Margaret Brides

Hi Jacqueline, can I have a look at your gown too?

my wedding is next year, should be towards the later half of the year. where is your wedding venue? I have not confirmed anything yet

Hi Jacqueline,
Can i view your gown too? [email protected]

I love lacy gowns and am still in search of the right bridal studio for my dream gown... Heard that Margaret Brides only sell their gowns and not rent rite?

Hi Odiey,
will send you the pix tonight and yup it's true, she don't rent. it's all for sale but really i find the prices quite alright to keep. after the wedding you can keep it for a while as a momento and decide if you want to sell later. anyway, for a lace gown, it will never go out of fashion (remember Sylvia Khoo) and it's really romantic. i love mine!

Hi girl ren yu,
don't worry. Margaret also does embroidery and other stuff, not only lace altho' i find that she does laces very well.

Hi Jacqueline
I have a good feeling abt margaret. am also considering the bridal wardrobe, but margaret understands my taste better, i think.

anyway, where are you holding your wedding? i have not selected my venue yet.

Hi girl,
i felt the same way when i met her esp when i wore her creation for the first time, i just felt like a BRIDE!

i'm trying to get Singapore Art Musuem to hold my recep. the solemnisation is done in my church. Cheers! take time to shop around for the venue.it's really impt and you don't want to regret a hasty decision.

for the dinner, I wanted something different, not so stiff, but cosy and intimate. have look at hotels, am also considering fort canning and SAM. have you tried ACM?

are you using Leon Lim as MUA since you are with margaret?

Hi girl,
yah have looked at ACM but it's really just a room i felt so i like SAM more since it has 2 courtyards and the glass hall is very pretty and interesting and my guests can see me inside and i can see everyone else everywhere.

my makeup artist is Eric Tan cos' i booked him when i got my cheong sam somewhere else b4 i went to Margaret. anyway, no regrets lah cos' i've seen his work in magazines and he's really good. looking forward to my trial

oops ... sorry jac forgot about e-mail ..
thought singapore brides got private message too ... ha ha ...

got a question to ask ..
in the magazine, the colour of the page is like golden colour, does it means the gowns are also beige colour ? seems confused ...

also ... my friend 3 years back did her wedding, she went for leon lim, she said he is very pro .... at that time she hired him separately cause the bridal shop she went to doesn't provide nice MUA .. she soo disappointed with the shop ....

can update me how much is margaret's package? also she really tie up with leon lim ? the photographer is benny ang is it ?

Hi ck,
will send u the pix of my gown later. my gown is off-white cos' pure white don't look good on Asians and the advert you saw on the magazine is really becos' of the lighting and if you go to Margaret's shop, it's also not as yellow as the pix. i'm not sure whether Leon Lim ties up with Margaret cos' i got my MUA even b4 i went to Margaret. i think she ties up with this lady called Sharon and Margaret speaks quite highly of her so can be assured since Margaret's expectations are quite high.

also, Margaret doesn't have package deals. she does ala carte so you need to only pick and choose what services you need and pay for them to the vendors, not even to Margaret. benny ang is the photographer that Margaret is affiliated to but then again, you don't have to use him if you don't want to but he's quite good. seen his work and it's really nice. like for myself, i only got the wedding gown there.

ooh ic .... jac thanx ...
saw your pic ... u look great in your gown ...
yup me too like the back of your gown .. the transparent lace ... nice nice ..

how much u paid for the wedding gown ?
meaning your hubby suit will be made else where ?
normally what other things need to source ?
car, photography (if dun prefer benny ang), MUA (if dun prefer sharon) ...
that's a bit inconvenient ...
what else did u purchase from margaret's place ?

then what about your EG ?
tea dress ?

ooh ya .. u mentioned your gown is off-white ..
i'm sure she does white too right ..
seems like i suit white better ...

Hi ck,
glad you like it. i searched so many places n only Margaret could do it well without any bone to hold on to the lace.

i paid about $2700 for it. my hubby is making the suit somewhere else cos' we went around and found a place that we quite like (all these done b4 i visited Margaret). my wedding is pretty DIY, i went to look for my own photographer (AC and studio), make-up artist and my tea dress is a cheong sam and i did it somewhere else as well where they make very nice CS. i don't have a dinner so that's about it. car is from my hubby's godparents who very geneously bought a BMW 5 series for the big day and i also sourced for my own person to do the car, church and hand bouquet. she's lilian from lil-art. i also confrimed her b4 i went to the bridal boutiques cos' i saw a friend's invites and really like it. since i'm not having a dinner, i didn't get an EG.
as far as i know from visiting around, asians are not suited for white and all those white gowns that you see on models or fashion spreads are really off-white. only caucasians can carry off white white and it's not normally popular but you can try it on and see if it looks good on you. like you, i used to think that i wanted a pure white gown until i saw the difference and realise that the colour i like is really off-white.

thanx jac for reply ...
2700 seems pricey ... i think my FH gonna kill me .. if i were to purchase the gown ... which does not include other things yet ...

but if i really like ... i'm sure he will be grumbling for few months before he is ok with the idea ... ha ha ...

ic ic ... so u having a lunch instead of wedding dinner ...
me too planning to have a wedding lunch ..
but i still feel like wearing an evening gown ...
ha ha ... cause vain ma ... want to wear too

all the details i've not discussed with him yet ... since now gotto wait for our house to be ready .... which is 4 years from now ..
depending on how fast it is ... heard from my colleagues it takes about 2.5 to 3 years ..
soo if delay ... then at most 4 years from now ..

whenever i'm free ... i do research ...
been to few bridal shops actually. ..
but the few are with comprehensive package ..

do u think keeping the gown is practical ?
after the whole event ... then what are the other times you gonna wear it ?

Hi ck,
sounds like you are really excited and planning way in advance which is good then you can really afford to look n shop around. well, actually i think that a cheong sam is some what like an evening gown as well and i've always love to wear CS just that there is no occasion so i'm going to make use of this chance now.

as for keeping the gown, well, i think there isn't really another chance for you to wear but really it's for memory's sake so next time i can pass to my children or something or always look at it and have fond memories. plus, i can take wedding pictures all over the world when i go on holiday. heehee....or what wear at home and do housework lah so no need to use mop or broom. one sweep of the gown and the floor is clean.
anyway, i may sell if after a while, see how first but i really like it so......

ha ha ... of course excited ... wanna wear nice nice ma ... after all a happy day to get married to the guy u wanna torture ... (just kidding) .. ha ha ....

use your gown sweep floor ?
wah ... 2700 leh ...

when u wanna sell your gown that time ..
do remember to PM me ...
since my wedding will be much later than yours ...
ha ha ...

Hi ck,
when's your wedding? maybe by then you see something else that you like lor. but really if you're still interested by then, send me an e-mail at [email protected] to see if i'm interested to sell. have a fun time preparing for your big day. it's quite a nice experience actually.

my wedding is tentatively year 08 ...
ha ha .. seems very far away right ...
it might be earlier depending how fast the construction of my flat ...

u too can drop me a mail ...
when u wanna sell it ...

thanx ...

Hi Jacky,

Saw that you have your CS tailor make. Do you hava a photo of it and where did you have it done. My e-mail [email protected]

I am also interested in making or purchasing a CS.

Thank you in advance.

Hi Smiley,
i don't have any pix for my cheong sam leh unless you can wait until the 10th of Aug. i'm going for my trial then and i'll get to wear my altered CS. will send you the pix then. Cheers!

Hi Jacqueline,

I'm oso shorlisted Margaret as 1 of my BS! I'm so happy for you gals who WG had been done up!

I'm oso interested to look at your beautiful gown. Can to share with me? My email: [email protected]
Thanks so much!

caratsoup... margaret is very nice to me... as long as we are also nice, i dont forsee any probs. She is the direct kind... so wont be those smile infront of u, curse behind u type i guess... hee... go and meet her... but must make appointment coz she is not always in the shop... =)

Hi Coco,

I heard from a friend that she's quite calculative about $$. Always mentioning about the dollars and cents. But i like lacy WG so she seems a good choice.

Hi all..i saw a chantilly lace weddding gown from margaret's brides in female brides magazine. The gown itself cost $4.8K....wondering if i shld spend so much... any gals used chantilly lace for heir wedding gowns?

Hi Gina,
i tried that gown when it was just returned from the photoshoot. it's gorgeous, the most gorgeous that i've tried in all boutiques but it's really way out of my budget so i got another design. also like my design. Margaret is really great with lace

Hi Gina,
i tried that gown when it was just returned from the photoshoot. it's gorgeous, the most gorgeous that i've tried in all boutiques but it's really way out of my budget so i got another design. also like my design. Margaret is really great with lace

Hi Gina,

Hi all...i agree that margaret is very good at lace gowns...i like full lace gowns...but the chantilly lace gown is way out of budget.. 4.8K if i am taking the one worn by the model and 5.2k if i wan to make a new one..minor alterations need to be done if i am taking the one worn by the model..its way too long and a bit tight at the bust area.

i tried on another full german lace gown..it cost cheaper.. 3.2k for a mtm..and $2880 for OTR. i fit into the size M perfectly but margaret OTR comes in 3 sizes...S M L and all in the same design..hence i prefer MTM...can make minor changes.

I prefer chantilly lace to german lace..german lace is more contemporaty look and chantilly lace with tints of pink gives a very romantic and classical look..hehe but 5.2K!! its way way out of budget.

Hi all...i agree that margaret is very good at lace gowns...i like full lace gowns...but the chantilly lace gown is way out of budget.. 4.8K if i am taking the one worn by the model and 5.2k if i wan to make a new one..minor alterations need to be done if i am taking the one worn by the model..its way too long and a bit tight at the bust area.

i tried on another full german lace gown..it cost cheaper.. 3.2k for a mtm..and $2880 for OTR. i fit into the size M perfectly but margaret OTR comes in 3 sizes...S M L and all in the same design..hence i prefer MTM...can make minor changes.

I prefer chantilly lace to german lace..german lace is more contemporaty look and chantilly lace with tints of pink gives a very romantic and classical look..hehe but 5.2K!! its way way out of budget.

i totally agree with Gina. the chantilly lace is really way out of budget. anyway, i like the look of German lace more but chantilly lace is definitely more comfy to wear, feels like nothing.

anyway, for mine, i chose a fully German lace gown with a 3/4 ball gown so that was close to $3K. sigh....but the chantilly wan is really so nice and comfy that i hope i never regret not having a chance to wear it

i totally agree with Gina. the chantilly lace is really way out of budget. anyway, i like the look of German lace more but chantilly lace is definitely more comfy to wear, feels like nothing.

anyway, for mine, i chose a fully German lace gown with a 3/4 ball gown so that was close to $3K. sigh....but the chantilly wan is really so nice and comfy that i hope i never regret not having a chance to wear it