Marina Mandarin Singapore

yanny5515

Hi Ms Bubly,

I have yet to go for any fittings yet..i think i need to give my BS a call. Currently im doing alot of research on the AD PG/VG. So got to complete this before im free from all the preparations.

My solemisation should be on the same day. dun worry about the function room, i believe u can work something out with ur coordinator.

mary_poppins

Hi Shir, I was at the wedding show on Sunday as well. Same like Meiling, we did not get the free tix since my HTB and I signed up during the last wedding show. My HTB also thinks the shark fin is delicious but I personally feel that the fish maw taste is too strong.

octo

Hi Meiling,

Oh i see. Its my first time but heard so much raves over this chef's crispy chicken. So before it was being served, I still tell my hubby.. the next dish is gotta be very nice. But somehow it just taste normal. Or maybe I set too high an expectation for it. Hee.. I guess I was too excited over it that I missed out the dip. Hmm.. too saltish.. and standard dropped sounds bad.

Boneless chicken with plum sauce.. sounds nice. I wonder if the chicken is those chicken cutlet type or whole chicken kind. Maybe you can let me know if its nice after your food tasting.

octo

Hi mthm,

I see. Your date is hot. hee.. I ever thought of getting 01-01 too. Its good as it seems to symbolise a brand new beginning with the other half.

Hmm.. don't sigh.. how about stepping back and think of this... by the time you want to book during the show last sun, the co-ordinator told you its booked already. There's no way the co-ordinator can let you have it, even if you choose to forgo the show's perk. hee.. which scenerio would you prefer to be in?

I rather get our preferred date than having to change hotel and i might not like the other hotels which might once again not have my preferred date. Hee..

Or maybe you would like to check with your co-ordinator if she can top up for you. No harm checking with them.

octo

Hello Mary,

We asked for the free tics during the discussion as we had enquiries about the food / favours etc. Was happy that we managed to get it.

We thought the sharkfin served was wonderful. The one served was not the same as my package. Mine is the 3 kingdom something sharkfin. So I guess I will have that during food tasting to compare.

Hee.. I was also glad to try the mee sua during the show. Anyone of you taking the mee sua?

~sblbee~

hi shir,
heheheh...there was a lot of rave abt d crispy chicken, even tried it at my fren's dinner banquet...it was ok but was q disappted at d last wedding show....den immediately told my fh dat i wana change d chicken dish le...n d keropok v oily, i nearly fainted :p shd b trying out d other chicken dish b4 we decide :p
i'll not b taking d mee sua as my fh n i felt dat it tasted like meehoon so we decided to take d eefu noodles instead :p

destay81

We attended the latest MM bridal show,
felt abit disappointed with the food too.
Most of the dishes are not hot, and i personally dont like their butter and garlic prawn, it is oily and abit soggy, thinking of changing the prawn to the herbal prawn.

Btw, i booked my AD on 20/09/2009,

~sblbee~

desmond,
hi i shared d same sentiments abt d food, esp when most of d dishes not dat hot, wonder wat will happen on d AD when there r even more no. of tables....same as u, im gona change my butter n garlic prawns to herbal prawns :p
wah....gd date, i like d no. 20092009, too bad i cant take 20082008 due to d 7th lunar mth :p

mthm

Hi Shir,

Yup, at least I got my preferred date.
Maybe I will ask my coordinator again.

zzzz

Hi Desmond Tay,

My AD is one day before u hehe... abit worried thou that F1 might falls on that week...
Pray Hard!

potbunnyz

Hi gals, i'll be checking out MM ballroom this weekend. Have actually shortlisted from a long list of hotels to OH or MM. Really turned off by the OH coordinator as she does not entertain couples on weekends ('we don't work on weekends'). Unbelievable service! Therefore, I'm down to MM. Hopefully it will be good. Want to book the ballroom soon so that I can move to the other planning stuff. If any of you can share your AD pics, it will be great too. Pls email me at [email protected]

honeybunny

Hello.. can i check anyone having Fiona as her coord? I have just contacted her as she handled my gd fren wedding and had positive feedback.

Am in a fix... dunno want to opt for Vanda or Grand as I have around 30 tables.. scare very cramp or attandance may increase but nt comfortable to gtd for the min for Grand Ballroom

Any comments?

ms_bubly

oh... Jiaple,

was in the same fix as you are now, when i booked my banquet with MM. Was stucked in between this minimum of GRand ballroom and the max for Vanda... for me, didn't feel gd if i have to squeeze my guests into the max Vanda can go... so i went back re-calculated the guests, and decided to go for Grand instead.mm... if you still have time, go back re-calculate your guest list... and try to get co-ordinator to help to see if they can put your dinner into Grand if you happen to be in between.. surely they can do something about it?

mthm

Jiaple and Ms bubly,

Dun worry, MM have very helpful coordinators. They will help you out on this. Actually I had this problem too but I got it solved.

honeybunny

Hi Ladies... thanks alot for the advise... i am meeting Fiona this sat.. btw they are having the current wedding show promo. Any btb here manage to get them to extend this for confirmation beyond 31 May?

shilo

which ballroom u are referring? i manage to so it at min 18. but u must have reasons to justify. quite tough for them to increase their perks for us

honeybunny

Hi Ocean Claudia.. I mean the bigger ballroom downstairs. Yah i think usually if they allow you to reduce maybe they dun give some much perks.

Can i check with all MM brides.. did you all manage to get more parking coupons, wedding cards and did you all get the F&B credit as well to order some room service before or after wedding?

shilo

hi bunny

i didnt ask for all these, cos i felt these does not add too much difference. For me i feel, if I want to ask, i will ask for bigger and better things, maybe such as extra litres of beer, or wine per table

this is just my personal opinion ok

honeybunny

Hi Ocean... yupzzz i totally understand your point. actually their package quite good already. hopefully my discussion will go well this weekend =)

~sblbee~

hi jiaple,
it depends on d no. of tables dat u have, i guz more tables den it's easier to ask for more perks...abt d parkign coupons n wedding cards, guz they r more flexible but not too sure abt d f&b credit n additional rm services though :p

hi ocean claudia,
i agree wif u...better to ask for more bottles of wines or more litres of beer, it's more practical cos it'll add up to q a huge sum if we need to pay extra :p

honeybunny

Hi Meiling,yupzz.. cards & stuff like that cost very little.. i so scare to burst the budget on beverages..

Btw when is your AD? anyone here have actual pictures of Vanda room on their wedding day?

~sblbee~

jiaple,
heheheh...yah lor, can imagine how cheap they r when they offer to exchange d wedding cards for 6 bottles of red wine only....hehehe, as compared if we buy on our own it's more ex :p
im scared to burst on my liquor budget as well as i dun have many litres of beer n intend to order 2 more cartons of red wine...
my AD will b on 17 oct, will b using d grand ballrm but i attended my fren's wedding last yr at vanda ballrm...it was v nice n cosy, got music playing during reception time cos of d lounge area

ms_bubly

mm....

i managed to get min. 33 tables for the grand ballroom... entitled to a bottle of red wine for every confirm table..so yup. 33 bottles.. beer, think i only have 1 barrel complimentary...
that's about it ba... dinner's on 8 oct 08..
ya meiling, agree that vanda ballroom has plus point, having to see whole of recept lounge, and music playing behind, during cocktail time....
Grand ballroom, facing the lifts quite odd..hahaha....

happy_ting

Hi Jiaple

I agree that MM has very helpful and professional co-ordinators.. I got min 35 tables for the grand ballroom. Mine package is from the wedding show rate too, but i have signed it in march. Any BTB here are holding their wedding on 15Feb09 or 15Mar09?

happy_ting

anyone know what is the wedding theme for 2009 wedding? my co-ordinator has mentioned to me that it wont be the same as current theme, but did not mention when will the new theme be up.

sleepydopeey

hi meiting,
don't tink that mm have any wedding themes leh..coz they are quite basic unlike other hotels and i tink for the tablecloth, they have limited colours..thus i was wondering whether to get florist to deco the place up..but it would add up the cost loh..=)

honeybunny

Hi meiting, thanks for reply.. Haizz i went down today, everything is good except vanda room too small (although they say can take 30, but it will be very very tight no walking space) and Grand Ballroom cant meet min... =(

ivan_hazel

I'm new to this thread. Just starting to plan the wedding.. =) my sis gave me this link to read up and find out more about the different wedding venues. I've went to the MM wedding show recently, but didnt stay throughout the food-tasting session. Can I know if anyone has feedback about the food of MM? Good or no-good? or any recommended must-try fm MM?

sleepydopeey

hi jiaple,
this is the inital feeling that me and my hubby went through..the vanda ballroom was great except for the low ceiling but over all those who held wedding there said that it gave them a more cosy feeling..coz i just attend a fren wedding at mm's grand ballroom as she only hit the min no of tables thus the whole ballroom look very spacious but the downside is that it is not 'nosiy' as in each table was seated quite far apart from one another hence not much chance to mingle with other people and the tables seem to be too little for the ballroom. But that is my thought..thus u have to discuss with ur hubby what kind of feeling you wan to generate from ur wedding..a cozy one-vanda..grand one-of coz is the main ballroom =)

de_princess

Hi! I just want to check- since MM provide eg 70% of confirmed tables for the invitation cards, the rest we have to buy fr the printer? I check with their printer and they actually asked me can't we get all from MM? Anyone did that?

For those with complimentary wine/ table, is it ok to get extra diff brand of wine from what they provide?

De_princess, the reason why MM provides 70% of the cfm guests for invitation cards is coz you do not have to send invites to every single guest you will be inviting... couples or family you're inviting will only require one invite. Unless majority you're inviting are friends, then you can ask for more cards from MM... think they are pretty flexible abt this...

~sblbee~

de princess,
im thinking of getting more frm d hotel as well as my colleagues alrdy add up to a huge sum, may require another 100 pc on top of wat im getting...duno how much will d hotel sell me? i dun mind buying frm them...
im getting d same brand of wine dat d hotel will b using...

de_princess

Thanks.. I think I better go calculate my guests who may need invitation cards again.

Meiling, the printer quoted me extra $ 150 for the extra cards if I rem correctly. Btw, can I have the contact of ur wine supplier? I can't seem to find online. I called Culina they said the brand can be found in Jason's.... means not so gd hor??

happy_ting

Hi Sleepydopeey

There is wedding theme at MM. My co-ordinator has informed me the below 2 theme for this year:

2 themes
Love in Mist theme:
Specially tailored to suit Vanda Ballroom. Photographs of Stage backdrop, aisle stand and VIP centerpiece enclosed. Choice of flower colour by couple.

Rose de Summer theme:
Specially tailored to suit Marina Mandarin Ballroom. Photographs of Stage backdrop, aisle stand and VIP centerpiece enclosed. Choice of flower colour by couple.
*Please note for this particular theme, the flowers for the stage backdrop are fixed as the roses are fake: red roses embedded on the stand.

However, the theme for next year will be different

honeybunny

Hi BTB.. anyone had their wedding or intend to have their wedding at Vanda Room for max of 28 + 2 tables? Any feedback that it will be very cramp?

colt_26

my attendance was great. think only about 5% didnt turn up. i had 40 tables in grand ballroom.

yup. i stayed 2 nights which is good cos 2nd day still too tired to pack and check out.
i check out at 1pm.