Marina Mandarin Singapore

jaslyn_82

Hi corsage,

haha.. yah..

I also din get to see the bridal suite cos i was late for the appt.. and my coordinator had another appt after mine..

corsage

Hi Xynn

Hmm, not sure how to describe..like any ordinary suite, with bed etc one side and the sofa/tv in the adjoining room. It is not particularly big as well..quite normal sized, I didn't go 'wow' when I saw it =p

When I went there it was not 'decorated' for a wedding couple yet, but they told me that we should get rose petals etc. that sort of thing. Of course it is not grand like Swissotel or Shangri-la etc but I guess cannot compare =p

pinksotong

I am a MM bride-to-be. just had my food tasting 2 weeks ago. To my disappointment, the food was way below standard, in fact worse than restaurants. The jellyfish in the cold combination was terrible-tasteless, soft, gluey. The shark's fin soup had a burnt smell and my husband found a strand of hair in his soup!The Worst was the vegetables with abalone, the so called "baby abalone" has a fishy taste, like those dried seafood.

Anyone who can advise me what to do? Can I refund? MM took 2 weeks to reply me, telling me that if i wan bigger abalone which would be sliced, i would have to top up $35! I don't even care the abalone is big or small, I just want it to be edible. But they seem to be so proud of their cooking.

Please advise....

pinksotong

Hi Weddin

My coordinator is wendy. Is yours too?I feedback, n she just replied me with the answer about topping up to get bigger abalone. in fact, we are given a card to put in our feedback during the food tasting and that was given to the coordinator the next day.
Mine is the frideay package. What abt yours?
Now very worried about the food on actual day.

snowiee

wow ! the food is SO BAD?!

hmm... or is it so happen very unlucky then its like some once off accident that their food is so bad.. like the main chef was on MC or something?

Anyone ex-brides from MM can give some comments on if the food is sooo bad?

Sorry for my ignorance, but what is 'baby abalone' ?

Does it look like a normal abalone (those that is sliced up and eatten during chinese new year) except that its a little smaller?

corsage

Oh dear..this is shocking
Friends have told me that MM's food is good. Yeah, snowiee could be right, perhaps something once off happened?

Baby abalone is smaller and is usually served whole.

pinksotong, do update to let us know the outcome k? I was considering not doing the food tasting. Worried now!

xynn

this is really shocking... i'm having my dinner there in 2 mths time. I hope it's a one-off thing. My friends who have attended wedding there before commented the food were ok.

xynn

hi snowiee, i'm not having any food-tasting. wonder if it's a right choice. keeping my fingers crossed the food will turn out fine on my AD!

pinksotong

Hi Xynn & Snowiee & Corsage

haven got any reply from Marina Mandarin yet after I replied them that I should not be topping up in order to get "bigger" abalone to be sliced.

Yah, I had attended one of their wedding dinner in Jan 06 too, and the food was fine. That was why the food tasting was a real shock. Really hope it is like what you all said, that is, prob main chef not around, or it is a once off thing.

Wonder what their reply is, and very worried about the food.hai...

weddinstory

Hi pinksotong, we hv the same coordinator. mine is a weekend package in the grand ballroom. I hope actualday will turn out fine for u..

pthklsg

Hi corsage, just sth I noticed on MRT everyday. E flats opposite Commonwealth MRT stn abt to B completed soon. Do look out for its release.

blurberry

Hi, I didnt plan to have food tasting, but I quite worry right now.Last time thier food not bad leh..How come suddenly become like this har..

corsage

Hi Pinksotong, I hope everything goes well for you. Don't worry too much, I'm sure things will work out

Thanks SG & K - not sure if there are eligibility issues for us to get those flats though, but I've seen them - fantastic views I'm sure they have!

pthklsg

I'm gng 4 food tasting at end of e mth. Hopefully can give +ve feedback then.

In e meantime, no pt worrying if U have already booked.

pinksotong

Thanks for giving me some hope. praying hard that things will turn out ok. food was fine when i attended my fren's wedding in jan this year which was why i was shocked at the food tasting session. just hope that the baby abalone tasted that way cos they got a bad supply or chef was in bad mood.

anyway, MM replied me that they would ensure that the abalone is of max freshness. this is after I told them that i am not topping up $35 to get bigger abalone which would be sliced. hai...think that's the only thing they can do.

xynn

Hi all, i went to MM today to finalise deco/menu on wedding day. Going to have a new coordinator coz my usual one left MM. Does anyone has comments on the Boneless Chicken with Plum Sauce? As i did not have any food tasting, i was wondering if this dish is nice.

jasline79

Hi 318bi,

My co-ordinator had changed too, mine was wendy, now is steven. Been tried calling him, but no one pick up the call...

xynn

mine was wendy.. she just left... but i'm glad she arranged for a handover to the new coordinator.. perhaps becoz my wedding date is just 1.5mths away!

juzwannabe

Hi Xynn,
My co-ordinator is Wendy, you mean she has left Marina Mandarin?
I still don't know who will be my new co-ordinator. Btw, how many months before wedding will your co-ordinator starts to contact you?

pinksotong

mine was also Wendy. Emailed both her and Steven (the guy who took over) but no reply at all after days. am starting to doubt the service of MM, though i think they may be busy handing over duties too.

blurberry

Xynn, Steven , but he never answer the phone wan. So I contact Fiona. She ok lar, just felt that not freindy like Wendy. How about you?

sotongball

Hello all

I'm having my wedding dinner in MM on 1 Oct 06.
Just need some advice... do you usually need a friend to be the "floor manager" to make sure the correct montages and music are played at the correct moments?

Or leave it to the hotel? They will be experienced enough to deal with it?

xynn

Hi sotongball, if you are playing it through the laptop, i think you need a friend to help you with that. As far as i know, i was told the AV technician can only help you play DVD or VCD.

anqi

i'm also a MM btb. have booked their package during the wedding show, quite reasonable for the price.

i also got to know last week that Wendy has left MM, a bit disappointed as she didn't even inform. perhaps it's because my wedding is Jun next year.

sugarcup

i'm a MM btb too, booked my wedding dinner for March next year.. i know it's still a while away but there's so much to arrange!

sotongball, bluberry & weddin: you could try voicemail or email la... dun put down after a few rings.. for me, at first i did that also then realise they run around all day lor. must treat him nice nice if not later he leave also … haha

sotongball, the food really not good ah.. i think i must highlight to my coordinator leh... MIL will kill me!

weddinstory

hi anyone seen mm invitation cards? How is it? Heard they are not nice n is the old designs. heard from the Wendy who left MM that they are hving new designs after renovation....think is true?

blurberry

Carebear/Weddin, ya hor, I dint leave msg.haha!I treat Wendy very good a..
I already collect the invitation card, I took the ivory colour wan,not much choice. I dont like the red colour..MIL also comment the red colour wan very outdated....haha

corsage

weddin: I think the renovations have been fully completed already! I've seen the cards, one red and one ivory. I don't like them leh
So will be printing my own. Not sure what I can change for in place of the cards =p

weddinstory

do we hv to send our cards to printer recommended by the hotel to print or we can bring to any printer we like?do we just bring the inserts to the printer?