Marina Mandarin Singapore

purinne

oh ... mayb coz mine is lunch ... so they seem to b more flexible with the table number
... but thanks for the info evy
... now waitin to fix a time to sign the contract ... nervous~~~~

octo

Hi Purinne,

If you are just look at 23 / 25 tables, I think the Grand ballroom might be too big for the venue. Its probably going to look empty as I think the grand ballroom can hold up to around 50 tables. If you just have 23 tables, its like only using up half the space. So, I don't think it'll look good. Just my personal opinion.

I am also surprise that MM allow people to use the grand ballroom with min of 23 table. Hee..

Anyway, you might want to consider Vanda Ballroom. It will look just nice with around 25 tables. And I think the birds along the 'corridoor' will still be there in the afternoon, quite interesting to have birds chirping in the background during the reception. Hehe..

purinne

hi shir
... i tink they are a lot more flexible with the table no coz its lunch ... noticed tat other hotels are also quite flexible for wedding luncheons

FH finds Vanda Ballroom's ceiling is too low ... so prefers grand ballroom ...

wld urs b lunch or dinner? when's ur AD?

octo

Hi Purinne,

Mine is a dinner on 20 Dec. So yours wil be much earlier than mine. hee..

Maybe you want to highlight the 'emptiness' of the room to your FH.

Previously I attended a wedding lunch at another hotel and the couple also picked a much bigger space. The whole place looked empty and doesn't have the 'wedding mood' cause every group was like an individual company as the distance was quite far apart. Very cold feeling.

purinne

hi shir

i spoke to mi coord today to highlight to her ... she said its ok ... hmmm ... i'll speak to FH again
... thank u so much for ur suggestion

hows ur preparation comin along????
whos ur coord???

lala84

i'm currently considering marina as one of my dinner venues. i will be looking for 2010. pls let me know what are some additional perks that i can request for. thanks.

purinne

hi stella
... i just went to sign mi contract today ... mi coordinator said there'll b a rdshow in apr for 2010 packages ... tink more details will b out then ba

shir: i spoke to mi coordinator today ... she said no worries abt table numbers .... so we goin ahead with MM ballroom
... wish mi luck :D

octo

Good Morning Purinne,

Yup.. just go with your heart. Hee.. do share your experience with you after your banquet.. mine is after you.. hee..

Btw, who's your coordinator?

suezzen

Kodomo: I have received the wedding card from MM too (one is pink, one is white)...Now i am stuck which one to choose. I dun really like the pink bcs I find tt it is too 'china'..but the white one oso dun look nice to me..bcs the design is too plain...

Aiks...dunno which one to choose.

Anyone has choosen their wedding card?

concert

Suez - Yes.. I have exact sentiments as u... Pink like not so nice, and so is white. Disappointed with the cards.. but wht to do.. sob sob. Its not exactly that ugly, but it jus doesnt look rite.

When are u having ur AD ? Have u chose which printer u want to use..?

octo

Hi Purinne,

My coordinator is Wendy.

Hi Suez & Kodomo,

Have MM changed their wedding card? The one I saw last yr was red which look quite traditional and Ok for wedding.

evylim

Hi Suez, Purinne & Kodomo,

I find the new wedding card unique! My designer brother actually says that the Pinkish red card looks great and better than the white ones. Traditional but still modern look. Sure pass for the parents, in-laws and grandparents!

I took the pink one for my wedding.
Really love the cards!

purinne

hiya evy
i haven seen the new cards ... the prev time when i went for site visit ... it was still the red and white cards ...

mi weddin is in oct ... so tink i'll onli get to see the new cards in jun/jul ba

suezzen

Hi Kodomo :- my AD is on 09 May 09. What abt u?I have not yet decide which printer to go. My fren advise me that go to JB do the printing is much cheaper and within one day can get already.

Hi Shir:- I am not sure how is it look like for the wedding card last year. Whereby for this year, the red (or pink) is with the design of some butterflies one...hehee

Hi Evy:- Actually as per kodomo said...it is not tt ugly but it jus doesnt look good to us lor..but ..after several times comparing..i find tt the red(pink) one is slightly better than the white one..bcs the white one really plain...hehee

next i am gng to make the arrangement for the trial dinner with my coordinator..but i read the review about the food tasting..Hm...
some ppl commented that the crispy roast chicken is nice (mine in the contract is boneless chicken with plum sauce)...thats all I found in this thread...anyone got any comments on their food? Kindly share. Thank you!!

evylim

hi suez,
our wedding date are so nearer! My AD is on 15 May 2009. I have check with the printers MM provide.

Kentrich quoted me $105 for 300 inserts and Javsy $120 for 300 inserts.

iciclediamond managed to find a printer for $85 for 300 inserts. I'm waiting for her reply for her printer contacts.

suezzen

Hi Evy,

Hahaha..our AD is less than a week different..~ So excited!

Wah, If can get $85 for 300 inserts..tt will be great~ Hope iceclediamond can reply to you asap ya...then we can save $ on tt :D

concert

Hey Suez and Evy, count me in for the printing search.. haha... Iceclediamond has used the printer before..? Me din follow the thread... We cheapo rite... $30 also wanna save.. all broke liao. My Ad 7th June..one month later from u gals

octo

Good morning Suez,

I saw the red cards during their bridal show last April. If I didn't remember wrongly, there's also a green card or something during that time.

Anyway, I prefer those traditional red / pink cards. Got the wedding feel to it. Hee..

I had tried the crispy chicken during that bridal show also. Apparently, its one of the speciality of MM. Generally, I think its OK. Kinda abit like roasted chicken. =X

suezzen

Just had my lunch...kakaz...Hahaa..really broke liao..spent all the $..must try to save even tot it is only $30, right? Kekee :p

Hi Shir,

I bet u will like this year wedding cards (provided it is still same as what we received from MM)..hehee..it is red/pink with butterflies..hehee

Ya, I heard the crispy chicken is one of the specialty of MM. I think I will change from the chicken with plum sauce to the crispy chicken...Yummy!

purinne

i tink it depends on which room you want and whether its lunch or dinner

vanda ballroom can take 30 tables max ... so tink min requirement is 20 ba ... for both lunch and dinner ...

MM ballroom usu requires a min no of 30 tables ... i tink ... but for lunch ... negotiable

suezzen

Would like to check. If anyone has choosen the wedding favors? What is the latest collection of MM wedding favors?

Does MM provide the hotel map together with the inserts ?

Pls advise...thanks~ =)

happy_ting

i chosen half half of the cards. half pink and half white. i think it's ok la.. anyway, ppl dun really look at the invitation cards one.

I print my inserts at JB, T&T printing. printed 400 inserts at RM120. (SGD60)collection take about a week. I like the inserts, graphics are cute (graphics are foc).

latest wedding favor is the teddy bear keychain (i think they have it since last year), coaster, pineapple tarts and the chocolates. I have chosen the coaster, quite nice.

I have chosen the crispy chicken as one of the dish also. but during food tasting, i find the chicken abit too salty and bloody. hope AD food will turn out nice

suezzen

Hi Happyting...Thanks for sharing the infor.
I heard my fren said to print the insert at JB is cheap. He advised me to go over to JB to print (in the meantime can shop shop..haha)...but he said on the day itself can collect all the insert alr..Hm..maybe different printing shop is different collection time...

you mean the graphics on the insert is cute? I din see the insert yet...kekee

I see...I will request my coordinator to show me the wedding favors on my trial dinner then =)

happy_ting

T&T (JB, City Square 4th flr)

- RM60 for 1st 100 card inserts
- every 100 cards, add rm20
- Add graphics: no extra charge and can add as many graphics as you want.
- Add Map RM20 total (one time off. Can be provided by you. if dont have, they will get from internet)

mine took one week to collect. if u have colleauges/frds who are malaysian, u can ask them to help u to collect the inserts on the following week so that u can save a trip
my frd help me to collect it as she always go back JB during the weekend.

ppeii

I am new here! I have just book my banquet for 2010, Vanda ballroom. Like the bird eye view of the hotel
My coordinator is also Kaylynn, she is very nice & pro.
Wondering will it be too crump if there are 24 tables?

topaz

just paid the deposit with MM today for Mar 2010, MM ballroom. Looking forward to the day!
Wendy is my coordinator but heard from kaylynn she is on hosp leave & will be back in Apr. Hope she gets well soon!

purinne

hih ppeii and jalene
welcome to the club

Ppeii: my coordinator is kaylynn too
... tink ur ballroom is fine coz vanda can accomodate a max of 30 tables
... and yes, kaylynn is very nice and pro

topaz

purinne>> thank u!! even though i sign today they also extend the roadshow perks to us. a bottle of complimentary wine per confirmed table. before this wendy also gave us 2 barrels of beer. 1 barrel can be exchange to 12 bottles of wine.

hui_shan

Hi Ppeii.. For Vanda ballroom, if i m not wrong 25 tables will be just nice. even though they say max 30, 30 tables will be very crump.

ppeii

Purinne, thank you!

Hui Shan , thanks for your advise. Intend for 22+2 tables.

OMG~ Kaylynn is on hosp leave.. Hope she recover well.

ppeii

Who is the banquet manager who is very pro & nice & patient? Maybe can i request for him, on my AD.

hui_shan

Heh Jalene, oh you gt 2 barrel free beer. thats so good.... i think i will call up my co-ordinator to see whether he can extend the perks to me too.

purinne

hiya jalene
MM is quite flexible with perks
... kaylynn kindly extended the perks for weddin shows to mi too

i chose free flow of beer
... coz corkage is free so i can just bring in mi own wine ... also, heard fr mi sis who does events tat beers are very ex ...

purinne

for mine the perks were that of jan's weddin show
... not sure abt the comin one ... but i tink since market is quite bad now ... most hotels are willin to throw in a bit more perks
... jia you jia you

concert

Ppeii- I tot i jus spoke to someone with the name starting with "K" and it seems to be that it is my coordinator wendy who is on long mc till apr leh...

princezz

Hi there...
I am 2010 BTB... Am super interested in Marina Mandarin and about to pay deposit...
We are taking the grand ballroom and will have more than 40tables.
Any brides care to share what were some of the items you managed to negotiate out of the package??
My Coordinator is Kaylynn...

This is my email - [email protected]

purinne

hi princezz

kaylynn is a very nice coordinator ... u can try askin her for additional perks that you would like to hav ... and she usu tries to accomodate when possible.

jjkaki

Wow, who is on long MC? Kaylynn or Wendy?

I just met up with Kaylynn the other day (think only last Saturday)! She has been wonderfull and very professional.

I saw the grand ballroom, wow was very nice, but the ceiling not very high leh! The ballroom at 4th or 5th floor was cosy (but low ceiling), and I love the foyer area.. Very exclusive.

Read all the post. I thought we are not allow to share any of the things we were given? Sorry hor, 1st time lah!

purinne

actually coordinators will tell couples not to reveal their packages to others ... coz diff couple has diff needs ...

so better to speak to your coordinator to see if she can offer u watever u need