Mandarin Oriental Singapore

garden theme-green linen and invitation cards really cannot make it,the cages that placed to create the atmosphere are kinda weird, I mentioned to 2 girls and both said,"huh? to 'cage' the bride?" u know what I mean? Look at the favors of garden theme, as if the banquet is by the sea. I really wonder if they have consider this part.

TY, you are right about the Oriental theme, is really the best one compare to the rest but then I really think is funny if i were to put a chocolate fountain at my reception area! And the basket! almost faint.

The Love theme has the victoria feels but then they choose the WRONG COLOUR for the FLOWERS! walking into that place like for sad little post funeral gathering! I double checked with them and comfirm can use other colours, I am definately not using white for my theme but Orange and Yellow, which is this year theme, you can see some deco ideas at theknot.com

The DREAM! was yucks! They still place it at the Ballroom and I saw many faces turn 'puzzled'. this is not a little, but a big sad thing!

Can anyone pls share The Oriental wedding package with me? Well, heard their bridal suite is fabulous, can anyone post the photo here as well? I need comments about the food and service that they render... thanks ladies.. :D

Janice!

Don't worry so much, I think its because of the bridal fair that's why their response is slower than usual. I've been liasing with Sandy all this while and she's pretty prompt with emails replies. We met up with her last night and she sent the contract to me before lunch time today
And Mark seem to be very on the ball when I met him last night.

Hope everything will go smoothly for you!

Tia

Thanks Tia

well Mark did look very enthu n i was impressed with his service apart from the slow response. I also know it's coz of the bridal fair, but a bride being a bride would naturally be kan jiong..esp since i've been hotel shopping for so long...all fully book for most hotels.

Anyway, praying hard that things will go smooth. Thanks!
Janice

Heyo

I totally understand how you feel. I was like that when Fullerton didn't get back to me too. And that's part of the reason why I didn't choose Fullerton in the end, cos I couldn't take their response.

Now that your hotel is settled, try to enjoy the rest of the planning. Settled your BS yet?

I'll be going down to sign the contract this Friday with Oriental. But I'm still pretty torn btw Oriental and Conrad.. arrghh.

ohhh..u asked Fullerton too! me too! n i was super pissed with them too! i think i'm pretty unlucky. My fren helped me to ask availability n she told me that the date i wanted was avail. thus an hour later i called to ask for package. the manager said it's not available. so i told a fellow hotelier fren n she went to enquire the next morning..n fullerton said tat date was still avail! but later in the afternoon, they send me an email stating it's not avail. So ridiculous rite?! they are obviously lying somewhere. i was in that line once upon a time, so i'm sure theres a screw up or some deceit somewhere. anyway, tat was it, i killed Fullerton.

I din check on conrad but heard from my cousin it's pretty nice too. But i'm very impressed with Oriental's food. theme wise...well, there's so much hype aboout their new theme, but honestly i dun feel a thing. haha

That's ridiculous, how can they make such a hiccup? I'm sure their system or calendars would clearly show if there ballroom is taken up or not.

I'm pissed with them cos' it took them 1 week to fix an appointment with me and I have to chase them up everyday to get an appointment. I can get an appointment with ALL the other hotels in one day I don't see how come fullerton can't do the same. And they took forever to send me the package.

Conrad's lobby is pretty grand too! And its has only 1 ballroom so the wedding will be very exclusive. The ballroom looks nice but its in a T-shape.

Food wise, I think Oriental's one look more appealing.

I quite like the Xi theme and the Dream theme. hehe. Except I don't like the baskets for the Xi theme. Anyway if you don't like the new themes maybe you can speak to Mark and see if you can use back the old themes? I heard the red and black theme is gorgeous. I spoke to him in passing about that and he said shouldn't have a prob using back 2006 themes.

Yeah I went for the bridal fair on Sunday too! didn't fancy their signature cocktail (the blue and pink ones), tasted much better ones b4.

I was a little disappointed with the themes too. Felt the dream theme is too black for comfort (more a D&D look), the love theme is too white and dull, the garden theme looks quite odd in the oriental ballroom (Like a tazan and jane wedding), felt the Oriental theme is the nicest. But I'm not the "chinese chinese" theme kind of person, so I might go with the Love theme and see what changes can be made. =D

Food wise... It was lovely & impressive... I enjoyed it!

Conrad was my first choice. It's grand. But my choice date was not avail.

it's obviously because they were holding it for some other couple but the coordinator didn't know. end of the day, there are discrepancies. often happens but i really appreciate if they just give it to me straight n not "lie"

ooo..seems like your encounter with Fullerton was similar with my oriental saga. I waited a wk too for my reply. In fact, i almost eliminated Oriental coz initally when i mass mail hotels, i got no reply from Oriental!

Xi theme not bad ..i dont particularly like the baskets too. but the problem i have with the love and Xi theme is the floral pc. the ones placed on the tables...they use canes or rattan or something to support the flowers, i feel tat is UGLY LOr..look like bird cage n alas! after seeing those, i went to see the garden theme n i confirm they look like birdcage! That's y i like the dream theme more (the floral arrangement). unfortunately, like what Chuchulet says, it's too dark. My hubby's side quite traidtional i think. I asked if the napkins can change to pink to match the flowers, they say no pink napkins leh...my fren said the dream theme looked like secret society having a high profile funeral! esp with the flowers placed on the chairs of each! m thinking perhpas can do dream theme but change flowers n napkins to red if that's possible. hmm..wonder if that would look nice.

yes i had a peep at the black n red theme once...it was gorgeous indeed! but again, subject to oldies approval.

Does that mean its under tentative booking? If so hotels will usu tell you that its tentatively booked right? Like the dates I wanted with Conrad are tentatively booked too.

When I massed email the hotels, Oriental didn't replied too. I had to call them up to ask them to send the proposal, but after that, email replies were pretty prompt from Sandy.

I don't like the bird cages too. The love theme looks tooooo white to me. Haha, I had the same idea! I asked if I can change the napkins to red to offset the black, then my husband say its ugly. Grr. I think it would look nice. No la! Don't think it look like secret society high profile funeral. The silver sash makes it look very classy. Prolly cos' a lot of ppl are not used to seeing black at weddings. Actually a lot of hotels are starting to go the black theme way.. Conrad and Hyatt have them too. Quite smart of them, black is not dirtied easily.

I heard from Mark and Sandy that we can't mix and match the themes thou cos' they got the designers to design it and the designer is selling it as a set. The only thing that we can mix and match are the cards.

The black and red theme is very shanghai right?

yup!...black n red very shanghai tan! which was why i love it. was hopingi to find a shanghai theme place where i can do my outdoor shoot too! ithink red will definitely offset the black. in fact my hubby likes it too, but i like the grey table cloth...shiny shiny makes it look classy indeed..but red n grey..hmm..not sure if it'd go well.

yup cannot mix the themes. but seems like many people don't like the themes fully. The cage not good symbol..sounds like we are caged up la!

as for the booking...if it's on tentative, they will usually tell u..i really don't know why they screw up.

ohh,, didn't know we can mix n match the invites..but i don't exactly like them to be honest. the grey one ain't that pretty..too dull..sigh.wanan go do my own but no $$ le.

I didn't get to see the red and black theme, only saw a tiny photo that someone posted on the forum. But I think it should be very nice.

If I'm taking the Dream theme, I will ask them to sprinkle more red flower petals around the table to offset the black. The ceiling for the ballroom is quite low, I don't know whether chosing the black theme will make it look even more oppressive.

Yah! Read quite a few comments that they don't like the new themes. Since sign alr (for you) and signing soon )for me, we just have to make the best out of it. Oriental's themes are actually quite different from the other hotels, so at least guests will have a refreshing change!

For old folks you can give the red cards, for younger folks the grey one is alright, maybe you can buy some sash and tie it around the card to make it look classier? I'm thinking of doing that myself. Don't spend more money on the cards la, already have to spend on printing. Its not as thou the guests will keep the cards anyway. My sis printed out the cards herself and I think she spent abt $400 extra.

My friend just handed out her invites to us during an outing and one of my friend who didn't carry any bag dumped his card with me and its still with me, he's not intending to take it back. So don't need to waste money on unnecessary :p

Bad comments on Oriental new deco? I'm one of the affected BTB. Mi and my FH signed up with Oriental with the fact of their flexibility and the freedom of letting couples customise the deco. It makes the whole idea more personalised. Now its worst off by narrowing the deco to the 4 themes that does not even portraits our liking. Its like a 'take or leave it' situation. The favors are really uncalled for too.

U mean nowadays Oriental doesnt allow u gals to choose the flower n the colour at all? I mean if we do not want tp follow any theme but doing ala carte instead?

Last time they do not hv any theme, so chair cover, table cloth, napkins n flower hv to choose urself from few choices. Of course the combination can be bad or good.. depends on the couple choice.

May I kno wat they offer for the favour now??

Nicholas,

Sorry to answer late.. but regarding t he food wise, it is ok lah.. anyway they do not expect hotel food to exceed restaurant taste. It is still better than most of hotel standard.

In fact, the ingredient they use are all the expensive ones..(scallop, soon hock etc). Taste wise.. lots of ppl say is nice. But for me is just ok. But for sure most guest are impress with the menu and the presentation.

Just thinking that it would be easier, cld someone help me to fill in the blank? Coz I wasnt at the show. Thanks

Love theme:
Table cloth: White
Chair cover: White
Table cloth (VIP):
Chair cover (VIP):
Napkin:
Flower type: Rose
Flower colour: White
Favour:
Card:

Garden THeme:
Table cloth: Green
Chair cover: Green
Table cloth (VIP):
Chair cover (VIP):
Napkin:
Flower type: Sunflower
Flower colour: Yellow
Favour:
Card:

Dream Theme:
Table cloth: Shiny Grey
Chair cover:
Table cloth (VIP):
Chair cover (VIP):
Napkin:
Flower type:
Flower colour:
Favour:
Card:

Oriental Theme:
Table cloth:
Chair cover:
Table cloth (VIP):
Chair cover (VIP):
Napkin:
Flower type:
Flower colour:
Favour:
Card:

Chummy

NOW the themes are very standard. Do not need to break down so much.. Love theme= White (incl flowers) + dragees favor, Oriental=Red + coin pouch favor, Dream= flowers purple + others grey + bell favor, Garden = green + beach chair favor (if i'm not wrong). No switching.

Previously Oriental had the season themes... but they were also flexible to let couples customise.

Sphire,
I've checked with them.
Colours of the flowers + types of the flowers can be changed.
The standard things are linen types and colours, the favours, the stage decor,the types of flower stands, the dummy cakes(diff themes has diff dummy cake design). For the Garden Theme, there are 2 types of flower settings but the "statues" remain unchangable.

So stressful now to choose a theme since all are not favourable. The other day my manager called mi to ask how i felt abt the new theme. i din wanan break his heart but i said i need some time to adjust and absorb, coz nothing fantastic!haha.i put it very nicely already. i wanan change the favours actually, but duno what Oriental can replace instead of favours (i will want to get favours of my own). their package has pretty much everythin, thus i duno wat i can ask for, except to deduct package price which of coz they wun la. I think the onli thing i found nice were their wedding cakes...look rather nice.the flower settings for love, garden and Xi were EEEkkk...coz it looked very bird cage!

Bendi - My coordinator told mi that the flower colour cannot be changed but cn choose flower type. For the Love theme.. I cn choose lily or any other but must be white. Looks like diff coordinators say diff things. Feel very sian and really let down by Oriental.

ICE- mi sourcing for my own wedding favors too. Wonder wht the management was thinking when they revamped the wedding thingys.

Bendi - When is ur dinner? If my coordinator is gonna insist that cannot change flower, then at least I could mentioned that i'm seen the room on ur wedding day.

Sphire: ya i seriously didn't like the favours too..was wondering what the Xi theme's favour was initally..i mean it's so tiny who will wanna keep it as a coin pouch man.to think they are still so proud about the launch..so secretive at first. but i got no choice, they are the onli hotel thus far which has my available date..so i have to take them. =(

n hey...i think they are flexible la...can change flower la..i mean i spoke to my manager tat day, he said can be discussed nearer to date. anyway, still waiting for their contract...

ICE- Looks like depends who is your coordinator. Trying to make an appointment with my coordinator to trash a few issues on deco out. Dont mind telling her what I want for deco know eventhough my banquet is in dec.

Just to share my thoughts...
Im looking at alot of hotel locations and my budget is about $1k/ table. I went Conrad first and was wow by the service, grandeur and the staff. it was awesome!! Of cos it comes with a price. Im taking weekend so about $1207 after +++. As it is 12 pax per table, per pax is about $107/pax.

For Oriental, I did not go to the fair but only visited the day after the fair. Was attended by Yiwen. she is really nice. I managed to ask alot of perks from her. She also gave complimentary function room for my matrimony n solemnization before the dinner. She threw in alot of other perks for me also. I really like it.

Food wise, i think oriental is more original. Conrad another hand, all guests has individual serving not only VIP. Conrad has 1 ballroom. Good thing. The svc no need to worry, will be fantastic!

Im hoping Conrad can match the perks for me. personally i feel conrad is better but oriental has better perks.

wat u guys think? I be signin up with either of them soon

Sphire - i heard frm an insider friend that they are really slow in replying (for some strange reason coz they have sufficient coordinators and executives), thus making appt is really a challenge. I m still stressing about how my deco should be. I have no idea and thought that one of the four themes will suit my needs. Unfortunately, it's quite a letdown. Hey, trash it out n let me know the outcome ya?..my banquet is in Oct n they have YET TO SEND MI THE CONTRACT!!.it's been one wk!

Strawberrie -- oooo...conrad sounds good...too bad they got no dates for mi .=(...hey beside ths function rm, what other perks were u given?

kentia-- Oriental still hasn't sent me the contract! called me on Monday to say i will receive in next two days..well it's been a wk !! n i've made the deposit. i tot i go down to the bridal fair to sign contract..so that i can settle it once n for all but still no news! n i'm not sure who is assisting Mark..so fed up.

ICE-- try asking for Sandy to help you? She's really very prompt! I've gotten my contract the following day after I met her. I just went down today to sign and pay the deposit. Finally settled on a hotel, one thing off my mind now. Hope its a good choice!

I thought you have to sign the contract before making the deposit? How come you paid before signing?

Kentia-- i went down with the intention to sign and pay deposit. But they cannot find my contract n when they finally located Mark, he came n said contract not done up (obviously coz he never respond to my mails!!!)..i tink it's coz of the fair but now that fair is over, i think i deserve the due attn? anyway, at the fair, he asked mi pay the deposit first lor..contract will follow shortly. Will drop Sandy a mail on Monday if i still don't see signs of the contract. (i mean not that i'm in a hurry la but still, i tink it's terrible that i have this nagging issue on my shoulders)

Strawberrie-- Just to share my views. I was considering btw Conrad and Oriental too before I decided to sign with Oriental.

I love Conrad's lobby and the stairway leading up to the ballroom is really nice. I've nothing to complain about the grandeur and service. I have a friend holding her wedding at Conrad in March and she's paying $998+++/table (for 12 pax) but if I hold it there in December, I have to pay $1088+++/table. Although Oriental is still slightly more ex than Conrad, I feel a little unjust having to pay $100/table more compared to a March wedding.

After talking to both hotels, Oriental seem more negotiable and flexible and Oriental's menu looks more interesting than Conrad. I've tried negotiating with Conrad for the same perks that Oriental gave but to no avail so in the end we decided on Oriental.

My SO loves the Oriental new themes compared to Conrad so that's another reason why we choose Oriental

ICE-- I would be super worried if I'm you! Esp if I have paid the money and don't see any contract. Hope you will get it soon! If there's still no signs of the contract, lemme know, I see if I can get hold of Sandy for you?

I heard the response for the fair was overwhelming, maybe that's why he's taking so long to response bah. But still... aiyoh. Quite terrible leh.

I've checked with my coordinator when I was down earlier to sign the contract, even if we don't take their wedding flavors and get our own, we can't change that for other things...

Thks Kentia..will let u know if no sign still. I was thinking since i was there, i will just settle it..i brought along a blank chq even. n Mark said dont worry la...so ok lor...i mean such a big organisation, if they take my $ n screw up hor, i will so make their life miserable lor! but my booking is in already (tentative b4 i made deposit)

aiyo..cannot change for other things?...cannot be man. it's cost to them, they should at least give couple more wines or something...

fair was indeed overwhelming. they wanted me to pay for entrance fee even though i was gonna sign on tat day!...n i was told onli on Saturday 9pm when mark called. like the fair was SUNDAY..gosh..i was pissed coz i made all arrangements to go down le. he said if i dun wanna pay, i can also go after 5..wats the point rite? i even asked a fren to go down with mi..so pai seh rite?..end up i went..but haha..din pay (coz they thought i was "invited" guest). so be it man!

I am a banquet server at oriental, and I was there serving all the guest on the bridal show day.

I feel that although the price for each table is quite ex is because of the settings. It's really very xiong and needs much more effort from the banquet servers compared to before the new themes were set up.The food is quite nice also.

I am quite sure that the future brides would be pleased with both the service and food.be'coz the oriental VIP servers are very impressive and knowledgeable.

Kentia- thanks for the advice. So when is ur wedding? Mine is at jan 08. still long. as u said, Oriental is more negotiable and really try to meet ur needs. I like their menu also. but there is two ballroom on the same level. wun like the idea of 2 weddings on same night also. wat u think? and for conrad only one. im also concern abt conrad food. heard they serve cold etc... duno how true it is.

I may eventually go with oriental as they giving free flow beer. there will be lotsa savings.

Jus a qn to ALL. A normal 35 tables dinner, how many barrel of beer is needed? Conrad only giving 1 barrel 30 litre. wont be enough. any experience?

It seems from the reviews that the oriental wedding fair wasnt as fantastic as it is. any good thing to say?

- Conrad is nto giving alot of perks also. the normal things. still waiting for their reply.

ha... in distres... there is still another million things to do as my fiance is not based here** help

Hi Pamela,

Glad to hear that! Hope the servers for the guests tables will be equally good

ICE-- You can try asking for it, heh, but I didn't manage to la, maybe my bargaining skills still not so good :p

Did they issue you a receipt yet? If so should be fine, my only worry is whether whatever you have negiotated for will be in the contract or not, but I should think Mark will honor his words.

Lol! Good that you didn't have to pay. Did you manage to try the food on that day? Was it good?

Strawberrie-- Mine's in Dec 07, its good that you are looking for hotels now, cos when I was doing my search, a lot of hotels are booked for the dates that I want
I had to change my dates a few times.

Its true but if you are taking the main ballroom, your cocktail area is exclusive and its quite a distance from the smaller suites unlike places like Four Seasons and Swissotel Stamford.

I was quite worried abt the cold food comments at Conrad too. Their food is actually brought out to the guest table to show them, then brought to the side table to be plated. I think by the time they finish plating, the food would be cold alr. Plus they have to bring each individual plates back to the table from the side table.

As for beer, it depends on the profile of your guests whether they drink more beer or wine. Trend nowadays is more wine drinkers thou.

For the wedding fair, I only went down to see the themes, I think you shld get your coordinators to show you the themes cos its really up to your personal preference. My SO loves the Dream and Xi theme and that's the main reason for him choosing Oriental but I've seen comments here from other BTB that they hate it

Happy planning!

seem like many of u are quite disspointed with the new themes that Oriental has come up with.
Personally, I m quite impressed with this hotel. If i m not wrong, not many hotels give such extensive range of themes for their decor. From oriental, modern, sweet.. i think it's quite a fair choice.
One thing, I am very impressed by their staff service. When we walked in, there's pple to open the door for u, and immediately when i walk in to the lobby, 1 of the counter staff took the initiative to ask what help we needed. I mean, i dun see that in other hotels. And when we walk around the hotel, most of the staff will greet u at least with a smile. i mean that makes u feel very comfortable.
We talked to Sandy for the packages. Quite a nice lady, and so far, rather accomodating to our requests. I mean wedding packages are quite standard. She try to throw in whatever she can for us, except the price. $888+++. We still think it's a little too steep. Somemore 7% GST will be coming soon.
Still working on some nitty details, if nothing goes wrong, we will sign up with them the coming week.
Anybody else has signed up? Anythign to share???

Dear all, though i din go to the wedding fair, i heard that the response was very good. One of my gf signed up immediately. I was pretty surprised as she din really do much scouting. Personally, I have only heard good comments on Oriental as in really "GOOD" not just "ok lah".

I c a handfull of Oriental BTB happy with the new themes. Happy for u ladies.
We, already Brides of Oriental, are not happy with the new themes becos of wht was presented to us when we signed the contract much earlier. Personally, wht attracted mi to Oriental is no longer in practice. But whatever happens, happens for the better.

I happened to see the 06 theme set up on last Sat when I went down to see the place at the Atrium suite. I feel very good cos the room is not very big and it feels very cozy.
I do hope that Oriental keep up with the good service and food quality.

oh ya garden suit, when i stand on the stand, and raise my hand, my hand can alsmot touch the ceiling le. veri low ceiling lo.

but overall its very cosy and nice if you like the room small. heee but i prefer those ballrooms with yellow candelier lights.

Ya I agree Oriental told me that they cannot switch or amend the concept or main colour theme, cos its sold as a package deal. Means u either like it take it, or dont like also muz take (if u have signed up with them). I know some hotels dun hv theme, u can choose your own type & colour of flowers (within their price range). If choose more expensive or seasonal flowers, then muz top up.

hi..im one of the oriental bride who signed up during the bridal show. paid deposit on the spot and juz received the contract through snail mail yesterday.

so far, i think everything is ok..i really liked this hotel coz of the memorable experience dat my fren gave me during her wedding last yr..actually i dun think the themes are dat bad..personally i like the XI theme..will be taking dat...for love theme, i liked the embroidered table cloth (hehe) but its too "white", not very auspicious...haha....never consider the garden theme and the dream theme is too dark for my liking...

any of u holding it in the atrium suite or attended weddings at atrium suite or oredy had ur wedding at the atrium suite? any pics or feedback to share? thanks! =)

Heehee...
I m also a Bride to be at Oriental.
Have a really good impression about this hotel.
Attended a wedding dinner at the Garden suite abt 1yr + ago. Feel very good. cos it's very cozy. But I m taking Atrium Suite cos i prefer longer aisle and higher ceiling.
I m also contemplating between Xi theme and Love theme. Will have to consider my overall idea for the wedding first, then see how.
I also do hope that the hotel let us have more flexibilty in the themes. At least the color of the flowers lor...

Hi everyone, I'm a BTB who just signed with oriental. Have always love oriental so here was my first choice for my wedding.

My FH and my sis went for the bridal show cos I'm overseas and they were very impressed with the food and service rendered. Yiwen was the one who served them and the perks she gave was too good to miss.

Although the tables was a bit expensive, the perks more than make up for it. I've been to several hotels before and I must say that Oriental ia still the best

Anyway my AD is Jan'08 and contary to everybody's comments, think most likely I will take the dreamz theme

Cheers gals