Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi Cutie!
happy to hear from you!

i agree with you the isle is rather short lor.
btw, if you have having more than 30 tables, make sure agnes propose a good sitting plan for you lor.
cos when i went down , think 3 weeks ago to check out a wedding, there were 38 tables and it was pretty cramp. but overall it still looks pretty good.
anyway, there's another floor plan for a longer isle walk. did agnes show you?
btw, try not to put down too much tables as yr gurantee table on the contract. bcos if you ultimately cannot make it, they will still charge according to what you have signed on the contract.
make sure agnes try through every single details of the contract with you and ensure that the free perks are all stated in the contract.

dun worry abt the suit, it's almost 3 times the size of a normal hotel room.
you will surely love it. maybe when you & yr Fh meet up with Agnes, arrange for her to bring you guys up to the suit to take a look.

Hi Bortei Khan,

Your name very long... What does it mean?

Well, Agnes did suggest another way for march-in. The stage will be on the other side of the ballroom, so the ballroom will be elongated and the aisle longer. But dun really the idea cos that will mean some of the guess might not have such a good view. Moreover, she had cautioned us that this would mean lesser space for tables as the red carpet would take up quite abit of space.

How many tables are you having? So u thinking of the other march-in?

Yup! I will go through the contract carefully when i receive from Agnes. She mentioned will be either today or tomorrow. Until now still no sign... So gan cheong...

Hi Cutie
well what agnes said is quite true lor.
me and Fh trying not to go beyond 30 tables lor.

hee, the nickname takes after the wife of Genghis Khan.:P (cos i love history too much liao):P

i have yet to seriously think abt my march in lor.

anyway, i think agnes is super bz!! realli must chase after her!! call & call,

Jassie was pretty fast in providing me the contract. they will have a template mah, so just adjust a bit and there. after my FH & i talked to her , we decided to sign up on the spot. she went up and took half and hour to present the contract/proposal to us.

I also had to chase Agnes a few times b4 I got my contract. The delay is due to her on MC for a few days (had called her and she sound really bad)and moreover Jassie is on leave so she got to cover her duties as well. Guess have to be understanding lor.

Hi Bortei Khan,

Wife of Genghis Khan??? Never heard the name b4. But my history all along very poor...

I doubt i can cut down on the number of tables cos my FH's relatives alot, almost 20 tables. Minimum will be 35 tables.

Anyway, I've just received the contract from Agnes. Now going through them carefully so that can clarify any queries b4 signing.

Hi Cutie
glad that you received the contract.

actually 35 to 40 tables seems to be the norm.
for us is bcos we do not have that much relatives lor.
think of it this way, the more the merrier!

hello!

I must say I am quite happy to have finally settled the banquet details! The Oriental has been quite wonderful in helping us with the details and helping fussy me make a decision!!!

Peachcooler,
Any luck in your decision making? I hear that the suites on the 5th fl for holding smaller banquets are very cosy although I have not personally seen them.

Al,
Thanks for the pic.. your wedding looks like you had a wonderful time..

Cutie,
Congrats on making a decision..

now to start on the wedding gown!!!... =)

hi gawain & cutie
glad to noe there are quite a few oriental brides here.
gawain, can share who you deal with and when is your big day for the dinner?

Hi Bortei Khan,

My wedding is tentatively 26/10/03. What abt you? I wasn't at the show but happened to know abt the promotion from this forum. Are you using the ballroom? I am using the 3 functions at level one since I only got 20 tables. May I know which bridal suite did you see? Like their room as very spacious.

hi cheery
mine will be in late august'03.
ya i am using the ballroom. but i am hoping not to exceed 30 tables on my side lor.
the bridal suite which i saw was on the 14 floor and it was city-view. From what i understand, there's another one which is harbour view. But i heard the harbour view is smaller than the city-view. which one did you see?
simply adore their bridal suite.

Hi Bortei Khan,

I worked with Jassie & her team on the details of the banquet. She is very nice and was very ready to work with me on the details of the banquet itself (me being very fussy and all). However Jassie is on leave till the 18th (I think).

My dinner is going to be in June.

We are going to have ours in the Ballroom.
What about you Bortei Khan? When's your banquet?

Cheery,

I saw one of the city suites (a theme suite) but I cannot remember what it is called. It was big and quite nice although there was a huge crack in the bar counter. I hope they will get that fixed tho.

Hi gawain,

me liased with jassie too.

yup, mine will be at the ballroom too.At first a bit hesitant cos it's fan shape. i prefer a sq shape.

my dinner is on the 31 august'03.

so when do you plan to start firming up yr wedding details with Jassie? mine is not so soon lor since it's in late august. i initally wanted a june or may wedding ( cos dun want my house to be empty for too long!!), but dun have any dates suitable for me and my FH lor.

Hi Bortei Khan,

Know what you mean by prefering a square shape! My first apprehension was over the shape of the room, but I've gotten over that.

Me dun really want to say when my date is because I am sure the staff at Oriental monitor this forum (I know the staff from Hyatt does from time to time).. cannot give EVERYTHING away! =P

I am very very fussy so I have more or less specified the guidelines for the banquet already (I must be one their most neow clients). I am not going to be using the Oriental's wedding cards, so I won't need to liaise with the Oriental till later in the year or early next year. I've been told that the food tasting will take place 2 months before the banquet. Jassie and her team will follow up with me.

However I foresee communicating with Jassie and her team on and off for the rest of the year with increasing frequency next year.

How about you? What details do you think you may need to work on? Have you got your WG and all done already? I haven't yet so that is the next thing I am working on.

Hi Patrick,

Good to see a groom here... at least it is good to know that it is not only the women doing all the work (at least that is what is seems to me).

Hi Bortei Khan,

I saw the one on 10th floor facing suntec city. One thing I don't like abt the room is that the flooring is tiles and not carpeted. What abt the one u saw is it carpeted?

Hi Patrick,

Good to know you are having it on the same day as me. How many tables are you having?

Hi gawain
me also very fussy too!!:P
guess everyone also wants their wedding day to go smoothly lor. so it's ok to be fussy.

i am also a very detail-conscious person and believes in getting value for money lor.
maybe i will use their red wedding red. but i myself actually prefer the invite card which Oriental used for 'The Art of Wedding'.
has anyone seen it?

hmm. i never really thot abt the hotel staff monitoring the forum. but it's good for them as it serves as a feedback channel.
i have yet to confirm my WG, still sourcing at the moment. my budget is rather tight and i must feel very comfortable with the bridal shop and the ppl there before i fully commit lor.
what abt you? do you have any bridal shop in mind?
i think i will only liase with Jassie next yr too.

cheery
the one i saw at 14th floor is with carpet. never heard of tiles flooring leh. but dun worry, i think you can request for the bridal suit at 14th floor. if you want a bigger room, then opt for the city view one. but if you prefer scenery, the harbour view room will be slightly smaller. hope it helps.

btw, Happy National Day to you all here!

Hi Cutie

I am also now going through the contract which Agnes sent me. Am so excited - and glad to see so many Oriental Brides here

Hi Bortei Khan

How does the Art of Wedding card look like?

Hi Bortei Khan,

know what you mean by wanting to sure abt getting value for $$. I'm like that too! I like the Oriental's The Art of Wedding Cards, but their red one is not too bad either. Not very "cheena" unlike some I've seen.

I am using my own cards as I have a church wedding and will most probably have 2 guests lists, so it is easier to use my own cards.

What's your budget like? I'm on a budget too. Why don't you eamil me at [email protected] and I'll share with you what I have got on the bridal boutiques? (Dun want to clutter up this thread).

Hi Tiara,

Good to see you have your contract! When the dinner is finally settled, don't you feel like it's one weight off your sholders?

Hi gawain
glad to know we are alike!
..hee
mine budget is pretty tight lor, cos house reno this yr will take up quite a big sum of $$ liao.
it's a resale flat, so lotsa hacking and furniture $$$!!
i will drop you a email! thanks for sharing ya.

hi tiara
the Art of Wedding invite is pretty simple and it's white in color, it looks pretty elegant. so how do you find details of yr contract? Agnes post the thing to you?
when is big day?

cutie..how's yr contract too? have you signed and sent it back to Agnes?

Hi Bortei Khan, I'm an Oriental bride too..... write to me, I may be able to help you with your bridal package. I just recommended a fren to my bridal boutique and the satisfaction i get from seeing her a happy customer of the boutique is very addictive. i just love to know i have helped someone saved some $$$...... maybe bcos i'm also on tight budget and knows how it feels to be stressed with trying to find the package that is value for money.

Hi tiara,

Oh! I didn't know that's a different wedding card. But personally felt that the red one looks good. Better than some of the cards I've seen.

Hi Bortei Khan,

Had not yet signed the contract. Still need some clarification from Agnes. My FH will be arranging for us to meet up with her this week.

If you are interested in my package from Yvonne Creative (quite a bargain, I should say), you can email to [email protected]

Hi Obride,

KPO abit! Where's your bridal package from? I'm still doing bridal shopping even though I've booked mine from YC. Cos I really like shopping and trying on WGs.

I'm a Bridal Zone bride. ya, i love trying on the WG's too! I just went down last Sat and tried some more WG's,... just can't make up my mind. i also had quite a bargain from BZ,.... i can say it's irresistible ;-)

Can someone explain our fetish on our need to shop and try WGs until the day we actually get ours made to my finacé?

The man simply can't understand why am I looking looking and looking.. and since I can't explain the concept of "THE ONE" to him it makes it more difficult for him to comprehend.. *laugh*

Obride,

Since we are all on a tight budget, mind sharing what your bridal package consists of? You can email me at [email protected].

Know what you mean abt value for $$ too!

I have sent you a mail Gawain. Anybody else interested in knowing my package can email me at [email protected]
Don't wanna go off topic in this thread....... wait get scolding from the other Oriental brides :-)

dear all..
glad to know we are all in sharing mood!

tiara, so you have signed huh? must be very excited right? hee hee..

cutie, hope yr meeting with agnes will go fine. keep us updated here ya.

gawain & obride, if you gals dun mind, can i keep you gals in the same loop in the email? so easier to share mah.

let me know ya.

Hi Bortei Khan, i don't mind, write to one of us, Gawain and I are already in touch, we can always keep u in the loop in our emails

Hi Bortei Khan,

I'll be meeting up with Agnes tomorrow to sign the contract. One thing less to worry about!
I hope i can finally see the suites this time!

Hi Gawain,

Told my FH about your question of whether guys can understand our fetish on our need to shop and try WGs until the day we actually get ours made.

He laughed & said the gown is very special to a girl so he can understand why we need to shop around for "THE ONE". So he said he'll take care of the financial side and leave the gowns & bridal boutique to me.

Very satisfied with his answer...(but duno whether he means it or not...!!)

hi cutie

all the best to you ya.
try to ask for the both the city view and harbour view suites at 14th or 12th floor and see the difference.
cos i only saw the city view suite at 14th floor.
let me know ya!.

Sure Bortei Khan, Cutie, I have dropped u gals a mail with Gawain in the loop. Hope Gawain does not mind bcos she has not responded so far :-p
Cutie, your FH is so sweet..... **envy**

Obride, Cutie and Bortei Khan

I dun mind! the more the merrier! I usually check my hotmail first thing in the morning but I was soo busy today! Haven't even got the time to get my cuppa!

So Oriental brides are we?!

Cutie, try to see if you can view the suites and let us know what you think of it? I only saw the City View one and I am wondering what the Harbour View one looks like.

Your FH is very sweet. Mine is quite funny, he did not say that he will take care of the financial side, but told me to let him know when he has to pay the deposite for the package. I guess that means he will pay for some of it at least!

still deciding on the venue! Looking at this thread sure looks tempting to take a look at Oriental ballroom and package. Would the promo still b on now?

Can anybody share with me the package that you've signed up from the Oriental package. Very interested to know. Can mail me at [email protected]. thnks!

Hi November rain,

I'm afraid the promo is over. Yes, I would agree that the promo is very attractive.

Their normal package doesnt include free flow of beer, no waiver of 1 VIP table and Fri/Sun will be normal weekend rate (more than $750 if i rbr correctly).

If you are still keen, do drop me a mail at [email protected]

Hi November rain
like what cutie said, the promo is over
but then again, who knows, maybe you can still try to bragain with the hotel lor.
maybe they can offer other perks.

the ballroom is in a fan shape , like the logo of the hotel. not a normal sq shape lor.

what other hotels have you considered...

btw, when is yr big day?

Hi Cutie and Bortei Khan,
so glad to see yr response!

My big day is tentatively in Nov 03. Still need to look at tong shu and all that.

Still in the initial stage of preparation. So far Merchant Court, Pan Pac are in my list.

By the way, have passed by the Oriental Hotel a few weeks ago and there happened to have a D&D then. I quite like their big reception area. However, seems like their ballroom have quite a low ceiling, but the whole ambience still looks cosy and romantic though (opinion based on glancing from outside). A pity tat I can only have a glance then.

yap Cutie, I would very much still like to know wat's the package that Oriental is offering so tat I can have a better gauge on the shortlisting. Can u mail me at [email protected]? Thanks lots!

Hi November rain,

Though your big day is still early, you had better start to source around. My friend's brother's wedding is Sep 03 and apparently, most of the hotels are fully booked.

MC was one of my choice too. However, after meeting up with the Banquet Manager, felt that they are very inflexible in terms of negotiating for certain things (e.g. extra barrel of beer, more invites, more carpark coupons, seat covers...). Frankly, without the seat covers, the ballroom really looks awful.
I had been to the suite too. Dun like it. It's 2 seperate rooms so doesn't feel like a suite at all. The suites at Oriental is heavenly...

I agree the ceiling is rather low and also the aisle is rather short. But yes, it looks very cosy and romantic. I like the "golden" tones at Oriental rather than the "Earth" tone at MC/Hotel Intercontinental (duno whtr you'll understand...).

No prob! I'll forward to you in a shortwhile.

Hi Novemeber Rain

abt the tong shu, wondering have u got it yet? cos it's actually available in the market liao.

i think u can just give oriental hotel a ring and arrange to view their facilities and bridal suite.

i love their bridal suite. hee...cutie will know what i mean. it's super big ok.

i heard PanPAc ballroom is very nice. but it's pretty X right, considering next yr there's 5% GST. but then again it's up to u lor.

think nov'03 is indeed a hot month for weddings.

btw, u'r looking for a weekday or weekend dinner?

I'm having my banquet at Oriental too... in March next yr! Getting rather excited about it all
I'm having it at the bigger ballroom... thought it looks grander, in a way

By the way, do you know if they allow check-in into the room early? So that my bridesmaid/attendants can rest/shower/make-up, etc?

~ Flamingo

hi michelle
glad to know another Oriental bride.

i dun know whether they do allow or not but i personally think it shouldn't be much of a problem lor. who did u liase with? maybe check with that person...

how many tables you plan to have?

I think u can chk in the same time as a normal guest wld (ie after 2pm? depends on the hotel room availability...if they have vacancy maybe even earlier if u request) We chked in right after our tea ceremony (ard 4pm) and had time to shower, have room svc dinner (we figured we wldn't have time to eat later on!) and then then start preparing for the dinner. Cool..ure gonna be a March bride too! I had my dinner at the Oriental in March last yr

Can I enjoy all of you? Just signed up with Oriental too and am thinking what kind of gifts is ok for the guest other than pralines...

Rdgs.