Marina Mandarin Singapore

linda; wow, the liquor consumstion rate at ur banquet was heavy eh. for a monday night. My is on a money day too.. now i am not sure how many bottles i need to prepare. Do u think 8 is enuff?

Starfruit, urs on MONEY day??
hehehe...

Anyway, I dun think I will be preparing much... maybe just ask Pauline how many DFS they can let me bring and I just bring those few for standby... dun think many of my guests will really drink... Only a handful... dun want to encourage them to become roudy after that...

Furthermore, the beer is free flow... so I dun think will need that much liquor...

JenJen, really can bring a few? i ever checked wif Pauline and she sounds beri firm dat no duty free liquor is allowed...if really can then i need to stock up if got frends go overseas...

tink the number of bottles to bring depend on wat kind of people u inviting...somemore nowadays more people like to drink wine...dun wan to bring too mani hard liquor when people start asking for wine! also, usually people who drink beer dun drink liquor and vice versa...but u got free flow beer so shiok! me onli got 1st barrel free

Hi Starfruit,
Like what Jowie has mentioned, it will really depend on your guests' profile. Mine was heavy cos of FIL's temple frens...I finished abt 13 botts and all my beer and opened a 20L barrel with was finished halfway....and they didn't charged me for it!

A word, if you asked for permission to do 'illegal' things you will never get it. So bring secretly lah. :P

Linda: thanks for the advice. ya, i have the same thoughts as jenjen, since our banquet will have free flow beer, maybe can save on the liquor part. Will not be providing wine as i wanna save cost. wonder if guest will request for them.

If no one see, chances of them asking for wine is low. You get one or two but just let the service staff know that you dun intend to serve lor.

I did not allow beer to be served during reception time. Even if the guests are in the ballroom then. Beer is to be served only after dinner commences. Safer. For you Starfruit, no scare no scare!

Hi Linda, my contract states that beer is not served during reception... as my beer is free flow, I'm not worried about it... but I might bring a few bottles of hard liquor, just in case...

jenjen: u sure they dun server beer during the reception? hmm... i better go check my contract too. u planned to serve liquor during ur reception? i would discourage cos u dun wan ur guest to be drunk even before ur dinner start.

I think i will not have liquor at the cocktail cos I dun want the crowd to get rowdy and start heaving stupidly.

I was looking at the standard contract for MM the last time and think I'm quite sure they are not serving beer during reception... only mixers and soft drinks...

hi Linda n MM brides

got something to ask u..
the inserts provided by MM are not normal paper..its like tracing paper type.
went to the printer over the weekend n they said tat for tat kinda insert, better to use hotstamping coz normal print the ink may smurge.
work out the price..hotstamping is double the amt of normal printing.
the printer will provide me with the normal paper insert if i m doing normal printing..

so juz to find out wat other MM brides did 4 their cards ie hotstamping or normal paper inserts.
Thks.

I'm looking for a suitable colour and type of stamping for the inserts which will match both the red and the white cards... any advice please??

Hi Starfruit,

I have 90L cos I exchange the real cake for a dummy one and didn't want my chocolate pralines as favours.

Hi yvonne
I used normal PC to do my printing. It does smurge but not VERY easily. Have to let ink dry for a while before stacking them up....

I used the tracing paper type of inserts from MM, plus I purchased somemore of the same translucent inserts from my printer to print a few extras in case of mistakes during writing. In all cases, I used normal printing only. No problem leh......

Hi JenJen,
I chose a reddish brown for standard printing. It matches both the red and ivory cards perfectly
Actually, you can bring your card down and try to match the samples the printers' have with your card to see if the wordings stand out or not.

Hi JenJen

Usually hot stamping is gold colour rite? gold goes better with red cards coz more visible but might not go as well wif white cards
me not using MM cards, and not using inserts...sorrie can't help
6551.gif

Yvonne:
According to MM, these transparent insert can use normal printing. I called MM and they verified this. So u migth not need to spend extra money to do hot stamping.

really thank u for telling me tat..
i happened to c 1 of my sis's invitation card tat her fren sent..its tracing paper insert with normal printing too.

ok..shall discuss with my printer on this..duno if they can do a 'test run' on one pc 1st or not..
thanks again!

JenJen
according to Hi-Tech, they have gold and silver hotstamping..either those shiny type or matt type...u can choose.

Hi FYI,

There is this shop in Marina Square that do printing, they also collect cards on your behalf. Look for June, from The Wedding Giftshop.
Anyway, it's just a stone throw away from MM.

Hi JenJen,
I used Acepro. But do be careful of the colour you choose, cos like what Jowie mentioned, gold will go very well with red background, but it is hardly visible on ivory background. Be more adventurous. Dun need to always follow silver or gold

Cowie

i called Hi-Tec n asked them again abt printing normal ink on the tracing inserts.
they say cannot leh..i told her the hotel ppl said tat its alright..
then she said they tried a lot of times but the ink takes very long to dry up an/or is not totally dry..will easily smurge.

hiya..now i duno whether to use Hi-Tech n print on normal paper or go to Acepro.
they print for u, u r saying no problem rite.

Yvonne : i called MM and feedback ur situation. My banquet manager was telling me to report to him the printer that tells u they cannot print using normal ink. If they insist that u use hot stamping, MM will drop them from the printer list.

Yup, no problem with their printing
I had them to print two different sets of inserts. Both using tracing paper and with normal printing. But you may want to hurry cos they take about two weeks after confirmation of final artwork to print your inserts.

hi starfruit

i went to Hi-Tech. However, i dun think Hi-Tech is in MM's list.

hiya...so much hassle juz over cards..
think might as well juz take Hi-Tech n print on normal paper can liao.

coz i think i m quite late with the cards thingy and hubby is too busy to take leave during weekdays..somemore this Sat gota work..*sigh* if not can go Acepro n check things out.
but come to think abt it, my dad said tat he will send out invites only after the 7th mth..tat means early Sep..still got some time lah hor?

yvonne,

why dun u give acepro a call and check their prices. dun think u need to go all the way down. Check with them ur requirements before u decide if u wanna use them. They prices are quite reasonable. how much did Hi Tech quoted u?

JenJen

wat photos r u referring to?
if its album, not ready yet..this mth then ready.
waiting 4 their call.

starfruit, i've called Acepro, the diff. is only $20/-.
hi-tech quoted $100/- for 350 inserts n Acepro's is $80/-.

well, i've discussed with hubby today.
we decided to juz use normal paper inserts provided by Hi-tech.
find it very troublesome to go to Acepro...hi-tech is nearer to my place.

oh ya..tat means i will have 350 tracing paper inserts tat i dun need.
if anyone of u want, i can pass some/all to u..but must be after my wedding in Sept, dun think i have time to meet up for now.
juz let me noe n we arrange something later.

yah, talking about ur album... they dun give you back the samples to scan??

I'm interested to get the extra tracing paper inserts from you... When are you able to pass to me?? Email me, okie??

jenjen: just found out from ohno that Acepro charges $0.20(including printing cost) for every extra insert u purchased from them. so i fu can get the 350 from yvonne, can save u the cost of purchasing.

HI Starfruit & JenJen

AcePro quoted me $70 for min 300pcs and I've 200pcs of inserts only. I purchased another 50pcs inserts from them at $0.20/pc, which I paid $80 in the end. They took 2 weeks to print upon confirmation of artwork.
Jasvy also quoted me $70 for 200 pcs and $0.20 for each inserts too.

Starfruit: I think they quoted u $0.10 cos u've more inserts?

oho: u mean the price will differ if u have more?? i was wondering when she quoted me the price, cos 0.10 per extra piece of insert together with printer is a good price. It is the same price as compared to her charges of $10 for printing extra 100 inserts.(i.e. i get the inserts free and she is omly charging me the printing cost. i tot if she might have made a mistake.

jenjen : if this is the case, then u dun need to get the inserts from yvonne. can purhcase straight from acepro, cos its still the same price.

hope i am not confusing anyone here.

JenJen

very sooory for the late reply.
din have the time to log in here.

i've collected the paper inserts from Hi-Tech, they even gave gold strings on top of providing the paper leh...

anyway, the tracing inserts tat i have..can give the rest here.
JenJen, u need how many? all of the 350? how abt the rest? anyone else need extra?

problem is the inserts r at my hubby's place n i wont be meeting him till end of the week.
paiseh hor..if u girls can wait til early next week..then we meet up somewhere maybe MRT station ..ie after work.
JenJen,where r u working at? me in Tanjong Pagar.

i need a favour from ex-MM brides or maybe Linda (if u still read this forum)
anyone has used the gold theme?
pls share with me ur photos can? would appreciate some shots from the table view n maybe pics showing the stage.
i wanna c the colour of the stage.
Pauline showed me a photo showing the stage..it seems rather orangy than gold leh!
she say maybe coz of the lighting..
pls forward them to my email add...juz click on my name for the address..
Thks!

Did any one use champagn rose as decorations? i am suppose to sort out my flowers now.. dunno what to choose. MM suggested lillies and roses (champagne) but i am not sure what colour thsi is. anyone can help?

Hi Yvonne & Starfruit,

Pls look at my photos if you are interested. I used the gold theme and lilies and champagne roses for the decor.

hi bluebell

have looked at ur photos..but i dun think there r any 'close-up' photos showing the stage deco or the flowers.

hi bluebell

thks.
managed to c a pic of the stage..
hhmm..looks the same like wat Pauline showed me.
striking yellow-orange type..

juz wondering if anyone used Silver theme.
coz i quite like the apple green table cloth.
but like i say..it has got a more "westernised dinner look"

JenJen
okie..i email u again next week.
err..can give me ur email add again?
coz i only remember bigfoot..something.rite?
100 pc..sure..no prob. u want more also can.

Thinking of having my wedding banquet at MM also. Can anyone advise me what i should look out for b4 i pay the dep.? I liase with Beng Khoon.

kylie: wha.. good that u got beng khoon. Mine is also beng khoon. He is very easy guy to talk to and can negotiate a lot of stuff with him as well. However, maybe becos he is a guy, i find that certaind details like flowers etc, he could nto give me too much advice.
Dun worry, u r in safe hands
MM's package is quite comprehensive, i didn't ask for too much other stuff.. just exchange the cake for another room i think. cannot remember already. Is urs a 2003 package?

Yvonne : ya i liek the silver theme too but opted for the gold in teh end cos the silver theme too white and westernised scared my Mum adn MIL unhappy.

Hi Starfruit,
Yap, mine's 2003 package....it contains a deluxe rm for wedding coordinators, but my hubby & I will change it to another night in bridal suite for the two of us instead. Greedy!!!!!!!!

So which theme did you chose? WHen's your wedding?

Hi Starfruit

I've bought the Her World Brides Sep issue and flip thru the mag looking out for flowers. Realise most hotels have a combination of white and yellow/Champagne flowers (could be lily, orchid, rose etc). Think MM suggestion on champagne rose with white lily quite ok. just my opinion.

Kylie: u gotta really try hard to bargain for an extra night in the bridal suit. MM don't usually allow u to exchange the deluxe room for the bridal suit cos the delux room is smaller. However, if u can hit more tables, i am sure u MM will give u another extra night at the bridal suit free on top of ur night in the delux room.

dap: Thanks for ur feedback. so excatly what colour is champagne roses? a light tinge of pink?

Ohno: i can't find the champagne roses in the new her world brides.