since we're having abt 20-22 tbls. The view (block by pillars) will partially block if you have 30 tbls.

My friend is having her wedding @ MM in Feb 2002 &amp; she is charge 2001 price cos she book beginning of tis year &amp; 2002 prx not out yet. So I guess for your case, they shld allow 2002 pricing. Not sure abt other hotels. U can always check with the sales person. Call them; dun b shame; anyway they dun noe u wat!! I always did tat, calling for quotation &amp; asking tis &amp; tat
As for the menu, shldn't have much charges.

I'm feeling very excited about the wedding though it's a year later!! Can't wait to walk down the Red Carpet (MM having flowers petals) &amp; say "I Do" in front of all my guests.

It's like a dream too true to believe. Also, can't imagine that I'm getting married!! U know, all along is mummy's gal &amp; now got to take care of my FH.

Interesting &amp; mixed feeling!! Happy to get marry but sad to leave my parents &amp; siblings!!

Are u all feeling the same too??

hi reebok, i understand what you mean about all along being mummy's gal and now, gotta take care of someone else... but i guess for me, it's quite fortunate in the sense that my mum stays only a few blocks away from my future place (i will be staying with my MIL, cos my FH is a single child and his dad is no longer around).

what about you gals? will you be staying with in laws, just you &amp; FH or??

where are you people staying btw? don't worry, i won't stalk you people! haha

but like you reebok, i am happy to be getting married and i cannot wait to walk down that aisle, with everyone clapping and cheering... dream come true... but i guess mine is the latest, feb 2003! but in another way, it's good, i can learn more from your experiences!

btw, did i ask you people which bridal places you are going to??

hi, girls,
Just to share with yours that, there is a hotel do provide F.O.C projector for the laptop, I guess this is the trend nowadays, to have a "story of us" prior to dinner. Copthorne Harbour View Hotel which located at Tanjong Pagar do provide projector for wedding dinner FREE ! I am very surprised and also have booked with them for my wedding on next year 30/3/2002, I found out this hotel accidentally from their advertisement at Tanjong Pagar MRT, so I went over to take a look, surprised that the hotel is total different with newly renovated function room, especially the 10th Banquet Suite ( Ballroom) with high celling and a private VIP holding room for the brides and old folk.

HI Serene

My parents are all in M'sia &amp; I've been in S'pore for more than 20 yrs together with my 2 other silings. Though, I've used to be very independent but the thot of leaving them as in taking another "Surname - Mrs..." really make me sad. It's like I belong to another family liao.

We're getting our own flat @ Sengkeng as we want to have a proporty. But will be staying with his parents cos he is the eldest, sis married liao with bro still young always go partying. So, have to stay &amp; take care of them.

I'm alrite with staying with PIL but I do tell my FH that I'm afraid there'll be conflicts. The Chinese saying: "Seeing each other is easy but staying together is difficult." I shld say I'm the patient type but something oso will lose temper then FH will be in between us if anything happen. He says is alrite; so I'm fine with the arrangement.

Will be going to JB to view some of the bridal shops cos it's cheaper. Will update u on tis...

Got to start work liao...Chat later....

Cheers........

i am sooooo excited now
counting down the days. will be on leave from tomorrow onwards. i should be able to update u on the wedding next week cos we will only be going for honeymoon a few days later. i hope i can sleep on sat nite.

reebok
i also share the same feeling as u. though very happy that going to get married n be with my hubby but has this mix feeling of leaving home. no matter what, still stay with my family for the past 20 over years. n not forgetting my dog. i am going to miss him heaps. i think i will sure cry on my wedding day.

my place is at tampines n we stay just across the st from my PIL but rather far away from my own parents.

hi Sunny

glad tat u r still logging in here..tot u'll be very busy with the final touches of the wedding prep..

try to get plentiful sleep on Sat..n don't drink water b4 u sleep..else next day u'll get puffy eyes..
sleep well n be a beautiful n lovely bride the next day!!

All the best and congratulations!

i share the same feelings as u n reebok..i guess all B2B will share this feeling..
excited abt the new life with hubby but at the same time.."sad" coz u have to "grow up" n be someone's wife..gotta take care of him...instead of being "mummy's girl"

Yvonne, I left a msg in Paris for you... or you can click my name to get my email address...

Sunny... counting down... so excited for you 2...

Hi reebok, serene,
GP is at $728 nett. I have a few friends that either attended or held their weddings there b4 and they have pretty good comments on this hotel so far in terms of food, service and ambience. This hotel is quite cosy. Anyway, I'll be going down to view a wedding b4 deciding.There's a wedding fair at GP this Sat where you can get to taste some of their banquet dishes in their tea reception.

Serene, can you send me your email address so that I can send you the excel spreadsheet.

No, have not looked at any bridal packages yet. Want to settle the banquet venue first.

Yes, it is very exciting looking for an wedding venue. Got to go back to work now.

Hi Hi Yvonne (to rest:sorry to interrupt MM chain
), wanted to tell you that I saw PP last sat. Co-ord was Amanda See. Thought she was really nice. If we can get the price down down within budget, I think it we will go with PP. wish me luck on date availability and negotiating!
. Also, giving up GCW - Really a bit far out I think.

Clover,

ok..do keep me informed..mayb if u r with PP can join the thread there..corica, cast etc..they r there...
all the best!

Hi Sunny,
Congrats and do be the most radiant and happy bride of the day!

Must share your wedding day experience with us once you are back huh!

Hi Sunny,

Congrats!!!

Remember to relax and enjoy that very special day...leave all the work to friends and relatives ok??? Rest well.

Thanks girls for ur wishes n advises
will def try to relax. so many things on my mind now. will just leave all of it to my friends on actual day n be a princess for a day

Hi Sunny

Congrats &amp; widhing u &amp; ur hubby "white-hair till old; early have BB"!! Oso, happy holiday ya!!

Be strong &amp; dun cry else your make-up will smach &amp; not pretty liao.

As for me emotionally very weak, will def cry on the day. Hopefully, the comestic brands can invend some "smach-prove" product for pple like me.

Cheers.....

CONGRATS SUNNY!!!
WISHING YOU EVERLASTING LOVE AND HAPPINESS!!!

Will be waiting patiently for you to update us on your wedding events!!! &amp; MORE PHOTOS PLEASE!!!!

Congrats Sunny!!!!

All the best! Smile a lot!!!!

May you and your hubby happy always, make a lot of babies, and have a lot of grand children and also hold hands together strolling in the park at 80 years old! hahahahhahaha

Remmeber to show us photos and tell us all abt what happen!!!!

Thanks girls

However, now i am very "fan". with the US situation so messy, my mum is asking me to cancell my honeymoon trip to Korea n Hong Kong. i have already paid full. apart from the $ part, i am really looking forward to the holiday. i do understand n share her concern as well... so i duno what to do.

Korea &amp; Hong Kong should be ok. Just avoid any Muslim country since this is a religious war. And avoid visiting any US banks &amp; embassy when you travel. Life still hv to go on, can't sit &amp; wait around. I still hv to fly in to Jakarta next wk for business.... can't seem to postpone trip!

Hi Sunny,

Don't worry so much...I think Korea and Hong Kong are still ok to go. Just explain to your mom that it's quite safe as u are not travelling to the States or to Muslim countries.

Hi Palmolive,

Take care when u go to Jakarta for business. With the current situation, it is indeed a li'l scary. I may also need to travel to New York on business next month, even worse...hope the trip can be cancelled.

i went to have a look at the ballrm yesterday..i think 3 dinners tat nite.
wondering which one is sunny's..
there's one at the 2nd, one at the 5th the another at the 1st level.
i went in to take a peep at the 1st level..its the gold theme..i think it was nicely done n my hubby thinks its great..
did any of u go down yesterday?

I have not gone down to see the deco yet. Thought maybe no use to see now since the 2002 deco may be different.........

Hi Sunny,
How did your wedding go? Great??!!

I think Sunny is too busy to log into the website these few days lah... hehehe...

Anyway, Yvonne, I was thinking of choosing the gold theme... seems like it would be a good choice...

Cowie, if I am not wrong... if ur wedding in 2002, but u like 2001 decor, they will do it for u...

Last time when Pauline was explaining the decor to me, she said if I prefer the old decor, I can always request it... That's wat she said...

But whether it is true or not, I dunno lor... coz I haven't acherly got a chance to see the gold theme yet...

Hi Cowie,

Hehe...forgot u are here too
Looks like we have a lot in common huh?

When is your wedding???

girls !!!

yvonne, yes that was my wedding on the first floor, the grand ballroom. hey did u see me
we chose the gold theme n it was indeed very nicely done.

pauline was really really great, she stay with me even after my second march, she was still ard to make sure everything was smooth n good. i was very grateful

the banquet manager was excellent too. he was there to brief us n assured us. i enjoy myself very much n was really relax with them ard to assure me.

i will let u know more...all the details. Overall, MM was great !!
girls, we made the right choice !!

Congrats Sunny...

Enjoy married life now...

btw, my bf finally "proposed" to me...heheh... wif a diamond ring... I thot he not going to do that leow since we almost everything confirmed... so touched... hehehe...

Just want to share my joy with the great gals of MM gang!!!

Congrats Jen Jen!

Now you can have a smile on your face when you go about the wedding preparations!!!!

Hi Sunny!!!!
It is good to hear that MM is so good and Pauline efficient. Really set our hearts at ease. Where and when's the honeymoon?

Hi Sunny,
So great to hear from u
Congrats on your wedding...I'm glad it all went well and u enjoyed yourselves

Hi JenJen,
Congrats
!!! Thanks for sharing your joy with us

JenJen

Congratulations!!!

Sunny - I din c anyone at level 1 except the staff, they were busy with the preparation..
Happy to hear tat all turned out well for u!
when r u leaving for honeymoon n ur destination? Have a great honeymoon!!

MM gang - its really a relieve to hear tat MM is good..we can rest our hearts now! hehehe

Hi Mo,
Yup, yup! Realised we had quite a bit in common for a while already.....you are the blur one leh.....

My wedding will be on 15 Sept 2002
Is yours the one on 6 and 7 July 2002?? Me also a little blurred out.......

Hi JenJen,
Congrats.......you must be smiling non-stop since you were proposed to rite........
Want to share how he did it???!!

Hi Sunny,
So glad that everything went well for you. Do give us more details when you have the time ya? Meanwhile, enjoy being married! (Oh, you can also share with us what is married life like!!

Cowie... yah, u are right... I keep smiling when I see the ring... *show-off* hehehe...
... happy mah...

Let's just say he did it in a way I really did not suspect anything... Come to think of it, he ever ask me about my ring size to confirm but I oso din suspect anything...

Like wat he said, the most impt thing in a proposal is the surprise element lor... even though u oredi know u are going to marry him leow... if he manage to surprise u... that's great, isn't it!!!

HI JenJen

Congrats!! So happy for u leh!!

My FH also have not propose to me yet. Though we're in the process of the wedding preparation but he hv not even ask d quest: "Will u marry me?"

Sometimes, I really can't "tahan" &amp; tell him tat he hasn't done his proposal. He'll say dun worry he'll do it once he think it's about time. Wat's a good answer/excuse.

Anyway, feel so happy for you leh..........Keep up with the smile.