Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi Hush Puppies,

Welcome to the Oriental Club! When's your big day?

Well, I hvn't really tot abt the gifts but think the chocolate and the potpourri from Oriental quite nice... Wat r u tinking of?

Hi Cutie,

My big day is on Jan 03. Coming very soon!! Is oriental providing potpourri? I thot of giving candles but have since changed my mind... When is your big day and have you booked your bridal packages & actual day photographer?

hi Cutie,
i also didn't know Oriental is giving away the potpourri. you saw it before? how does it look like?

hi hush puppies.
ya, yr wedding is coming very soon.
have u thot abt yr march in songs?

actually the pralines from Oriental doesn't seem too bad lah.
btw, who did u liase with?

Hi Bortei Khan,

M still thinking of the march in song but dun think will be using those songs provided by the hotel. Ya, the pralines not bad but very common. I liaise with Agnes and she is very friendly. How abt you?

i liase with Jassie.she's pretty all right too.

how many tables are you looking at?

wow, only abt 5-6 mths away from yr big day.
so have u also settled yr ROM and bridal photos?

Hi Hush Puppies & Bortei Khan,

I saw the potpourri during the bridal show and confirm that it will be one of the choices for gifts. Bortei Khan, u blur nvr see meh???

I've even asked whether can have both the chocolate pralines and the potpourri. No problem!

Wow! Jan! That's very fast! U must b excited. Mine is in June, still a long way...

I've booked my bridal package from Yvonne Creative. Wat abt u? Hv u chosen your gowns? As for actual day photography, not yet...

I've liaised with Agnes too. Very friendly and accomodating.

Hi Cutie & Bortei Khan,

Yup, i m very excited abt it. Have told Agnes to state the contract as 21 tables first. Nearer to the date then confirm. I've just book my package from bridal veil. Their bridal package is very comprehensive and their gowns are beautiful. Also heard that BV will be raising their prices on 1 Sept. Hoe much is your package fr Yvonne Creation? Quite x rite? Bortei Khan, how abt u?

Initally, I book the ariel & taeping room but found it to be too small, so has to change the venue...

Hello everyone,

Can I join here?

I am also gonna book Oriental for my wedding next year! Meeting up with Agnes to put my deposit...

Overall, I too find the package very attractive...

Hi hush puppies,

Tot BV is very ex? Not within my budget... But i heard they make beautiful gowns... Hv u started the design of your gown? My package from YC is $2988, quite comprehensive too.

So are you busy with the guest list and the invites now? Now that I've booked my hotel & bridal package, there doesnt seem to be anything else to do...

Hi charcoal,

Welcome to the Oriental Club! When's your big day?

aiyo cutie, i think my eyes got "stamp" that day! wasted! i never see the potpourri but how come jassie never show me leh? when we met up to discuss, she never mentioned to me, only bring the praline along.
nevermind, i will check with her another day.

ha, me still dilly dally here abt the bridal package. :P

btw, hush puppies, yrs will be on a weekday or weekday?

Hello...

I have tentatively booked on the 31 Dec next yr...so still along way more to go...

I used to work at the oriental 3 yrs ago...so my ex colleagues recommended me as the package was really attractive..

I saw the potpurri packages also...am also thinking of making half pralines and half potpurri..maybe place alternately on the tables...

heeehee...

How I wished man...but they have their rules to follow and I also dun wan to make their life diffcult! Haahaa..

Hi charcoal,

Dats wat i'm tinking too. Half pralines & half potpourri. Hope that the guests dun end up fighting!!!

Hi Cutie & Bortei Khan,

I think my eye got stamp oso. Agnes didn't show me the potpourri. hmm... will ask her some day.

I think BV is ok, considering the photographer is quite reputable. Anyway it's once in a lifetime thing so spent abit more lor... :-)

On the guest list and invites, guess i will wait till 2 mths before, no hurry. Mine day is on a Friday, how about all of u??

Hi Charcoal, yours is on a wed, not quite worth it rite since the price of wkend package is the same as wkdays. Did you negotiate for goodies??

Heehee cutie,

We think the same, cos I feel that its more unique that it wud be half half of each item...

Hi hush puppies,

Actually 31 Dec is a wednesday for next year but is the eve of PH...Its gonna be New Year's Eve and I will be paying for the weekday price as usually Sats and eve of PH, you have to pay for the weekend rate..

I did ask for things but sometimes also pai say lah..alot of people there I know ley...even though the Catering Sales dept has changes...last time, I use to be sitting just across their dept! But Agnes is new...Jassie was there when I was working there..

ya lor, hush puppies, what a pity we didn't manage to see the potpourri.
now my mind keep on wondering to how it looks like...
mine is on a sunday

charcoal how many times u have? and what free perks will u choose?

hi cuties & charcoal, is the packaging for the potpourri the same as the pralines? They say that they will arranged the pralines to have alternate colors, so in this case, we can have alternate colors plus potpourri izit?

The oriental offer is really attractive and will save us some $$. Did any of you saw the new backdrop? Is there any wording on the backdrop itself?? like the couple name or just some simple wishes...

hush puppies, me never see names on the mock-up backdrop on the day of the show.
but i will say it looks pretty elegant.

maybe u can request if you want.

me oso no mood to work, now researching for gown design... will be attending my first appointment this thurs. So excited hor...

hee hee...we very jia lak hor?

wah yr first appointmt this thurs?
so u taking off or going after work?

how much is yr package and what does it entails?

Yah, I agree!!! U 2 very jia lak! hahaha... kpo!

Hush puppies, where do u do your research? Website or magazines? I've been flipping thru so many magazines & websites dat I think I've got overdose of gowns. Even dreamt about not finding the perfect gown!!! Scary...
Now I've stopped for awhile to give myself a break.

Wat's your dream gown?

The $4980 package includes the following:

1. MTM WG (rental)
2. MTM EG (keep)
3. MTM Man's suit(keep)
4. Make up and hair (4 sessions)
5. Flowers (bouquet, corsages, car)
6. Veil, gloves and hair accessories (can be flowers)
7. MTM pair of shoes (keep)
8. Rental of jewellery (2 sets)
9. Complimentary rental of cocktail dress
10. Complimentary rental of man's suit (3pc)
11. Photography - indoor and outdoor (Kim of D'fia, Chris Ling, Utopia, Picture Box) Only Kim and Chris return negatives

How abt the both of u??

bortei khan, ya lor, will be taking 1/2 day leave. I am been searching thru mag and file those design i like in a notebook. just went to buy the herworld bride for sept to nov... cutie, dun be too stress over the gown, surely there are one that will fit u perfectly. Let the designer propose the design to u.

Hello Bortei Khan,

Was busy the whole morning...didnt get to log in until now..

I have bout 35 tables..I took one additional room and fd tasting..was trying to get them to give me one more night free stay! Heehee...dunno if can or not...haaa...some other perks am still trying to get..see whether can or not..gotta talk to them..

Hush puppies, I think you can even have your name printed on the tag of the potpurri bag..
its actually quite nice...something different from the usual pralines that hotels normally give..

So I guess all of you will be holding your big day at the Oriental either early or mid of next year?

hello all,

wah, I din visit for a while and there are all these additions!

Anyhow, welcome to the thread Hush Puppy, Michelle and Charcoal (and anyone I missed)..

Din know that we can have BOTH the pot purri AND the pralines! I'll ask for it the next time I see Jassie... I remember that the pot purri came n 2 forms at the show - one in a small bag, the other is a cedar flower. My friend had the cedar flower for her wedding at the Shang, it was nice. hmm.. now it gets me thinking....

Charcoal,
you can trade in your 1st Anniversary dinner for an additional night stay.

Gowns gowns gowns.. anyone going to the Divine Show this Sat?

Alhana,
Good to see you in the thread again.. How r u? Thanks for the pic again.

morning all.

charcoal , mine is in next yr late august and i am hoping not to exceed 32 tables.

aiya, i die die must see the potpourri liao. dun know whether can ask jassie to email me the pic.

the cedar flower sounds very elegant.

hi tiara! so you have signed liao?
sorry me forgot when's yr big day liao?

harlow coal, welcome...the potpourri and pralines are favours offered by the Oriental for the guest.
are u also an oriental bride?

Hi Bortei Khan

Me wedding in Dec 2003

Now we Oriental brides can start sharing our views

Hi Cutie

How have you been?

And Hi to all Oriental Brides

Helloooo tiara,

No time no hear from you!!!! Where hv u been....????

Now that you've signed up wif Oriental, it's a load off the shoulders rite?

But now like nothing much to do.... Is it true that after the hotel & bridal confirmation, we would b free until a few months before the big day? Keep thinking i might hv forgotten something...

ya me just signed up with oriental .
sorry dun get what u mean by favour for the guest?
is tat what we get as "table gift" ?
what is the diff btw the 2?

Hi coal,

Yes, it means the gift for our guests.

Pralines means the chocolates provided by the hotel. For Oriental, the chocolates are in fan shapes like their logos. As for the portpourri, well, it's just scented dried flowers in a satchet.

Hi Tiara,
Haven't seen you ard for a bit..How r u? How's the preparations?

Cutie,
Me too! I keep checking and double checking to see if I have forgotten something as well.. Since we have already signed with Oriental, can we still ask for stuff e.g. pot purri AND pralines? I did not ask for both. Is it in your contact?

Hi Coal,
When you go for weddings, they usually have cake or chocolates.. those are favours..hwr of late, there are more options for favours, pot purri being one of them.. I guess the diff is that for chocolates, you can eat it, but it can be a little impersonal bcos the oriental gives out these fan shaped ones, like their logo.. some ppl prefer chocolates to satchets of pot purri which men esp have no idea what to do with.

Other pple also have their own favours e.g. chop sticks, chop stick holders, incense, flowers, candles etc. which is more personalised.

Hi gawain,

I'm fine, thanks
Any luck with ure gown search yet?

For those deciding on what perks to ask for, I suggest u take the additional night stay (or whatever else u can bargain for) instead of the anniversary dinner. I went to Pronto's w my hubby this yr for the dinner and everything on the menu is quite ex. The voucher was for $80 so we just had a main course each, and fruit juice. And I still had to top up the amt. Think the total bill came up to $80+. Plus, the food wasn't fantastic. I'd rather we go somewhere we liked for dinner instead...even if we had to pay for it. Hehe..so ungrateful right? :P

hi Alhana
har? i thought the anniversay dinner will be fully paid??
thanks for letting us know. i think i will rather take a night stay instead of the dinner.

A very good morning to u! TGIF!!!

Gawain, I didn't state down in my contract on hvg both the pralines & potpourri. Guess shouldnt be a problem at all.

Agree with Alhana. I exchange my $80 dinner voucher for a night stay in the deluxe room for our anniversary. More worth it and meaningful we feel. No lah! Not ungrateful. Dun make me feel bad leh...

yes!! it's a friday.

hush puppies, you got login today?
how was yr first appt with BV yesterday??
share leh...

btw, cutie, do u think i can still propose the exchange of the dinner to room stay?
should i let jassie know now or later when we discuss the wedding in details?

Hehe..thanks for making me feel better Cutie. I didn't change it for the room stay coz we left for our honeymoon almost immediately after the wedding (ie my wedding on Sat..chk out of hotel on Sunday..went on honeymoon early Mon morning) If not, i wld have definitely taken the room stay instead. Felt the voucher quite bo hua.

Bortie, I dun think its a problem changing the dinner to a room stay, unless their hotel is 100% occupied (which I doubt) Just let Jassie know so that she can ensure the room is available for you.

Yup! I agree with Alhana. There shouldnt be any problem changing to room stay. As for when to check with Jassie... Well, guess no harm checking with her now. If not this thing will be bugging you! :P

Hi Gawain

Glad to see you around. I am fine, just extremely busy at work. My preps - nothing done except for the dinner being booked. Mine in Dec next year so still got time. Anyway I am looking at getting an OTR gown, any recommendations? I am so keen on settling for Kai, but my fiance doesn't understand my need for slightly more expensive gowns. I think to him, all gowns are the same. He was quite sweet, saying I will look good in any gown but then again, he may be thinking of his pockets yah

Hi karce

When is your wedding? You booked with Oriental too?

hello gals,

Glad to see this thread so active..

I xchanged my anniversary dinner for an additional room (for the parents). I agree that it is better to go for to a place you really want to celebrate at for your first anniversary dinner.

Although it does not say how much the voucher for the anniversary dinner is, it usually is a monetary amount attached, not a fully paid dinner.

Bortei, I had Jassie annotate in my contract that the anniversary dinner is contra-ed off for the additional room. However I don't think you will have a problem abt the extra night if you talk to her in advance so that there is a room available.

Al, where did you go for your honeymoon?
I haven't made v much progress with my bridal package search.. but I will decide by the end of this month.. going to the WG sale at 4 Seasons to check things out then decide.

Tiara, my FH is like that too! (Read my comment abt us women having the urge to try try try gowns). However if you are getting a OTR, don't just settle for a Kai gown. Go to Kevin Seah and Tan Yoong as well. They charge abt the same.. (Tan Yoong's creations are just dreamy!). Also check out Stillhoute (who is having a sale now) as well as Ted Wu. What's your budget by the way?
Better yet, email me at [email protected] - don't want to mess this thread up.

Hi gawain,

Actually we didn't use the voucher until way past our anniversary :P Think its valid for a couple of mths after ure actual anniversary. We went to Shashlik (one of our fav restaurants) on our anniversary instead. And I booked us a 2 nite stay at the Regent Singapore. It was a nice break

For our honeymoon we went to Bkk n Koh Samui. Cld only squeeze in a short holiday coz we got married during the March school hols, and my hubby's a teacher :P

hi gawain
i hope so too lor.
actually i did dropped jassie a email but i guess she must be loaded with work since she just came back from her leave.
i will tok to her maybe next week.