Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi JenJen

my wedding will be at the grand ballroom.

Hi Starfruit,
mine also min 35 tables. scared cannot meet the min requirement.

Hi starfruit,

You dun have to confirm your tables yet when you are taking the cards. For my case, i took the cards based on my min. which is 20 tables. Then as my guest list ballooned, I asked for more cards. Only problem is the printing of your inserts. In my case, my sis printed for me so I can just reprint any extra required.

According to MM, if your final confirmed tables is less than what you told them when collecting your cards, you will need to pay for the extra cards taken but I think this can be negotiated. Anyway, I also have some red cards left if you need. I will need to check wether I still have the inserts :P

Calling Lily, Reebok and Adeline... Last position:

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002 (Les Oiseaux) --> Over
3) Linda 10/06/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
4) Lily 30/06/2002 (?) --> Over
5) Mo 07/07/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
6) Cowie 15/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
7) Reebok 21/09/2002 (?)
8) Yvonne 24/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
9) Jowie 03/11/2002 (Poolside)
10) Starfruit 04/11/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
11) JenJen 10/11/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
12) Luzon888 20/11/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
13) Cher 30/11/2002 (Les Oiseaux) <-- NEW ADDITION!!!
14) Adeline 15/12/2002 (?)
15) Jasmine 23/12/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
16) Dap 16/01/2003 (Grand Ballroom)

Let's welcome Cher to the list...

bluebell... no lah... I organise?? u must be joking man...
wait till u see my room and other things... damn messy... hahaha...

dap, urs oredi put in leow...

starfruit, me oso headache about the no of tables to confirm... I oso same problem as u coz my tables will increase...

Linda, how many extra cards did u manage to get from MM last time??

dap: do u forsee you guest list might be lower than 35? why dun u negotiate with them for 33 tables + 2 reserve? would this be easier than?

jenjen: ya lor, so headache, so do u have an estimate on how many table su have at this moment? my guest list has increased from 35 to 45 as of now and this does not include my FIL's relative and the reserver table. *sigh*

Bluebell : thanks, do u still have envelope and inserts with the cards? and di most of ur guest turned up that night. I have this worry that no one will turn up on my wedding.

All : anyone know when we must confirm the exact numbers with the hotel ? isit 1 or 2 weeks before our wedding day?

Hi starfruit

contract signed already lor. Beng Khoon said can't change. hopefully my friends give face and turn up. i heard usually about 20% no show.

Hi JenJen

Hi Starfruit,

I planned for 20 tables and ended up with 27 tables. On that day, about 12 pple din turn up. Some said they din receive my invites. I think it is good to re-confirm your attendance about 1-2 weeks before the event which i did but some I din manage to contact.

I understand your anxiety. I was so worried I wouldn't hit my min 20 tables! Anyway, you only have to confirm the attendance about 1 week before the event.

As for the cards, I can only tell you next week coz they're at my parent's place.

starfruit, we signed up confirming 40 tables only... so if they only give us 70% of 40 tables, might not be enuff... we are planning to hit abt 46 tables...

Maybe we should start a collection of the cards for this forum... those who calculated and have extra unprinted cards can pass to those whose cards haven't print yet... :p

Jowie, sorry, missed out ur post... let me check with my MIL if the list is correct before I send to you... that'll be next week... I'll be following Hokkien customs...

JenJen : So r u confiming 46 tables with MM and collecting cards based on this figure?

dap: 20% no show is quite a huge figure.

Bluebell: ya its a good idea to call about 2 weeks before the wedding to confim that ur guest have received the card. would not be good if they gave the excuse that they didn't turn up becos they didn't receive the invites.

starfruit... i dunno leh... must wait till i get a rough total list from everyone else this week first then i call them up to confirm...

tks jenjen, altho me teochew and FH canto, i can still check wif your list rite? is there much difference between different dialects?

Hi Jen Jen

can i have the guo da li list when its ready cos i'm following hokkein customs too. my mum also dun know. yesterday my mum said i have to buy a pair of pants for my elder brother (still single) and hang it at the main door on actual day. supposely for me to walk underneath. some kind of custom. anyone here practicing?

Hi Starfruit - maybe you're right. 20% no show is too much. not a good gauge.

Dap:
ya me hokkien too and i gotta buy a pair of pants for my elder brother cos i am getting amrried befor him. I dun need to hang the pais at the main door. Just need to go buy him a pair of pants. Its as simple as that.

jowie &amp; dap, will get it to u asap... my MIL taking her own sweet time to do it... *ahhh*... can't tahan... last time tell her to gimme the list, in the end, I prepare myself!??! *peng*... will push my hubby to tell her... so sorry...

dunno abt the pants thingy... coz i no elder bro...

Starfruit:
not bad ya, we have the same bridal studio and banquet now same customs. easier to share notes liao. my mum said that i have to hang on the door. so weird. will check with her again.

JenJen- dun worry. for me, i only need the list by Oct so once you have it, can let send to me. million thanks in advance.

Calling Lily, Reebok and Adeline... Last position:

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002 (Les Oiseaux) --> Over
3) Linda 10/06/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
4) Lily 30/06/2002 (?) --> Over
5) Mo 07/07/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
6) Cowie 15/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
7) Reebok 21/09/2002 (?)
8) Yvonne 24/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
9) Jowie 03/11/2002 (Poolside)
10) Starfruit 04/11/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
11) JenJen 10/11/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
12) Luzon888 20/11/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
13) Cher 30/11/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
14) Adeline 15/12/2002 (?)
15) Jasmine 23/12/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
16) Dap 16/01/2003 (Grand Ballroom)

Linda, can you help?? I was wondering wat are the wordings you use on your invitation cards?? How many extra cards do you have??

I'm in serious problem leow... my tables like will go above 50!! ahhh... die... big headache... do you know how many tables can the ballroom take??

dap &amp; jowie, still no have list yet... :p

JenJen: Grand ballroom can take up till 64 tables if u r not using a projector. If u r, 60 will be the likely figure.

But not good to go up to 60 cos i think the place will be a bit cramp.

hi girls

I m now sourcing for printers for my cards.
read from other threads tat "Hi-Tech" at AMK not bad n prices r quite cheap...quite interested in this coz its very near my place.
any comments on this?
found out from another thread tat this printer "Jasvy.." ties up with MM?? anyone tried their services?
would appreciate some feedback.

Cowie - have u settled on ur printer?

Yup, I've gotten mine printed at Acepro already
(One of those recommended by MM)Somehow the price they gave is quite good. I settled for standard printing (not hot stamping etc) and it is only $70 for 300 inserts and below. $10 more for any additional 100 inserts.

yvonne: any idea what "hi-Tech" and "jasvy.." are charging? Ya ANK good location, near my place.

Cowie: how was "Acepro"? where r they located? do u need to go down personally to their printing shop? or can u meet them somewhere.
$70 for 300 inserts is not very expensive. How is their service? have u collected ur inserts yet?

How about the other printers that MM recommended. did u check their prices too?

starfruit, thanx for ur response...
btw, my guo da li list is actually from urs... just that I changed some things and ask my MIL if she wants to add anything else... apparently she told my hubby that there are things missing...

Hi Starfruit,
The people at Acepro are very friendly. But you must be able to wait for 2 weeks upon confirmation of your artwork before you collect the printed stuff. They are located at MacPherson area - Hotel Windsor. I went down personally to meet them initially to give them the details and what I want to be included in my card. Subsequently, can just do changes and confirmation via fax and phone. Have collected my inserts already. Quite satisfied with the final products

I did check out Jasvy, which is the other printer recommended by MM but they charge more. Sorry, I really cannot remember how's their pricing like

Cowie: So how long did it take from start to finish? 3 week? then i better send ot out for printing earlier. Hotel winsor is not too far from where i live. still convenient enuff. Do u need to go pick up the printouts urself?

jenJen: no problem, so u confirm u will hit 60 tables? 60 is a lot leh? u will be very tired that night? how come so many? isit mainly from both ur parents side??
As for the list, think i will keep it this simple. headache lah if gotta do more.

Dap: yup, jenjen got the list from me. U can wait for her more comphrehensive list. if u can't wait, u can get the initial list from me first.

Hi Starfruit,
Well, depends on how fast you take to confirm.... 3 weeks will be a good gauge
Yes, we went to collect the printouts ourselves.

Starfruit

i called Hi-Tech today. was quoted $100/- for 350 inserts...the lady was saying 200-300 cards is $90/-. 300-400 cards is $100/-.
called The Card Shop..ex. leh..$200/-.
T-Dragon quoted $140/-.
(above quotes based on normal prints, no hotstamping)

btw, we dun need hotstamping rite? since MM provides the inserts...can juz print on inserts.

Cowie
wow...i tot tat Hi-Tech is cheap liao..looks like u have got a better deal.
the rates from Acepro are more attractive!
hhmm..MacPherson quite near my hubby's place..so can consider too.
if in terms of price, i think may go for Acepro.
well, service shld be good lah hor? would u strongly recommend?

Hi starfruit

I would like to have your list first so that can see what to prepare and budget. recently very tight on money b'cos of renovation. Will compare against JenJen's list when hers is ready. thanks.

cowie, i wonder abt the quality of the printing... wat is the diff between hot stamping and normal?? wat colour are the words?? wat if my cards got 2 types, like red (traditional) and white (modern) ones?? still same price??

dap, think u can see starfruit's one first... I will send mine to u in ms word...

The service is quite good lah. The two ladies there, Pamela and Veronica are both very friendly and accomodating
I really had no problems with them. Just make sure you check through all the copies that they fax you before you make your confirmation

Hi Starfruit,
Yup, my inserts turned out very well
In fact, I am asking them to do another set of inserts for me cos my dad is inviting his muslim staff to my place for a lunch reception

Hi JenJen,
For hot stamping, they first produce a mould and print from the mould. The cost is higher, but this is necessary if we have to print direct onto the card. But since our cards come with inserts, we can choose to do hot stamping, embossing, or just normal printing. If you want to choose shiny gold or silver as your letterings, then you need to go for hot stamping or embossing (for embossing, you can feel that the letterings are a little raised). But personally I feel that it is not necessary cos these are charged on a per piece basis.

For normal printing, you can choose from a variety of colours, depending on what you like. If you have two types of cards, you can still print all the inserts together, but you will have to choose a colour that is clear enough to be read on both ivory and red background. If you choose two different colours, then I think the price will be different......

Hi starfruit

tks for your list

Is there any differences if we are from different dialect group? me teochew and FH is cantonese

Hi Jowie,

I am hokkien, the list is hokkien custom. I am not really sure about teochew and cantonese custom but i heard they are all kinda similar exp for a few small differences.

I do know cantonese has roast pig too.

oic, thanx cowie, so MM will give me the contacts of Acepro and others when I collect the cards??

starfruit, i understand from my hubby that his mum said we (bride's side) have to provide a cloth for the prayer table for tian1 gong1... are u aware??

jenjen: what is this cloth thingy. I have not heard of it at all. I am not sure if my MIL prays to Tian Gong. Is this for the groom's side? My mum dun pray so maybe we dun need. What do u think? any more info.?

I would like some feedback/comments on Marina Mandarin in terms of service/ambience/value for money. I have to make up my mind quickly abt a venue and am unsure if this shld be one of my options..can u gals help? thks!

starfruit, the cloth is for ur IL's side... my parents oso dun pray, only my IL pray... so we (the bride's side) have to buy for the groom's side...

jenjen: dun think my MIL pray, so maybe no need to buy. will check with her again.

PF: i am sure u will have read form all the messages from this thread that they r many satisified brides with MM. My wedding is NOv this yr, so dar i think they their service is not too bad. The only thing that i was disappointed with MM (as i have told Linda) was that i think the march in aisle is too short. on the whole, i think their package is very comphresive, definitely worth considering for u.
What further information do u need?

Hi starfruit and all,

Cld u recommend a good coordinator so that i can
get in touch with him/her? Can give me email address and direct number? Wld like to request for a viewing..thks

Had my wedding just last weekend...just dropping in to assure u gals that MM is indeed very professional and very good. Everything went really smoothly and we didn't even have to worry abt anything much.

MM will call u in the room to remind u to order your pre-dinner snack, remind u of the timings to meet the banquet manager, etc. After the dinner, they even heat up our banquet food and bring it up for us, including the dessert

Had a really enjoyable and hassle-free time at MM. All thanks to the competent team at MM

Mo: wow sounds good. i was still complaining to my hubby that i tot i will not get to eat food from my own banquet!! I esp want the desset yum yum. Do i need to tell them to pack a portion for us to be brought up later??

Hi Mo

congratulations! glad tat things went smoothly 4 ur wedding!

i'll be meeting Pauline next mth to discuss the details.
sorry hor..got some questions to ask.
wat time can we 'check in'?
does MM recommend any songs for the banquet? ie for 1st course..they have their own song rite? if we want something else, then we'll give them the cds etc. rite?

Linda was telling me tat i have to confirm the table no., deco etc with Pauline. but the songs no need rite?
sorry for asking so many questions, juz wana find out more n get myself prepared b4 i meet Pauline.
Thanks a lot!

Hi starfruit,

No need to ask for the banquet food, they'll bring it up automatically after the dinner

We were told to check in at 2pm, but due to our last minute guest list preparation, we checked in only at 4pm. Anyway, no need to confirm songs now, just the no. of tables and deco. Don't worry, Pauline will brief through with u step by step, so everything is very well organized. U'll know exactly when to do what. MM has their own song list for u to select from, so if u can't find your own CDs, can just use theirs.

Micky: have sent u the list, but get the one from jenjen as well.. so u can compare notes.

Mo: Did Pauline handle the evenbing coordination at the banquet as well? or was there another floor manager that supervise the actual day dinner.

MO &amp; All: One more thing, did u give an ang pow to Pauline? do we need to prepare ang pows for the banquet manager?