Marina Mandarin Singapore

sunny

cowie,
sure sure !!
can ask me anything from banquet, to bridal..to reno..

i also agree that doesn't really matter whether the date is auapicious or not. most impt is that is our wedding date n it will be special n lucky to us

jasminetea

Wow, wow the list is getting longer. Already 10 of us here

Currently on the list, I'm going to be the last bride for MM. So I think I'll get a lot of feedback and advices from you gals

Regarding auspicious date. Yes, mine is chosen by my MIL who went thru' the Tong Shu. It was my ROM date last year. Luckily, it is auspicious, otherwise will be very disappointed as MIL insisted must follow Tong Shu although I wouldn't mind.

Yvonne, I paid deposit before getting my contract. I received it via mail in less than 10 days. There is no problem with the contract

jenjen

we dun believe in auspicious or not, but same as u, Yvonne, my bf said his mum will choose a few dates for us to pick and initially 22/9 was the good one... on the other hand, the clash of events could have been avoided if his mum informed us earlier of the other function on the same date... thus it is somewhat her mistake... so in the end, we just pick any date, and he oso dun bother if it is auspicious of not leow...

why we pick 10/11 is becoz in the "english" calendar, it will be 101101 this year when we ROM... all 1s and 0s only...

but *horror* guess wat... I just read in some fengshui book that the date is inauspicious... especially for wedding!!! aahhh...... aiyah, how???... dun care lah... wat is impt is we chose the date lor... and it's even number some more... wat to do???

linda

Yup! Sunny, you must let us all know how is it on your BIG day and what we must look out for hor?

For me we chose this date cos it is our 'dating anniversary', my dinner on the 10th and ceremony 9th. Weekdays cheaper mah...kekekke. And we nearly have to change the date cos MIL wanted other dates which are more auspicious. In the no choice cos MM quite packed in June liao.....So luckily we got the date we wanted lor....

Projector is $400/- I never asked around for quotes. Anyone with experience?

yvonne

JenJen

if ur MIL doesnt mind the date then ok mah..
since u say u dun believe in those stuff..then just take the date lah!
wah..so its exactly one yr after ur ROM tat u'll be having the customary dinner!
i was hoping for something like tat..but coz of the flat..budget wise..we have to make it later..

cowie

Hi Linda,

My date also something like "dating anniversary". We started going together on a 15 Aug. But 15 Aug is always in the 7th lunar month. So, when we checked the calendar only sept and dec has 15th on a Sun. Since we want to ROM on the 15 Feb ;P (yep, 15 is now our favourite no.) we do not want the customary wedding to be too faraway....so it is Sept. That is why I mentioned earlier that we chose our date not based on auspiciousness.

Looking at our wedding date list, luckily didn't go for 15 Dec. Otherwise must fight with Adeline already!!!

reebok

Me too didn't check on the date. We thot since it's on the Lunar 15/08 and somemore Lantern Festival. So juz booked loh since no objections from parents & PIL.

My hubby & I thot of giving mooncakes to our guests but every expensive leh? Thot of going JB to buy; cheaper there mah

We wanted our ROM to be on 1 Apr 2002 which is a good day but parents & PIL says no cos "April Fool Day"!! So we decided to hold it during the dinner; get every guest to be our witness.

Cheersssss!!

cowie

Hi Reebok,
That's soooooo sweet. To have everyone witness your ROM (plus save on ROM lunch, make-up, hair-do, bouquet.........;P)

Hi Adeline,
Dun scared......fixed date already. Won't fight with you........but come to think of it you must thank me leh......I think I booked before you (I booked in mid-April)......so you owe me a treat huh?!!!!!...........;P

linda

Reebok,

Good idea to give mooncakes to your guests as favours instead of the usual chocolates. And Latern Festival always got full moon meaning yuan yuan man man...meaning full and completed....good for a wedding!!!!! Can make mini mooncakes and give one pair to your guests. Perhaps can go JB and ask the shop if they can make?

cowie

Hey Reebok,

Just thought of it, if the mooncake idea is out of budget (cos other than price you must also make sure that it is nice mah.....) you can also play with the idea of those piglet or some other animal pastries, or rather biscuit thingy, which is also associated with mid-autumn festival. Guess you can get them in a small and cute size!....Just a suggestion lah......

mo

Hi Cowie and all the gals here,

Thanks for your advice
Me and fiance talked over the date and decided to stick to 6th of July for the church wedding ROM and dinner on the 7th of July 2002.

It's just too bad we couldn't get MM on the 30th June 2002, coz that's the date fiance proposed. Anyway, perhaps it's also coz we started hotel hunting slightly late. The couple who booked that date is on SingBrides too, I think her nick is Angel. So, she's another MM bride too

This MM thread is getting really interesting
we seemed to have formed a mini community out of the bigger SingBrides community...hehe...

Sunny, we'll all be looking forward to your MM feedback when you come back from honeymoon. Meanwhile, here's wishing you a wonderful wedding day and have a wonderful honeymoon trip

!!!

reebok

HI Cowie & Linda

Thanx for all the suggestions...

We actually wanted to exchange the Mini Chocolates & cake for mooncakes but MM dun agree. Think it's due to the high demand during the season & they can make profits instead of giving me FOC one.

So Beng Khoon, my or-ordinator, says we can order the Lotus with Double Yoke (Big one) with MM to be place on the table (2 per tbl) for my guests to eat during dinner. However, my FH & I thot tat they'll be so full & can't finish the mooncake then it'll be a waste.

Thot of the Piglet in Basket but FH says the Basket is not for wedding. U noe, not a gd sign in Chinese custom. Lantern is oso one of our choice; but for adult is abit childish leh...

The mini ones are oso very expensive. Those from Neighbourhood Shop already cost S$1 each; if 2 per guest will come to $400 (hving 200 pax). Very "xiong" leh.

I noe of "Seasons" brand in JB has got Mini Mickey & Minnie mouse bisket & the cost is reasonable. Will be going to JB 2 wk later to check out the tis year prx, shld not diff very much from now till nxt yr.

*Sigh* Headache man so many thing to take care of....But we happy & willingly do it cos it's once a life time thing...

mo

Hi Reebok,

Yah...good idea to get mooncakes from JB at Seasons. They come in very nice packaging and the mooncakes are not bad too...but i'm not so sure abt the price, so cannot advice on that.

Alternatively, you may not need to give mooncakes, coz i know from many people that they don't really like to eat mooncakes coz it's sticky and too sweet. In the end, your efforts may not be appreciated. Nevertheless, it is a nice gesture and idea

So, here's food for thot

cowie

Hi Mo,
Glad that you both are now more comfortable with your date. Think of it this way lah, since 30 june is when he propose and 6 july is your wedding, you guys have excuse to indulge in two celebrations every year instead of one rite........

Hi Sunny,
Can't remember if you are the one looking for projector rental. Was at Sim Lim yesterday and saw that there is this shop (can't remember name but address is #05-73/75), they do rental of projector. They charge on a per day basis, as well as on a three days basis I think. The price of rental ranges from $150 to 350 per projector per day depending on the brand and specifications of the projector. Thought you may want to check them out.

Hope this helps.....

sunny

hi cowie,
THANK YOU ! THANK YOU !!

this info really helps...will ask hubby to check it out. hope that we can get a better deal than MM.

mo

Hi Cowie,

Yup...that's a positive way of looking at it

Hmm...the projector thingie at SimLim does sound cheaper than the MM one. Perhaps me and fiance will go take a look one of these days as well
Thanks for the info Cowie.

Hey Sunny,

Must be really exciting as the day draws nearer. Hope u get a good projector deal...alternatively, if your office has one, u could always borrow first, but just ensure that there's someone responsible to handle and take care of it after usage. Heard from some friends last time that during their wedding, they borrowed a friend's Mont Blanc pens for signing of Marriage Cert in church, and after that, nobody took care of the pens and they all went missing. So, remember to assign someone who can take care of all your valuables for u during the wedding.

cowie

Hi Sunny and Mo,

You are most welcome
We are all here to share right?

Just hope that you all get a good projector and a good deal! I was just walking past the shop when I saw their price list. In a hurry, did not go in a ask for details for you girls.........

Hey Mo,
Your wedding next year rite? You looking for projector now????!!

yvonne

*ah hem*..i'm now an "official" MM bride..coz went to make the deposit yesterday.

hey, regarding the montage thing..give me sometime while i go check out with a fren of mine..
during our last conversation, he mentioned tat he can help me with it coz he's doing those event organisation thing "ie for suntec's millenium countdown, NDP etc" he is very experienced in this kinda thing but i dunno whether for wedding montage..its the same or not..

err..btw, montage is something like u scan ur photos n then do a presentation with it rite?
i'll check with my fren 1st.

clover

Hi Yvonne, went to see MM last sat morning. Pauline is really nice per feedback in forum. I asked abt refurbishment and she said that they had intended to do major reno next year but doe to bad economy that will be postponed. I also saw the new gold decor for next year, I must say that I like the current one better. Lastly, I thot the bridal suite is a bit small - i guess I am subconsciously comparing to my bro's suite when he got married at Westin - the suite is double MM's size. So I am still undecided. Sigh

cowie

Hi Clover,
Want to share how different is the new gold decor?
And you sure they will not do any reno next year? When I checked with Irene the other time, I was told they have no plans for reno. Didn't know that they actually do have plans for it!!!

Hi Sunny,
What colour theme did you choose?

Hi JenJen,
The Montage thingy will cost from say $250 - $550....something like that. Why done you email the respective shops to ask fof their quotations? Cos from what I understand, their package may differ slightly in terms of number of photos, templates, whether just one CD-rom or with VHS, etc........

Congrats and join the club!!

yvonne

hi Clover,

i have not been to westin but the name itself sounds nicer n more class than MM..
however, the class comes with a price i should say...i think they charge u for the wine n there is no free beer rite? not too sure ..have u checked westin's package? if u can afford, then go for westin loh (though me dunno anything abt it, maybe can check under the thread for westin)

so how abt GCW? which r ur shortlisted one so far?
GCW, MM, Westin..or even PanPac?

i chose MM coz i think the package is very good n fits my budget..i wouldnt say it is the best lah but i'm rather comfortable with it..
if u dun have a budget, maybe can source for some other hotels loh..

hey Cowie, i'm one of u guys liao! hehehe

Sunny - u excited or not huh? me like counting down for u leh..keep telling myself tat ur wedding is coming soon..so excited for u!
all the best!!

clover

yvonne, it's the ai qi ai pi (hokkien if u understand) syndrome. no haven't shortlisted. of course price is MOST impt that's y we are looking at same places ma. oh ya and congrats on getting a BIG load off your mind. phew must be a relief

cowie, the new gold decor is more yellow than gold. errm don't know how to describe but current gold definately better. BF/FH say same thing too -then again, taste very personal one. On reno, though no big reno, they will do small one abt the red carpet.

yvonne

Clover,

not just u..i think most (including myself) wants "ai qi ai pi" (good n cheap) offer..
must c wat is ur priority n ur budget loh.
then again..if u want "pi", then u have to forgo certain things lah..coz like i say the "qi" comes with a price.

when is ur wedding date huh? if its those auspicous date..better act fast!
those hotels tat i've visited all have tentative booking including MM..but heng heng the couple gave up the booking..

ya..i'm happy its finalised.
can't remember reading fr which thread but there's this person who made a comment like telling those in the forum tat once u have made a decision, then just go with it n stop comparing..else u'll go crazy!!

at least now no need to "fan2" liao!

let me know ur final decision.

clover

yvonne, hee hee, we only decided on dec 02. no date yet cos lunar 7 month cannot choose date. His mum say so. u 24 Sep 02 right? saw summary in earlier post. when u starting to look for wedding gown and stuff? my sis say can look now already - very early hor? and did you notice that 90% of gowns in bridal books are the tube kind?

yvonne

clover,

if u look under "Paris Brides" n "who's in the front page" u can c my posting..
i have sort-of signed up with them..mayb u can read the details there..

hehe..this morning i'm asking my sis whether i'll look good in the "tube" gown..hahah..yes, i noticed tat too..but they also have other kinds lah..depends on wat u like mah..

i think if i really wear those tube gown..have to go scrub my back everyday n put lotsa moisturizer..then i'll have a very nice "back" to "show off"

good for u..i think its good to "shop" around the hotels even b4 u have a date..then at least u know which one u have in mind..n once the date is out..u can just check the availability.

side track a bit..how u find can-can gown?
i have big hips n i tried 1 with n without the can-can..
wah say..the can-can makes my hips bigger man!! all along i tot it can hide my big hips..guess i'm wrong..i think i prefer A-lined ones..

clover

yvonne, i also tot can hide hips under can-can gowns. coincidentally, I was having the exact debate with my BF/FH on can-can vs slim cut. As usual he cop out & say that the best is somewhere between. Men! (no offense to male readers out there)

I think that can-can (not too puffy kind) with train will be romantic ... think cinderella. the A-line/slim will be sultry and sexy .. can't think of anybody right now. what kind of look do you want? sex bomb or fairy tale princess?

yvonne

clover,

sex bomb? me not sultry enuf leh n with my figure?? gosh..better not let my hubby c this..else he'll laff like mad man..heheheh
i'm looking at neither..
more of a simple yet elegant one..errm..fairy tale princess oso can lah..dunno got the look or not..
dunno leh..havent visit the bridal shop..
c how 1st!

meimei

Hi clover,
I went to view MM last Sat. Did you see the gold theme on pictures or you saw it in an actual wedding ? I was only shown a ppt presentation and it was not very clear but gold seem to be the best theme among all.
Did your sales coordinator bring you up to see the bridal suite ?

I am also looking around for a hotel. Have narrowed down to MM, Holiday Inn PV and Grand Plaza. Any comments from anyone on the above ?
I liked the suite in Grand Plaza a lot as it has a rooftop jacuzzi for weekend packages. But a concern is that it is not a well known hotel and it is situated near Peninsular Hotel. People may think that it is also around that range of hotels and you may suffer losses in the ang pow.

My brother just had his wedding at MM 2 years ago so it seems a bit sian for me to sign on to MM again. But MM provides a pretty good package as well. Any advice from the MM brides here ??
I am planning on 25 tables and on a weekend next year. Budget is not more than $750 per table. Would like to have a good ambience and deco that night. Heard from my sales coordinator that MM is planning to have flower petals in the wedding march instead of the red carpet next year. They may change the flower centrepiece on each table next year as well.

reebok

HI MeiMei

I'm a MM bride. Yes, you're rite!! They're doing away with the red carpet & replace with fresh flower petals which I think wld be very romantic.

Most hotel have red carpet so MM has something special.

No comments on the Suite as I didn't view it cos my FH said it's only a 1 nite stay & on that day we wld be so tired to even enjoy anything but to sleep.

I agree with him cos when dinner is over at abt 11pm, need to settle the bill, shower up & by the time we can really sleep is abt 3am. If you need to count "ang pow", it'll be like 5am in the morning & check out at 12pm. Really no time to enjoy.

It has alot to do with what you're looking for. Food, service, location?? For me, I'm looking for good price with good menu, convinent location and a ballroom that can fit us in. I only have 20-22 tbls so not many hotels offer that.

MM has got what we wanted & the co-ordinator are friendly & service is good. So, why wait & we signed up our life "away".

meimei

Hi reebok,
Yes, I agree with you. For me, a good price and ballroom is important. We are gonna be tight during that period as we have a few financial commitments (house, car, tour etc.) So I really don't want to lose too much $ on the wedding banquet.
I had problems getting hotels with my number of tables as well. We originally had around 23 tables but we thought that we can pump up to 25 tables next year since most hotels require at least 25 tables for weekends. MM gives us the flexibility to book my original number of tables which is good. I did not get to see the suite in MM as well. Which theme are you going for ?

When is your wedding date ? Who did you sign up with at MM ? I met up with BengKhoon and he's friendly.

clover

Yvonne, don't scrub back too hard altho red skin does contrast nicely with white gown

MeiMei, the MM co-ord showed the the "current gold theme" on PPT and a photo of the "new gold theme". I din see actual decor though u can always check w them when there will be weddings so that u can go check it out. I requested to see the bridal suite - I have this wierd thing abt bridal suites and I think it is just me

Reebok has a good pt, most prob there won't be much time to enjoy the suite !!

reebok

HI Mei Mei

Me too...very tight on budget!! House also coming next year & will the banquet, bridal package, housing, reno etc...see the bills also scare.... So now really have to save, cut on unnecessary things. Eat at coffeeshop instead of Food Court / Restaurent. So poor thing....

Have not decide on the theme yet cos have no time (FH having exam) so most probably will only go next mth.

My co-ordinator is also Beng Khoon. A very friendly gentleman & also very pro-active ie: we dun have to ask & he will suggest. BTW, my BIG day is on 21/09/02 so far the only home work done is booking of banquet others still on hold cos FH got NO TIME!! So sad...

How abt yours, when?? Still hesitating which hotel to choose??

yvonne

hi Reebok,

i think the more important thing is to settle the banquet..now tat u've managed to book the date tat u want..perhaps the other issue is the bridal boutique but tat one is not so "hot" like hotels..u can take ur time n choose..enuf time lah..i think basically nothing much to do until next yr i guess..
no gan cheong!

Clover - how? anymore "shopping" recently?

meimei

Hi reebok,
Yep, same for me - both my FH and me are putting aside more money for next year - and of cos we have to spend on house reno, tour, car payments, housing loan etc.

Somehow, my FH is not that concerned on $, I am the one that is always worrying about the cash flow. Basically, I would prefer to spend more money on my house than on the wedding banquet. But my FH feels that we can always go with the bare minimum on the house first but the wedding banquet needs to look not too "lc".

For me, I am looking at Sundays in month of Oct and Nov 2002 but no particular date in mind yet - depends on availability.
I have shortlisted the following hotels - MM, Holiday Inn PV, Grand Plaza (may not want now after reading the forum) and maybe Orchard Hotel. We are waiting for the coming wedding shows and weddings to take a look at the wedding deco b4 deciding. Well, guess it's our BIG day so hope that both of us are comfortable with the whole wedding package. Which hotels have you seen b4 deciding on MM ?

Have not source for my bridal package yet - that will be later. Did you manage to get any free perks from MM (e.g. extra night stay) ? Do let me know so that I know what I can ask. Thanks.

reebok

HI MeiMei

I had shortlisted quite a few but only been to MM, York, Oriential & HIPV.

York Mgr has got the best service & Oriential though the Ballroom is nicer than MM but the Sales Mgr very snobbish. Her atitude is like you want you take if not it's ok can't stand her.

HIPV looks old & lighting is very dim dun feel comfortable when I'm there. I've kinda errie feeling (no offence to HIPV brides, more of my personal taste).

Work in Mandarin Singapore before so don't need to see the place but we have rule MS out cos there're no shelter from MRT. Not like MM, our guest can get there thru' City Link w/o getting themselves wet.

I xchange the real cake with a dummy one + an additional room cos my parents coming to Singapore (I'm a M'sian).

I'm also getting free flow of beer cos I booked with them in Aug 01 & that was the promotion then.

As for the parking couple & invitation cards, I'm sure Beng Khoon has tell you that he can help to up the no. for you. If not, you can check with him. I can't remember how muchie more have to look at my contract!!

Once, you have confirmed your date better hurry cos some of the GOOD dates esp. Friday & Saturday have been taken up liao.

This banquet kind of things have to be kiasu abit cos lots of couples (like us kiasu type) have make tentative booking liao!!!

Cheers.........

sunny

sorry have not been able to log on recently.. busy with work n preparation..

i chose Gold theme for decor n i have seen the actual display. i think it is the nicest of all, my personal opinion lah. the silver is quite nice but it will be very white overall.most parents dun like that lah...

regarding the montage, i engaged Monica Eng from Vivid Photography. n she def did a very good slideshow for me
Thanks Monica if u happen to read this. anyone interested, can check with her.

oh yah... i found a contact for the projector
n he only charge $150 !!! eh.. will post his number here..not with me now. he told me MM also rent from him !!! :|

yvonne

hi Sunny

check with u, wat exactly is a montage?
sorry i'm very "sua ku" in this kinda thing..

is it a presentation/programme sort of thing then after tat u use a projector to display on the screen?

yvonne

if u guys r looking for a projector or something like tat for the presentation, u can call my fren, Ken at hp 97935539 to check out the pricing...as i've mentioned above..his co. is doing event organisation..so he has all sort of equiptments..
He's from AVLab Pte Ltd..just checked with him.
His quote is more of a event/case basis (hey, tell him u got a very tight budget..heheh)..so if u r interested, give him a call n just say u know Yvonne..ps i dunno abt his quote (dunno cheap or not lah..can try)

sunny

hi yvonne,

yah, montage is like a slideshow presentation. u will need a projector to show it on the screen.

serene

Hi Ladies, allow me to join in the chatroom!
I am also kinda fascinated about MM but I have sent an email request to them, asking for more info., but so far no replies???!?!?! Anyone has direct email address??

Also, I am thinking of the Golden Horse Award Bridal or the Feline Bridal. Anyone knows/ has opinion??

meimei

Hi reebok, sunny,
Yep, went to a few hotels as well: Holiday Inn PV, Grand Plaza, MM, Orchard Hotel, Orchard Parade hotel.

I thought that HIPV lights was rather dim as well but the crystal ballroom is alright. On top of that, the package is really value for money (cheaper than MM). They provide free flow beer, seat covers etc. But I have to say that the hotel looks kind of old.

MM is just as competitive in the package but it is more expensive that HIPV. But the hotel ballroom looks newer and more grand.

So, it all comes down to my budget. We will probably decide after looking at a MM wedding. I saw one at HIPV already and it is pretty alright.
But I know I have to decide fast - it is true that a lot of good dates are taken up fast.

reebok

Hi Serene

Maybe you call give Beng Khoon a call at Tel: 8451215. You can talk to Linda (guess is his assistant) if he is not around.

His email: [email protected]

Hi MeiMei

I heard that Orchard Hotel offer is good too. My friend almost sign up with them but later switch to MM. Can't remember the reason why.

OH price is abt the same as MM for wkday & OH is abit far out from Orchard MRT but good that is outside CBD.

The choice is still yours!! What I advise is consider your budget & what each hotel can offers.

Me actually use spreadsheet to help me do the comparison. List the hotels pros & cons & what each has & the pricing; also the min. required tbls. My FH laughs at me saying that I'm not so hardworking when I'm doing my Dip....Kekekeke.....

Cheers.....

jenjen

hihi... sorry haven't been logging on for quite long... seems like our gang is getting bigger and bigger...heheh...

meimei

Hi reebok,
I have compiled a spreadsheet as well. Haha... After this wedding, I can pass this to my friends.
Do you know if there's a web site where you can check for auspicious dates ?

serene

Hi Reebok
thanks for the info on Beng Khoon. Yup, I do agree that comparing the prices, MM seems a little steep compared to Merchant Court, Oriental and Mandarin... I am still trying to decide which is better!?
Spreadsheet idea seems great.. I will try that too. FH says that he has never seen me do something with so much initiative and enthus! haha..
Yup, as inquired by meimei, a website for auspicious dates, anyone??

pax

has anybody tried MM's tea reception before?

any feedback is very much appreciated.

thanx a lot.

jenjen

search through the topics for auspicious dates... I think there are some topics which give u some websites... but reliable or not, dunno lor...