Marina Mandarin Singapore

kazooie

Hi Mary Poppins,

Oh, so which means you will start your Gatecrashing quite early in the AM? Do note there may be extra charges for your MUA and PG/VG for starting early. And how many hours is the PG/VG services giving you? I did have my 2nd make up & hair redone at 12.00pm just before the lunch. As long as you are both not too weary after lunch to do the outdoor photoshoot, it should be okay.
That would be my concern for you. I say this as my hubby was pooped as he had quite a bit to drink during lunch and my hair was looking all wirey and make up was melting, etc.

I understand that our sequence of events was not so conventional because we changed the travelling to and fro of parents' homes til later and conducted both B&G tea ceremony at MM instead. Fortunately, our parents a-okayed it and we also saved our relatives a lot of time from rushing from place to place.

kazooie

Hi cutiephinphin,

Okie, no probs.
Conventional way is still to have the Tea Ceremony at both your in-laws and parents' home if you are intending to do that in the morning. Tea Ceremony at the hotel would replace that need. The meaning would still be the same except that you are all physically in one location instead. It is a similar concept to having a family reunion meal at a restaurant instead of your own home.

You can still go to and fro to your in-laws and parents but no relatives would need to be present if your Tea Ceremony is carried out at the hotel. So it would be up to you what you choose to do at home, i.e., rest, pray, eat or take photos.

Bear in mind, too, you and your guests cannot be late for your ROM as the JP may not be too happy about that.

mary_poppins

Because of the tight schedule for lunch, I decide to hold ROM on another day. So the schedule is as follow:
5.30am MUA comes
7.15am Gatecrashing
8.15am Leave my place
8.35am Reach HTB's place. Serve tea to ILs. Change to tea dress
9.15am Leave HTB's place
9.35am Reach my place. Serve tea to my parents.
10.00am Leave my place for MM.
10.30am Check in MM and start 2nd MU
11.30am Wear tea dress/CS for both sides' tea ceremony.
12.30pm Rest & relax till first march in at around 1pm.

If gatecrashing can end earlier, the rest of the morning will be quite relaxed.

Hi kazooie, your tea ceremony is completed in less than 45min? 2nd MU in less than half an hour? I am so worried 2nd MU not enough time, so I am going to do it at 10.30am for about an hour. Maybe can use photo taking as an excuse to get my HTB out of the drinking spree. He knows I WANT to take photos.

kazooie

Hi Mary Poppins,

Your schedule seems well paced. ROM usually takes around 10-15 mins so in fact you could have just squeezed that into your schedule since you are having the tea ceremony at MM.

Anyway, I had a quick count just now... I had a total of 37 rounds of tea serving for both sides which started at 11:15am-11:55am so that's 40 mins even though we scheduled in 45 mins. Just make sure your name caller person in charge is organized and there's no waiting for the next relative(s) to or to be served. You will also have to round up your Jiemeis and aunties to help with the cleaning and pouring of tea to carry out this efficiently.

As for the MUA, you will need to ask her how long he/ she needs to redo your makeup and hair. Mine was completed in 40 mins. I wanted to look fresh and different for my lunch banquet which was why I fit the make up session after the morning session.
That was also my 40 mins of rest and just enjoyed being pampered.

baobao_baobei03

Dear all MM bride to be,

I really liked Vanda Ballroom and is considering to sign up with Marina Mandarin.My wedding dinner is on a Sat, 2009. Any suggestions on what perks to ask for?Tried asking for free flow of beer but was rejected.

Pls email me at [email protected].

Thanks alot!!!

mary_poppins

Hi kazooie, thanks for your suggestion. I am considering to do the MU after the tea ceremony also. Will readjust the time line a bit...

Hi baobao_beobei03, did they mention anything about the wedding show package? Not too sure if they have anything for the upcoming wedding show.

mthm

There is a upcoming wedding show at MM on 20 April.

baobao: I did not have much perks when I signed up with MM too, so I am not sure what perks to ask for. you can go to the wedding show, they may offer more perks when you signed up during the wedding show.

~sblbee~

i alrdy signed up to attend d wedding show though i've alrdy booked my package last yr...juz to have a feel of d setting n oso see if there's any difference frm d time i last went to d wedding show :p

weddingll

Hi Meiling, do u need to pay the $28 since you their customers already?

Anyone planning to get a dance floor for your guest to enjoy?

mary_poppins

Hi II, I also signed up during the last wedding show and still need to pay S$28 to attend the coming wedding show. The purpose of going there is to take a look at the layout, carpet, bridal suite (which I did not get a chance to peep during the last wedding show), wedding favours, cards, etc...

~sblbee~

II,
yes, i do need to pay for d $28 for d wedding show...

mary poppins,
same here...but im more to go there n kaypo cos i've been there once last yr but i wana see if there's any changes tis yr :p

mthm

I will be going too.
I never attended MM wedding show before, so can go and see what are the latest themes and wedding favours.

charmaine99

Hello BTB,

Have shortlisted Mandarina & Intercontinental.
I am also attending Marina Mandarin Wedding Show.

For Ex MM brides, any advise on the perks that we can further negotiate with the hotel ?

hamdy

hi, i am thinking of taking MM as my AD dinner. But before that, I am thinking of holding my solemnization by the pool. Do you think MM will charge extra for that?

ms_bubly

i have also booked MM for my big day this oct.
May i ask, if we can request for any colour table top cloth or chairs?? haha, or what are the things we can ask for? Heard from a friend, that hotels like hyatt has all sort of colours for table cloth... will really be nice if they can allow such request hur?................... their decor, i find quite plain. nothing fascinating though...

yanny5515

ms_bubly > i oso highlighted on the table cloth colour, but apparently what they have is only white and beige.
I was pretty sad about it, but think in a positive way, that will means that you can play around with your EG color. coz the worst thing to happen is to have ur EG color clash with the table cloth color.
But one happy thing to note is that they have added chair covers, i think they dint use to have that.

Anyone planning to bring ppl in to do decor for the ballroom? im thinking about it but nothing concrete yet coz i have yet to decide on my theme. my AD is in Feb09.

Hi Hamdy, as for the pool solemization, i think its best if you check with your coordinator. if can, drop me a PM, im not able to PM u.

man_d

anyone noticed that Marina Mandarin has took down its logo and changed it to Meritus. MY partner and I drove past and noticed it. They even took down the words "Marina Mandarin". I wonder what will they be replacing it to...

yanny5515

I've noticed that too...kind of worrying. hope all is good.

Anyway, anyone has any comment about their bridal suite? i viewed it the other day. find is so-so only.

~sblbee~

hi mandy n yan,
dun worry, im sure everything will b alrite....d last time i passed by, d marina mandarin sign was abit spoilt, d colour's not as bright...perhaps tis is d mgt's move to put all d hotels under d same name? perhaps i shd find out more tis sunday :p

yanny5515

Hi meiling, thank you. and hope you'll enjoy the wedding show this sunday.

hamdy, did you check your email? the PM will be sent to the email address you registered with the forum.

Mandy, so whens ur AD? mine is on 21/02/2009 and im using the grand ballroom. come join our thread under 'a meeting place for all brides - 02/2009 brides'

yanny5515

hi hamdy, for MM sunday dinner 2009 rates, it is $50 per table cheaper compared to sat. it will still be a 9 course dinner.let me know if you wan the rates of 2009 packages.

hi mandy, ya when i booked the date, there was a couple who tentatively booked this date. so its u!!! thanks for giving it to me.. i only have one date to chose from. so whens ur AD?

btw.. i passed by MM just now.. they are just replacing the sign...hahaa.. no big deal. i think now its grey in color for the one on top.. and still red in color for the one just above the lobby door.

man_d

haha.... tat date has special meaning for you? then i am really glad you got it!

cause we do not have a specific preference for date.

I took 7th.

yanny5515

Hi Mandy, no special meaning, but we go and 'calculate' one. so i only have this date and another in may. and i prefer to do it in feb. but im glad you stick with MM. coz my cordinator Kaylynn was saying that you were still shopping around and MM was one of the first few which you viewed. so i thot eventually u moved on to another hotel.

and i rem she was telling me you have to get back to them by 5pm on a particular day, and i was like crossing my finger for the entire day. heee

so which ballroom are you using? aiyo, if know earlier, we could have share the package they offered...

man_d

Hmm... maybe it was another couple! Cause I dun rem them asking me to get back to them by 5pm. hees!

I be taking the grand ballroom. They have other ballrooms(beside those at level 1) within the hotel available for wedding on the same day?

cause my understanding is.. the ballroom area in level one will be reserved for a single wedding. But only the grand ballroom will be used for the banquet. The rest of the ballrooms there will be closed. right?! dun scare me!

yanny5515

Hi Mandy,

i dun realy understand what you mean.

according to what i know, the grand ballroom is at level one. it is made up of a few small rooms, but all the ballroom in level one makes up the grand ballroom. so this will be for the grand ballroom wedding.

another ballroom for wedding is vanda ballroom which is at level 4. at any one point, there will onnly be 2 weddings, one at grand ballroom and another at vanda ballroom.

man_d

Now i understand...
Thanks for the explanation Karen!

Sorry for the confusion Yann..

I will be taking the grand ballroom.
I was not aware of the vanda ballroom, thus the confusion.

Sorry for the ignorance. :p!

ms_bubly

smthing to share...

i asked my HTB yesterday if he's ok to wait among the crowd, along the walkway for me to come into the ballroom with daddy....he said, hur? ASk me stand in the middle of the crowds, i'd be scared stiff!!ahahahah, i assume it's a no-no for him...sAd.
I've read of pp having ideas like such for their march-ins... quite nice really.. but too bad, he's not agreeable to this idea..

mm, yan, have you chosen the BS yet? Find the grand ballroom march-in is alittle short is it?
I have a long long train, wonder will my train be still outside when i've already reach the stage..hahahaha
And, the seat covers, used to be that purplish cloth isnt it? Now have they changed into another colour?? Think i have to make my way down to see co-ordinator soon..

yanny5515

Hi ms bubly, actually i was also thinking of marching in with my dad. then my htb wait for me somewhere. but dunno ley, find the march in very precious, so was thinking of doing with my htb. but then again, i can oways do it with my htb during the 2nd march in.

yes, i have signed with Digio. how about urself? and i do agree grand ballroom march in is short, thats y im not planning to go for too long train..but then long train very nice hor...

purplish color used to be for vanda room i think. what i kn0w is for grand ballroom, only white and beigh..

when is ur AD ar?

ms_bubly

yan...

i signed up with twp (the wedding present). Simply fall in lOvve with their gowns, so ya.. decided to use them. My EG is sort of greyish kind of colour, with lots of crSytal embellishments.. think in this case, sticking to white/beige table cloth may not be a bad thing afterall... My AD is in Oct08. So more or less, i've gotten ready for all my gowns, banquet wise, havent' go for food tasting yet.. haha, not to even mentioned about the deco and whatever theme.... haha

what about you? Have you chosen your WG/EG yet?

ms_bubly

oh ya, another thing:
yan, are you gonna have your solemnisation on the same day? And, were you given a function room to do this? Or are you gonna do it on stage, during dinner?
Im thinking of doing it before the dinner, soley for close friends and family only... for this, havent consult the co-ordinators about the extra function room yet.....mm......

~sblbee~

ms bubly,
same as u...im going to have my solemnisation b4 d dinner, my coordinator arranged a function rm beside my ballrm for me....dun worry, it's foc

octo

Anyone went to the show last sun? Hee.. i was there although i signed up in Feb already. Managed to get free tics from my co-ordinator as i never attend MM's show before.

The food was really good, esp the sharkfin. Yummy.. But i thought the chef's crispy chicken is rather normal, is there a special sauce that come with the chicken?

ms_bubly

hi meiLinG,

when's your AD? mm,.. have you any idea what kind of theme you want for your BIG day? im still cracking my brain for ideas.. htb doesn't seem very supportive when it comes to such issues... rather he leaves all the decision to me to decorate or to set the theme... initially i wanted, a bold theme using black and gold table cloth but this idea is smashed as i read, MM only have white/beige table cloth.... mm.. cracking my head now...

mthm

I signed u in Jan, the package for 09 has 1 fee btl of wine per confirmed table. Sad, I don't have this perk when I signed up. hiaz... But at least I got the date that me and hubby wanted.

I agreed that the sharkfin is really delicious. They only provide salt for the chicken, no sauce. hope the food will be as nice too on my AD.

~sblbee~

hi shir,
i went to d wedding show last sun too
u r so lucky, i paid for my own tickets cos i alrdy signed up mid of last yr...
though d crispy chicken is highly recommended but im thinking of changing d dish...it has a pepper n salt dip but d std dropped frm last yr's wedding show :p

ms bubly,
my AD is on 17 oct....i shd b choosing d red theme wif red roses n beige tablecloth but i might change to blue roses....cos my fav colour is blue but due to d limited selection of table cloth, there's not much to play ard wif :p

mthm,
dun b sad...at least u got ur ideal date....im still searching for d 18 oct grand ballrm couple cos i've given up my date to them to take 17 oct due to d min. no :p

octo

Hi Mthm,

Yup, the 09 had 1 btl of wine per confirmed table. I was lucky to get that in Feb as they had just worked out the show's package. Hence, they gave it to me.

When I took up the package, there was an increase of 50 from 08's pricing. But I noticed from the pricing booklet given out last sun, that price is only for Jan-Sep 09. Mine was a Dec dinner, so luckily I signed up in Feb, else I need to pay $1038 per table. Phew!

When is your dinner? Maybe you had this edge over the rest as well. But I agree with Meiling, its good to sign up early, at least u can get your preferred date. That's the most important.

octo

Hi Meiling,

I didn't saw the pepper and salt dip. Sad... maybe the crispy chicken taste super with the dip?

Mine come with the herbal chicken or something. So thought of trying the crispy chicken at the show and herbal chicken during food tasting. Hmm.. like this, i didn't managed to try the crispy chicken 'real' taste. Thought it tasted like roasted chicken with crispier skin.... i guess its the dip that bring out its 'special' taste?

How can i miss the dip saucer.. aiyo....

~sblbee~

shir,
trust me, d salt is v salty...d ppl frm d same table commented dat it's v salty too...i tried d crispy chicken twice during d wedding shows last yr as well as tis yr, however i was disappted wif tis yr's chicken cos it's not hot, most of d dishes too....wonder will it b d same on our AD banquet...most prob i'll try d boneless chicken wif plum sauce during food tasting :p