Margaret Brides

ms l

Hi Ming

I just completed my 2nd design session with Margaret. She was a dream to work with. My mum was with me and she, too thorougly enjoyed that session with Margaret.

I don't know what u mean that Margaret has a wide range of evening gowns. Almost all her gowns are MTM, so u will enjoy an exclusive right to wear your gowns =)

och

hi ming,

if u r thinking of renting eg, margaret has some hanging in her shop. she normally use those to let brides try on different styles. she has more gowns not on display, u will need to ask her for them.

och

hi ming,

eg refers to evening gown.
margaret has some hanging in her shop, but she hv more that r not hanging in the shop. r u thinking of renting?

ming

yes ..och..i am thinking of renting one of her evening gown..u know how much does it cost?? can find out for me!!!

och

hi ming,

margaret is usually v. friendly, so dun be shy abt calling up to enquire. do u hv a particular design in mind? it is usually easier to ask her directly if she has the design u want n how much it will cost. i'm not sure if different designs hv different rental cost. if i am not wrong, her kwa can be rented for $250 or so.

i was a margaret bride, but since my wedding is over, it will be rather weird for me to call up enquiring abt eg rental.

tecfib

hi och

Understand tat u r a ex-Margaret bride. can share wif me your dealings wif her and the process of designing to ur actual day.

Who was your fotographer & make up artist.

Do u have any pics to show me?

lisa

Hi all those Margaret brides out there

I am considering using Sharon for my make up & hairdo, but Margaret asked me to consider using Leon Lim as she commented that his skills are better. but i need to top up $300 to use him.

Can any comments to share?

och

hi pin, er... sorry, missed ur msg b4. r u a mb? my link for wedding pictures is down at the moment.

hi tecfib,

yup, i am a ex-mb. r u considering margaret or hv u signed up already?

i had 6 sessions with margaret b4 the gowns were made. the first session occured on the day i signed up with her. she asked me how i want my wg n eg to look like. she walked me thru some of the wg she has hanging in her shop to check if she understood what i meant, e.g. is a particular type of embriodery ok. she also asked where my wedding locations r, so that she can decide if long trains r suitable.

@ the 2nd design session, i tried on abt 11 different types of wg n abt 4 eg. she showed me 8 wg n 1 eg she designed based on my criteria in the 1st design session. i decided which wg to choose right away. my wg is a bustier with long train n diamonte sprinkled over it. there's a layer of organza over duchess stain skirt. i asked for more eg designs b4 making my decision. then she took my measurements to make the wg. at the 3rd design session, she showed me 4 designs for the eg. i recalled trying on some eg again, to help me make my decision. i ended up choosing the 1st eg she designed. it's a shantung silk bustier with a sphagetti organza corti over the bustier. the corti had a small train n crystal flowers line the buttons of the corti. she agreed to make me a shawl, so that i can wear the bustier after the wedding.

i cannot recall if the 3rd design session came together with the 1st fitting session. anyway, at the 1st fitting session, i tried the lining of the wg. we also chose the colours for the eg. margaret asked abt the decor of the ballrm, the types of fabric i like, b4 choosing the colour n materials, to make sure i won't blend into the walls of the banquet hall or look like part of the tablecloth.

i went for 2 more fitting sessions. the wg n eg were more or less ready by the 2nd fitting session. the details were not sewn on n the length of the gowns cannot be ascertained cos i dun hv the shoes.
i remembered margaret trying to tell me where the details will be n how the details will look like. after i bought my shoes, i called margaret with the height of the heels, so by the 3rd fitting, everything was ready. if my memory hadn't failed me, i had my trial makeup at the 3rd fitting. that was 2 months b4 my photoshoot. my hubby went to hv his suit made abt a month b4 the photoshoot. all we needed was the receipt fr margaret. thru' out the fitting sessions, margaret will discuss how high the shoes should be, what type of accessories i should wear, stuff like that.

abt a week b4 the photoshoot, i went for another fitting. i also "booked" the accesories i wanted. a few days b4 the photoshoot, i tried my gowns again, made sure everythign was ok, collected my gowns n chose a bouquet. i then called up sharon to agree on a meeting time n place. the schedule leading up to my actual day was abt the same.

my makeup artiste was sharon. my photographer is from serangoon broadway, cos that was where i originally signed up at, b4 i gave up the gowns there for margaret's gowns. sorry, could not share my photos now cos the link to my actual day wedding photos is not working.

pin

Dear och,

Yup I'm a MB bride to be.... :eek:)

Can send me the photos when the link is working??

:eek:D

tecfib

Hi och

Thanks for ur info. We have actually not signed up wif her but considering to do so maybe this weekend. So which makeup atist u used. Read gd comments abt Sharon n Sam cos they ar more to the natural make up type.

Btw how's ur dealings.experience wif Margaret? She seems a nice lady to get along wif. But then there still seems to be some bad comments abt her leh. So wats ur opinion n designing r/s wif her?

Please let me have a look at ur pics when ur link is up.

Thanks!!!!

tecfib

Hi pin

Have u taken ur fotos yet? Are u using Benny or some other photographers tat MB ties up wif? Can share abt more abt ur package?

och

hi kiko,

sure, will send u the link when i get it up.

hi tecfib,

yay, another mb. my makeup artiste is sharon. her makeup is quite natural. after seeing my studio shots, my mum engaged her services for the actual day as well.
when i get the link up n running, u can see pics of my mum in a "tai tai" makeover n in a more elegant makeover. u can also see sharon in those photos.

i get along v. well with margaret, becos our working styles r v. compatible. overall, i think she's v. nice, has a v. open personality n she pays a lot of attention to my requirements. whatever i requested for, like the look i wanted, the type of bouquet i wanted, she will deliver. it's for this reason that i trusted her n could set my mind at ease. that to me is the most impt.

there r some bad comments abt her. the most common seems to be that she is moody. i must admit that she has her moods at times, but she doesn't lose her professionalism despite being in a bad mood. n she doesn't just swing into a bad mood all of a sudden. i had an appt with her once, after she dealt with a fussy n rather unreasonable customer. she was v. upset. i was early for my appt n caught her n auntie in really bad moods. but the moment i start trying on my gowns, she was fussing all over me, making sure that my gowns were ok.

another e.g., i had a friend who also signed up with her. that friend had a rather sarcastic husband. when i accompanied my friend to her fitting, my friend could not decide on the details for her gown n her husband was making sarcastic comments at the side. he thot he was being funny
, but he was getting on everybody's nerves, his in-laws included. i felt like taping his mouth. but margaret was still professional, n she went thru every option with my friend, to the extent that she even cut a piece of cloth n tying it into ribbons of different sizes so that my friend could decide. so i must say that she was v. accomodating n patient. i was getting rather bored myself.

one thing abt margaret though is that she expects her brides to be open with her. so if there is anything u need, just ask, else she will carry on with the requirements u set at the beginning n her understanding of ur character. normally, when i book the next appt with her, i will check what will be needed at the next appt so that i know what i need to prepare for, e.g. selecting bouquets, accesories etc. so i'm always prepared n involved in the entire process.
i dun find her v. presumptuous. cos i dirtied my gown v. badly during the photoshoot. there was a tear in my train n grease marks all over my skirt after walking around sentosa beach. i was quite devastated n could bearly smile for the rest of the photoshoot. but margaret n auntie kept reassuring me that everything is all right. margaret cleaned up the gown n waited till our next appt b4 she decided on what to do with the torn portion of the train.

tecfib

och

after reading ur re-count, was really more set on engaging her services.

Btw u mentioned her "auntie", is margaret teaming up wif her auntie to run the shop? (out of curiousity)

also when was ur wedding?

N the most impt thing, how is her payment schedule like?

och

hi tecfib,

auntie is how we address the seamstress lady that helps margaret out, she's not margaret's actual auntie.

my wedding was on sept 14 2002. when's urs? unfortunately, i cannot remember the payment schedule... all i remembered was that i paid 3 times: deposit, 1st fitting n b4 the actual day. exactly how much was paid each time, i cannot remember.

oh yes.... if ur husband or male family members want tailor-made suits, it's possible to ask margaret to let u get it for the discounted price she got fr oxford tailors. but let her know when u r signing up, so she will note down on her receipt.

pin

Hi Tecfib,

My photoshoot will be in July. We've engaged Benny Ang as we like his works....very natural. You probably could make an appointment to visit his studio and just chat with him and see his works. Have you visited Margaret's yet? Go and take a look at her gowns too. Her gowns are simple and elegant, workmanship is good too. When you visit her, she'll also explain the packages to you.

Have you shortlisted the possible bridal boutiques you like??

:eek:D

tecfib

hi och & pin

thanks for your reassurance. Have actually went n visit Margaret. Is now contemplating between her & Allure. Wat u gals gotta say?

Yah loved Margaret's gowns alot. N we also like Benny's photoshoot.

pin, when is your wedding? & which package u booked wif MB? How's ur designing session so far?

stars

Hi all, i went to maragrets bride on Sunday..looking for an evening gown. I had sign up in some other boutique and i really regretted for not signing up with margaret..and now i have a big problem with my current botique with regards to my EG

even its only rental of EG, Margaret is really very helpful!! and she knows her stuff!!!if i ahd a chance to choose over again she is definitley my first choice!

pin

Hi TecFib

My wedding is end Nov this year. I've booked the mid-range package from MB (the most popular one). As I sort of know what kind of designs I want for both WG and EG, my designing was rather quick. Based on my rough idea, Margaret quickly drew out a few designs and let me ponder over them. All in all, we had 2 sessions of designing, and I've just taken my measurements. Will be going to my 1st fitting for both WG and EG probably sometime in April.

I'm quite a "chop-chop" person so I tend to decide rather fast. Hee... i only went to 3 bridal boutiques and then decided on Margaret's already. Probably not too young anymore, going to 3 boutiques already tire me down.

Sorrie... me never visited Allure before, so cant give you any comments. By the way, what's Allure package like?

:eek:p

Dear Stars,

How come you got big problem with my current botique with regards to your EG?

och

hi tecfib,

sorry, could not help u there. like pin, i did not consider allure as one of my choices.

hi stars,

i hope u managed to find an eg u like. i agree with u, margaret is v. knowledgeable n helpful.

hi pin,

can share with us how ur gowns look like?

pin

For WG, I've opted for a bustier gown with cream embroideries. Material wise, it's organza over satin to have that softer look.

For EG, I prefer something like chinese collar style, so Margaret drew up a few designs for me to choose. Margaret helped me play around with colours and 2-tone materials.

och, is your link up and running already? :eek:)
will love to see you pics

k_y

Hi MBs,
I've heard pretty good comments about MB. Can you share your experiences with me? I've heard of MB but duno where it is located. How much is the most popular package and are the price of extra photographs reasonable (by Benny Ang- heard of his works too)? Thank you.

och

hi k_y,

i pricing may be outdated, since it's been more than a yr since i signed up. the mid-range package is $3588. it includes a mtm wg (for rent), mtm eg (to keep), mtm suit (to keep), flowers, makeup n accessories rental. she ties up with a number of photographers, benny ang is one of them.

stars

got the EG from margaret liao.she is so very kind. She gave me the EG for when we agreed to have it as rental, i think it is real sweet of her becos she knew that i had budget constraints.

great lady. really regret not signing up with her!

kite~

Anyone saw the singapore brides top banner saying that margaret brides on hving moving sale until 31 August 2003? what do u mean by moving sale?

Hi Kite,

As Margaret Brides will be moving to a new premises (hence the "moving sale"), this sale is being held to sell the current off-the-rack gowns.

ann

I went to Margaret's brides sales last sat. She is selling most of her wedding gowns as she told me she didn't want to bring most dresses to her new premises.

I browsed through the gowns & evening dresses & noticed they were in very good condition. I got a tea dress at a good price & all friends commented it was lovely.

ann

Hi singalong

It was a 1st hand piece not worn before. She sold it to me at less than $180. sorry not convenient to disclose here.

ann

Hi sorry for the late reply. I think it is best to give her a call before u go down to her shop.

Hi singalong
It is a 2 material dress. Satin with another see thru layer of flower embroidery.

glamgown

hi koko, magaret has 3 packages, but i think the common one is $4880, includes WG MTM, EG MTM, Men's suit MTM, flower package, 4x make up, photography outdoor+indoor, but no car.

anyone out there took the 5880 package? can you share with me how much more glam is the gown in this package compared to the standard package?

laughing

Hi! Has anyone visited Margaret Brides lately, after she moved? Are her rates still the same $4880/$5880?

Any MB brides out there with any experiences or photos to share? Really appreciate as I have shortlisted MB but still uncertain...Thanks!

scient

Hi La La

I've engaged Margaret for my Dec wedding. Quite pleased with her service so far. Personally, I like her wedding gown better than evening gown.

Not too sure her rates now and I don't have any photo to share too.
Visit her and have a feel of what she can offer then decide if you like it. Its a personal kinda thing where you have to 'feel it' yourself.

Hope that helps

laughing

Hi Scient, I quite like MB & have a good feel about her. But i wanted some good testimony from brides themselves for reassurance lah!

I agree her WG is good. That's why i am keen on her. I didn't actually see her EGs but will most likely MTM a cheongsum from elsewhere.

Thanks for the reassurance. it certainly helps..

Congrats on your Dec wedding!

scient

Hi La La

Did you check out how much it costs to MTM a cheongsum? And what material is being used? Cos I'm interested in getting one done.

BTW, when is your wedding? So you must have visited her? Have you visited all the shops you shortlisted?

laughing

Hi Scient,

I like Ted Collection's CS. He charges $800 for a long CS (with a short train if u want, i think) and $600 for a short one. As for material, I am not sure what u can have for $800 but assume it'll be the usual Thai/shantung silk etc. But I know if you want full lace/full beading sort of material,then of course got to top up lah..

My wed is in Jul04..i may be running a little late on schedule as i have not confirmed any BS. Do u think 7 months is ok for MB to work on?

I have more or less seen all the BS shortlisted. so far only slightly more inclined towards MB compared with the rest..however, there're no BS which I feel very strongly inclined towards leh.

scient

Hi La La

7 months is not too late. I only signed up with her in end Jul. I took my measurements in Sep and she could let me have my first fitting in a week's time. But of course, that was due to me having tight schedule as I'm not in Singapore.

Like you, I do not have a 'die die must have' sorta BS. I just went with the flow of my feel. Of course, it has to be of a certain standard, suits my requirements and I have to feel comfy with the service. Are you very particular with your gown? Or you have something in mind that you like?

Maybe you can give me your email and I can share more with you from there?