Margaret Brides

Hello all MB, is it possible to share with me what are her pkg. After going thru a lot bridal mag, I still find her gown really suits my style, esp the gown shown in Female brides Mar - Aug 05 issue. I can simply say "wow"...... impress but the price is also very impressive.

Hi Melissa

Margaret does not offer any packages... her's is more towards a-la-carte basis (mix and match base on your own requirements). She has tied up with quite a few partners for flowers, MUA and photography.

Flowers - Green Point (S$350)
MUA - Sharon Tan, Justina Lee + a few others (S$450)
Photography - Chris Ling, Benny Ong and Robin Photography (If I'm not wrong) (S$1,300 for indoor and outdoor)
Tailor (For man's suit) - Oxford Tailor (S$400)

I do not have the exact breakdown on the items that they offer, but you can always call MB to find out.

As for MTM WG (rental) and EG (you get to keep it), the prices are S$1,500 and S$1,000 respectively. Margaret is willing to lend all her accessories + kua (free rental) to her customers for photoshot + AD if you purchase both the WG and EG from her. However, if you are thinking of buying OTR WG (just like me) from her, her prices start from S$880.

Hi Melissa

Margaret does not offer any packages... her's is more towards a-la-carte basis (mix and match base on your own requirements). She has tied up with quite a few partners for flowers, MUA and photography.

Photography - Chris Ling, Benny Ong and Robin Photography (If I'm not wrong) (S$1,300 for indoor and outdoor)

I do not have the exact breakdown on the items that they offer, but you can always call MB to find out.

As for MTM WG (rental) and EG (you get to keep it), the prices are S$1,500 and S$1,000 respectively. Margaret is willing to lend all her accessories + kua (free rental) to her customers for photoshot + AD if you purchase both the WG and EG from her. However, if you are thinking of buying OTR WG (just like me) from her, her prices start from S$880.

Hi Melissa

i'm thinking of going down to check out MB but i'm really not a lace person as i find it doesn't look nice on me. should i bother, or are most of her dresses all lace?

Hi Iso
I am MB Bride. Margaret has designs without laces as well, so no worries. You can make a trip down, let her know what kind of gowns you like and she'll let you try some according to your preferences.

Actually, i am not a fan of lace design either. But when she let me try gowns with lace designs, i realise it is really very pretty and grand. So, i bought one with lace design. You never know, you may be converted yourself!

Hi Iso
I am MB Bride. Margaret has designs without laces as well, so no worries. You can make a trip down, let her know what kind of gowns you like and she'll let you try some according to your preferences.

Actually, i am not a fan of lace design either. But when she let me try gowns with lace designs, i realise it is really very pretty and grand. So, i bought one with lace design. You never know, you may be converted yourself!

Hi Iso

Hi, I am a really old MB Bride. I got married in Dec 2002. My wedding gown was simple, classic, clean, I like it. But I must admit that I was really upset with the evening gown at first cos I thought it looked very china - much like a Shanghai mammasan but Margaret wasn;t keen on changing anything. I couldn';t insist cos I agreed to the colour - royal blue and fushia pink. So I actually only wore my EG for a short while in the evening while waiting for the first few guests and changed into another white wedding gown I bought off the rack from Hong Kong.

Also regretted that I didn;t go to Michelle Huimin cos I thought she would be too expensive. Later found out that margaret's price's comparable but all too late. Double whammy for me then. Hateful EG and expensive package that could have paid for my dream designer. I was really miserable.

But guess what, now that i look back at my wedding photos, the EG actually looked good and complemented my rather roundish figure. Made me looked taller and slimmer. On the other hand, the white gown that I have gotten on my own paled in comparison. Very ordinary and not flattering.Kind of regretted not wearing the EG which Margaret designed.

My best friend went to Michelle Huimin and while the gowns are lovely, they are really meant for the model type figure. It was more of the bride fitting the gown than the gown fitting the bride if you know what I mean. Margaret was very accomodating in this aspect. While she did suggest that I should lose some weight to look better in the gown, she respected my choice in staying the way I am. I actually almost couldn;t get into my gown 2 days before my wedding. hehe. I must have been a nightmare to her then.

Guess my point here is that when we are so caught up with all the preparation, we sometimes lose sight of what really look good on us. We have an altered and biased image of what we want to see in the mirror and sometimes that leads us to not appreciate the disigner's works.

Think margaret has good taste especially with the flowers. Love the work of Greenpoint Florist which Margaret ties up with. The bridal car was tastefully done although we didn;t use those big luxurious cars - only the humble Hyundai Matrix. My bouquets for both the photo shoot and actual day were unique and classy.

I chose Sharon as my MUA and have not regretted. the makeup was natural and I am sure twenty years down the road, my sons will still be able to recognise their mummy when shown the wedding photos.(You know how some brides are so made up that they look more like moulded dolls than themselves)

Just want to take this chance to thank Margaret and share my thoughts.She was still sending us Christmas cards right up till last year. So she not so cold and impersonal as some of you make her sound la.

All the best to you gals.

Hi, I'm a newbie and thinking of doing a full lace WG with a comprehensive package. Are there any recent margaret brides doing a comprehensive package with full lace with her? Like to find out how much her package is?

hiya, i'm a newbie too. recently went to MB and really liked her full lace WG. However i think its a bit too pricey and i'm wondering if its worth the money. Has anyone recently taken a package from her and how was the experience?

i got my WG from Margaret.
I happen to fit into one of the gowns she used for trial. it is a 2nd hand gown- halter neck, low back with satin ball gown. this gown needs little alteration and she sold it to me for $1500 (to keep). i am still thinkg if i want to take up the other stuff in her package..the flowers, MUA etc.. not taking my EG from her cos hers start at $1K. can find EG outside from 500 up..

I've just signed up with Margaret Brides last weekend. For the moment, am only doing the WG with her. Haven't yet decided anything for EG.

Decided on MB because she specialises in lace, which is what I'm looking for. I will be getting a MTM WG to keep, but the price will not be reflective of the standard package because I have to top up for additional lace.

I don't think Margaret is cold and impersonal at all. In fact, I found her very friendly and helpful. I went to see her several times and had many queries, which she answered very patiently. She's also pretty frank with her comments - something which I appreciate very much.

Like snowbaby, I haven't decided on MUA, but will most probably take the flowers. Greenpoint's website shows pretty good floral arrangements. I won't be taking any studio or outdoor photos, only AD.

Are there any MB brides out there who have already had their wedding or done their WG? Would love to take a look, if you don't mind... thanks!!

Hi e

I had my wedding in Jul 05. The WG turns out great
Exactly what i had hoped for.

I took my flower package from Greenpoint - had a cymbidian and yam roses bouquet and I loved it
So no worries there too.

As for MUA, I engaged Leon. His MU is good and I liked his hairdo but I wasn't very pleased with his service and attitude. He was late for my morning MU and my evening MU as well. Even my relatives were there earlier than him and everyone was asking how come I'm still not getting ready. He wasn't very apologetic and gave the excuse that the taxi lost its way. No excuse for the evening lateness at all.

I didn't get my EG from Margaret and when he asked to see it, Leon gave a very disdainful look and said "he can tell immediately that it wasn't from Margaret". I mean, he can be a faithful fren to Margaret but hey, that's none of his business right? So overall, his skills is good but I didn't like his high and mighty attitude

Hi tougei

Thanks for your quick reply! I wasn't expecting to see a response so soon. heh... cos I notice this thread doesn't move very fast, and initially was wondering like why not many brides are using MB.

I'm happy to hear that you were pleased with your WG. If you don't mind could I take a look at some pictures? (you can email me at [email protected] - remove the z after 420). I've more or less settled on the overall design of my WG, but still need to think about little details like the shape of the neckline, how low the back, etc...

Do you also have pictures of your flowers from Greenpoint?

I was thinking of using Leon Lim, cos I saw several pictures of brides who had their MU done by him (even brides from other boutiques like Kai, etc...) and I liked his style very much. Very natural, and the hairdo was also very natural - not too wayang. But quite a few bridal shops had told me that Leon's quite ill and so not available for some time. Margaret suggested Kelly instead, who is supposed to be Leon's understudy. I'm also considering Kenneth Lee and TG Goh. Any insights on this?

Also, where did you get your EG from?

Oops, sorry, long post...

Hi tougei

Thanks for the link. Lovely pics! Was wondering, did you use duchesse satin for your WG? It has a very nice sheen.

hi chaud
i think both Margaret and Michelle (Bridal Veil) make good quality gowns. but they specialise in quite different things. Margaret uses mostly lace whereas Michelle uses more crystal work on her gowns. so i think the first thing is for you to decide what you actually like, since their specialties are quite different. as for who will work well with you, it's all very personal, so i think it's best that you visit them personally, and have a chat to get a feel.

my personal experience with Bridal Veil: they had forgotten my appointment with Michelle and we were left waiting for at least 20 mins before Michelle came back (she had gone christmas shopping, she said). FH and I were quite tired from waiting, and a little indignant with the fact that they could actually forget about the appointment. But when Michelle finally attended to us, she was polite, albeit a little brisk. she did not have too differing a view from me, so we did not have any major clashes at all (contrary to the scary stories I had read on forums or heard from friends). she also spent a fair amount of time showing me the fabrics she uses for her gowns and the kind of crystals and beading she uses.

Margaret Brides: i felt comfortable with Margaret and found her quite frank with her comments (something which I appreciate in a designer, cos i would rather have truthful comments than for someone to agree to my every whim and fancy, only for me to turn out looking silly on my wedding day.). At the same time, I also found her warm and friendly.

At the end of the day I chose Margaret over Michelle because: (i) my main priority was to find a designer good with lace, since I much prefer lace over crystal/beading and (ii) I felt that Margaret was professional yet approachable at the same time, and I felt personally that I could communicate better with Margaret.

so summary is, (i) decide the style of gown you want and (ii) speak with the designer to see who you're most comfortable with cos you will be working with him/her for at least the next 6 months.

I do apologise for the verbosity of this post. Hope this helps... and let us know when you decide!

Thank you for sharing your experience with me..i have the same sentiments about both the designers

I have a feeling that michelle's brides may all look similar at the end of the day except for some gown details..Margaret seems to offer something different..lace gowns feel more romantic to me..

By the way, which package did u take up with Margaret?care to share? oh and which photographer did u choose in the end?

Hi gals...

Hi Chaud, i have sent you the link too. I totally agree that Michelle's brides look similar. I have 2 frens who signed up with Michelle... their WG looked almost identical - bustier with a row of crystals across and another row down the back. I think there is limited stuff you can do if you don't wish to top up for the crystals. Then again, I also topped up for my french chantilly lace :-p

But the style of the 2 designers are really different so it depends whether you prefer lace or crystals.

I read about Leon Lim in one of the other threads. Oh dear, and he was my MUA just a few months ago :-( I am so sorry about complaining that he was late for my wedding, maybe he had valid reasons :-(

hi chaud

I haven't taken up any package with Margaret. I only signed up for a MTM WG to keep. As for photographers, I'm not intending to do a pre-wedding shoot. So I'm only looking out for AD photographers. I still haven't decided but my favourites so far are Benny Ang and Kuang from 39East(previously pentaserve). How about you? Have you decided on your photographer, MUA etc... yet?

tougei
I saw the obituary on Leon Lim too. Quite a sad piece of news..

hi ~e~,

I am considering should i take my pre-wedding shoot or not..
if i dont take it, i will have no photos to show my guests on the wedding dinner...

wats ur feel ?

Hi ~e~,

I also like Kuang's work. Did you ask him for a quote to do AD photography? I heard his charges are not cheap.

I probably with that Margaret's package with the WG, EG and MUA, flowers etc, except men's suit. DO you have any idea who are the MUAs she works with and whether they are easy to work with? I am looking for styles that are not too made up but can bring out best features...

Haha, got a lot to ask...

Hi, sorry for not replying till now. Have been very busy at work. Hope everyone had a good holiday over Christmas?

snowbaby
I’m not taking any pre-wedding shoot. my reason for not taking pre-wedding shoot is cos I personally prefer actual day, candid shots, rather than posed shots. But I do agree that guests at the wedding dinner would like to be entertained. I haven’t thought of any ideas yet thought… hmm…

chaud
I did ask Kuang for a quote. His charges differ according to how many hours of service you require from him. His charges don’t include any coffee table book or 4R prints though. Just purely photography service and all photos returned on CD Rom.

I think Margaret works with Kelly, and also many other well known MUAs. But if you want the celebrity or more wellknown MUAs (such as TG Goh, Kenneth Lee, etc…), you will need to top up. I haven’t chosen an MUA myself, so not sure who’s easy to work with. But someone I know used Kenneth, and liked him a lot. The MUAs mentioned above usually do the natural style of makeup, so should be ok, not too wayang.

Have you confirmed your pkg with Margaret yet?

Hi ~e~,

I haven't confirmed with Margaret yet, just came back from a trip. But if I will most probably choose her after visiting so many BS.

Another BS I shortlisted was Julia Wedding News, they also have many lace WGs to choose from, but their MTM very Ex, more so than Margaret. So most brides there choose OTR.

My AD end May 06, I think must decide real soon. Actually quite a big headache selecting a BS.

HI CHUAD

i went to julia too .. but dun really feel comfy with the assts there ..

in fact when i first went to margaret.. she seemed to be in bad mood.. not friendly and pretty arrogant..

but then after a while, she warmed up. she offers frank opinion and i trust her taste (based on the gowns she designed and the feel of her studio)..
Her studio makes u really feel like a bride.. (the only one who deserves her 100% attention)..
not like other shops.. u share the area with other couples.. and u dun feel the "special treament"

Hi snowbaby,

Yah, same feeling at Margaret too. Feel more confident with the 1 to 1 attention.

But what do u think about the other services, will she be able to help us coordinate, like flowers, MUA etc

Does she have assistants?

Hi there.

I loved her deco too :-)

Margaret has a lady that helps her with the sewing and during the fittings. I did not see any other assistants there last time when I visited her.

Hmm... in my personal experience, she did not help me co-ordinate MUA and flowers etc (I did not take the photography package). She just passed me the contacts of the MUA and Greenpoint and asked me to tell them that I'm one of Margaret's Brides and they know what price/package to give me. I had no problems co-ordinating with the MUA and the flowers. However, Greenpoint did tell me that if I can't decide on the bouquet, I can leave it to Margaret to choose for me. But of course I didn't, which bride doesn't want to choose her own bouquet, right?

Help, anyone of you Margaret Brides used Kelly as MUA before? Is she good?
I only need a simple hairdo, probably a chignon and natural pinky make-up... =)

Hi lcw

I am seriously thinking of signing up with Margaret after visiting her twice. I am not sure of Kelly's credentials but I am thinking of using Kenneth Lee or TG Goh as i have heard good feedback about them. Are you getting both the WG and EG from Margaret ?

Hi lcw and moo

I signed up with MB for my wedding later this year. Have only decided on WG so far. I heard that Kelly is the understudy of Leon Lim. Have heard of Kenneth Lee and TG Goh. A few of my friends used Kenneth and are pleased with his work. TG Goh is supposed to be really good too, but v expensive.

Hi chaud

Have you confirmed which BS you are using yet?

Hi ~e~

You are getting the WG only at the moment ? Me too. I am going to have a really small wedding and have yet to decide if an EG is necessary. I am thinking of getting a tea dress from Margret or perhaps, rent a kua from her. Have you decided on the design of your wedding gown ? How much did she quote you for the MTM (to keep) gown ?

I'm getting only my WG from Margaret. I bought my EG off the rack from Allure Charix.. it's quite elaborate and cost me 800 bucks. There are many other dresses there that are cheaper. I think if you only need a dress that is not too elaborate or a cheongsam, then u can get it tailored outside for cheaper. Cos Margaret's EG is an additional 1k... but of course, going with Margaret will save you all the extra work of sourcing for another dress lah.

As for MUA, I was thinking of using kenneth lee too, but gotta top up $250. I'm not sure if it will make a big difference leh.. After all, I heard from frens who got married that the natural make-up is quite standard, most MUA can do it well. So I thought maybe I'd choose Kelly. You think Kelly or Sharon better?

Do people normally make appointments with MUA to see their portfolio?

Hi lcw,

When is your wedding? Did you do a lot of sourcing for your EG before settling for the Allure Charix one?

As for MUA, i have not seen Kelly and Sharon's work. So i am not sure who is better. Are there any sample of their work at MB ? I got a novice MUA to do my ROM MU (cos i was trying to scrimp on my MUA budget) and i kind of regretted it..cos she didnt do a good job. So this time round, i am bent on getting someone better. Do let me know if you have any sample of Kelly's and Sharon's work.

My wedding is in Oct this year. Yours?
um, I didn't really look around much. cos I liked the Allure Charix piece the minute I saw it and after some consideration, i went back to buy it the following week.. hehe

I think the MUAs used by Margaret should be all quite safe lah. just whether you wanna pay the premium for the famous ones.. I haven't seen their work, but heard from friends tat they are nice and quite good.

have u chosen ur photog?

My wedding is at the end of the year. Probably late Nov/Dec. Havent decide yet.

As for photographer, we are thinking og engaging Andrew Choi. He did a PS for my friend and we thought his work is very good. Check him if you have not decided on your photographer.

Are you going to have a wedding banquet ? Where will it be ?

hehe. we no need to work hor, keep checking the forum. =P
I'm using Benny Ang.
My banquet is at Marina Mandarin. =)
Eh, think you better quickly confirm a date and book a venue, cos the dates are all running out everywhere, esp if you want weekends, so hurry!

Hi lcw,

Haha...you are right. Dun need to work hor. But since i am going to work late...may as well make it less painful to work late, right ?

I am not going to have a big banquet. Prob just a small dinner with family...that's y we are in no hurry to fix the wedding date.

Hi ~e~,

Yes, I have confirmed my BS. I did not choose Margaret in the end as I have found another BS that suits me better.

I am sure you will be in very good hands with Margaret, she is very good at what she does I believe.

Enjoy the wedding preparation process!

German lace or chantilly lace better?
Ballgown or A-line better?
Chapel train or cathedral train better?
Would like to get some opinion!
I'm quite petite about 1.63m and 46kg...
Tks!

The WG design and the type of lace (German lace or chantilly lace) depends on indv preference i guess.

I just signed up with MB on last Sat. So happy ! i will opt for German lace i think. Chantilly lace is just beyond my budget.

Hi lcw

1. I think chantilly is prettier – soft and ethereal. But also more expensive.
2. ballgown or a-line depends on your own preference, really. And also how it looks when you actually put it on.
3. chapel train is more manageable but cathedral train is grander for a walk in. but this also depends on how you really look when you put on the gown.

In any case, I think your height sounds tall enough to carry off both a ballgown and a long train without looking dwarfed.