Mandarin Oriental Singapore

alphie

Hi Piggy and everyone,

We are interested in the Oriental and would like to know what are the best deals we can ask for. Anyone care to send us the great deals they've got? THANKS!!!!!!!!!!! Email: [email protected]

angel_jkit

BenDi, as garden suite is not very big, putting a piano for yr march in may make the whole room very cram. maybe you can discuss with yr co-ordinator to see what they can do for u. i also had some problem in artrium suite on my stage deco last time, but the co-ordinator and banquet ppl are very helpful to help me to figure out what is the better way of doing things.

beannielum

Hi Jkit, thanks for sharing the menu. We chose almost the same stuff!

peaches

I just confirmed my wedding with Oriental. So happy coz I simply love the place and ambience!!

Saw some comments about the food so getting rather worried. But hor ...recently i saw a show called 'Waiting'. In the show when the guests are difficult or complain about the food the waiters pretend to be apologetic and bring the food back to the kitchen. What happend in the kitchen is terrible!!!they spit saliva..throw on the floor, rub on their armpits!!

Scared this will happen and we won't even know...am I being too paranoid? haha

wishxtreme

I need a favour for all those bride to be in 2006 or early 2007.

I need about 5 empty bottles of duty paid Martell VSOP. I believe that hotel will return you the empty bottles after the dinner so i guess you will throw away those bottles right?

So can you sell those empty bottles to me at $5 per bottles?

the duty paid one will be the 750ml bottles and not the duty free on which is 1 litre.

so anyone willing to sell the empty bottles, you can sms me at 91936911 or email me at [email protected]

georginat

hi lilacgal,

the max no. of table garden suite can accomodate is 15, min no. is 10.

jkit, hows yr gown fitting session?? 9 more days to your wedding!!!:)

angel_jkit

georgina, 3 days away, final fitting is not done. however, im quite happy with all my 3 gowns during my 2nd fitting... =)

so excited... 3 more days!!

georginat

hi jkit!! i can understand your excitement now !!! so when will you have your final fitting since only 3 days to go? have to be done by tomorrow or sat latest... i just had my 1st fitting yesterday too, will do my 2nd fitting next friday and the final fitting dont know when, think will be like you too !!

Have a wonderful wedding on Sunday, maybe can post a pic of you and yr hubby here or at your website for us to view :) that will be great..we have a website but not really done up yet..

angel_jkit

just finished my AD in oriental. the feedback on the food are good. =) my guests love the food. =)

however, there are some disappointments. They did not do what they have promised me for the room deco in the event order. I spent so much time on finalizing my stage deco in the event order, however, it turned out nothing much. They forgot to deco it in the way i want. =( so gals, ask yr cooridinator to check the function room and ensure it is what u want.

haywiregirl

jkit, sorry to hear that. Thank god I am not a busy bride on my wedding day, I will come down personally to check on everything and will start my make up only 1.5/2 hours before my tea ceremony at 6pm.

angel_jkit

BenDi, its yr big day, so no need to go down personally lah. just confirm with yr coordinator before the banquet. let yr Hubby do all the check and worry. u just need to wait to be the pretty bride.

haywiregirl

jkit, I trust no one esp. coordinator. I also know that I can't be asking my hubby to do the checking as most of the stuff from napkin folding, flowers, to placing cards are all chosen by me and will be made by me too. I know very well and don't wanna have them change when I have little time left.

In the morning, there will be only the couple with bridemaids and flower girls taking photo outdoor for about 3 hours and that's it. We are probably do nothing but resting in our suite. Tea ceremony will be half an hour before the dinner starts.

I've gone thru once, I mean being a pretty bride on my ROM and assuming things will be right but too bad, I was quite upset on that day. Really disappointed. I won't let that happen again. It is my day and I wish to follow up every single details myself, not depending on others as others can't be bother, as it is not theirs.

Everything we are doing for the wedding is mainly to satisfied ourselves, or else, who actually noted that you choose lilt instead of roses for your table arrangement, no one will even bother to remember what colour are the linen used but the couples themselves. I wish to see what I wish on my day. I won't even bother if someone comes in slipper just to sabotage my day. =)

angel_jkit

BenDi, my napkin folding on the AD also messed up. They forgot to do it in the way i defined in the event order. They missed some deco details, however, my hubby made some special requests on the AD itself, and it turned out very nicely done. just note down all the details that matters to you most to smooth the check. And dont worry too much, everything will turn out to be nice. event if they miss some deco, no one will notice.=)

haywiregirl

darling, that's the thing, I don't care if others remember because I will notice. anyway, thanks for reminding and really appreciate that.

melodyli1981

OMG.. Ok long story but let me share my food tasting experience.

Our shark's fin was a little watery n not tasty at all..
Our fish was Promfret teachew style.. Very very fishy that nobody touched much. Basically our family are cats. The waitress had a tough time sawing through the fish to dig out some flesh
Abalone vege was Xiao bai cai which didn't go well with abalone.. when we asked for spinach ALREADY
For our RICE/NOOdle dish we chose the crabmeat sauce dip with Deep fried bun.. The chef used some crab claw that was totally unfresh.
U know when the crab is fresh, u can slide the meat out.. That one, we can't even pull it out no matter how we try.
Chef Roy's explantion..oh its not meant to be eaten, its meant to be for garnish!
Yam paste with ginko nut... Well its not a PASTE at all. It was more like normal soup.. definitely not stuck to the spoon kind...

We went straight to the GM and they gave us another trial dinner yesterday. And I suppose they would have taken it more seriously... But NO!

Fish (Garoupa) this time round was overcooked. The texture was close to chicken after u chew..
Chef blame it on the waitress! Say she too slow to pick up! My god.. Taichi to an inoocent young gal...

Crab sauce.. worse! undescribable.. Told him to try himself.. and we really saved a bowl for him. Refused of course. He said he tasted it before serving. Nice wat.

Then proceeded to argue with my usually very cool headed and reasonable fiance...

Lastly.. all the suggestions we made for the presentaion of the food during the first trial was not taken into consideration.

- Asked him to garnish... never. Everything no garnish at all.
- Ask him to put the bowl in the middle of a big plate and spread the buns around... Never.
His reason.. he think not nice so he use the old style. 1 bowl of sauce n 1 plate of buns. NO GARNISH. Not even a parsley!

I can believe it.. I chose Oriental because everybody has no complaints in this forum.. But I must be the suai one!!!

I really dunno wat to do already... Wedding in 20 plus days!

No time to look for another hotel.. reprint the invites.. and of course no more ballrooms!

If a simple trial dinner can screw up till like tat.. I dun see how its gonna be perfect for 40 tables!!!

OMG... I am sooo freakin angry n upset and yet I have no more choice

haywiregirl

cool down dear, I can understand how you feel (freak out)

We were asked to pay $600 plus if we required a food tasting. I said no need as I don't think the food can be LOUSY or BAD as my sis assured me.

But now, looks like I have to reconsider. my coordinator did say that "he will try to see what he can do" when he knows we are not willing to fork out for the trial/ tasting.

I will see how it goes and I also ask him to show us the presentation for each dishes, I will make sure there are garnish. Will probably make an appointment tomorrow.

Serine, if possible, we can discuss further, hope I could help (to tekan) them a bit. ALL the BEST !

angel_jkit

dear, sorry to hear all these. think its time to pressure them if you feel horrible. just express yr unhappiness to them, and pressure them.

p.s. not sure if this will make you feel better. All my guests said the food was nice for my AD. if you want, i can share my menu with you gals if yr wedding is on weekend. =P

vodafone

Hi all. Im about to sign the contract with Oriental soon but with all the comments about the FOOD, I had seconds thoughts and decided to contact my coordinator for food tasting.

Was told that needs a minimum of 6paxs which is around S$83/pax.

Anyone interested to join me and my the other half for the food tasting session?? Needs another 4 persons.

If you are interested, pls feel free to sms/call me @ 97950202. Thank you.

Derick

smaghy

hey gals, after reading abt the food issues im worried too but i guess since mine's an indian dinner and buffet style, i shall try not to think too much abt it. My fiance initially had a huge issue with the food as well cos he attended a wedding and wasnt too happy. He made an appt to meet with the top management and their assurance made us stay on with them. Maybe u gals cld speak to higher authority and address ur concerns. They need to know to make things better.

Cloudno.9.... i'd like to go for the wedding show. Do u think if we've signed the package we cld still get freebies, etc.

melodyli1981

Hi Gals.. Basically I have brought this up to the GM.. Director and Executive Sou Chef came down to my place to meet up to discuss..
I must say I still love their sincerity and service but food was the biggest issue!

I have no more time to do anymore things except to trust that they are on top of our comments and concern and will work things out on the AD.

But of course.. if things turn bad.. I'll make sure I spread the word... Its more powerful than any complaints. Event over complain also no use... But word of mouth is the most powerful tool. Cos I think we have given them sufficient leeway and we have been very nice despite all these bad attitude from the chef and food.

Anyway my wedding planner said she had a couple a few days ago... not too bad.. beautiful wedding and no complaints! So I pray hard..

sphire80

Hi Piggy

I've also signed with Oriental for an indian spread. But i'm goin for table serve. I'd be goin for the wedding show as it'll feature the varoius table setups. Since package already signed, we r not entitled to freebies.

peaches

Hi Piggy

Don't think we will be entitled to the perks coz the contract is signed already.But guess consolation is that we have our choice dates as compared to these other late couples?

sphire80

This thread looks kinda dead.
Cn I knw if we cn actually serve our guests cakes or cupcakes brought from outside the hotel? I'm thinkin of serving cakes after the cake cutting but from the hotel will be ex.

georginat

hi ladies !!

just had my wedding dinner at the Garden Suite on sunday..everything went smoothly and everyone said the food is nice :) i didnt go for the food tasting though...if you wanna know the menu i chose, i can let you know..my email is [email protected]

peaches

Georgina

Congratulations!! I am happy to see your positive feedback about the food. After all the hoo ha from Serine, I was rather hesitent about signing up with Oriental.But still did anyways. Now with you and jkit good comments i think my heart is at ease.

fatoreo

i held my AD at the oriental on 25-Nov, mine was a lunch thingy.. food was good, service was fantastic, esp from my coordinator, Mark, though there were some minor hiccups (pertaining to the banquet waiters), overall, i'd say their serice is worth commending

haywiregirl

I also have to say that Mark is really a very nice guy. I am very particular about the service esp. from the banquet crew, i mean the waiters and waitress.

cloud.9, can share with me more about your experience? TIA

peaches

Hi bendi

My experience till now is very good! My co-ordinator is very friendly and she has been giving me and my husband a lot of interesting ideas. She has also been prompt in replyin my emails and enquiries.

I have always heard that Oriental is very well known for their banquet food.Just that I was a little hesitant about signing up after reading Serine's comments. I did highlight my worries to my co-ordinator and she says that they are trying hard to regain everyone's confidence and hope that i will still have confidence coz they are many more pple with good feedbacks than negative ones.

Now with jkit and georgina who just had their wedding recently and received positive feedback. i think i should be able to be less worried.

what about your experience bendi?

melodyli1981

Hey gals.. I just had my wedding on Saturday. And to my relieve, it was great. So great that I had most of my friends and relatives saying that it was the most beautiful wedding they every attended.
Every thing was well coordinated thanks to Cha Lee, the banquet manager and of course my lovely wedding planner Kim from Wedding Concierge.

Oriental even appointed a gal from we praised during the 1st food tasting to do nothing but remain by my side throughout the evening. To hold my handphone, to ask me to change, to do every little thing for me! She was absolutely lovely and her name is Tiffany. But I am not sure whether all brides get this treatment or was it cos of our unhappiness with them for the food tasting.But she made me feel like a real Princess! All I needed to do was to look up as if I am wanting something, she will be whispering to be if I needed anything. She was a lovely companion to have while I was done with my make up and hair in the room while waiting for the 1st march in to happen..

Yiwen stayed throughout the banquet to ensure everything was smooth running even though I knew wedding coodinators dun usually have to do that as I came from a hotel background too. Chef Jason, the Executive Sous Chef oversaw the whole banquet preparation, and Bobby the Director of Events was all present and ensuring that everything was done perfectly.

Lastly, the FOOD. Well, I must say Chef Jason laid down his hat to give us his promise that he will do whatever it takes to ensure our banquet goes on well. He lived up to his name and word of promise.

The menu was turned 360 degrees with the quality and presentation. So much so that even though we didn't get to eat it, our eyes widen when we saw the presentation!

Most praises earned was the Chocolate cake dessert. I had a fren eating 6 pieces of it cos the tables of people left early due to some accident at home.

The Yam paste also wowed us with its turn around and Chef Jason took our idea of ice cube coconut and turned it into a wonderous desert our family members loved.

I dare say I got much much much more than I have paid for and I can't say much more about the food. But they have turned our complaints into a BIG COMPLIMENT and we have become fast friends with some of them.

Everyone we met made the effort to brighten our day by remembering our name right down to the doorman.. We had so many more ang baos that we felt we had to give due to the treatment we received! And we are definitely buying more gifts to thank Oriental for making the event such a Perfect and Memorable one!

We are definitely going back there and recommending people to hold their weddings there with their assurance that nothing similar to our food tasting experience will ever happen again.

sphire80

Ladies - Ur experience seems to be breathtaking, esp Serine. Cant wait for mine to happen. So far Yiwen has been really kind and proactive to all my request.

Serine - Happy that every turned out more than perfect for u. Congrats. BTW if u dont mind, it is possible if u cld mail mi ur menu? I'm thinking of changing my starter and dessert, but cant think wht to change too. thanks. [email protected]

peaches

Serine

Congrats!!I am very happy for you. You whole wedding dinner sounds soo magical!

Yiwen seems really experienced and is prompt to all my emails and queries. Girls, think our weddings should be in good hands of the Oriental.

georginat

dont worry too much about the wedding banquet..i didnt do much things but things still turn out well...i didnt even know how the setup looked like coz i only went down to the venue after all guests were seated ...so relax and enjoy the whole event !!! You are the bride dont forget that !!!

faigina

Hihi.. All, this is my first attempt to join forum and chat abt wedding stuff... thot of sourcing some info thru the net before going to the sale person.. Intercon was one of the hotel which i rcved lots of good feedback from my frens.. wanna noe what type of freebies and rate oriental offering.. can share..

melodyli1981

Hi Ladies..

I have the worst imaginable 2 food tastings and experience with the chef.
But the wedding itself was indeed magical. I dare say better than any wedding I have ever attended. Not just because its my wedding..
But Oriental really went all the way out to wow our guests and us.
2 of my frens who are getting married next yr are already asking me to give them the contacts for their wedding...

rapidwonder

I just attended a wedding in Oriental.
The decor was really nice with the black colour theme.
The food was nice as well. Sharks is really solid and they served the shark's fin individually.
Pork Ribs was superb!!