Marina Mandarin Singapore

jaslyn_82

Hi eau,

Welcome!
oic.. its a wkday
heard that wkday got 5% discount..
u can check it out with them..
so beside ur venue have u prepare anything?

gbhfdl

hi ilovesashimi,

thanks for the mail.

cutie_pie01

My bro held his wedding at MM but ended up having bad experience wif them. The service wasnt good, like wad Yun say, insufficient manpower. Our guests wasnt veri happy wif their services. Food wise nt veri nice also. The hotel didnt held any responsible when they spill on one of our guests.

The carpark at MS was veri bad. Guests were late and start making nosies when they couldnt find carpark lots. As the carpark were now shared by the shopping mall and the hotels. Especially if the other hotels hv wedding function, den the carpark will be having jams.

bluetomato

i think the carpark is a problem too.. whenever I go shopping at Marina Square, the carpark is full. So I'm quite worried, cos I don't think the situation will improve very much. Not sure what to do about it. Can anyone who has gone thru it share their experience?

friend

Hi Icw,
I guess the situation for weekday is still not too bad provided no major shows and exhibitions ard the area. I have abt 600 guest and the PC show made the traffic terrible. Fortunately my parent & in law arranged 3 buses to pick and drop the guests. Since most of them are staying in the same neighbourhood. At least they do nt need to search for parking or worry abt nt able to get a taxi home.

snowiee

Anyone signed up with MM for 2007 package. I am looking at the Vanda ballroom.

Anyone has any comments on it / are signing up / already signed up?

corsage

Hi snowiee...oops, have not been checking this thread. I signed up with MM for Vanda Ballroom. I chose it coz it is nice and cozy, which is what I wanted for my dinner. I wanted to walk around lots and mingle. I also LOVE the cocktail area, coz it overlooks the whole of the inner area of the hotel, and you can see the hotel's beautiful ceiling and the slopes of the hotel's architecture. Has a very grand feel..different from all other hotels. So I get both cozy in grand - two in one

snowiee

wow... corsage and xynn... you both signed up already?

Which dates are your AD? I am looking at holding my AD in 2007.

Any additional perks you managed to obtain from them?

Read that some managed to get an additional night stay but in the delux room.

xynn

hi snowiee, my date is on 30 Sep 06.
i got 2 nights stay, coz gave up the helpers' room. and extra barrel of beer.
Rates for 2007 has gone up by $50! which is quite pricey.

jaslyn_82

hi xynn,

wah.. gone up by $50..
that means when u book last yr is $908 nett..
cos I book this yr for my AD in 2007 is $958 nett..

snowiee

wow... you managed a 2 night's stay and extra 30L barrel of beer so that adds up to 2 barrels of free 30L beer?

thats quite good

did you managed to get waiver of corkage of wine too or you just got the 2 additional perks?

I am looking at 2007's package.

Its $958 for Saturdays... so meaning your prices is $908 for your AD since yours is in 2006?

2007's prices are pricey...

Which coordinator is recommended?

jaslyn_82

Hi snowiee,

when is ur AD?
cos mine in Dec 2007 in Marina Mandarin Ballroom..

I managed to get wavier of corkage for wine,
free food tasting and 25% parking..
this is the most she can give me..
i can change my deluxe room for a second nite stay and if i want the suite have to top up lor..
cos she say my AD is too far so cannot bargain so much cos if i dun take others will..

my coordinator is Sen.. u can try to look for her..
so far i met her twice, she is not bad..very friendly.. she even let me see abit of the lightings.. cos happen to have a wedding on that day..

snowiee

mine is tentatively Dec 2007 for AD also

maybe i try looking for Sen then since you said she is friendly

hmm.. food tasting.. I thought free food tasting is part of the standard package?

I saw the 2007 package includes free food tasting for 10 pax but on weekdays only.

Xynn's perks look good. She even has free 2 barrels of beer!

I am not good at negotiation. I dont think I can get anything.. haha

The second nite stay got breakfast or not ah? Or must pay $ one.. suite how much u have to top up?

seems like for MM if wan anything also must top up $$ one..

xynn

hi all, i intially asked for a bottle of wine for each table.. haa. coz the price of 908 is quite high already. but they dun allow, only gave me extra barrel of wine. better than nothin. hee. my coordinator is wendy. she's quite nice.

jaslyn_82

hi snowiee,

when i sign up think may this yr,
the package she gave me is still must pay 50% for food tasting..
then she say wavie for me cos they only start giving for new bookings..

I also not gd at nego.. hehe
not sure got breakfast anot.. havent ask her..
cos she say this one can decide nearer to the date..
she say the top up as in May is $350+++..
maybe next yr will increase..

ya.. must top up cos our AD still so far..

u will be taking the Marina Mandarin Ballroom or Vanda Ballroom if u are booking with them?
so besides MM, where are u considering?

snowiee

it should be the Vanda Ballroom.

I am looking at meritus mandarin, hilton also. I think my FH is also looking at some others.

I like the view at Vanda ballroom though

Jaslyn: no nid to include all those in the contract? so your contract only gives you free food tasting and the waiver of corkage ah..

then how about the free addnal bridal suite nite stay?

you didnt change your coordinator's room away?

corsage

hi snowiee, my AD is in 07, so I'll be paying the higher rates =p I exchanged helpers' room for an additional night stay, and got a corkage waiver for wines.

Meritus Mandarin is ok, good service, but I think the ballrooms all have big pillars in them. Hilton has too many ballrooms, so it gets confusing for guests when they come and see so many weddings going on.

jaslyn_82

oic..

i also went to see mertius mandarin..
quite like the ballroom without pillars..
but cant hit the min tables..
then got some miscommunication with the coordinator.. so have to forgo..

as for hilton, mot much perks given i think when i saw their package..

ya.. cos the change of rooms also subject to availablity mah..
i only have free food tasting, wavier of wine corkage and 25% parking in my contract..

i still considering whether to stay additional nite anot..cos my hubby say if we were to go for HM in Dec then what for stay..
and also becos my MIL wants to stay there on our wedding nite..which i m not very happy about..
so i have to see how when the time comes..

snowiee

ya hilton has a common cocktail area on the 2nd floor.

Vista ballroom and the Grandballroom share a common area looks messy..

corsage also at Marina mandarin's grand ballroom just like Jaslyn?

so both of you dont have the additional night stay written in the contract ah? then also both if upgrade must pay $?

Jas, why your MIL wants to stay there.. play mahjong ? haha :p

anyone of you fixed your bridal studio yet? I am sourcing for BS now also.. anyone has a price packages to share?

jaslyn_82

Hi snowiee,

i never got mine stated in the contract..
upgrade have to pay..

i also dun noe y she want to stay..
also cannot play mahjong...haha
dun noe isit want to knock the door in the middle of the nite.. haha

I fixed my BS liao..
Amanda Lee Weddings..
u want her package i can email u..

snowiee

she come knock in the middle of the night then u open the door to knock her head ! haha..

yes pls do send me. my email is [email protected]

wah... jas, u chose all the stuff seems pricey.... hehe.. ur FH footing the entire bill? he sounds rich ^_^

xynn

hi Jas, is your PIL footing the bill?
i think it's vv weird if she wants to stay. But maybe you could book another room for her?

jaslyn_82

hi snowiee,

u have got mail!

haha.. later got a ball on her head..

hehe.. we both save up for the bill but he will pay more cos he has been working for 6 yrs liao..

and my mum will pay for her additional tables for the banquet.. so still ok..

jaslyn_82

hi xynn,

no.. my PIL never pay the bill..
we pay all ourselves except for the tables my mum want extra.. she will pay herself..

i also find it weird.. she never tell me directly..
she told my hubby cos she knows my hubby wont reject her..

thats y i still considering what to do for the coordinators' room..
use it for myself or for her lor..

snowiee

wah.. u all so rich .... i think the wedding will cost us a bomb.. the house reno also.. u ladies settled the house yet?

Thanks Jas for the mail !

sometimes MIL are weird leh... sigh...
maybe just tell her no room for her? :p

or make her drunk so ur FIL can fetch her home... haha... *grins

you ladies ROM already?

I am going to ROM year end this year

jaslyn_82

hi snowiee,

Welcome!

ya..wedding and house really cost a bomb..
i just settle my house.. how bout u?
got a reno loan.. but have to buy the furniture with cash.. haiz..

ya lor.. maybe lor.. see how when the time comes..

haha.. later worst have to sleep in my room ah..

i ROM last yr liao..
when is ur ROM?

do u use yahoo messenger?
can add u?

xynn

hi snowiee,
i'm stayin with in-laws after wedding.. so no need to spend on house at the moment..
somtimes MIL are just so weird. mine also...

corsage

wow, sounds like you all already have homes planned! We're still looking for a place

Xynn, Jaslyn:
I feel it is better for newlyweds to stay apart from parents, but if really no choice, I'm sure it can be worked out
Both my parents and his strongly believe that we should stay on our own
and we're happy with that.

jaslyn_82

hi corsage,

which towns are u considering?
ya lor.. its better for newlyweds to stay on their own..
thats y i got my own flat..

xynn

Hi Jaslyn and corsage, i wld love to stay on our own. More privacy also, before kids come along.

But have to wait coz the flat i applied is not ready yet! Meanwhile, just compromise with in-laws, i hope conflicts will not be that much.

jaslyn_82

Hi xynn,

oic.. thought u staying there without getting a flat..
if u have a flat thats gd..
when is it ready? where isit?

i always tell my hubby that i want my flat 1st b4 wedding cos i dont want to stay with his mum..
thats y have to drag until next yr then hold AD..

corsage

Jaslyn:
We hope to find somewhere convenient. Looking at the stretch from Tiong Bahru to Clementi

Xynn:
Don't worry so much
Enjoy the process of staying with your ILs. Use that period to build up a good solid relationship with them!

corsage

Hi Jaslyn

Oh..hehe, are you more a North or East person? I've always lived around this area, and also work around here. My FH works in town too..so it's convenient for us

Either resale or private, depending on what we find!

jaslyn_82

Hi corsage,

oic.. no wonder..
hehe.. I am more to the East person..
cos I am living in Changi now..
but going to move to Punggol after my AD..

when is ur AD?
not in a hurry to get a place?

corsage

Xynn,
You're a 'Westerner' like me! heh heh

Don't worry about MIL's house rules, you'll be fine I'm sure. Just make your own room nice and cozy

Jaslyn,
Hello 'Easterner'
hehe... I heard Punggol has great views and seabreeze!
My AD is in Mar. Think yours is later this yr, right? Am not really in a hurry, I guess, if really cannot find will just move in with my FH as he is staying on his own. But of course I would prefer to get a place before the wedding =p

jaslyn_82

Hi corsage,

hehe..
mine only can see abit of the sea only..
cos i m staying on the 8th floor only..

my AD is in Dec 07.. very long after urs..
oic.. ur FH staying alone.. then u can slowly find a place.. look for the best one..

corsage

Yeah, Sengkang and Punggol are near each other!

Xynn, no pics, but I did go and see. So-so only, not really that grand
But it's ok lar