Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi TIA,

Did not speak to Jassie myself. My FH spoke to her and said she's rather soft-spoken and seemed nice over the phone.

Anyway, I keep promoting Oriental's package. As if I am the sales personnel there!
hee hee...

Let me kow if you confirm your booking with Oriental.

gawain, i emailed you personally yday to ask for the spreadsheet...but you nvr reply me...

The promo at Oriental is really a steal, In fact we have placed our name down at MM for our banquet but will consider Oriental now.

TIA,

I haven't met Agnes before, only spoken to her over the phone. Will be meeting her next week thought. Can fill you in after I've met with her. Any one here has had any contact with Agnes? She seemed a little stern over the phone, but will know after our meeting.

ok gals,

here's the catch on Oriental.. I did a site inspection yesterday afternoon at the Oriental as they were having a banquet in the evening.

Remember how nice the back drop and the flower stands and all looked at the show? Well, if you want all of that, you may have to pay extra.

Apparently for the flora stands, they only give roses and gerberras (spelling?), if you want lilies like that ones at the show, you have to pay extra for them. The actual arrangment is a lot smaller than the ones at the show, and the backdrop is less grand. The center pieces are also a lot smaller and quite different from the ones at the show.

The walk is very short. I've asked if we can do a L-shaped walk, it is possible, but I did not double check if I have to pay for the extra flower stands. My hunch tells me that I most probably have to.

Also, please bear in mind that the complimentary parking is for VALET parking only - which normally costs $5. However you still have to tip the Valet, usually $2, and that works out to be more than the $1.50 that you have to pay for the underground parking.

Jassie who I spoke to IS VERY NICE, and she did say that we can work on the issues that I have highlighted.

PLEASE DO A SITE INSPECTION of an ACTUAL banquet before you sign the dotted line.

Hi gawain,

I was at the wedding fair too!

was actually deciding between Orchard Parade Hotel(OPH) & Oriental Hotel(OH). I was at Suntec on last saturday becos' OPH was having a wedding fair which gives free flow of beer. So we thot since we were there, we went to take a look again at OH, and it happen to having a wedding banquet.

I also notice that the backdrop was different & the red carpet(the walk) was short.

Btw,how do u know that the complimentary parking is for VALET parking only?

So what is ur choice now? other than OH, which other hotels have u visit/consider?

I held my wedding at the Oriental last yr (in fact I was the one who started this thread :P..see first post)

Gawain is right. The hotel has their own lots so complimentary parking is given for Valet parking only. If u park in the underground carpark, its not free. But the carpark there is cheap so it shouldn't be that big a deal.

Hi Peachcooler,
yup, the backdrop was very different and the walk was very short.

However I have managed to negotiate for them to give me a L-shaped walk (entry from the reception area) and the backdrop from the show.

I have shortlisted Grand Hyatt and M-hotel. However Mandarin Singapore has a good deal too.

As for Valet parking.. I was told by Jassie that they cannot validate Marina shopping center's parking coupons.. and she walked me through the whole process of how to validate the valet parking as well.

Right now my choice is Oriental still, but I am negotiating for a few other things.

Will keep you guys posted.

Hi gawain,

My wedding went fine. Honestly, the night was a blur coz it went by so quickly! Its different from what u guys are planning coz mine was an outdoor function by the pool. And it was buffet style instead of sit-down. I had mixed reviews fr guests. Some loved the concept (something different), some hated it (too different!). I didn't get to eat the food so I really can't comment. We were hoping tt the quality wld be similar to the buffet u get at Cafe Des'Artistes but I heard its not as good. They also had some lighting problems later on which my in-laws were complaining abt. But overall, my folks, relatives and friends enjoyed it so I can't be too bothered by what others think lah

Oh one thing I liked...the bridal suite. It's huge!!!! I've heard fr others tt Oriental offers one of the biggest suites for wedding couples..is this true?

And yes, Jassie was very helpful during our planning. The first time we met up, she didn't really offer much in terms of freebies etc. But later on, when the wedding approached, she relented in reducing corkage for the wine, helped us with our table centerpiece decor (we bought big block candles n she got the florist to decorate them FOC) and was very patient and accomodating throughout. I've heard some gals here saying that she's quite unfriendly but I dun find that to be true at all.

Hi Peachcooler,

No I am talking about the ballroom for all the hotels I have short listed partly because I am expecting at least 35 tables.

Are you thinking of having yours at the Oriental?

Hi Alhana,

Thanks for the feedback. It certainly gives me some confidence. Know what you mean about yours being different.. my sister had the same feedback abt her poolside wedding but she had hers at the Conrad.

Where did you get your candles? I am thinking of getting them for my church decorations. How much was your corkage charge in the end?

Is it possible to view some of your photos? I can only imagine how lovely your wedding banquet was!

Hi gawain,

Unfortunately we didn't put our photos up on any websites. Techno-savvy we're not :P I'll try to scan some in and email to you? Have to chk if my sis's scanner is still working first.

ERm, we got our candles from this old chinese shop that makes candles. THey have candles in all shapes (round, short, rectangular etc) in assorted colors. I chose this cream white rectangular block (ard 10 or 15 cm high n ard 5 cm wide?). EAch candle cost $7. We only had 20 tables so it didn't cost us alot. Some of our guests actually took them home! We had problems lighting them though, coz the breeze tended to put them out, but those tt were lit looked v pretty. Think the name of the co is Meng Seng Candle MAnufacturing at 611 Bt Timah Rd (its a shop hse block after coronation plaza)

Hmm....was the standard corkage price ard $30 per bottle? I can't remember what happened w the corkage coz my hubby negotiated it w Jassie (and he has already forgotten the outcome) but we either got the price reduced or some amt waived. Can try asking JAssie if she can help u in that area.

Hi Alhana,

Thanks for the info on the candles. It's good to know where I can get them!

Corkage is currently charged at $20 per bottle. I am trying to negotiate with them. Thanks for the info though..

It'll be great if you can email me some pics.. you can email me at [email protected] Thanks again for the feedback. It gives me peace of mind to some extent.

Hi gawain,

yah.. have shortlisted Oriental Hotel becos of the perks they are given but hv to confirm by this mth leh.... Btw, have u got ur wedding date?

Besides Oriental, have also seen Hilton, Orchard Parade and Crown Prince. Plan to take a look at Goodwood Park Hotel & Grand Hyatt.

Actually, both my FH & I like Grand Hyatt (Hibiscus room, cos' i only have abt 20 tables) but quite ex leh... Hey gawain, u have shortlisted Grand Hyatt too right.. can share with me wat perks r they offer!

Hi Peachcooler,

yes, I've got my wedding date - June next year.

Like you, both my FH and I like the Grand Hyatt, but their menu is the least creative of all the hotels I have seen. I love the decor though. However they are still on the expensive side.

What I got from Hyatt was a free tasting in exchange for the wedding invite cards - I am planning to do my own. Also managed to get them to throw in a 30 liters of beer for free. I am trying to get them to give me the upgrade in theme (decor) for a reduced price, currently $15 nett per head.

However the Oriental has a much better menu. My FH and I discussed it and agreed that the quality of food is very important, and you don't really want your $$ to go to decor and all. Also, the amt of ang pows are not dependent on the location but on the level of your relationship with them. So if you are hoping to "cover" the cost of the banquet, then it is best to go for the lower priced one.

Have you decided on your date?

We are currently in the process of negotiating with Oriental and if they come through on a few more items, we'll be signing the contract with them by the end of the month.

Hi gawain,

I'll try to scan in some pics when I'm free. It won't be so soon though. When are u planning to have ure dinner? I guess u wanna see the hotel set-up pics? Hehe..must go and dig ard for them.

I will be meeting with Agnes on Monday. Anyone heard of her? Seems like most only know Jassie.

Would like to know how Agnes is (nice/friendly or not?) and whether she can make independent decisions. Dun want to go and in the end she said "will check, will confirm, will let you know". It will be a wasted trip. If that's the case, i would rather wait when Jassie is available.

Hi Cutie

I am meeting Agnes before you do, so will have a better idea after the meeting. You can email me at [email protected]

She is kinda slow, but in all fairness, she may have been busy when I contacted her so my fiance says we shall meet up with her then decide if we are comfortable to continue the relationship with her.

Hi Tiara,

So you are meeting her these few days? Let me know the outcome, pls.

Was abit apprehensive cos if she's not so good (in terms of friendliness, efficiency, decision making), then it will greatly discount the impresson we have of Oriental.

Wat other hotels have u shortlisted?

Hi Alhana,

Thanks for digging up the photos... take your time though, I'm planning to have the dinner next June, so there is plenty of time.

Yes, the hotel set up is what I am worried about at this point in time, partly what I have seen from Grand Hyatt has swept me away, whilst the Oriental has been a little disappointing.

By the way, what did you do with all the candles after your wedding?

I am quite keen on Oriental. When is the perks from the recent wedding show valid till ? I plan to hold my wedding at end of Dec 2003. Is the perks valid till then ?

Hi candance,

You would have to confirm booking with Oriental by end of this month. Although they said the offer is only for weddings before end of April, I believe it can still be negotaited.

Do give them a call.

Hi Cutie

Terriby sorry for the late reply. Agnes is very nice. My fiance kinda like her service too. We saw the new decor for next year and I must say I prefer it to the current one.

Agnes was patient in explaining to us the entire package even though she was really busty that day.

All the best

Hi Tiara,

So are you booking with Oriental then? When's your big day? What other things on top of the package did you bargain for?

I'll let you know how's my meeting with Agnes tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Oops, didn't even realise the typo error. I meant to say 'busy'
Thanks Obride ;) Cannot remember if she is busty or not

Hi Cutie

We should be going ahead to confirm our banquet venue with Oriental. We asked for things like additional night stay and.....actually I cannot remember (let me ask my fiance).

Do let me know how you meeting went, Cutie. We can continue to chat here.

All the best

Hi tiara,

Met up with Agnes last evening. Agree with you, she'a a very nice lady.

I am very happy with the package Oriental offers as it's the most attractive one in the market. I've been to Merchant Court, Hotel New Otani, Hotel Intercontinental, but Oriental beats them hands down.

The only complaint I have is that the aisle for march-in is really too short and the ceiling is too low. But I guess, I can't be too fussy, wanting the cake and eating it.

Right now, the only thing I'm waiting for is to confirm the dates with the almanac. My FH & I are looking at June, July and September.

I am so excited and really looking forward to it...

Hi Cutie

Glad you had a good meeting. Yes, I must say their package is very attractive and comprehensive. Mine is going to be in Dec 2003.

So when are you going to sign the contract? We will be doing it soon

Can really sense your excitement

Hi tiara,

I just got a date for my big day from the alamanc. It's going to be 22nd June 2003!!! Really excited...

Agnes told us there'll be an actual wedding held this coming Sunday and invited us to view the actual setup and also the suites (it was not availabe when we went down the other day). Would you be dropping by?

I will be signing the contract most probably latest by Mon/Tue.

Sssoooo excited...

Hi peachcooler,

eerr.. dun really understand wat u r asking.

I will be going to see the actual wedding day setup at the grand ballroom on Sunday (if that's what you are asking.).

Wat about you? Still deciding between Grand Hyatt and Oriental?

Hi cutie,

yah.. still deciding between Hyatt & Oriental.. partly becos i only hv 20 tables, i don't think Oriental will let me use the Grand Ballroom, most probably hv to use the function room (dunno wat's the name for the room! u attend the wedding fair right, is on the same level)

Can u check with Agnes will there be any upcoming wedding in the function room?

Many Thanks!

Hi peachcooler,

No problem! I'll ask when i meet her on Sunday.

But if you are having a small dinner, have you considered other hotels like perhaps Trader Hotel? At least you can use their ballroom rather than a function room.

Anyway, just a reminder that the promotion from Oriental will be ending today... Do give them a call to check whether can ask for extension.

Hi peachcooler,

The smaller room at Hyatt is very cosy and at 20 tables that's a good fit too. Who is servicing you at Hyatt? Can you give me your email address so that I can share with you what I got from them? You can email me at [email protected]

My FH and I have decided against Hyatt and will be going for the Oriental instead because the Oriental has a much better menu and they are helping us out with the other details.

There is another thread in the forum on the smaller rooms at the Oriental.

Hi Cutie

I've seen the actual set up as there was a wedding banquet when I met up with Agnes. She wanted to show us the suites but none was available so will see it when we go down to sign the contract. The sea-facing ones are the smaller suites while those facing the city are much bigger (I think they are called tht theme suites, can't remember).

She didn't tell me about the free VIP table when we met but it is part of the promo package so I will ask her when we next meet.

So your wedding date shall be June 22?

Happy for youm excited bride-to-be

Hi tiara,

So how was the actual set up? Was it as good as the bridal show?

Dun worry, the free VIP table is in the promotion. I didn't ask either.

When's your big day???

Hi Tiara,

Any feedback on the actual set up? It's quite different from the one for the show right? I double checked with the Oriental and they are giving me the same backdrop as the one they had for the show.

They are giving me the vase ice carving at no additional charge as well.

Hi Cutie and Gawain

I didn't go for the bridal show. The backdrop on the stage was some gold drapings. The ballroom looks a lot better with all the lights on.

Agnes showed me the new decor for 2003 - simpler which I prefer, Mine should be quite easy for them as I do not want the ice carving and the dry ice effect

Will discuss with her in details when we meet up next

Hi tiara,

Since you dun need the ice carving, maybe you can check with them whether can exchange for some other stuff?

Tiara,

I think you can exchange it for the free tasting instead.. that will free up an additional option you can choose from the list of "perks" they are offering.

Hi peachcooler,

I went to Oriental yesterday and asked Agnes about your query.

If you are only looking into 15-20 tables, you would have to use either one of the three function rooms we've seen during the bridal show, or another function room on the 5th floor.

As the 7th month is approaching, there will not be anymore weddings in the ballroom and Sunday was apparently the last one. But I forgot to ask about the function room. *oops*

Hope that helps.

so happy to see so much posting abt Oriental.
just to share my experience..
i was at the show too. my FH and i went without any expectations and just to look look see see.
however we really like the reception area and thot it looked cool with the tealights and candles.

simply adore the bridal suite.

initially we liase with Agnes but she never replied my email and we couldn't fix a date for appt. and later she email me she will be out of town! aiyo, i was a bit disappointed then. so later i called up jassie and she was very fast in firming details up with me.
there was also a hicup in the process of us signing the contract.
firstly my FH and i remembered the date wrongly!!!
before we signed, Jassie told us her the postpone and cancellation fees. and we just happily signed. then later when we go home, i realised my foolish mistake. so next day i called up jassie and asked her for a later date. she was ok with it and we sign another contract with the new dates. phew.

i think jassie is on leave at the moment.

i am also keeping my fingers crossed abt Oriental.
my dinner is next yr late august.

if you are throwing a dinner at Oriental next year too, hey, pls email me leh. so we can exchange ideas and keep in touch. the more the merrier mah, and also more ppl, they will not take us so lightly lor. :P

Hi Bortei Khan,

Glad there's another Oriental bride that I can talk to.

Mine is on 22nd June 2003. Same as you, my FH & i oso went to look look c c. But the offer was really too good to resist.

I went to inspect the actual wedding setup yesterday and felt that the ballroom seems rather small. And that was only for 26 tables. I'll be having abt 35 tables so rather worried whether it'll be all rite...

And I still think the aisle is rather short...

Aiyah! I didn't get to see the suites cos they were not available both times I went. But i did get to see another suite that wasn't for bridal purpose so it was smaller. Looks ok so i believe the bridal suites should be even better.

I've not signed the contract yet. Waiting for Agnes to draft the final contract before we sign on the paper. But most prob will do it these few days.

In fact, other than a few minor concerns, think that Oriental is a rather good choice. Value for money!

Yes, do keep in touch to exchange ideas. haha... If we one big gang go to Oriental, they oso got to give us some face!!!