Marina Mandarin Singapore

starfruit

Girls: Just made a call to Milan, my photos are ready for collection.. yippeee.... will try and collect it within these few days.

mo

Hi Starfruit,

Nope, Pauline is not the one running the show. It's another manager, I think mine was Kenny...can't really remember the name now.

I don't think we need to give them any angpows.

jowie

was wondering do we need to leave a seat for the photographer, wedding planner, emcee and band at the dinner?

starfruit

Jowie,

I will leave a seat for the photographer. see if there is any empty seat and will place him there. I do know that some photographer will decline the seat.

linda

Hi Starfruit,

We did give an angpao to banquet managers and all service staff. hubby gave them during the captain's briefing and requested for all the service staff to be there. Then he thank them for "helping" out at our wedding and a token of appreciation will be left with the manager.
He did tt so that the captains cannot keep all the angbaos to themselves. and it made the service staff happier.

Hi JenJen,

I asked. The Linda says she might have to charge. I say:" DUN tell me you are CHARGING ME for those additional cards!" Then she no charge. :p

jenjen

Hi Linda, when did she say she might have to charge you?? Before or after the dinner?? btw, mind telling me how many cards u got and how many tables u got??

Starfruit, I'll be collecting my cards sometime this week... Have you taken yours??

starfruit

Linda: How much did u give in the angpow for the banquet manager and the servcie staff. and how many ang pow did u have to give out for the servcie staff ?

Jenjen: i will be collecting mine thsi friday evening. I took cards based on 45 tables. Only managed to get an extra of 30 cards from them. not much luck in getting more.
u can also try buying extra inserts from the printer just inc ase u write wrongly.

jenjen

Starfruit, I confirmed min 46 tables with them... but told them I needed 400 cards... becoz actually my guest list is about 50 tables min and max hit about 58 tables!! but they say if in the end I dun hit about that number of tables, they will charge me...

jowie

starfruit, me having buffet and is charged by headcount...do you tink i need to provide dinner for all the people that I engaged eg band, photographer?
6391.gif

if necessary, then it will be like 60+ X 5 = $300+....beri exp
6392.gif

or should I ask the hotel to prepare fingerfood for them? if so, where should they be seated??

cowie

Hi Jowie,
Just a suggestion here. Why not you check with the band first? Cos I remembered there was once my society engaged a band during a formal buffet dinner, we did not have to pay for their buffet share. They said just give them packed dinner.....

jenjen

starfruit, I'll be collecting my cards tomorrow... think I dun care, even if by that time my tables dun hit so many, I'm going to insist they dun charge me... of coz if I didn't print on them, then I'll give back lah...

canfused

Would appreciate if u can share ur procedures on the wedding cards preparation with me... I also need to confirm on the no. of cards with MM but i wonder how when the guests are not informed and haven't replied yet... Thanks a lot!

Hi JenJen: Just found out from the threads that we've some things in common... MM, BZ, Nov... ;>

Thanks again!

linda

Hi Jenjen,

I had 320 white ones and 100 red ones at first then later collected another 100 red ones. I remember that they had given lesser red ones than what they actually told me in the first batch so I had to ask for more. She told me I had to pay when I requested for the additional 100 red ones. I had 55 guranteed minimum tables.

HI Starfruit,

Think my hubby gave $40 for banquet manager, then $10 for captains and $4 for each service staff if I am not wrong.

cowie

Hi Jowie,
What about....."Do you all usually take your own dinner before you all start work?".... "If we were to provide dinner, will packed dinner do?"... Anyway, you are employing them for something. Dun have to be afraid of them

jenjen

Hi Canfused, are you new in this forum?? Will like to make another fren who share so many common things with me...
Do also join the Nov brides thread... we are one big family there... can also give angelia your details as she maintains the Nov brides list...

For my case, I come up with a guest list (those pple you will want to invite, i.e. relatives, close friends, parents' frens)... get ur parents to do up the relatives and friends list... u just do your own list... then combine later... I will base my minimum number of tables on this list... later when I send out my invitations and rsvp, if some cannot come, then will go to my KIV guest list and see who else I want to invite to "replace"... hope this helps!!

Linda, I am basing on 46 min tables becoz that's the number where my freebies (i.e. additional night, complimentary food tasting) will apply... however, my current minimum guest list is 50 tables and plus KIV pple come up to 58 tables... so I requested 400 cards from them... 100 red and 300 white... I counted, if I print according to my list, there will only be 25 extra?? Dun tell me they want to charge me for 25 extra cards!??! Ridiculous right?? How many cards do you have with you?? printed or not?? btw, wat kind of printing did u use, since both cards diff colour, I want to use same printing so that can save $$...

canfused

Thanks! Jenjen,
Ya right… Im new in the forum (in fact, the above is my #1 message here…*hee hee*) have been trying to get some info these 2 days… Thanks for your help! Can I ask some more.. please… :
1) my banquet mgr said I must base on the max no. of guests so that we’ll have enough to print the inserts. He was quite helpful and willing to provide more cards as he said the cards can be returned to him if leftover (so no extra charge..
. The worrying part is the printing of inserts as a reprint subsequently would be costlier (fixed cost included again)… so regarding printing of inserts, shall I estimate no. of guests, print 1st, send out and rsvp last? Cos I remembered my frens used to send emails out 1st, sort of rsvp, confirm the no. to print and then print inserts next and lastly send out the cards. What’s your intention anyway?

2) can I borrow your “guo4 da4 li3” list as well…

Thanks for your help again… J

Ps: can u tell me where is the thread for Nov Brides so that I can meet the rest of you as well. BTW, when’s ur BZ PS? I’ve just completed 2 weeks ago and will be getting to see the samples this week (very very worried abt the turn out…..) You need any info on BZ PS? Hope I can be of some help… J

starfruit

JenJen: Another solution is for u to buy extra inserts from the printer for priniting. If u have more guest, can just go back to MM to get the cards. Then u should have enuff. No point reprinting cos more expensive lor.

Jowie: Dun think u need to provide for the band. U r not obligated. Same for the photographer. I think most photographer are smart enuff not to expect a free dinner from u.

Linda: Thanks for the tip on teh ang pow amount. This is a very good guide for us. Is the banquet manager the same as the floor manager who handle the actual day event? or he/she the one whom u sign the package with? sorry for asking cos me a bit blur lah.

jenjen

Hi Canfused, really honoured that your first message mentioned my nick leh...
You can go to the Nov Brides thread here.

1) Acherly I would think that the number of your guests shall not differ by more than 3 tables right?? Really there is no point doing rsvp twice... for me, I will be sending out the cards then rsvp... coz most of my friends already know I'll be getting married and they should be coming... the non-replies shall not differ much, esp if you have a KIV list on hand to fill in empty slots if your friends cannot make it... you can also save some cards by not giving to your close friends whom you know will definitely turn up...

2) Please give me your email address so that I can send the document to you...

Starfruit, I think I will print all that MM give me coz the diff is only 25 cards anyway... If later dun hit the minimum number of tables, later then worry... no point worrying about it now... :p

canfused

Hi ALL,
Anyone with MM change the menu and top up the difference??

Hi JenJen,
Thanks for your advise. Me felt honoured for your advise lah...

You can email the list to me at [email protected] (that's "zero three" hor)
Thank you in advance!

BTW, I dun suppose MM will charge you (my banquet mgr quite lax in the cards leh). I think it's just the printing costs then...

Going over to Nov Brides now... cheers!

jowie

Hi Cowie

thanks for yr suggestions! it's a subtle way to put it across
6421.gif

Hi starfruit

i am tinking photographer where got time to eat since he will be following us around
6422.gif

bluebell

Hi Starfruit,

I have only 2 extra red cards and 18 red envelopes. Paiseh, I thot I got more than 2. :p

Just to share my experience

Inserts: For inserts, you can buy A4 tracing paper just that need to trim, that's what I did.

Dinner for photographer:I din prepare dinner for the photographer. Anyway, some guests din turn up so she just sat where there is an empty seat.

RSVP: I asked before sending the cards. About 1 week before the wedding, I RSVP again but couldn't finish due to my schedle. Some guests din turn up coz they said they din receive my cards

Ang Pow: I gave a $10 ang pow to the operations mgr, Roger, coz I think he did a great job. Also a $6 angpow each to the captains. I prepared a Ang Pow for Beng Khoon too coz he was a great help but wasn't able to pass it to him coz he was busy.

yuki

As I in the stage of finalising my wedding banquet place and is in a confusing and dilemma state to decide. Indeed, Merchant Court has a high ceiling but some said the food is nice and some said it taste horrible. But it found the decoration looks plain. As for Marina Mandrain, though has low ceiling but has good services. I quite like its decoration.

Please advise. Also how's the food in these two places. Thanks.

canfused

Hi Starfruit,
I've not placed order for my cards. But my mgr said to go for my max no. of tables to determine the cards (say i've min 50 tables committed, must invite 52 tables at least cos 2 reserve tables and if my guest list can hit 58, then 58 be it and get cards for 70%-80% of 58 tables (he said no problem... just the printing lor... in case print too much, waste $ mah...the cards... at most no use return to him lor... he's very easy to "chumpsiong" one...)

Hi Yuki,
Merchant court food is fine (not too bad, presentable) but i personally find MM's spread is better. Tried both banquets before. True experience. For e.g. MM has whole piece abalone (mine's weekend menu, not sure abt weekday one) compared to usually abalone slices elsewhere incl. MC. The food is more well prepared in MM. differences (as far as i remember only har...)below FYI:
1) tables - MC (max 50), MM (max 66)
2) price - MC (cheaper but +++), MM(more expensive but nett)
3) chair covers - MC ($2/pc), MM (no charge) (of cos probably can bargain on chair cover px)
4) carpark - MC (smaller), MM (bigger)
5) food tasting - MC(6 persons), MM (10 persons, 50% or free, depending on no. of tables)

(maybe you can check with them to confirm again)
Hope the above helps.

ps: I personally chose MM cos may overshot 50 tables then MC cannot accommodate.

canfused

Hi JenJen,
Almost forgot...
i've got your list... THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

(but very long leh.. u really going all the way for it har??)

starfruit

Hi Confused:

who was ur banquet manager? maybe i should go to my banquet manager directly to request for cards instead of doing it via linda.

linda

Hi jen jen

I passed my cards to Cindy liao.... Sorry....maybe you all should collate names and those with extra cards pass along to the next....

I am sure they won't charge you for that 25 pcs of extra cards lah! If so, scream at them! hahahaha..kidding lah.....

I printed the inserts myself so I dun have to worry abt printing in 2 colours. I have a english poem for the white one and a red chinese "yuan" fate with smaller B/W Yuan2 ding4 jing1 sheng1 for the chinese.....I like it a lot!

canfused

Hi Starfruit,
My mgr is Beng Koon. He's quite easy going.

Hi Linda,
U mentioned tt u printed the inserts yourself... did u print chinese characters (like parents' names, dates, venue, etc) on them also? if can DIY with chinese characters, i'd like to do so myself leh... hope to save $..

jowie

Hi Bluebell

Can you let me know how much and who did you give ang baos to on your actual day? I am trying to budget for ang bao but dunno who should i be giving, and wats the reasonable rate for different ang baos eg "ah yee & xiong di(any difference for drive car and din drive?)", kids around the house, other helpers etc

bluebell

Hi starfruit,

Yah, go to Beng Khoon. When I asked Linda, she said must charge but when I asked Beng Khoon, he was more easy-going

Hi Jowie,

Hmmm...I try to recall.

Makeup artiste & photographer: Mum gave so we din

Xiongdi - $20 + gift worth $30
Drivers - $50 + gift worth $30
Open door - $20 (coz is my brother)
Jiemei - prepared more than $200 but split into 3 angpows and they took 2. I dunno how much coz hubby prepared.

For the banquet, as stated in my previous msg.

Actually, it's up to individual lah. depending on relationship and the nature of their help. Some my frens also help me with other things like doing my montage, being the MC. I gave them gifts.

I din have to give to kids in the hse coz both families dun practise this. His family also din have another to open the car door for me.

I do give different amounts or gifts of different values depending on what the helper does. Driver more "siong" so we give more, especially if it's their own car.

bluebell

Hi Starfruit,

I had 4 jiemei. One fren turn up suddenly so altogether 5. 4 xiongdi and 3 drivers.

I think 6 each is ok, more fun. For me is the more the merrier but some pple may feel it is not necessary coz frankly, nothing much for them to do. Most imptly, do you have transport for them?

For the night, we distributed the work to the xiong di and jiemei and I had one more fren to be the MC.

jowie

Hi Bluebell

Thanks, also, do we need to give ang bao to my FH younger siblings and our parents?
I calculated all the ang baos to be given and total to around $800!
6441.gif

yuki

Dear Canfused & bluebell,

Thanks for your feedback and I will certainly look into it. But I still prefer MM for their service and ambience.

Thanks a lot.

jenjen

Linda, it's alright... thanx anyway...

Can anyone advice me wat is the number of tables I have to hit in order to get free 10 persons food tasting?? I forgot leow... and the contract also never write...

starfruit

Yuki: list sent. u can check ur mail

jenjen: how come ur contract does not state. my contract clearly states that if i hit 45 tables, i get the free 10 person food tasting. i think it is different for each couple, cos i know Linda's was set at 50 tables instead. U wanna check with ur banquet manager?

MM will sugguest that u take the 10 ppl foodtasting at 50% of the cost, and on the actual day, if u hit the figure they request, they will reimburse u the other 50% that u have paid. This is what MM advised me.

bluebell

Hi Jowie,

I din have to. My wedding is really free from a lot of customs :p Anyway, I think you can check with your parents to see if your family practises this

jenjen

yuki, I cannot access my mail... maybe you can get my list from starfruit??

starfruit, I collected my cards leow... my contract only states that if I hit 46 tables, they give me 6 persons complimentary but 6 dishes only... but I called up MM and asked, Pauline told me she will give me 10 persons for 10 dishes if I hit 50...

jowie

find dat s'pore hotels sometimes are quite inflexible in giving more frills...

i will be having another wedding dinner in msia, at a beach resort under Shangri-la, wif onli 10 tables, they give us free food tasting for 10, floral decorations, 4 nites stay in their executive suites, all cards free, free bridal bouquet, and they even give us a big ballroom which can actually be partition into 3 smaller rooms when we onli have 10 tables...all for onli RM580 per table...half the price of s'pore normal hotel banquet and with lotsa more frills....
if onli s'pore hotels can be like them hehee
6471.gif

yuki

Dear Starfruit and JenJen,

I've got the list. Thanks a lot for your help.
Will get back to you more after the booking.

By the way, when they said "Waiver of corkage charge for all spirit liquor brought into the hotel.Please note that all spirit liquor brought into the hotel for consumption must be “DUTY PAID” and “SEALED"."

So can we bring the liquors that we have bought from the Duty-Free Shop from the airport during the banquet.

jenjen

Yuki, by right cannot bring... as it has to be "duty paid" and "sealed"... but u can check with ur coordinator if they can allow a few??

starfruit

So has anyone been able to bring Duty Free liquor for their banquet in MM ? i will be keen to find out.

jenjen: have u asked pauline about it?

Linda and Bluebell : what about u girls? did u have hard liquor at ur wedding? and how is the comsumption rate of these liquor. How many bottles should i prepare. This is really confusing.

linda

It is actually against the law to bring duty free har liquor. But, just dun get caught. Normally hotels close one eye lor.

I brought abt 15 I think left 2. On a monday night. Very diff to judge cos I thot my guests would consume lesser than that cos it is Mon...but sigh.....Or just get a comfortable amt you want, then finish means finished lor....And dun get the service staff to automatically top up their drinks....it helps.