Marina Mandarin Singapore

weddingll

i think bubble march in would be nice enough. Went to sheraton dinner a few weeks ago, the bubble effect makes the whole atmosphere really romatic! I think the dry ice one is abit "out" now.

peiyu

Hi everyone!~

I'm new in this thread. have just visited MM and Kaylynn is the one who attended to us. She is very professional and gave us superb service.

My HTB and me like both their poolside solomization,the marina ballroom and the reception area. it's big and comfy

Have tentatively booked 31 dec 08 for the marina ballroom but however now i'm worried that the countdown 2009 will affect my guests (limited parking lots, crowd, etc) but the good thing is i will have fireworks on my wedding day!

Any comments on this ?? but i think if they arrive earlier like 7pm should not be a problem right? finger cross that there wont be any jam at that time..

mthm

Hi Pei Yu,

I did think of 31 Dec 08 too but finally decided on 1st jan 09 instead.

First, Marina area will be so crowded. Like you said too, parking lots will be limited and we can't guarantee the guests will come as early as 7pm.

But of course the pricing will be different too.

peiyu

Hi mthm,

We're in a dilemma sigh, unless kaylynn is able to like reserve the parking lots for my guests because i visited oriental today and the co-ordinator told me that she is able to reserve 50 lots for my guests..

If u were to ask me to choose between MM and Oriental i would choose MM..
reasons being that when u step into MM the feeling/ambience is different hehehe..

I will check out with Kaylynn if she can give us some assurance the carpark lots thingy.

but i believe most guests would want to watch the fireworks after dinner haha.. we shall see how ba... so headache..

weddingll

Hi PeiYu, is 31st Dec 08 a special date for u? Because i remember last year i attend a wedding dinner at Pan Pacific during countdown, and the carpark and crowd is a big headache for us. In fact, the dinner start late, because alot of us are struggling to go to the hotel, regardless finding carpark, or taking MRT or taxi. It was sure a very unpleasant sight and people were conplaining why the couple choose to hold it on that day.

Thats my own experince, so i hope it helps you to make your decision
Personally views, dont take it too hard!

peiyu

Yeah in fact 25/12, 31/12 are one of the selected dates from the geomancer..

We are also looking at begining of Jan but Kaylynn told me it's all fully booked.. so we're left with 31 dec.. as most of my relatives are christian and i'm afraid they need to attend christmas dinners etc...

=\

colt_26

I went for food tasting yesterday. The food is good and portion very generous. We have some comments on the food and will be changing a few too. But overall comments from family members are good.

Hope MM can maintain such standards on AD as well.

octo

Hi Colt_26,

Thanks for the feedback.

Care to share the comments that you and your family have on the food? Like which dishes are those not to be missed etc?

colt_26

Hi Shir,

Chef Joe's Roasted chicken and mago sago not to be missed. the suckling pig combi is quite good too.

find the vege a bit saltish and prawn in oriental sauce a bit sweet.

mary_poppins

Hi colt_26, great to hear that the suckling pig combi is nice. I have to top up for the combi since mine is lunch. Hope it's really worth it to do so. Which dishes will you be changing?

colt_26

hi mary,

family all find the suckling pig very crispy. the jellyfish is also good. but that's our personal view.

i be changing the fish to a diff cooking style. also be changing mee sua to ee fu noodles cos the mee sua taste like normal fried beehoon.

not sure if hubby wants to change the prawns as well thou i find the prawns with oriental sauce is nice.

octo

Hi Colt_26,

Thanks for sharing.

Did you ask for them to peel the prawn shells leaving only head and tail during the food tasting? I read somewhere about this, but wonder if it will look good on the plate. Did you try this?

colt_26

hi mary,

i tried the teochew style. not that great so gonna change to soy sauce style.

hi shir,

ya. i asked them to de shell for me. it looks ok. and really easier for guests to eat.
intending to get them to de shell for all on AD.

lyrics

can anyone share with me on marina's wedding package..I only managed to find mandarin hotel packages... Can share with me 2009 packages if it suits pls?

thanks a lot

mary_poppins

Hi colt_26, I also thought of taking the soy sauce fish. But both families are teochew, so not too sure if they want the teochew style. Keep us updated about the fish after your AD, ok?

Hi strawberryicecream and Iris & Richard, are you two going for the wedding show next month? You will be able to see the ang pow box, guestbook and will be given the 2009 packages.

mary_poppins

Btw I also booked the banquet with MM already but I am still going for the next wedding show for the food and see the new wedding favours, etc...

~sblbee~

hi kazooie,
thanks for sharing wif us d guest book n angpow boxes! i only saw d angpow boxes at my fren's wedding but not d wedding guest book...i'll b doing my own angpow box n guest cards...

necrosis

yups,
thanks for sharing the pics...

mmm...the guestbook like quite impractical woh...
so many pages...and most pple will just write congrats...and won't start a new page kind...
;p
must think of some way... ...
any ideas?
ask the receptionists to turn pages?

~sblbee~

nec,
u can either come up wif a scroll-like guest book or like me, do up individual guest signature cards, i'll juz bind up watever dat's used :p

Hello Kazooie!
Thanks Thanks for sharing the pics! hehehe...

yeah, kind of agree with nec leh, the guestbook seems impractical... tha ang pow boxes like not very nice also hor?

those gng to the wedding shows next mth, pls take fotos cannnn? Hehehehe... see they got change or nt.... hehehe... thanks thanks!!

octo

Hi Kazooie,

Thanks for sharing the pictures.

Its my 1st time seeing the Ang bao Box and guestbook from MM. Look ok to me. Quite presentable. Hee..

Think we will just use them on the dinner night. No need to spend extra time, $ and efforts to do up new ones. hee.. or maybe me just plain lazy.

octo

Hi ^Meiling5^ and Nec,

For my ROM at another hotel, I also used the hotel guestbook (think its 'plainer' than this). And I scanned all the pages and passed them to my PG to compile and print on the 1st page of my ROM coffeebook album.

Quite neat and tidy for me to keep. Maybe you want to consider doing this way.

~sblbee~

hi stir,
thanks thanks...oic, dat's a great idea but i've done up a box to put in d guest signature cards so i'll still go ahead n see how it goes...
in actual fact when i saw d AP box at my fren's wedding, it's a bit unsteady cos d base is not broad...hehe, so it fell flat a few times :p

kazooie

You are most welcome.

I agree with nec(necrosis), on the impracticality of the MM Guestbook. Most of my guests signed on the same pages, and only about 5-6 pages were filled out in the end. You will need to ask your receptionists to turn the pages for the guests. Unfortunately, I missed out on that detail.

I am personally okay with the design of the MM Ang Bao Box and and the quality of the Guestbook. It is quite presentable and therefore I did not want to spend extra to buy my own. Gals, you will not keep your Ang Bao Box after the the wedding anyway unless you are passing it on to someone else so no need to waste effort and money to buy them! As for the MM Guestbook, it's easy to keep and like what Shir (octo) suggested, scan it into a photo journal later for easy viewing. Save your money on other items that MM cannot provide.

weddingll

Hi Meiling> Can share what is a guest signature cards?

Would anyone place those cameras for guest to self-take photos so can immediately print out to paste onto the guest book?

kazooie

Hi ll (weddingll),

Yep, that is a good idea. My AD Photography/ Videography package included the Fujifilm Polaroid phototaking during the reception. But I chose not to keep those polaroids as the photographer took great pictures with his camera for me to keep. So those polaroids were taken and given straight away to my guests as our wedding souvenir. They are fun to keep though.

~sblbee~

ll,
i intend to make either name card size or a5 size cards wif our names n wedding dates printed on d cards...whereby d guests can leave a short note or signature on them n drop it in d box...

kazooie,
like u, i shd b doing instant photo taking n have it printed out n giving it to my guests during reception

kazooie

Hi ^MeiLinG5^,

Nice idea, too. You could also use the cards as tags (i.e. put a ribbon through it) and hang up on a tree or something for display during your reception.

nec (necrosis) mentioned earlier in the post that MM Guestbook has "so many pages...and most pple will just write congrats..." True. So another idea is to set up your online guestbook (they are free!) for your friends to write their well wishes online. Although not as personal as hand written messages, the well-wishers tend to write more and have more meaningful things to say than just the simple "congrats" you get on your reception guestbook. Usually, it is rather difficult for the guest to think of what to say during reception when everyone is busy looking for where they are seating; who to pass the ang bao to; watching their young kids; mingling with other guests, so on and so forth. There is hardly much time for the guests to write much. So why not give every guest more ways of signing.

I set up a guestbook online and received so many wishes not only from my wedding day guests but also from a lot of my overseas friends and family who could not attend. Other forms of messages were received on the ang baos and traditional wedding greeting cards. These were, in my opinion, more thoughtful than the guestbook messages.

~sblbee~

kazooie,
ur online guest book is so cool....wow, after reading ur rationale behind it, it seems so meaningful n well-thought

yanny5515

Hi all,..i am a MM BTB, my AD will be Feb09. Just spoke to my coordinator, and wanna share some great news with the BTBs here.
Apparently they will be having new invitation cards which will be not as 'loud' as the old ones, but they are not ready for viewing yet.
When i went down to view the grand ballroom, they have customised a small little food menu for each guest.That means instead of just having 2 copies of the food menu on the table, each guest will have their copy under a glass piece where they dine.
And.. they will be having seats cover.

Disclaimer: all mentioned above are for the grand ballroom, not too sure if it applies to the other ballrooms.

mthm

Hi yan,

Do you know when is MM going to implement the individual food menu? My Ad is held in grand ballroom too.

yanny5515

hi mthm, i think oreadi implemented. i went down last friday and view the grand ballroom. the individual food menu is oreadi there, they were having a wedding that night.
how many tables are you doing? when i went last friday, the setting was for around 37tables and i found the space just nice. im booking a min of 40tables but i might go up to 50tables, but kinda worried that it will be very squeezy.

~sblbee~

hi yan,
im so glad to hear d gd news regarding d invitation cards as well as d individual menus for guests...any idea when will d new designs for d invitation cards b available?

colt_26

hi yan,

not to worry. when i went for food tasting the staff told me the ballroom can accomodate up to 60 tables. so 50 tables is still alright. anything above 50 may be a bit squeezy.

i be mtg my coord this sunday to finalise on wedding favours, themes etc. maybe i will check out the indvd food menu thingy and let you all know? also will check when the new cards are available thou i will not be able to use them already.

Just one comment about the food. I have tasted the yam paste during food tasting. No doubt its very nice and not oily. but you may wish to consider some lighter dessert. at the end of all courses, we all are so full that our family find yam paste a bit too filling. mango sago is a better choice as it is much lighter and refreshing. just my 2 cents worth.

mthm

Hi yan,

I have 35 tables. Just like what colt had mentioned, the ballroom can accomodate up to 60 tables, so no worries. Ur AD is on weekend?

Hi colt, so u are going to change to mango sago with ice cream? btw, when is ur AD?